13,516 Malaysian road deaths due to careless driving

A total of 1.2 million road accidents were recorded on Malaysian roads from 2021 till August 2023, with 13,516 deaths. According to police Traffic Investigation and Enforcement Department (JSPT) head CP Datuk Sri Mat Kasim Karim when speaking to Utusan Malaysia, this resulted 13,516 deaths caused by driver carelessness.

The 13,516 road deaths were from 4,247 accidents in 2021, with 5,671 fatalities in 2022. Meanwhile, 3,589 deaths occured on Malaysian roads till August of this year.

From police statistics, the majority of road accidents, some 81,136 cases, were caused by drivers tailgating. Mat Kasim said drivers should maintain a distance of between two to four car lengths from the vehicle in front to avoid a collision.

“A further 59,032 accident were caused by the driver not seeing or unaware of other vehicles, including using a mobile phone,” said Mat Kasim. “Aside from that, 46,786 accidents occured when the driver or rider was careless when coming out of an intersection,” he added.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Kea Was on Sep 25, 2023 at 1:38 pm

Malaysian power blame it on the drunkenness because it is nice and easy to blame others just like the previous Transport Minister made stricter law to punish others to service his masters with useless solution.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • While we are on the topic of road using…

PLEASE DON’T EVER “SIGNAL AND LANE CHANGE” AT THE EXACT SAME TIME!! IT CAUSES UNNECESSARY STRESS AND DANGER.

• Adat Korupsi Paradise land on Sep 26, 2023 at 3:27 pm

Karma and Consequence of “Guarantee pass package” rampant corruption awarding too many unqualified drivers and riders licence on the road nowadays.

• Kony Chee Wah on Sep 25, 2023 at 2:23 pm

Too many low IQ MF think they so terror more like terrorist on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Squid on Sep 25, 2023 at 2:29 pm

More importantly, zero due to speeding! Lets go!!!

• Mr Fakta on Sep 25, 2023 at 2:35 pm

But in Malaysia, due to reason we all know, drink driving is seen as the number one killer of road accident. They targeted drink driving with biased propaganda, utusan is one of them, remember “Lagi kes mabuk”? But facts and statistics show otherwise. This is Malaysia, we solve problem based on sentiment, not facts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 26
    • Najwan Halimi on Sep 25, 2023 at 5:27 pm

Padan muka. Dasar kaki mabuk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • bugger on Oct 01, 2023 at 3:05 pm

ermmm…mostly died are the majority and not from drink driving…i think you padan muka the majority which is a fail

• CARUSER1960 on Sep 25, 2023 at 3:24 pm

Driving for over 40 years now. Seen so MANY TAIL Gating on Highways by many drivers on Mid and Side lanes !!! Always shake my head wondering why they have FORGOTTEN the 10km/car RULE. 90km/hr = 9 Car lengths.

• Bob Mal on Sep 25, 2023 at 4:12 pm

Never heard of the 10km/car RULE and definitely not in our car license syllabus. However the 90km/hr = 9 Car lengths is a bit extreme if we take a car 4.5m Length average x 9 = 40.5m.

Imagine if you allow such large gaps surely many will want to cut into your lane while the person behind definitely felt Beh Tahan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • GenZdriver on Sep 25, 2023 at 4:28 pm

And that my friends, is why we have high number of accidents.

• WhY lA lIkE tHiS on Sep 25, 2023 at 4:27 pm

I want to know the true statistics of accidents that is caused by the usage of phones while driving. The people involved in the accident will never declare their usage of mobile. I guess that most accidents happens when the drivers are distracted rather than speeding

• komarad on Sep 27, 2023 at 9:39 am

if accident happened who wants to admit they’re using phone? do investigators really check the phone usage?

• Kapitan on Sep 26, 2023 at 7:04 pm

4 out 5 drivers I see are on their phones either texting or on waze. Seriously average 4505 deaths per year is a pandemic. And we took the pandemic more seriously.

• Bolehland on Sep 27, 2023 at 5:23 pm

How many are also caused by cheap Malaysian cars?

• ERIKO on Sep 28, 2023 at 9:06 am

Accident not only caused by carelessness. I would say its mainly due to our lousy governement not creating enough wealth for its people and reduce inflation. Most accidents can be avoided if more people can afford new car tires and good brakes.

• Seitha on Sep 28, 2023 at 9:08 am

Is the MoT or police collecting data of accidents such as date, time, route, car model, horsepower, car age, driver age, safety features on car etc…

Are there controls for just qualified drivers on what car or how much horse power of a car they can drive.
    (in the UK, there is a restriction of horsepower for new riders)

• This number is ridiculous if you compare to 100M population of Vietnam where their road fatalities are less than 7000 per year.