2023 Proton X70 gains new 1.5 TGDi Premium X 2WD variant – sunroof, exclusive Quartz Black; fr RM127k

Proton has announced the availability of the X70 1.5 TGDi Premium X, which is a new variant of the C-segment SUV. With a retail price of RM126,800 on-the-road without insurance, the 1.5 TGDi Premium X costs RM3,000 more than the 1.5 TGDi Premium beneath it and RM2,000 less than the 1.8 TGDi Premium.

In terms of specifications and equipment, the 1.5 TGDi Premium X is nearly identical to the 1.5 TGDi Premium. Under the bonnet is the same 1.5 litre turbocharged and direct-injected three-cylinder petrol engine that makes 177 PS (174 hp or 130 kW) and 255 Nm of torque, paired with a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission driving the front wheels.

Standard kit includes 19-inch alloy wheels, LED projector headlamps, a powered tailgate with hands-free access, Nappa leather upholstery, powered front seats, an 8-inch touchscreen infotainment system, nine speakers, six airbags, the usual array of passive safety systems and a suite of active driver assists (AEB, adaptive cruise control, lane departure warning, blind spot monitoring).

The big difference here is the 1.5 TGDi Premium X comes with a powered sunroof, which was previously only available with the 1.8 TGDi Premium that had a larger-capacity 1.8 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine. Exclusive to the 1.5 TGDi Premium X is a new Quartz Black colour, although customers can also order this variant in Snow White and Jet Grey.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Mr Fakta on Jul 06, 2023 at 11:34 am

People want Apple CarPlay / Android Auto yet they give us Premium X which we all know because they have MOQ order to fulfill and the variant with sunroof is not selling fast enough thus need to clear stock for sunroof.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on Jul 06, 2023 at 4:55 pm

Some people wanna enjoy sunshine while driving while listen to radio nia

• suomynona on Jul 19, 2023 at 10:46 am

What Proton could consider doing is:
      Give an X90 Premium spec with a pano-roof.
      Then can have bed view (with 7 seats folded), and panoramic view for all 7 ppl.

• suomynona on Jul 06, 2023 at 11:34 am

When ppl want sunroof but also want 1.5L

• Proton oh Proton on Jul 06, 2023 at 1:24 pm

we want 4cylinder 1.5L not a sunroof… Malaysia very hot…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • I thought black reserved for government officials? Excess stock?

• Laugh on Jul 06, 2023 at 1:56 pm

P1 is killing themselves slowly and surely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • Mount Chu Kam Tak on Jul 06, 2023 at 2:13 pm

I want apple I want android I want I want I want but I don’t want rebadge car. Give me real local car where to find so conning people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
  • Ben Yap on Jul 06, 2023 at 2:43 pm

with only RM2k difference, might as well go for the 1.8

• hazri on Jul 06, 2023 at 3:35 pm

no. i just wait for proton to make this color for x50, and 1.5/1.8L 4 cylinder. the current one sound like lorry. imagine, buy x50 but engine sound like perodua viva.

• Is this call MC2 hahahaha

• Proton x70 awd costs similar or more than trucks. Is proton selling at huge margins due to other vehicles being charged high protection duties?

• Che wee on Jul 07, 2023 at 3:09 pm

Alahai Poton….bagi sunroof utk facelift…….mmg malaysian standard……..
    Ingat bagi upgraded engine ke…..

• CamPro Rules on Jul 10, 2023 at 10:44 am

I owned an S-class Mercedes-Maybach and an Iriz 1.3. Surprisingly, I liked to drive in my proton Iriz 1.3. The engine seems more powerful than the Maybach. The response timing, the gearbox performance, I feel I made a mistake buying the maybach. Since I am a C-class executive, now I am travelling with my Iriz for meetings. An advice to Proton’s CEO, keep on RND’ng Proton’s CamPro engine. Resurrect the engine again. Cheers.

• Niama on Jul 12, 2023 at 8:57 am

Please give an odm audio system running under Kenwood name for all future proton models. We know we cannot afford the brand, least give the fake version of it.