Proton now looking to introduce its first EV by 2025

Proton says it is looking to accelerate the introduction of its first electric vehicle (EV) and is aiming to bring forward the deployment to 2025, two years sooner than its previous 2027 projection, Bernama reports.

The new timeline was revealed by its deputy CEO Roslan Abdullah, who said Proton is currently in the process of identifying a suitable EV model. He said that it has to be offered to the market at an affordable price and that it must be practical.

“Both of these elements are important for a Proton EV. We may have a model that is affordable but not practical, so we are working together with Geely to speed up the project and this (initiative) is also on the recommendation of the government – especially the investment, trade and industry ministry – to ensure that Proton accelerates its EV project,” he told reporters during the launch of its Rahmah service campaign yesterday.

Last November, the national automaker said it was targeting to roll out its own EV by 2027, and had added that it was looking to ensure that it adopts the right technology at the right price, with cost observations being a determining factor in how it proceeds.

Earlier this year, the company provided an outline of its electrification plans, stating it would be moving into the new energy vehicle segment in phases, with mild hybrid (MHEV) tech leading the way in, alongside the smart #1. This will be followed by more BEVs and PHEVs before transitioning into BEVs as core products.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Sam Loo - Verified Toyota Salesman on Apr 13, 2023 at 10:18 am

now 2025….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Roti john on Apr 13, 2023 at 8:04 pm

Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 1:35 pm
      In 2009, they said it is coming 2012
      In 2012, they said it is coming 2014
      In 2014, they say it is coming 2017
      In 2017???

In 2023, they say it is coming 2025
      In 2025??

• YB Kinte Kunte on Apr 13, 2023 at 8:48 pm

Have u been to a fishing trip ?
        The boatman usually says…”Got plenty of fish”
        Got tenggiri,baracudda,sailfish,parang,baby shark..macam macam.
        But….landing a catch is another matter.
        P1 is like the boatman.

• The Victorian on Apr 13, 2023 at 8:44 pm

The DRB dude is a fantastic marketing genious .Even Prof Kotler of marketing kalah.
      He talk 3 talk 4 ,macam macam changgih…tapi end of the day..just let Dr.Li bring in a Geely car right handed version.
      Proton engineers have not introduced any localised replacement for Saga,Preve,persona,Exora.
      Now we hear the S50 sedan from China..launching soon.
      Fact …P1 is no more than a rebadge specialist with infinite grille n changgih Tiger logo.

• slyGTR on Apr 25, 2023 at 8:26 am

I believed its Geely’s strategy to sell their products rather than Proton’s own.

• Speeding things up could be good or bad. My view is that we are lacking of qualified EV technicians. Also, playing with DC voltage is deadly. Not sure how the government is planning to do in terms of readiness.

• Sembang kencang on Apr 13, 2023 at 11:45 am

Self-develop tech or ciplak Geely tech?

• It’s impossible to develop their own EV from the ground-up to be ready in 2025, so I think it’s a safe assumption that it’ll be another rebadge. Very disappointing and at this stage Proton should be stripped of their national car brand status and be on equal footing with all other manufacturers.

• Mboleh on Apr 13, 2023 at 11:58 am

Sell it around 30K with 400KM mileage, I will buy it.

• Jamster on Apr 13, 2023 at 5:05 pm

The RM30k EV measures 3000mm in long, 1500mm in wide, 1600mm in height and 2000mm in wheelbase. Power equipped with 30hp and 90Nm electric motor, the top speed is only 100km/h.

• Bob Mal on Apr 13, 2023 at 12:47 pm

Honestly we don’t know what the fuzz is about there is 1 and only 1 EV Geely Geometry while all others is beyond normal Malaysian reach brands – since by now we are guessing with the fast track EV you are not gonna develop in-house but just another favourite rebadge.

• It’s hard to ignore that BYD is now in town.

• Geely to Rescue on Apr 13, 2023 at 2:15 pm

Plan to license another Geely model?

Get ready RM 500M for Geely Branding Fees

Still 10 times cheaper if develop 100% locally

• Convenience and Practical on Apr 13, 2023 at 2:31 pm

The most practical approach is to ensure that there are sufficient chargers around. The main bane of EV is charging to a suitable SOC in the shortest time possible. I don’t believe that EVs is within reach of the average income owner who does not live in landed space. Charging in strata spaces will be a huge huge problem.

• James KWON on Apr 13, 2023 at 3:38 pm

this guy talks and talks. since 2010 Proton was spending hundreds of millions on EV and nothing out. DRB Hicom destroyed the legacy and company and all they will do just to rebadge substandard Geely Evs. Proton is always claims and at the end they fail.

• @NotBruceWayne on Apr 13, 2023 at 3:56 pm

ZEEKR X will be sold for less than USD30k.Bring that in under P1 & sell it here for a reasonable price together with cheaper versions of Geely products. No need to wait for another “un-promised” year.

• ROTI CANAI on Apr 13, 2023 at 5:20 pm

jaguh kampung

• Full Charge on Apr 13, 2023 at 9:14 pm

Only tesla has the leading technology
    Proton will be lab rat for Geely
    I hope the batt unit don’t explode into passenger arse

• SuckMyTongue on Apr 13, 2023 at 10:56 pm

Ya ya we can call it Proton Tofu or Cincau. White and black model and red one we call it Chilipadi

• Got ppl buy meh

• SlyGTR on Apr 25, 2023 at 8:24 am

Proton already developed its range extender or in my view a PHEV. Why can’t that model be released first. Secondly, Geely is supposedly have the technology for the battery. Wouldn’t putting this tech into PHEV is easier than releasing a full fledged BEV?

• BanyakOrangSudahGila on Apr 22, 2024 at 8:35 pm

Forget EV. We will never have enough charging station for the next 20 years. Besides, how is apartment/condo people going to charge? Throw extension cable down from 18th Floor? It’s a waste of time. If you are rich, don’t mind being white mice and fight with other uncles to charge your car, go ahead. Me, gonna stick with ICE till i die or the most a Hybrid.