Proton S70 sedan interior seen; similar to Emgrand – new C-seg, Preve replacement gets rear torsion beam

More photos of the upcoming Proton S70 have been submitted to us anonymously by a paultan.org reader. This time, we’re getting a rough look at the interior and underbelly of the C-segment sedan, which is expected to be launched in November this year.

Let’s start with the cabin, which unsurprisingly bears similarity to the Geely Emgrand that the S70 is based on, albeit made for our right-hand drive market. There’s no camouflage in sight here, so we can clearly make out the centre console that is identical in design to Emgrand, and there’s also a touchscreen display perched on the dashboard.

The shape of the instrument binnacle is also similar, but it’s hard to tell if there’s a fully digital instrument cluster within it. The Proton logo is also somewhat visible on the steering wheel that looks to be the same design as in the Emgrand.

As for the view under the car, the S70 will come with a rear torsion beam, which is on par with the Emgrand currently on sale in the Philippines. The X50, which uses the same BMA (B-segment Modular Architecture) as the S70, also has a rear torsion beam and front MacPherson struts. Another C-segment sedan that uses a rear torsion beam? The Mazda 3.

The use of the platform also allows the use of the SUV’s 1.5 litre turbocharged inline-three engine (up to 177 PS/255 Nm), which offers higher outputs than the Philippines-market Emgrand that has a 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder (102 PS/142 Nm).

Meanwhile, the exterior design of the S70 is no longer a mystery thanks to various images and videos of the sedan that have popped up in recent weeks. As we’ve reported, the general shape is the same as the Emgrand, but with Proton-specific cues such as grille and wordmark between the rear taillights.

Why S70 and not S50, as it was heavily rumoured previously? Well, we published an article earlier in May explaining why we thought the upcoming sedan would be called that – it’s well worth a read. Given the trickle of information, images and videos we’ve reported on so far, what do you think of the S70? Are you looking forward to its launch?

GALLERY: Proton S70 spyshots

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Helenesssssssssssssssss on Oct 24, 2023 at 11:04 am

S50 LA, NOT S70

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 70
  • unker on Oct 24, 2023 at 11:15 am

nobody cares if its using double wishbones or mekdonel struts, as long the price is right with top notch safety features and with apple carplay/ android auto, people will buy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 96
    • MYR_keepGoingDown on Oct 24, 2023 at 7:46 pm

Forget about apple carplay / android auto in Proton… they will be very proud of their Atlas System… Enjoy the Baidu Maps

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 30
  • Made In China on Oct 24, 2023 at 11:24 am

Got Proton handling or Geli handling?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 47
  • Bieight8 on Oct 24, 2023 at 11:56 am

The main reason to use torsion beam is to save money…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 26
    • —— Alden —— on Oct 24, 2023 at 3:05 pm

I think the reason why use Torsion Beam and not Multi-Link has to do with the fact that it’s a Saloon and not an SUV ….

I mean, in a sense what kind of person who would want to go to mid to heavy off road using a Saloon right ? (Sometimes some user would do, but majority of Saloon owner don’t or seldom to do that)

An SUV like X90 and X70 would be more make sense for that …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • To use multilink / doublewishbone is not to improve offroad handling, but to allow more precise handling control over imperfect roads. In short, it provides better comfort and better handling. Nothing to do with offroading or suv..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
      • Civic Type Rawr on Oct 24, 2023 at 6:16 pm

LMAO Modern SUV aren’t build for off road either. Tell me which people bring their X90 off roading. It’ll be a comical off-road recovery entertainment.

Multi-link is for better handling. Torsion beam probably was not enough to improve handling of a BIG and TALL SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • MA hal DA h NI on Oct 24, 2023 at 3:52 pm

Proton or buyers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • Sembang C-segment tapi bagi torsion beam.
    What else? Rear drum brake? 14 inches rim?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 45
    • Sembang lebih on Oct 25, 2023 at 10:36 am

Assuming torsion beam to multi link is like disc brake to drum brake is an overstatement. Nothing’s wrong with torsion beam. Then what you want? Porsche GT3-level suspension?Carbon ceramic brake disc? Carbon fibre rim? Demanding so much but complain if it is pricey. Sembang je

• Bossku on Oct 26, 2023 at 8:00 pm

He want Gold rims diamond door handle…

• Tak payah lah nak sembang GT3 and what not. You give crappy spec for a c-segment car. Just accept the criticism.

• Hantu Raya on Oct 27, 2023 at 9:36 am

Go tell that to Mazda.

• Zaker on Oct 24, 2023 at 12:35 pm

Compact Sedan do ride on Torsion Beam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • koochai on Oct 24, 2023 at 12:40 pm

take my money!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • alldisc on Oct 24, 2023 at 12:45 pm

Any owners of Volvo S70 here?

• Karam Singh on Oct 24, 2023 at 12:52 pm

Torsion beam rear axle is actually not that bad. The beam holds suspension geometry at same angle because of fixed rear absorber mounting points ((left to right) To see how good is such set up, look at the fastest production fwd hot hatch around the nurburgring from 2019 until 2023 – Renault Megane RS Trophy R.

Of course the record is beaten by civic FL5 but difference is less than half second. And the CTR uses 2.0 turbo versus 1.8 turbo in Renault. What a shame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
    • haha, you ask those kampung pakcik and they will tell you Wira Aeroback also not bad because it’s related to legendary Mitsu Evo.

• Biar Betik on Oct 24, 2023 at 3:56 pm

Lol. Comparing sophisticated torsion beam from Megane RS with S70

• Civic Type Rawr on Oct 24, 2023 at 6:08 pm

Don’t get your hopes up, simple torsion beam is cheaper than multi-link. But in no way Renault engineered Trophy R torsion beam is cheaper than Proton multi-link setup, ironically. Still the simple Proton multi-link setup does wonders on a lot of their cars previously, handling wise. Geely torsion beam? Doubt it, unless proton did something.

