175,909 summonses issued to commercial vehicles since 2018 still unsettled, RM52.77 mil owed – JPJ

The road transport department (JPJ) has revealed that 175,909 summonses – totalling RM52.772 million in fines – issued to commercial vehicles have not been settled since 2018. According to JPJ senior enforcement director Datuk Lokman Jamaan, out of the total, Selangor has the highest number of such cases, with 61,940 summonses ranging up to RM300 having been unpaid.

Stating that the high number of offences and summons issued shows the lack of concern for the law and traffic rules, he said the department is setting out to ensure that those that have been fined settle their outstanding dues so as to avoid any action taken against their companies, Bernama reports.

He added that checks on commercial vehicles would continue, with the department having begun a large-scale special operation, as announced last week. Lokman said that as soon as the operation was launched, action was taken against 55 lorries within an hour.

Out of the 239 offences identified, Lokman said 23 drivers were found to have expired licences or having no licence at all, but were behind the wheel of a commercial vehicle.

“Imagine 23 commercial vehicles being handled by drivers who do not have a licence or with their licence expired. This is certainly going to pose a serious danger to other road users, especially vehicles that are smaller in size,” he said.

“We know that whenever commercial vehicles are involved in accidents, their drivers do not suffer serious injuries, but others involved in the accidents may suffer serious injuries or in many cases, fatalities,” he added.

Fines don’t really seem to be deterring offenders, so what’s the solution? What do you think is needed to rectify the situation and improve safety? Share your views and suggestions in the comments section

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Zahid DNAA on Oct 04, 2023 at 10:12 am

Unless you are politicians, just pay the summons, your greedy little bosses.

• Ahlokekor... buck up or kena tukar jawatan on Oct 04, 2023 at 8:13 pm

Almost Rm 53juta saman sangkut.
      So….give 50-70% discounts!!! What a load of crap,if this happens again.
      Just amend the undang n jail those who degil to pay up.
      Sita the vehicle lebih berkesan.

• How would they renew their licences and all those relevant permits if summonses could be left unpaid? The commoners u take stern action, corporation u close your eyes!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Betui2 on Oct 05, 2023 at 7:08 pm

Apa lagi… rasiah la tu… kan 99.9% of gomen officers corrupted go Max. Only bully commoners, no balls to to catch politicians, and corporate and rich ppl… it’s normalised in bolehland.

• komarad on Oct 04, 2023 at 10:15 am

yet they can roam freely all over Malaysia…syabas!!

• Phuda sung loo ga on Oct 04, 2023 at 1:49 pm

And they wil always till dooms day bez of political connections, monthly and lists is going on

• Ku Nazri on Oct 04, 2023 at 10:20 am

the can renew license…???…go to puspakom…???…renew roadtax…

• Ben Yap on Oct 04, 2023 at 10:26 am

a lot of lorry and bus drivers can hardly pass their SPM. expecting them to know the law is like asking them to study add maths.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • mr1031 on Oct 04, 2023 at 2:45 pm

lol, and you think those with higher edu dont brake the law even if they understand them?

• Grand Sepadu Highway Of North Port Klang on Oct 04, 2023 at 10:28 am

just don’t let them pay the toll once identified, some are driving as if a motorcycle. still change lane immediately signaled or not at all though we’re already on their tails. and refuses to get back to the left once done overtaking.

• Chris Lim on Oct 04, 2023 at 11:28 am

You can’t have a solution to this matter other than very strict enforcement of the law like in other countries. In other countries like Australia, if commercial vehicles are involved in an accident as a result of carelessness, drive under influence of alcohol or drugs or road unworthiness of vehicles, they can be penalized heavily including jail terms. The owners or companies of these commercial vehicles must also bear the consequences and face the full brunt of the law. The only way to educate these commercial drivers is heavy penalty and jail terms. Transport Minister Anthony Loke said that the existing law is heavy enough but the enforcement is too lacking. I travels the highway everyday and I can see commercial vehicles tailgating, speeding and using overtaking lanes. If enforcement is not sufficient and efficient, how about using road users dash cams recording of offenses and provide a report center avenue where these clips can be sent to for police action?

