2022 Proton X70 MC gets new head unit with Atlas OS, but existing GKUI units not upgradable; Spotify soon

Just three months on from its debut, the 2022 Proton X70 MC (minor change) has received a selection of updates as a running change; chief among these is the introduction of a new head unit. This means a hardware change, therefore existing, older units running GKUI will not be upgradeable to the newer Atlas operating system.

Being a running change, the revision to the infotainment of the 2022 X70 MC has already been included in the latest batch of production for the C-segment SUV. Along with the hardware and software changes, the latest ensemble will also get the Spotify music app from the A Store in the near future.

Given that the running change for infotainment equipment is fairly involved, this looks like an update that should have been timed to coincide with the arrival of the X70’s MC update in June; it’s a wonder that it wasn’t.

Further afield, the running change to the 2022 X70 MC also brings a frameless rear view mirror, albeit exclusive to the Premium (1.5L and 1.8L variants) of the SUV.

Revisions on this running change include the new infotainment head unit and the frameless rear-view mirror on the Premium variants – click to enlarge

Powertrain specification, specifically the inclusion of the 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder petrol engine is the biggest revision in the transition to its minor change, which essentially is a carryover unit from the B-segment X50.

In the X70, this engine produces 177 PS at 5,500 rpm and 255 Nm from 1,500 to 4,000 rpm, or 7 PS and 45 Nm down on that of the X50. Meanwhile, buyers opting for the 1.8 litre version will get same outputs as it as offered before, with 184 PS at 5,500 rpm and 300 Nm of torque between 1,750 and 4,000 rpm. Both versions get a seven-speed wet dual-clutch transmission.

The 2022 Proton X70 MC starts from RM98,800 for the 1.5 Standard, rising to RM110,800 for the 1.5 Executive variant. Next up is the Executive AWD at RM116,800, before the 1.5 litre range is capped by the 1.5 Premium, at RM123,800. Topping the lot is the sole 1.8 litre variant, the 1.8 Premium, at RM128,800.

2022 Proton X70 MC, September 2022 running change

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Ground europe passenger on Sep 27, 2022 at 5:43 pm

Can sell as good as before kah after “minor change”..The premium 1.8 timing chain model pricing near the toyota cross and honda hrv dy. Other 1.5T variants must well choose the x50 premium as u still get the same timing belt 3 cylinder engine.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Sep 27, 2022 at 8:52 pm

What U pay is What U get
      Why complain? Asal jimat

• Amran on Sep 28, 2022 at 6:03 pm

The X70MC looks even more merecikk panas giler with new head unit merencak habislah SUV market. Tbh

• Maverick on Sep 28, 2022 at 5:23 pm

When you consider that it still commands a long list of waiting buyers, yea nobrainer the best car for your money’s worth on anything above 100k, below that sum there is x50.

• REAL X70 OWNER WITH CAR STUCK AT WORKSHOP (FRUSTRATED) on Sep 27, 2022 at 6:00 pm

ATLAS OS OR WHATEVER ITS LAPSAP. why cant they just be normal and give us apple carplay and google android auto?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 35
    • Raja Celup on Sep 28, 2022 at 8:20 am

Btw the Atlas tyre came from which factory? Michelin or Bridgestone group?

• Maverick on Sep 28, 2022 at 5:24 pm

Android Auto is LAPSAP since they announce to phase it out.

• Top Gun on Sep 28, 2022 at 8:14 pm

No the lapsap one is u because u can’t comprehend what is being phased out. Android Auto for car headunit will stay, and a new UI codenamed coolwalk is on it’s way. The one being phased out is Android Auto for Phone display. Not the Android Auto itself. Comprehend!

• Maverick on Sep 29, 2022 at 8:02 am

Ur misleading people again. Old Android Auto CANNOT integrate with new replacement OS. Unlike AtlasOS, what is on those players will not be upgraded/updated as they lack OTA and widescreen to support. That is the LAPSAP of Android, no backwards compatibility. Can u use Galaxy S6 for update to Android 12, no right?

• Lets See on Sep 27, 2022 at 6:07 pm

Heard the delay was caused by late approval from MCMC to validate the new HU.

• ROTI CANAI on Sep 27, 2022 at 9:17 pm

great job, at least we are learning something from china, not the right ones though

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • The Atlas OS initially looked quite ok. But it lags when operating, and constantly provides audio notification which sometimes can be annoying. Eg when shut off engine, it reports the weather. There’s no way to turn off these notifications. If only it also comes with apple car play or android auto…… Mine’s the x50.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
  • AKOTEK WHAT IS THIS BEHAVIOR on Sep 27, 2022 at 9:32 pm

They could’ve developed the HU to include AA/CP yet they chose to not. Their reasoning before was they need to developed another HU to include AA/CP and that needs money. This new HU developed for ATLASampah does not need money meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
  • Is it applicable to all x70 MC 2022 since June or just those model release now. My protonlink still not working until now.

• meladam on Sep 28, 2022 at 10:16 am

enough lah proton. we need all new now

• AFTER SALES SUCKS on Sep 28, 2022 at 11:06 am

Do not even think about getting a Proton until you read this:

To whom it may concern,

I sent my car (Proton X70) to XXX for 20,000 km service on 22nd July 2022. Before the service, the car was in perfect condition. Following the service, the front axle started to generate humming noise while cruising above 50km/h. The humming noise becomes more apparent when the car is steering to the left during cruising. I spoke with the service advisor, XXX and I was informed that the car needed to stay at the service center for three (3) business days for troubleshooting. The car was dropped off at the XXX service center on 17/8/2022. After four (4) business days, XXX called and informed me that the car was repaired. On my way back home, the humming noise was still present. The issue was not addressed. I called XXX, spoke with the Service Manager, XXX, and informed him about the issue. We test drove the car together and he acknowledged the humming noise and suspected that the front bearing may be defective. XXX suggested that I left the car at the service center for one (1) day in order for his master technician to confirm the issue. The car spent another day at the service center on 23/8/2022. On the same day, XXX informed me that the master technician confirmed that the left front bearing was defective. They promised to have the part within two (2) weeks. After more than three (3) weeks, XXX texted and informed me that the part has arrived and that it will take three (3) business days for installation. The car was dropped off at XXX service center on 19/9/2022. After three (3) business days, XXX informed me that the front left bearing was replaced and he suggested we go for a test drive to confirm the issue is addressed. While test driving, the humming sound is still present. XXX informed me that the front right bearing may be the issue and he told me to leave the car at the service center for a week to further troubleshoot. This is insane. For all the time and money wasted, I do not have any words to say.

You have been warned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Lets go get a Proton on Sep 28, 2022 at 2:15 pm

I’ve read it….
      Now i can go get a Proton right?

At least no need to porn-filter your comment with plenty of ‘XXX’ lah, others cam avoid that ‘XXX’ service center.

• Amran on Sep 28, 2022 at 6:09 pm

Penipu tanpa fakta…

• NURIZAM KHALID on Sep 29, 2022 at 1:50 pm

current x70 navigation app is useless

• LOL! Whats with these trolls. :)
      Hafrizh Shah has shown how it is used and it works flawless. Come on if you have something to hate at least make it sensible and not sounding like a paid shill.