Proton S70 name confirmed, not S50! New C-segment, Preve-replacement sedan seen undisguised

It’s Proton S70, not S50. This has finally been confirmed, as the upcoming new sedan has been caught completely undisguised, wearing the S70 badge. Reader Ilyas Othman sent us a dashcam recording catching the Proton S70 (better get used to that name) in the midst of a video shoot (check out the Porsche Cayenne camera car!), revealing the name.

Weirdly enough, while the badge on the boot lid clearly says S70, the model plate has the all important digit missing, both front and back. Perhaps Proton is planning to add the number back in post production, or maybe it’s meant to be a part of a teaser to keep us guessing if it’s going to be the S50 or S70.

Anyway, it being called the S70 shouldn’t really be seen as a surprise, as it’s clear that Proton intends to market the new model as a C-segment sedan, a class larger than the B-segment Persona. As such, it makes sense for it to carry the -70 suffix to match the C-segment X70 SUV rather than the B-segment X50.

However, these “segment” references are not really set in stone, and are usually used merely as market (or more precisely, pricing) benchmarks by Proton. Remember, the Saga as we know it today is marketed as an A-segment sedan, but it’s heavily based on the Saga BLM which, back then, was called a B-segmenter. The original Saga, meanwhile, was technically a C-segment sedan.

In the case of the Proton S70, it’s based on the Geely Emgrand which is sized like a C-segmenter, but is built on a B-segment platform – BMA, the first letter denoting its segment, and it also happens to be the same basic architecture the X50 is built on. Still, going by size, it is bigger than the Persona and other B-segment sedans in the market like the Toyota Vios and Honda City.

We’ve already written a comprehensive article explaining why we thought the new sedan would be called the Proton S70 instead of S50 back in May, and it looks like we were right all along. Ultimately though, we’d say that as long as it’s well-specced and priced competitively, Proton can call it whatever it wants! A “C-segment” sedan priced against B-segment Japanese rivals sounds good, don’t you agree?

So guys, what do you think of the upcoming Proton S70? We’d say that as long as it’s well-specced and priced competitively, Proton can call it whatever it wants! Now, what’s your wish-list of things/features it should have, and how much would you be willing to pay for it? Comment below!

GALLERY: Geely Emgrand, Philippines spec

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• AskarRM1 on Oct 16, 2023 at 9:20 am

From rebadging medium quality japanese cars to rebadging medium quality chinese cars. Embarrassing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 144
    • fifi habibi on Oct 16, 2023 at 9:48 am

yaya you’re right, so they should rebadge Merc Audi BMW and call it a day.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 6
      • Lebai mercedes on Oct 16, 2023 at 10:38 am

spinned PN locals. But dun buy lokal cars, Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
        • Dah Menang Semua on Oct 16, 2023 at 3:09 pm

Will it smoke up too?
          Hope x kuat makan mcm X50/X70 la
          T20 xde lagi subsidi minyak nanti

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
          • Well done china on Oct 16, 2023 at 10:39 pm

Nice grill design by proton. Rest all made in cina

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
      • VinFast pakai BMW platform is growing rapidly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 45
    • Edisi Siasat..Proton smoking cars on Oct 16, 2023 at 3:38 pm

I rather spend extra on a new City or Vios.
      Why go thro the agony of getting your car towed to P1 workshop for recurring “burning,smoking” issues?
      When P1 mechanics siasat your smoking car,it wont take a day or so.Meanwhile,u have to rent a car or take grab everyday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 60
      • Nonsense on Oct 16, 2023 at 6:29 pm

It’s your money, do whatever you want. Anyway, why would people have to worry when P1 have to investigate only one or two cars, solution will readily available for every single other cars in their next service schedule. Not the sharpest tool in the shed aren’t you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
      • Dunno what 7 u say on Oct 17, 2023 at 2:41 pm

Y u so beng eh?

• Frankc on Oct 16, 2023 at 9:21 pm

Not really embarrassing but a thoughtful approach. Proton should have a better product mix planning. Preve should have been a premium product with higher production budget allocated. Just like how x70 came in at rm150k and not barely rm70k. Had preve given such budget I bet out P1 design team would have given us something much better.
      Instead I found preve placed too close to persona and end up eating each other.
      Back to s70, well if they can make it as good as honda civic then it is not embarrassing but ab achievement. Knowing Engrand is not in that class.. let’s wait and see

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • LEGOFanInPJ on Oct 16, 2023 at 9:22 am

ADAS (including AEB) across the range, please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
  • Squid on Oct 16, 2023 at 9:28 am

I guess they couldn’t get the price down to what it is for an S50 so better use the S70 name to make it seem better value.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 3
    • Civic Type Rawr on Oct 16, 2023 at 12:49 pm

This! Regardless, it’s still a good value. With that digit in the name, it’s likely 1.5T. Bigger size and more powerful than other B segments, priced similarly with other B segments as its unlikely to be priced higher than similarly sized SUV, the X50. Named like C segment just to convey value proposition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Mr.Minion lowered maa... on Oct 16, 2023 at 8:05 pm

Yup…i think so…their strategy is to categorized it in C segment but pricing it competitive with Jap B segment to steal the market of B segment Japanese car…!!

• Selling higher price at C segment but power by smaller 1.5T 3 cylinders engine??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 46
    • *Cough* GR Corolla *cough*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
      • You continue to think that the 3 cylinder engine in the GR Corolla is just like any other 3 cylinder engines in econoboxes, typical ignorant “katak bawah tempurung” netizen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
        • Nonsense on Oct 16, 2023 at 2:56 pm

He should compare it straight to the Koenigsegg 3 cylinder. Point in case is the relevance of smaller cylinders count. Not the performance whatever. How dumb can you be?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • Hantu Raya on Oct 18, 2023 at 11:20 am

BMW 218i grand coupe entered the chat.

