Volkswagen Arteon R-Line 4Motion gets IQ.Drive – RM299,990 with AEB, adaptive cruise control

The Volkswagen Arteon R-Line 4Motion has been updated in Malaysia with the IQ.Drive package, which gives the Arteon additional safety kit. It has a revised price tag as well, now costing you RM299,990, which is RM23k up from the previous RM276,990 price tag.

The IQ.Drive package contributes to giving the Arteon R-Line 4Motion the following safety features:

• Front Assist – a version of Autonomous Engine Braking (AEB), it will monitor the road ahead and provide audio and visual alerts to warn you if there’s a risk of a potential collision. If necessary, it will apply brakes on its own to help mitigate a collision.
  • Adaptive Cruise Control – when cruise control is active, it uses a radar to adjust your speed according to the car in front, slowing down and speeding up if necessary.
  • Side Assist – it will alert you if another vehicle is in your blind spot and will assist you with counter-steering to avoid a collision if necessary.
  • Rear Cross Traffic Alert – while you are reversing your Arteon, this will warn the driver of incoming objects at an angle of 180 degrees and up to 50 meters away at speeds of up to 12 km/h.

Other than the IQ.Drive package, Volkswagen has also added a Qi wireless phone charger.

The Volkswagen Arteon is powered by a 280 PS, 350 Nm EA888 2.0 litre turbocharged engine, mated to a seven-speed wet clutch DSG transmission. Power is sent to all four wheels via the 4Motion system.

The RM299,990 price tag includes three years free maintenance in addition to the five-year unlimited mileage manufacturer warranty and roadside assistance.

For other details, you can read our launch story, watch our Arteon review, or compare the specs of the Arteon against its rivals using our car comparison tool.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wow. Getting more and more expensive. If rm300k, I will definitely buy 330i with rm320k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 20
  • Holder on May 02, 2023 at 7:58 pm

(Like) Arteon
    (Dislike) C Class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 5
  • Nice

• jdmcarlover07 on May 02, 2023 at 8:09 pm

now thats a jaw dropping price tag right there. RM300k?!?! making this the most expensive VW model in Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 22
    • OceanDraw on May 02, 2023 at 11:21 pm

Because you can’t afford that’s why you comment here though

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • Phuddi sung lee on May 02, 2023 at 8:19 pm

Wow, at lasts incl AEB, ex owners would regret to buy early without AEB

• Fumoffu on May 02, 2023 at 8:23 pm

Finally. The perfect car. Except for the price though lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
  • Acc is for cacat driver

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 34
  • ROTI CANAI on May 02, 2023 at 8:39 pm

just wait for the year end sales

• VW platform on May 02, 2023 at 8:41 pm

This can tapau Mercedes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Knightrider on May 02, 2023 at 8:46 pm

This overprice will make it rare at our roads…kudos VM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
  • Matte on May 02, 2023 at 9:00 pm

This car definitely beast

• Ah beng lenglui car critics on May 02, 2023 at 9:27 pm

At last their start adding acc and other crucial safety system for their car starting with golf gti.. But still the price out of reach mu budget what an sad world

• Smartess on May 02, 2023 at 9:37 pm

Better topup abit & Buy audi Q8 etron,

• Tommy Hilfiger on May 02, 2023 at 9:45 pm

Sure sell like hotcakes

• FlowFly on May 02, 2023 at 10:30 pm

Value with money for all specs

• Spare on May 02, 2023 at 10:54 pm

Better comfort than C Class

• anonymous on May 02, 2023 at 10:59 pm

Volkswagen Malaysia keeps digging themselves deeper and deeper in their own grave at this point

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
  • Isaac on May 02, 2023 at 11:02 pm

Waiting for jealousy mercedes fanbois to talk bad about Volkswagen

• vitable on May 02, 2023 at 11:06 pm

Finally, Volkswagen

• gleaner on May 02, 2023 at 11:15 pm

Baik beli VW

• OceanDraw on May 02, 2023 at 11:22 pm

Now can consider this

• Don’t tell me the gomren taxes these safety features st 200% also.

• VW fans on May 03, 2023 at 7:22 am

VW already decide to discontinue Arteon.
    Hands off this model, better get C class or BMW 330i

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
  • Ben Yap on May 03, 2023 at 8:10 am

RM300k for a VW badge? LOL…. at best it is worth RM270k for the brand and features given.

• Autodriver on May 03, 2023 at 9:48 am

Finally the full package of Arteon is being offered. Those who complain are definitely not afford one. Why compare to C class or 3 series when this Arteon interior space is similar to S class or 7 series.

Those who buy this Arteon will surely got BMW or Merc at home and they need another car for fun drive. Remember this is 4motion drive and surely more fun than rear-wheel drive. Yes BMW got AWD but the 340i is at RM 400k meanwhile interior space much smaller than Arteon.

Btw I doubt VW can sell more than 10 units of this Arteon a month. Anywhere D segment is dying.

• Too little too late maybe? And on 300k price tag? Good luck selling the car.

• Did you read earlier about VW announced that VW will be now compete with other brands

• newme on May 03, 2023 at 10:09 am

so much fancy marketing jargons for outdated everyday tech:

Front Assist – regular feature on basic cars
    Adaptive Cruise Control – yawn
    Side Assist – regular BSM
    Rear Cross Traffic Alert – P2 calls this RTCA

marketing genius

• Beli lah on May 03, 2023 at 10:15 am

Remember folks, whether you agree or disagree with comments here that the car is too pricey or affordable is irrelevant. Unless you and your friends are out to put the downpayment, your opinion is well… just an opinion. It’s those who are applying for loan that matter

• Bob Mal on May 03, 2023 at 10:48 am

You know VW just don’t care and possibly degrading their own brand to not even include a logo on their engine cover similar to how the many brands coming soon into our market.

• X y F on May 03, 2023 at 10:58 am

this car was launched at 220k last time …. VW brilliantly increase its price all the way up till RM300k. even taking into the account chips issue and inflation…..the price hike is still a bit ridiculous

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • This will eat another rival which is merz c

• Bieight8 on May 03, 2023 at 12:37 pm

Got 300k buy C300 better…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • Good buying Mercedes….will have QC issues, need to wait for some months to get parts then fixed then some months later, come back same problem. Better think bang

• Lmao bro the current C-class is plagued with electronics and sensor issues. Baru keluar gua kah?

• I love these additions, although to be fair, previous owners were able to retrofit AEB and ACC at outside workshop using original parts from Germany for less than 10k. So this 22k is just a disguised margin bump.

• Badguy on May 04, 2023 at 5:00 pm

Still remember this model was launched with less than 250k without SST. Few price increment after that from 260k to just below 280k. Maybe related to currency issue. It still look like a bargain in its position with below 280k price tag. Perhaps 300k is how VPCM strategy to “response to its competitors” LOL
      Lets see if their strategy works