Got a Tesla Model Y on order but prefer the new Tesla Model 3 ‘Highland’? Here’s how to change your order

When Tesla Malaysia first opened its order books for the Malaysian market, only the Tesla Model Y was available for order in RWD, LR AWD and Performance specs. There was no Model 3 available for order.

That changed last week when the order books for the new Tesla Model 3 ‘Highland’ facelift was opened in Malaysia, making our market one of the first in the world to get it, with deliveries of the first batch scheduled before the end of 2023.

Some who put in an order for the Model Y which is an SUV might actually have a preference for a sedan. Or perhaps they prefer the updated specifications that Tesla gave the Model 3 Highland, such as the revamped 17 speaker sound system. Perhaps they want the longer 629 km WLTP range that the Model 3 LR offers. Or whatever the reason might be, they might want to get the new Model 3 Highland instead of the Model Y.

The good news is Tesla Malaysia will allow this. Here’s how to change your Tesla Model Y order to a Tesla Model 3 Highland without burning your RM1,000 Model Y order fee.

First, you need to make a new Tesla Model 3 order, and pay the RM1,000 order fee for the Model 3. Then you need to perform the following to get your Model Y order fee refunded.

What you need to do is to send an email to [email protected] with your original Model Y order reference number and your new Model 3 reference number.

In order for your refund request to be considered, the following criteria must be met in full:

• You must have an active Model Y order placed before 1 September 2023.

• You must have placed a new Model 3 order.

• Both your Model Y and your new Model 3 orders are placed under the same Tesla Account, verified by the same email address.
  • Both orders must be placed for Malaysia.

• Your refund request must be sent by 15 September 2023 and will only be processed once.

For any enquiries, customers can contact Tesla Malaysia at 1800810655 or email [email protected]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Ok noted. I will do the necessary by sharing this info.

• Sharifuddin on Sep 05, 2023 at 12:54 pm

I emailed Tesla Malaysia last Sunday.
    The Model Y no longer appeared in my Tesla app.
    Got this message when I checked on the web Tesla account:
    We have begun processing your refund.
    Please allow 10 to 15 business days for completion.
    If you had paid by credit card, it may take up to 30 days for the refund to be reflected on your statement.

• Tesla Famboi on Sep 05, 2023 at 1:11 pm

So after 1st Sept cannot change booking between cars ? If want to change color how ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • msia driver on Sep 05, 2023 at 1:42 pm

Tesla > all other EV, most value car in the world, it is hype like launching new iPhone…hope teslca get highest sale 30-40k units per month in malaysia.

• Sohai on Sep 05, 2023 at 4:33 pm

if you have the bookings… just take the delivery and flip lah. Everyone waiting.

• Wee Ken Fatt & Soh Ken Wee on Sep 05, 2023 at 6:03 pm

Wei this car can buy or not
    I think can buy la Tesla ma got name one.
    Got people say catch fire one some more chaching station not enuff.
    Aiya your house stove also can catch fire but you use also right.
    You are so smart Ah Fatt ok if you buy then I buy also. Can can we can go jalan jalan makan makan chaching chaching sounds like fun.

• He Long Must on Sep 05, 2023 at 7:35 pm

Kompeni aku prihatin. Tak sakau booking fee rakyat.

• Nvm..i will take both

• Lame ev on Sep 06, 2023 at 12:48 am

Good luck using battery in our ultra hot country haha

• EVlin5454 on Sep 06, 2023 at 4:16 pm

Obviously … you know “NUTTSSSSS” about EV .

• stanhope on Sep 06, 2023 at 8:42 pm

good luck getting to Oz to see the wizard to give you a brain

• Megah Holding on Sep 07, 2023 at 12:50 pm

Literally don’t care as I have spare car at my garage. Buying this only to fill up the garage.

• Mike Tee on Sep 06, 2023 at 2:16 pm

Waiting for M3 Performance Highland to be announced. Also since Zeekr is confirmed for Malaysia launch also interested in how much they will sell the “Plaid killer” FR 001 with 0-100 in 2.1 seconds with rollout (2.3 real world)

• apamau on Sep 06, 2023 at 5:42 pm

Don’t think is a Plaid Killer.. using 4 Motor to run just slightly faster than a 3 motor car.. it’s just their marketing.. believe the car will be much heavier as it need bigger battery to push the car

• ROTI CANAI on Sep 06, 2023 at 6:02 pm

win win