One big disadvantage of torsion beam is it’s predetermined stiffness. Since it’s a linkage that hold the trailing arms laterally, it also double as an anti-roll bar. Cannot be too soft it’ll deform, too hard it’ll compromise comfort in a family car. Ride quality will always be compromised compared to multi-link since the point where the beam connected is not directly proportional to the wheels. Thus lateral force will always bend one of the trailing arms a little during cornering, resulting in unpredictable slip angle, making the cornering not as precise. The camber gain during cornering also not as tunable as multi-link resulting in less mechanical grip on affected tyre. Lastly a debatable unsprung mass caused by long, big metal beam on the trailing arms.

• Unkerlah on Oct 24, 2023 at 8:58 pm

Dont worry, ah beng from ultarlaciing will come up with “safety bar” for better handling…

• Proton ride and handling on Oct 25, 2023 at 10:49 am

Proton is known for their ride and handling. Those countless of testing on the road will not go to waste to make sure the torsion beam will perform the way that ride and handling of Proton is well-known for. The point is, Proton can make their torsion beam to perform better than what people think what torsion beam is. That’s what I can be sure of.

• Ben Yap on Oct 24, 2023 at 1:30 pm

torsion beam is like dinosaur times. at this age, at least a multilink. better if can use double wishbone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
    • normal_user on Oct 24, 2023 at 5:30 pm

The previous Altis used torsion beam & it had better ride comfort than Civic FC (with MultiLink). The Corolla Cross has a torsion beam too.. And the ride is more cushy than a more sophisticated CX5. So it’s the tuning setup that matters.

• Civic Type Rawr on Oct 24, 2023 at 6:34 pm

Comfort, cushy, is inversely proportional to sharp and agile handling. You just prefer a comfy boat style suspension, to a sporty less comfy suspension. After all, Civic FC does have a lot trickle down tech from the sporty Type-R, and Mazda has been more toward better handling car since the start of it’s Kodo design language.

• AskarRM1 on Oct 24, 2023 at 1:46 pm

Torsion beam rear suspension? I guess Volvo engineers are moonlighting at Geely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • U cant have the best of everything on Oct 24, 2023 at 4:01 pm

Bodo askar
      At 70-80 k,u expect formula one suspension,kah?
      The main aim is to fight City n Vios.Dr.Li has to put up with the stupid DRB old bunch of suppliers who refuse to lower part prices by 30%. So he gonna give the barest specs at a competitive price.
      U cant have high specs at dirt cheap price,can u?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • Nonsense on Oct 24, 2023 at 6:41 pm

Well, the “70” digit on the name just slot the car at same level as X70. Previously they did sold a bunch of around rm70k models with multi-link setup. Why not this one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • PlainBS on Oct 25, 2023 at 11:57 am

You think this is a cheap car? Expecting a pricing range between X50 and X70, possible same pricing strategy as Honda City or Toyota Vios. Some people wants to position this product as a luxury or premium sedan LOL

• I doubt they’ll have apple carplay or android auto

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
  • Cheap car cheap specs. Torsion beam ?? Preve prolly had way better handling

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
  • Laugh on Oct 24, 2023 at 4:09 pm

Another destined to fail model from Proton just like the Preve especially when it’s using the diesel lorry 1.5T 3 cylinder engine.

Torsion beam rear suspension is as expected.
    How do you think they are maximizing profit margin converting it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
  • TopengTaiping on Oct 24, 2023 at 4:22 pm

Badge and grille mahal, 2 thn R&D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Name makes sense (hear me out)
    Saga replacement – s30
    Persona replacement – s50
    Preve replacement – s70
    Perdana replacement – s90

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • x50 70 90 for suv, s40 60 for sedan on Oct 28, 2023 at 7:01 pm

its idiotic. the name should be even digit for Sedan and odd digit for Suv

• ROTI CANAI on Oct 24, 2023 at 5:26 pm

if not priced below 60k dont bother

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 32
    • Nonsense on Oct 24, 2023 at 6:20 pm

Wtf dude, work harder. U can’t blame someone else on your incompetency. There’s Perodua Rahmah for you to start before you can afford anything else.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 19
    • Random guy on Oct 24, 2023 at 6:38 pm

Below 60k? Do you think this is saga or axia spec? Before requesting cheaper price, knock some sense into your head first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • YOU ARE POOR on Oct 25, 2023 at 9:02 am

YOU ARE POOR. EVERYBODY ELSE IS NOT POOR

• Brader, benda boleh jual mahal, buat ape jual murah.

• PlainBS on Oct 26, 2023 at 10:24 am

Even in China, the non-turbo variant is above 60K. What did you smoke?

• torsion on Oct 24, 2023 at 7:36 pm

Torsion beam????? Can’t get cheaper, even for a national marque!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • AWAS! Mudah Terbakar on Oct 24, 2023 at 7:56 pm

Bomba approved this model to be sold? Maklum la kete progee sekarang suka berasap tanpa sebab

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • Hoping for White Interior on Oct 25, 2023 at 9:27 am

Hopefully the full spec variant have white interior. All black interior is so dull and boring nowadays.

• Young Sheldon on Oct 26, 2023 at 12:52 am

Still no apple carplay or android auto? Proton and Geely never listen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Abdul Azim Ariff on Oct 26, 2023 at 5:36 pm

Honda city also use torsion beam
    My Proton Saga also use torsion beam but better handling
    I can assure you because I am a Honda Sales Advisor
    Check My Facebook Page

• simon on Oct 27, 2023 at 11:18 am

that one is black right? not dark blue or what, sorry colour blind hahaha, if is black, take my money proton hahahaha finally