AI-based traffic rules violation detection cameras are not new; set up as proof of concept – Anthony Loke

According to transport minister Anthony Loke, the upgraded AI-based traffic rules violation detection cameras at selected traffic lights were implemented as a proof of concept to monitor the behaviour of motorists.

As reported by The Star, Loke revealed the system had been implemented even before he headed the transport ministry. “I was made to understand that this is not new. It is a proof of concept,” he said. Loke was responding to a viral message that claimed the road transport department (JPJ) had initiated a widespread project to install CCTV cameras with AI technology at traffic lights.

“The JPJ has started installing CCTV with AI that can record a video of what you are doing at the traffic light. Those who always play with their handphones while waiting for the green light, please be careful,” the viral message read.

“You may be issued with summons, don’t say that you are not warned. Hopefully by sharing this information, it will serve as a reminder for all of us and to always remember that you are being watched through the CCTV,” it continued.

Earlier this month, Sarawak transport minister Datuk Lee Kim Shin said the state had installed an upgraded AI-based traffic rules violation camera system to capture evidence of traffic offences and provide data for better policy planning and enforcement,

He noted that the system showed impressive results within one week of its rollout and the proof-of-concept project will be trialled for six months before the state transport ministry decides on its next course of action.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• niadruob ynohtna on Jul 13, 2023 at 1:04 pm

Idiots. Focusing on the wrong matters. How about you invest in AI capable traffic lights instead of cctv to catch ppl on the phone while the vehicle is stationary? AI to control the flow of traffic during peak and non peak hours.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 9
    • buat wayang on Jul 13, 2023 at 1:45 pm

usual. MALAYSIAN style. do useless things instead of solving the top 20% of traffic problems in the country.

many other examples:
      -focus on sexy nurse outfit instead of revamp healthcare system
      -focus on banning electric scooter instead of basikal lajak
      -busy selling car reg plates instead of drivers without driving license

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
      • History Bender on Jul 13, 2023 at 3:10 pm

Kearah dunia Big Brother! Welcome Mesia 1984!

• Sad but True on Jul 14, 2023 at 9:00 am

“”””-focus on sexy nurse outfit instead of revamp healthcare system””””

Healthcare system has been privatised for the benefits of those who promote sexy nurses…

Nothing better than “sexy nurses” to attract idiots taxpayers… Without any surprise, big luxury clinics and hospitals are popping up everywhere, because the investisors already knew what will happen after the massive injection campaign… Covid ops is one of the biggest organized scam ever.

What people ignore is that the pharmaceutical industry was loosing money for the past few years prior to 2020 Covid narrative… In less than few month after Wuhan Hollywood show, share market has exploded – Pfizer’s, Johnson and Co have multiplied by 10 their income.

Nothing better than selling the remedy after having spread the corresponding poison.

Same old method of the pyromaniac firefighter applied to the Medical field.

ARN injections have been proven to be inefficient in both preventing and transmitting the so-called deadly flu.

The only real pandemy was on TV! A mediatic pandemy which was carefully organized by the same corrupted white collars criminals that impose always more restriction to people and more freedom for themselves.

Covid tests can be positive even by testing papaya or frozen fish! It’s all bullshit in order to pull out taxpayers money into private offshores account.

But this time, there will be no trials because majority of the People are guilty. Masks sellers, doctors, even nurses made side money by pushing non-sick people to get a magic shot.

Greed, ignorance and arrogance are the new norm.

Now, let’s pinpoint on those “evil” youngsters who prefer ride like superman rather then taking legal. Blue pills from doctors in order to tame their energy… Let’s accuse Mother Nature to be wrong, let’s worship Doctors and pseudo Experts on Holly TV shows…

• Xiayu on Jul 15, 2023 at 6:43 pm

What an amazing answer exactly what’s all about thanks bro …

• Trunk con minister on Jul 13, 2023 at 1:47 pm

Very good initiative. Grab and foodpanda riders watch out.

• who am i on Jul 13, 2023 at 1:54 pm

have to agree. AI or at least a central-controlled traffic light system is more important. Allows the police/bandaraya to monitor and change traffic light frequency from remote, rather than ask our poor abang Polis stand there under hot sun and rain during peak hours!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Don't know what others thinking on Jul 13, 2023 at 4:10 pm

How would you know if they’re not implementing AI for traffic control?
      Even so they have, you also need these AI camera to monitor traffic situation, correct me if I’m wrong.

• yiruma on Jul 14, 2023 at 10:08 am

our traffic lights are dumb. they cannot be re-programmed without being physically there at the location. so nope, they currently are NOT AI capable.

• United colors of turbo-tards citizens on Jul 13, 2023 at 4:47 pm

You are the idiot. You really think that on green light, those smartphone drivers will immediately stop using their phone? FIRST OF ALL, THEY CAN’T EVEN REALIZE WHEN THE TRAFFIC LIGHT GOES GREEN!

