2023 Subaru Forester facelift launched in Malaysia – EyeSight ADAS on all four variants; from RM174k OTR

Following its quiet arrival into TC Subaru’s showroom in Petaling Jaya last month, the 2023 Subaru Forester facelift as now been officially launched for the Malaysian market.

Here in four variants, the mid-lifecycle update for the fifth-generation Japanese SUV is priced from RM174,288 for the 2.0i-L Eyesight, RM180,288 for the 2.0i-L GT Lite Edition Eyesight, RM184,288 for the 2.0i-S Eyesight and finally RM196,288 for the top variant that is the 2.0i-S GT Edition Eyesight.

The updates bring a literal facelift to the revised model, with new, reshaped headlamps with a deeper cut on the inside end of each, while the grille gets a gloss black surround instead of the chrome on the pre-facelift. For the 2.0i-S and 2.0i-S GT Edition variants, the headlamps gain a steering-responsive function and high beam assist.

2023 Subaru Forester facelift, 2.0i-S GT Edition

Powertrain across all four variants of the 2023 Forester facelift is the 2.0 litre naturally aspirated, horizontally opposed four-cylinder petrol engine that produces 156 PS at 6,000 rpm and 196 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm; output goes to all four wheels via an active torque-split AWD system and a Lineartronic CVT. All variants do the 0-100 km/h benchmark in 10.3 seconds, and a top speed of 193 km/h.

Rolling stock for all variants is Bridgestone Dueler rubber, with 225/55R18 tyres on the top 2.0i-S GT Edition and 2.0i-S variants, while 225/60R17-sized tyres for the GT Lite Edition and the base 2.0i-L variants. Additional distinguishing features include the front LED fog lamps on the 2.0i-S and 2.0i-S GT Edition, while the base 2.0i-L and 2.0i-L GT Lite Edition variants do without.

All four variants get the Vehicle Dynamics Control system, auto vehicle hold and active torque vectoring, while X-Mode features for the base 2.0i-L and 2.0i-L GT Lite Edition variants, and Special X-Mode for the 2.0i-S and 2.0i-S GT Edition variants.

2023 Subaru Forester facelift, 2.0i-S GT Edition

In terms of the Eyesight ADAS kit across all variants, the driver assistance suite includes adaptive cruise control with lane centering, lane departure warning and prevention, lane sway warning, lead vehicle departure alert and pre-collision throttle management; the 2.0i-S and 2.0i-S GT Edition variants add pre-collision braking with autonomous emergency steering and rear vehicle detection.

Infotainment is provided by an eight-inch HD touchscreen with support for Apple CarPlay, Android Auto and Bluetooth, while visual aids come courtesy of a 360-degree surround view camera system. Further conveniences include eight-way, power-adjustable driver and front passenger seat, keyless entry and push-button start, dual-zone air-conditioning, power-folding door mirrors and an LED rear fog lamp.

To recap, the 2023 Subaru Forester facelift in Malaysia is priced from RM174,288 for the 2.0i-L Eyesight, RM180,288 for the 2.0i-L GT Lite Edition Eyesight, RM184,288 for the 2.0i-S Eyesight and finally RM196,288 for the top variant that is the 2.0i-S GT Edition Eyesight. All prices are for Peninsular Malaysia, on-the-road without insurance, and all come with a five-year, 100,000 km warranty.

GALLERY: 2023 Subaru Forester facelift, Eyesight GT Edition

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Bieight8 on May 03, 2023 at 5:29 pm

Should have lauch the 1.8 turbo

• Ruslan Dude from P1 on May 03, 2023 at 5:58 pm

With 156 PS horsepower,a 2 lire NA engine..close to 200K,I rather get X70 top specs.It might be a bit bigger in size,but who cares.,unless u r a pure Subaru brand addicted fanboy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • Sigh... on May 03, 2023 at 6:09 pm

So yesterday + holy sh*t + beyond godlike asking price = DoA

• the body kit looks awful

• Mr Fakta on May 03, 2023 at 6:18 pm

Already test drive this car, very comfortable and got to try out the ACC with lane keep, quite impress. Only complain is that the small screen and 144p reverse camera/360 and the lack of wireless car play and wireless charging pad.

• Proton oh Proton on May 03, 2023 at 6:33 pm

SUV tak laku sangat pun… tp price sky rocket.
    Good Luck!!!

• anonymous on May 03, 2023 at 7:14 pm

may i ask why the hatred towards this engine offering in malaysia? am not familiar with subaru but honestly they seem kind of cool (i don’t love the design but yes i agree it could be better). pricing aside, is it only because of the engine offering here that this is getting quite a bit of hate? the specs seem to be quite competitive with the full suite of active safety available on all trims (which so many brands don’t even bother including in their cars) so i really don’t understand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • eeeriz on May 11, 2023 at 8:53 am

Subaru should offer more powerful 1.8 litre turbo engine as a higher option, whereby all competitors have better power on higher end (CX-5, CRV etc). 2.0 N/A engine is good for normal driving everyday but when power is needed for hill climbing, overtaking lane (non-highway), you will yearn for more power for effortless driving. But agreed with most comments, pricing wise is a killing joy, and will not help Subaru for sales as it is too pricey for a 2.0 N/A engine. Plus the maintenance of boxer engine is fairly high than normal straight line engine.

• if only they put back the 2.0 or 2.5 turbo engine… perhaps… otherwise too sluggish to overtake…

• So if this is the benchmark, i expect the coming new CRV to cost about the same.About RM200k. Thanks to our falling currency.

• People are obsess about must have very powerful engine….2.0 is sufficient for 90% of your daily drive. Moderately build up some speed cost any issue? Why must be so quick?

• CunNia on May 04, 2023 at 11:01 am

Better buy Alza.. this car looks like it tried so hard to look good and handsome.. but result is blardy ugly. Like a con job plastic surgery.. I will stick to Alza anytime for this ugly but super expensive car. Good luck tan cheong….

• Lord Drakkon on May 04, 2023 at 7:27 pm

Tell me you don’t have money, without telling me you don’t have money.

• Ivan Tan on May 04, 2023 at 11:31 am

Peoples buy Subaru for few reasons. The comfort and handling level is above all Japanese brands, the AWD for off road is also the best. At least I was “wow” when I first drove it, but not for the power.

• REAL X70 OWNER WITH CAR STUCK AT WORKSHOP (FRUSTRATED) on May 04, 2023 at 3:01 pm

harga mabuk

• P1...is it that great? on May 04, 2023 at 6:33 pm

Mr.Frustrated x70 owner
      Do u know there r used car dealers who r willing to “makan”your car,while spares r on the way?
      U just do online transfer ownership,with cash deposited into your account.
      Time to buy another SUV.Just forget the lousai X70.It gives u endless nightmares.
      Many X70 owners now regret,cos more issues r flaring up,they quietly get stuck like u at P1 workshop,malu to tell friends, suv not drivable without China parts.

• Zapolo on May 05, 2023 at 6:17 pm

This model should come with turbo. It’s a disappointment

• Farko on Jul 13, 2023 at 3:56 pm

Why cant we get the US version of Subaru Forester with all the bold cladding also something close to Wilderness variant. Looks more rugged than this half bake facelift that’s making Forester looks “closer” to its competitors which are more road focus. Sad

• Ah, we dont get the driver monitoring and gesture control. Dah la 2.0 (instead of 2.5) compared to other countries.