JPJ branches directed to remove ‘no more physical road tax’ notice, stickers are still being issued – Loke

Road transport department (JPJ) branches that put up a notice stating that a physical copy of the road tax for private vehicles was no longer being issued by the department have been directed to remove them.

Transport minister Anthony Loke said the directive was issued by JPJ director-general Rospiagos Taha to branches which said the physical road tax (lesen kenderaan motor, or LKM) would not be issued from August 1, and that customers should instead renew their road tax online using the MyJPJ application.

Loke clarified that the road tax sticker is still being issued, as The Star reports. “Several branches ran out of stock and put up a notice that physical road tax were not available, but this is not a policy decision. We took quick action after finding out branches had run out of stock and ordered new stock,” he said yesterday.

He said the ministry had yet to set a cut-off date for the full transition to a digital road tax (e-LKM), and vehicle owners still have a choice to continue using the physical road tax sticker. He added that JPJ statistics revealed that only 30% of vehicle owners have opted for digital road tax so far.

“But there will come a time when we will transform to digital fully. No decision has been made yet,” he said. He added that it will likely take six months to a year before the road tax goes completely digital.

In February, Loke had announced that owners of private vehicles would no longer need to display the road tax on their vehicle windscreen as of February 10, 2023, and could opt for the digital version. He said the switch to digital would reduce congestion at JPJ offices and counters by up to 80% and save the government around RM96 million a year in printing costs.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• who am i on Aug 03, 2023 at 1:43 pm

i once went through a road block by PDRM with a car that doesn’t have physical roadtax sticker. the PDRM officers wasn’t equipped with the devices to check our electronic roadtax. He insisted I show him on my phone. While this is fine usually, I wonder if it would get a driver in trouble if he/she were unable to show it on their personal devices. Shouldn’t law enforcement be obligated to use government issued devices???

• si manja on Aug 04, 2023 at 9:40 am

the implementation of this initiative to replace physical sticker with digital, is horrible. It was so sudden, everyone taken by suprise, even law enforcement wasn’t aware of it for 2 weeks. Now, government didnt even issue them device to check our plates. HORRIBLE

• klguy on Aug 03, 2023 at 2:00 pm

even if the rakyat is ready for the digital roadtax, are the PDRM and JPJ officers ready for it? Are they educated enough that a physical road tax is not mandatory anymore?

• How much the cost of that plastic,paper,ink and the printer usage? i willing pay extra for it rather than fill up my phone memories with apps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • tatu880 on Aug 03, 2023 at 3:07 pm

This whole “digital roadtax” is unnecessary to begin with.

Start by tackling the bigger problem first: standardised number plates. Come on, its 2023 already.

• Tired Road Patron on Aug 03, 2023 at 4:11 pm

Renewed my road tax last month and opted to order the sticker from MyEG, it was supposed to arrive within a week yet it’s been a month and it’s still yet to arrive. One must wonder if they’re dragging their heels since they don’t feel it’s necessary to issue it anymore.

• zebra on Aug 03, 2023 at 4:14 pm

Pengalaman aku di sekatan jalan raya JPJ tempoh hari. JPJ gelabah beruk tgk kereta tak ada roadtax kat cermin. Bangang nak mampos!

• Dredd on Aug 03, 2023 at 4:35 pm

Apa lanjau ni Loke? Ko mau paperless atau masih mau print roadtax? Pilih salah satu!

Mau dua2 mana boleh! Your inconsistency in running things are making a huge mess la bodoh!

If I show you my Lawgiver I will end your inconsistency right there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • komarad on Aug 03, 2023 at 5:39 pm

wonderful!!

• I would rather you to solve traffic congestion issue rather than this small and non important matter!!!

• Adam Tham on Aug 04, 2023 at 10:03 am

This is the best news for senior citizens. I am surprised and happy to note that 70% road users prefer printed road tax format. My whole family of 5 (there are 6 cars) still prefer the printed format. This shows that YB Anthony Loke listens to the cries of the common people. I have just renewed my road tax in JPJ in PJ. It was a breeze as senior citizens like me were directed to a dedicated lane. Thank you JPJ for a job well done. I hope that JPJ continues to issue road tax sticker for many years to come. Please listen to the 70 percent who want the printed format. I don’t trust the electronic system as the digital system can be corrupted by virus or human error. I have heard cases where the traffic police cannot detect in his phone that a driver has paid his road rax online.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Jeremy on Aug 04, 2023 at 7:06 pm

If he really listened to the people, he should not have change the system that was working for 60 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • Ethan on Aug 04, 2023 at 9:09 pm

Had an issue when renewing road tax for my mum. Opted for the digital road tax. But to download the soft copy, the app is needed. If my mum only has one of those old Nokia phones that can’t install the app then how?

• Paul Tan on Aug 04, 2023 at 9:19 pm

“Loke says a ‘gadget’ will be used to check cars as they pass by. Checks will also be done based on IC number (for driving license) and number plate (for road tax), so there’s no need to worry about how to provide the digital road tax.”

https://paultan.org/2023/02/10/no-longer-mandatory-to-display-road-tax-on-car-from-feb-10-show-e-lkm-on-your-phone-app-instead-loke/

• Chaoren on Aug 05, 2023 at 10:43 am

They should think on how about those private own vehicles driven by others parties like wife , how to prove ?

• Zarilan on Aug 05, 2023 at 3:05 pm

Physical road tax sticker is more better from digital road tax. Please consider about it, not everyone using smartphone as underware. Must bring to anywhere.

• ajimali on Aug 05, 2023 at 8:56 pm

haritu aku dari miri sarawak pegi brunei . haaaa amikkk ko kena saman dari pihak polis kat sana sebab xpamer roadtax . menyusah kan orang je undang² mcm ni . bingaii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • Engkau saja yang tak sedar on Aug 07, 2023 at 12:49 pm

yang Brunei tu dah kira sbg sebuah negara asing di mana mereka ada undang2 mereka sendiri & undang2 Malaysia tidak berkuasa di sana. Lain kali periksa dulu apa yang sah di Malaysia, mungkin tidak sah di negara org lain.

• I renewed my road tax on 1 Aug in Penang, no physical sticker given. Should I want to have the physical road tax now, can I go to JPJ to ask for one?