Gov’t has no plans to abolish tolls at present, due to significant financial implications – works minister

Works minister Datuk Seri Alexander Nanta Linggi said the government has no intention of taking over existing highway concessionaires to abolish tolls at present, the Malay Mail reports. He said this in a written reply in parliament to Padang Besar MP Rushdan Rusmi, who asked about the current administration’s strategy to eliminate tolled highways.

Stating that such action was currently not feasible due to significant financial implications, Nanta said the government would however reconsider such a proposal when the nation’s finances and fiscal situation permit it to do so.

“For the honourable member’s information, the government is committed and focused in its agenda towards addressing rising cost of living and reducing such burdens on the people. However, at this point in time, the government is not planning to take over highway concessionaires who are in operation since the financial implications are high,” Nanta said in his reply.

Ahead of the 15th general election last year, the Pakatan Harapan (PH) coalition had restated its pledge to eliminate tolls on PLUS highways if it were given the mandate to govern the nation once more. However, in its GE15 manifesto, the coalition then said it would “review highway concessions” if it won the elections, and would endeavour to work towards “reducing PLUS tolls gradually with the ultimate goal of eliminating tolls and returning PLUS highway to public ownership.”

Earlier this month, it was reported that the government is considering extending the concession periods of highway operators by up to 30 years in a bid to prevent future increases in toll rates, and that an announcement of this was expected in the second half of this year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Janji dicapati on May 24, 2023 at 12:03 pm

Refer my name

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • hungry customer on May 24, 2023 at 2:30 pm

Capati satu!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Dah Menang Semua on May 24, 2023 at 4:49 pm

usah bimbang Toll, Minyak, bulanan – ambik jer MRT1-2-3, LRT1-2-3, RapidKL, Aeroline, AirAsia, FireFly

• Nurul Izzah on May 24, 2023 at 12:04 pm

Anwar menang rakyat senang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • There’s this thing called “talk cock sing song”. This is why I don’t trust poioticians. Promise after promise, when cannot deliver, give so much excuse. Not thinking holistically the whole issue facing by the country. You want your manifesto to be good, be real lah. Not lying in order to get votes.

• That’s why I didn’t vote these cartoons…U must be hoping so much from them, that’s why u are so mad n sad…haaaa

• Did you really read what I said? I said I don’t trust politicians. Never a word of hoping there. Correct and understand the statement made before you correct others.

• BeSmart on May 26, 2023 at 11:36 am

If you don’t trust politician then why do we need them for? It only means western democratic system that the British force us to adopt is a flawed to keep everyone down. Our current voting system is a caveman system.No system to choose the best candidate for us to vote for. Choose either one also 99% chance mati.
          I think SG and China are the only one that has Merit system. Only people with the highest score and best track record can be considered a menteri post. Those pandai talk talk talk are usually thrown far far away.

• izhar on May 24, 2023 at 12:40 pm

Tony Pua suggest before don’t want to follow. So taste your own medicine.

• Susukotak on May 24, 2023 at 1:29 pm

Waiting for comment

• Proton oh Proton on May 24, 2023 at 1:55 pm

emmm… ckp lain implement lain.

• kronitol on May 24, 2023 at 2:45 pm

Luckily when PLUS was starting up, chedet had promised to make the terms & conditions of the concessionaire agreement more 1 sided in favour of the concessionaire for a guaranteed long term income.. he he he..

• Ben Yap on May 24, 2023 at 2:49 pm

when want to win votes, can promise heaven and earth. when win already, so many excuses. all these politicians spew manifestos without thinking. everyone has to take with a pinch of salt that whatever manifestos they give, most of it are just empty promises.

• Sebelum GE15 cakap ‘mansuh tol’
    Semasa GE15 cakap ‘tengok dulu’
    Lepas GE15 cakap ‘dah lupa cakap ape’
    biiiiiiasalah.. org politik

• So nothing that was promised will be delivered. Like there was no change in gomen. I also remember, besok anwar PM, harga minyak jatuh. Only thing falling is our currency.

• Zacky on May 24, 2023 at 10:23 pm

Errr… can we increase the toll rate for T20?

• Malaysia Mat Dani on May 24, 2023 at 11:31 pm

Sembang kari dengaq buleh pecaya jangan. Jangan jadi pengundi gullible.

• Its ok on May 25, 2023 at 12:49 am

2 x 5 = 10, 5 x 2 pun 10. Balik balik cam tu juagak. Jom gi beli merc. At least ada Acc. Bmw tarak Acc.

• SohaiMenteri on May 25, 2023 at 9:13 am

Everytime I drive pass our Malaysia toll, I see RFID, T&GO, Smartac…it is so obvious every PM wants a cut of the toll. Every PM come, they put a new system. So bodoh..Foreigners come and they also can see what is going on. 10 systen to do the same thing. Sohai