That’s right! How many times I have to horn at traffic light because idiots are too busy on their phone… You can’t text/sms/watch-bullshit and observe the surrounding at the same time. This is common sense, this is physics!

But hey? What to expect from a bunch of tards who obstinately continue to wear stupid masks in their cars, in the Malls, even though this none sense is not mendatory anymore? What should conscious people think about such degenerated mammals ?

You guys like connected gadjets and wifi/blueTooth everywhere and anytime? You enjoy to be assisted like handicap ? Well enjoy the full package :

—> FULLY ENJOY YOUR ZERO PRIVACY SOCIETY OF OVERASSISTED TARD CONSUMERS and don’t forget you 4th jab to stay in the norm of “politically correct taxpayers”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
      • Hafiz on Jul 14, 2023 at 1:57 am

u are the idiot

covid & influenza r still here. im still wearing face mask in the mall & sometimes in the car (if im late to work). yesterday 2 of my patients were tested positive for influenza

• Talking to brainwashed idiots on Jul 14, 2023 at 7:15 am

Test are bogus… Do you fuc&@in homework :
          Do you personal research about “how” really works all those te$ting kits… It’s totally inaccurate !!!

The truth is SARS-Cov-2 is not a new virus at all, it’s just a huge marketing trick to force you to submit to their new paradigm.

I am tired to explain such evident things to tards. If you don’t die from a stroke in the next 3 years, don’t consider yourself “lucky”, because non leathal side effects are often worse than sudden death…

• Hey, before 2020, covid/influenza and other marketing stupid names of variants had a name :

—->>> seasonal flu

But yeah… Flu doesn’t sound scary enough to force people to get injected with (((experimental shit)))…

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 14, 2023 at 8:49 am

PH gomen better just let AI to run the country, sure it will better than their stoopid ministers such as Loke.

• Kaum Rempit on Jul 14, 2023 at 6:22 pm

A lot of BN politicians wanted Loke to join their side, it shows how good he is.

• why target unimportant things on Jul 13, 2023 at 1:14 pm

someone in a stopped car using phone = they want to catch

those driving/moving and using phone = no catch

talk about priorities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • Anthony Look on Jul 13, 2023 at 1:18 pm

gee… someone inside a STOPPED vehicle touched his phone. dangerous to other users? no.

but a moving car, using the phone, no cameras catching those.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Algorithm or AI camera? What kind of learning the camera do?

• Eyes wide shot on Jul 13, 2023 at 5:35 pm

They don’t learn, they just accumulate injected data and calculate the average. There is no “intelligence” in AI (it’s just a fancy modern word to sell idiots always more intrusive global surveillance, which translates in less freedom in the name of “more safety”)

In fact, even programmers will be kicked out from the field by their own system lol Why? Because they have forgotten the meaning of life… Those who pay them today will be directly connected to the machine, making programmers obsoleted.

• budget disalah gunakan on Jul 13, 2023 at 1:47 pm

so many stretch in the NS-highway dont have street lights, nor cats eyes. when it rains, road lines become invisible. BUT NOOOO… we are busy and wasting money on cameras and AI and cronies to install cameras to catch stopped vehicles on traffic lights. syabas

• King Kong Jr on Jul 14, 2023 at 10:12 am

our ministers dont have experience running a big corporation (a country is actually just a big corporation). they should pour resources into fixing the top 5% of problems, not solve the bottom-tier, unimportant 90% !

fix the bloody mat rempit, license-less drivers problems first before you want to start catching “stopped vehicle at traffic stops” and investing millions into AI, cameras, infra and workforce to maintain all these, that doesnt benefit the road users.

• budget 2024 on Jul 13, 2023 at 1:47 pm

tax payers money spent like this. (Face palm)

• Soft Mass Depopulation on Jul 13, 2023 at 9:57 pm

Ah ah ah… You want to talk about “taxpayers money gone?”

– Ask your favorite party leader to show you the contract signed between Government and Pfizer … Then, ask how many injected people are going to suddenly die in the next 5 years due to auto-immune diseases caused by the so-called experimental anti-flu geno-treatment…
      After that, I guarantee you that you will look at all others médiatic scandals like small litttle details of History…

• Spin Too Much on Jul 14, 2023 at 8:53 am

Does it matter how much money was spent then? Lives were at stake and the whole country was in lockdown. That was a necessity, like today’s food price inflation are you going to stop buying foodstuff in protest of the price hikes. How to compare with this unnecessary spending? So don’t be a blinded PH fanboi, use the brain to think if you can type all that BS.

• Mr Fakta on Jul 13, 2023 at 1:56 pm

Seems like 1000 deadly accidents happened each day from looking at your phone waiting at a traffic stop, way more than running red light, idiots didn’t park on line on the sensor or queue cutting pigs. Implement this when our country’s road is all lid, marked and free of idiots 1st.

• Don't worry.. on Jul 13, 2023 at 3:11 pm

With human natural intelligence on the decline, AI will gradually take over, and eventually your dream of an idiot free world will be fulfilled..

