Report vehicle customs duty and tax evasion and be rewarded with 10% of seizure value – Ahmad Maslan

The Royal Malaysian Customs Department (JKDM) is offering a reward of 10% of the value of the seizure to anyone who provides accurate information on the evasion of customs duties and taxes, including perpetrators.

As reported by Bernama, deputy minister of finance I Datuk Seri Ahmad Maslan said the identity of the informant will be kept confidential. Goods that are on the watchlist for customs duty and tax evasion include vehicles, cigarettes and liquor.

“If the value of the seizure is worth RM1 million, then 10% of that, which is RM100,000, will be given to the informant. There is indeed a provision for informants that we will evaluate according to category,” said Ahmad Maslan.

“We hope that more people will contact the JKDM if they see something suspicious, we consider these informants as category A, which means that when the JKDM arrives at the place, they can immediately arrest the perpetrators and seize the goods. It also includes cases involving drugs,” he added.

Ahmad Maslan noted the added that information provided is needed to eradicate activities that would harm the people and the country and that the rewards had been given out by JKDM for a long time but had not been announced.

“There is still a lot of this evil work being done out there, therefore I call on everyone to come forward and pass on the information by contacting JKDM in their respective areas… however, don’t give false information,” he said.

“I believe in the persistent efforts of the state JKDM in improving the results which to some extent can help the government’s efforts in rehabilitating the national economy and further help the people,” he continued.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• would you out your family member smuggling and dodging duties/tax? interesting

• Crony on Jul 20, 2023 at 1:27 pm

Don’t report and be rewarded 100% of the vehicle.
      So which benefits more here?

• 9naga on Jul 20, 2023 at 6:30 pm

Must report all these culprits previously protected for years by sindiket Middin & Madey …deswai PN shakingg now

• Angry Voters on Jul 21, 2023 at 4:41 pm

Funny how rakyat supported them when fighting against Najib until we threw away 61 years of stability. After all that it would have been better to stick with Najib & BN looking at all the chaos and lost opportunities going to neighbouring countries. Regret voting PH? you betcha!

• Ex PN supporter on Jul 24, 2023 at 10:46 pm

Many regrets voted Pas PN. Say no more

• sloan on Jul 20, 2023 at 12:54 pm

how to check the goods paid tax or not paid tax? can u gv us a system to access? why do custom need information from others to know anyone smuggling goods? gaji buta is it?

• Lolwhut? on Jul 20, 2023 at 6:21 pm

A big sticker will cover your doors with the seal say Duty Paid, just like those legal arak you buy here. LOL!

• Ben Yap on Jul 20, 2023 at 2:07 pm

not worth the 10% to risk our lives. there is a possibility of corruption behind and the perpetrator will be let off the hook and he/she will come after the whistleblower.

• Bieight8 on Jul 20, 2023 at 2:31 pm

Should do this for all fines so that people’s can earn a living by just reporting violations

• Muahahah on Jul 20, 2023 at 4:48 pm

Then, most gomen officers will be in jail, then how to run the gomen? Bolehland full of corruption. Without corruption, bolehland special rakyat can’t live la. They want ez money. You try take that away, sure they will hunt you down and kill.

• Quit complaining and do your bit on Jul 20, 2023 at 6:23 pm

As hadi said, see who are the dalangs and you will know why we can’t hentam them without them crying to USA for help.

• Ek eleh on Jul 20, 2023 at 4:45 pm

All the smuggling takes place in Bolehland with the own custom officers. Apesal wayang2 ask normal ppl to provide the info? Just investigate ur officers. I guarantee 99.9% are corrupted. Don’t waste rakyat time.