• Ahlokekor... buck up or kena tukar jawatan on Oct 04, 2023 at 8:21 pm

Enforcement ? You must be as hilarious as the late Robin Williams.
      Just due to the Putrajaya speeding lorry changing lane abruptly and smashing into a row of vehicles,killing 2 motorists…suddenly ENFORCEMENT nationwide besar besaran was announced.
      They enforce when under “pressure” to “perform”,if not pension habis,if kena sacking.
      Enforcement is a myth..if it happens ,it is Touch n GO.

• Chris Lim on Oct 04, 2023 at 11:29 am

You can’t have a solution to this matter other than very strict enforcement of the law like in other countries. In other countries like Australia, if commercial vehicles are involved in an accident as a result of carelessness, drive under influence of alcohol or drugs or road unworthiness of vehicles, they can be penalized heavily including jail terms. The owners or companies of these commercial vehicles must also bear the consequences and face the full brunt of the law. The only way to educate these commercial drivers is heavy penalty and jail terms. Transport Minister Anthony Loke said that the existing law is heavy enough but the enforcement is too lacking. I travels the highway everyday and I can see commercial vehicles tailgating, speeding and using overtaking lanes. If enforcement is not sufficient and efficient, how about using road users dash cams recording of offenses and provide a report center avenue where these clips can be sent to for police action?

• Clifford Joseph on Oct 04, 2023 at 12:02 pm

How these companies can still renew the road tax despite not settling the summons look so foolish by JPJ.

• Who is DG of JPJ on Oct 04, 2023 at 12:28 pm

Cina ker India?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • Squid on Oct 04, 2023 at 12:47 pm

Here’s a simple suggestion… Jail time!

• We believe soon our Anthony Loke do something if he still the best performance YB .
    Mr Anthony Loke I suggest you review the dark tinted for back windscreen case/issues , please check this is bad implementation make big mistake , when we driving can’t see another front car and third break light , dangerous during driving follow front car which dark tinted back screen.

• hazri on Oct 04, 2023 at 4:55 pm

i dont think this is rear windscreen dark tinted problem. 1st, you should keep your distance with car in front of you. 2nd, yes this is 3rd brake light problem. many car on the road do not realize or do not concern about this. you can just buy and change new bulb less than rm10 if buy from shopee.

• UselessPpl on Oct 05, 2023 at 7:13 pm

You must be kopi licence. Apply what u studied Moron. Useless!

• Susukotak on Oct 04, 2023 at 2:37 pm

“offences and summons issued shows the lack of concern for the law and traffic rules” dia ni salah tengok masalah ni… isu tak bayar ni masalah dengan penguatkuasaan. Jika kena saman tp lori masih boleh renew roadtax, lesen boleh renew, sampai bila2 pun orang tak bayar.

• y allow renewal of roadtax for those who owe traffic summon? y didn’t bring those ppl to court?

• mr1031 on Oct 04, 2023 at 2:47 pm

this just proves how corrupt the industries and government agencies are..

• Sita jela. No compromise. Why very lenient when there are too many cases involved by commercial vehicles. I’m not sure how frequent the inspection is being made mandatory, but since cases are increasing with many still taking it too easy, introduce a point system where if skipping the inspection, deduction of point and a fine would be best. Don’t fine the driver, fine direct post to their employer’s office.

• Mokmok on Oct 05, 2023 at 7:35 pm

Why not sita and put to recycle? Those lorries sure got lot of metal right? Metal prices skyrocketed these days, should get some money out of it if not millions

• Rsram on Oct 06, 2023 at 4:27 pm

The more summons you issue, the more they will break the law to try and recover amount paid for summons. Surely there must be another way