• Avenger on Jul 14, 2023 at 8:55 am

The way this country being run now, I prefer AI to take over managing us.

• But u have to remember.. on Jul 14, 2023 at 11:14 am

that AI does not stand for Avenger Intelligence

• Kapten Amerika on Jul 14, 2023 at 1:05 pm

that AI oso does not stand for Anwar Ibrahim yo

• Who mentioned on Jul 14, 2023 at 1:45 pm

in this comment section that ‘AI’ is a human being?

• longjaafar on Jul 13, 2023 at 2:05 pm

also, fine those who stop and wait outside the box. Why can’t we wait within the box and behind the line? I can say that those who deliberately are outside the box, are impatient, greedy, ignorant, or a plain habitual offender…

• shortdikk on Jul 13, 2023 at 4:16 pm

you mean motorbikes? yes, motorbikes never follow road lines.

• Lance Chau on Jul 13, 2023 at 2:44 pm

Give you a list of hotspot traffic light location to catch motorcyclist, ok?

• seancorr on Jul 13, 2023 at 2:45 pm

Deal with the mat rempits too. Their weekly racing at the tolls are still happening

• so just beware of L shape traffic light

• ryanLee on Jul 13, 2023 at 3:09 pm

all the intentions are good. i salute for the efforts. these AI measures are all good for road safety. violations and accidents are rampant we should look into bigger picture. congestion. road quality. especially road repairs so sickening.

• ROTI CANAI on Jul 13, 2023 at 3:32 pm

AI cameras to catch these things but no AI TRAFFIC LIGHTS that are smart enough to ensure smooth traffic flow

• Unpleasant truth on Jul 13, 2023 at 9:31 pm

AI is not made to help people, AI is made to protect a tiny minority of extremely rich people. Protection of big corporates and bankers.
      AI is just a tool to pull more money from your account and influence your thoughts, cutting down your will of power, keeping you entertained with tonnes of bullshit via games and censored social medias…

In fact AI is not intelligent at all, it’s basic programmation associated to exponential collection of data and calculation power. Private data from people who have lost their historical consciousness. Brainwashed people looking at speculative figures, imagining that one they they will strike lottery with the help of their gods…
      The game is rigged…

AI = your lost privacy, and soon, your lost of everything…

• EV Car Mafia on Jul 13, 2023 at 4:03 pm

So what happens when you use the big tablet screens built in carplay on the road? will

• Common sense on Jul 14, 2023 at 9:11 am

Ridiculous, isn’t it? Well… If cars screens where not able to connect to stupid android’s entertaining apps, that would be ok… Only mapping and essential dashboard data should be accessible to drivers.

If drivers want to chat, text or surf on social media, they should park their fu&@in cars on authorised car park and not monopolise responsible drivers safety.

• Waste of Money on Jul 13, 2023 at 4:52 pm

history have shown eventually a failure

In past there are many traffic junction are installed with cars detectors, if a junction have no car that junction will have green light (a saving of 2mins waiting time each junction) BUT nowadays all disappear SEMUA ROSAK
    No money to maintain

• Guy with astigmatism on Jul 13, 2023 at 5:15 pm

It would be a great tool if the cameras are used to idemtify cars that are fitted with HID lights. Blinding headlights are seriously taken alight by the authorities. 80% of our senses depend on sight.

• AHAHAHAHAHA

DEAR POOR MINISTER.

KINDLY FOCUSING THE IDIOTPROOF WHILE DRIVING FOR SAFETY ISSUE.

NOT IDIOTLY PROOF THE DRIVE GUILTY.

YOU WANT TO COLLECT MONEY OR WANT TO MAKE RAKYAT MALAYSIA SAFE?

FAIL GOVENMRMENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Bawa amoi and touch her lap also can be caught. Aiyoo..

• All these ministers are idiot. Do you care about people? Find the way to summon only? Find the way to silve traffic jam during peak hours, build more alternative road, smart traffic guide using whatever mean like gps, google maps, waze or whatever. Learn from korea the leading country in the world guide traffic using gps. How they manage the traffic…summon generate money only. Dont have other idea to get money aa… Step down la give other people.

• Machine Head on Jul 14, 2023 at 7:17 am

Based on many comments here, human intelligence has indeed deteriorated, giving way to AI domination.

• Avenger on Jul 14, 2023 at 8:55 am

The way this country being run now, I prefer AI to take over managing us.

• Machine Head on Jul 14, 2023 at 1:48 pm

not only in this country or any other country.. it’s the entire world..

• Ben Yap on Jul 14, 2023 at 9:10 am

now guys want to bring their mistress around also dangerous. if they are caught on camera, not on get fined, they also also will receive a divorce letter soon.

• shoaib ahmad on Jul 14, 2023 at 11:21 am

that is good

• Ben Bull on Jul 15, 2023 at 11:36 am

Unless the AI-Based CCTV is not made from CCPland then there is no transfer of private data to CCPLAND and is locally stored database in Bolehland(Malaysia) then it is secured.