Police wants to promote the use of dashcams in cars – proposal could be submitted to JPJ, transport ministry

The police are considering submitting a proposal to the transport ministry and road transport department (JPJ) to promote the use of dashcams in private vehicles, The Vibes reports. According to inspector-general of police (IGP) Tan Sri Acryl Sani Abdullah Sani, dashcams can assist in investigations relating to road crashes as well as public complaints on traffic safety and violations.

He added that video footage from dashcams could also help the police scrutinise untoward events on the road and public areas. “It (dashcam usage) should be definitely encouraged,” he told the publication.

“This can be suggested (to JPJ and the ministry),” the IGP added when asked if the police would put forth a proposal to encourage the installation of dashcams. Acryl Sani noted that the police have been advocating the channelling of precise information and support from the public on traffic and crime incidents.

The idea of making dashcams compulsory has been mooted before, with Universiti Sains Islam Malaysia (USIM) lecturer Muzaffar Syah Mallow suggesting this last year. Given the variety of incidents that motorists encounter on the road, having a dashcam to as a source of evidence to prove a case – including exposing possible scams – makes sense.

Certain carmakers already offer dashcams as standard equipment on their cars, but making them compulsory on all cars on the road can be a challenge, especially for those in lower-income groups. If not made compulsory, encouraging the use of dashcams can also be accomplished with financial incentives, as seen in Thailand where insurance companies offer discounts on premiums for dashcam-equipped vehicles.

If you don’t already have one, get a dashcam installed to protect yourself

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Bieight8 on May 15, 2023 at 12:46 pm

Dashcam rahmah…

• Unimaginable Insanity without a dash cam on May 15, 2023 at 1:57 pm

Forget about all those cheap “rahmah” dash cam.
      Get a good one.It will save u from constantly taking panadol if u become another Sam Ke Ting basikal lajak case.
      Can u imagine 6 years of non stop court attendance,acquitted twice by a lower court,then sent to jail by the JB hakim,finally “rescued” by Ajibkor’s lawyer Hisyam Teh,at final appeal.But how much the legal fees? 100K-200K ?
      6 years of worry over a pending jail sentence.The torture of being at the wrong place at wrong time,without a dash cam.A working dash cam will save the police much time n free u from possible prosecution.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
    • Right? on May 16, 2023 at 4:18 pm

Semua benda nk rahmah, mmg ke rahmatullah je lah.

Beli tu biar berkualiti.

• Go buy your own third party dashcam. Don’t rely on the one that comes with your car. Look at the one from Perodua. Kalau bukan hang, then cannot on at all or SD card error.

• Ahmad on May 15, 2023 at 1:15 pm

No problem for me so far.
      Don’t change the original SD card bro, and claim your warranty.

They are better than those sub rm100 one.
      And I am not willing to pay > RM200 for only 1 year warranty 3rd party item.

All I need it to record scene, not buat Youtube.

• Using a 3-year warranty dashcam but died in just a few months is not solution too. The best part is user only realised that it had died when want to download the footage. Normally we just install and forget.

Most third party dashcam work way beyond 1 year. Even the one I got free from Citibank CC is still working after 10 years.

• Brand? Model? on May 16, 2023 at 4:20 pm

Care to share what brand and model?

• The Citibank one? It’s some el cheapo brandless dashcam. But surprisingly still working.

I am using one from Xiaomi on another car. 5 years and still working.

• Germen Perpaduan on May 15, 2023 at 2:08 pm

Perodua is a blood sucker.
      It is going ballistic, in terms of premium pricing, like UMW.
      When replacing oil filters,after thousands of complaints,baru allow replacement.
      It has only one purpose: please PNB at the expense of buyers,even defying Akio Toyoda.
      High time,carlovers buy alternative brands.
      They are the car distributor that doesnt reciprocate the blockbuster support given by rakyat.
      YAB Anwar,high time give the P2 CEO a call,to dismantle a blockbuster car distributor from scamming the public.

• mamak thir on May 16, 2023 at 11:11 am

Perodua’s move to use all LOCALLY SOURCED PARTS has led to its downfall. The player HU unit, the dashcam, are all horrible quality. Almost anyway who is serious would have thrown them out the moment they collect their new P2 cars.

• Locally sourced part is not a problem. The problem is CONTINUOUS COST DOWN exercise. Siapa boleh tahan if every year cost down?

• GodEye on May 15, 2023 at 1:12 pm

Make it the a Global Game Changer then.
    RM500 all in
    70mai Omni X200 Dashcam, 4G ready for JPJ/Police and Owner, 5years warranty, Free Road Tax 5 years.
    We will get safer roads.

https://paultan.org/2023/04/18/70mai-omni-x200-360-degree-rotating-dashcam-with-4g-connected-remote-surveillance-now-in-malaysia/

• ketam on May 15, 2023 at 2:52 pm

have all PDRM policemen/woman wear bodycam’s 1st.

then talk about car dashcam.

• Ground europe passenger on May 16, 2023 at 10:36 am

Perodua av variant dash cam and speaker quality could be slightly improved.

• evolZ on May 16, 2023 at 11:50 am

“could be slightly improved” is an understatement.
      The HU, dashcam and speakers on all new Perodua cars is utter garbage. Locally sourced garbage.

• Jeffery on May 16, 2023 at 12:04 pm

The problem is when i purchased a Perdua Bezza it did not come with a dashcam. When i requested, they said they dont do it. But i was told if i install it on my own it might void my warranty with Perdua. So you tell what can the poor consumer do.

• Your choice. To waste ‘6 years’ ding dong time or install it at your own risk.

• Vishnudran on May 17, 2023 at 2:18 pm

Brilliant.Can start from car maker compulsary included.For those not yet install can go discount device