• Civic Type Rawr on Oct 16, 2023 at 12:41 pm

Priced at B segment, named like C segment. You managed to turn it 180°, there’s no way 1.5T sedan priced higher than its similarly sized 1.5T suv (X50)

• Wow! Using a Porsche Cayenne to shoot a video. Proton must be spending a lot, enriching someone…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 35
    • Phaser on Oct 16, 2023 at 10:28 am

What a moronic comment. The agency will use whatever it deems suitable for tracking shots. Would it be more acceptable to you if they used an old Pajero?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 5
      • CarBuyer on Oct 17, 2023 at 10:23 pm

Over in Hollywood, a base Cayanne is only 30 percent more than an equivalent “mainstream” SUV, like the Ford Expedition. And over in Hollywood, their budgets for making blockbusters are larger than what we have for badge engineering cars.

• seancorr on Oct 16, 2023 at 11:09 am

Bro this is the industry standard worldwide for shooting commercials and even blockbuster movies. Go watch behind the scenes videos and you’ll see the Cayenne is the preferred choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
      • mechanicnextdoor on Oct 16, 2023 at 11:56 am

It is not, damn where are you getting these biased views from? If you don’t have enough knowledge of these things then shut the f up?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 22
        • DonkeyKong on Oct 16, 2023 at 2:12 pm

Bodoh punya mechanic next door in the longkang, it is true.

When you need a high speed platform for a camera boom, Cayenne is the preferred choice. From Christopher Nolan movies to Tom Cruise movies, watch all the Behind the Scenes videos. I remember in one of the Nolan movies the camera crew said that the Cayenne is the only platform that can support the heavy boom on the roof without outfitting the whole car with a reinforcement cage.

Maybe mechanicnextdoor only saw the making of Mat Kilau

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Dr.M borrow his car for shooting…

• kereta_lembu on Oct 16, 2023 at 9:40 am

Don’t want to be negative on a Monday morning but the looks doesn’t really excite me. To me its just, meh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 41
    • nasi_goreng_kampung on Oct 16, 2023 at 11:21 am

yeah, the point is “it doesn’t look exciting to you”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • kereta_lembu on Oct 16, 2023 at 5:43 pm

Kudos to you for reading my comment and was able to decipher it. Of course I’m commenting based on my own opinion. I’m not going to force my opinion on others. If you love the car, good for you. If you don’t, I don’t get brownie points either. So, just chill bro ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • Because the car that it’s based on, the Geely Emgrand is a rather plain and slightly dated looking car to begin with. I’m sure the kampung proton fanboys will still wet themselves over this lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • Made In China on Oct 16, 2023 at 9:54 am

Wow. Beautiful car. Just take my money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
  • vtec200k on Oct 16, 2023 at 10:00 am

if is a C segment, it has to be 1.5 Turbo.
    that thing is easily 1.3 tonnes, or 1.25 perhaps.
    if is 1.5, then it really succeeds preve’s non-turbo engine performance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Sedan man on Oct 16, 2023 at 10:15 am

Makes sense. We’ll probably see another sedan S50 to replace Persona/Saga lineup. S70 looks very premium. Can’t wait for full reveal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Sohai on Oct 16, 2023 at 10:26 am

hot on the heal of the X70 blunder, now is the S70!

They should have called it a 50.
    going against the Vios/ City is tough enough, you are aiming for the Civic / Corolla?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • Nonsense on Oct 16, 2023 at 2:46 pm

Civic Corolla? They never said that though? I can only see the spec segment B+ at best, the price can’t be higher than similarly sized X50 SUV either. No matter if they named it S90 even, it’s clear as day it’s a B segment. How you failed to see that?

• Sue Prima S on Oct 16, 2023 at 10:41 am

S70 sounds too similar to X70 when you say it.

• Ruslan Bahari on Oct 16, 2023 at 9:43 pm

Which is why the S50 was changed, as it sounded like X50… PROTON has issues with names I guess.

• stupid naming convention on Oct 18, 2023 at 8:16 pm

why not name SUVs with odd numbers and sedans with even numbers e.g S60 ? makes thing less confusing

• AZAMIRUDDIN AHMAD on Oct 16, 2023 at 10:46 am

Congratulations Geely & Proton!

• Ronald on Oct 16, 2023 at 10:53 am

Dun know what engine they are using…
    Would it be the campro engine of Persona….?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 28
    • Power is everything on Oct 16, 2023 at 5:38 pm

Campro is dead my man. From now on every Proton will be Turbocharged. 1.5T.

• necromancer on Oct 16, 2023 at 10:54 am

includes fire hazard?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 25
  • buat grab 15 tahun on Oct 16, 2023 at 11:00 am

Looks premium, but it won’t be cheap with x70 similar drivetrain. Hopefully proton still maintain a B segment s50 or s30. Update persona with rear adjustable headrest, 1.5NA timing chain engine, jatco 4 AT with price rm60k ish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Zaini0606 on Oct 16, 2023 at 11:00 am

The nation’s first extra flammable sedan is up for grabs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 32
  • Zaini0606 on Oct 16, 2023 at 11:04 am

Ah yes forgot to add hopefully it comes with a fire extinguisher as a free gift

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 28
  • Person A: I heard you bought a new car. What is it?
    Person B: It’s a S70
    Person A: Wah… so its a Volvo?
    Person B: Well, its a Proton. But since both are owned by Geely, I’m still happy if you think its a Volvo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • Rebadge King on Oct 16, 2023 at 11:54 am

Spare parts also expensive like Volvo price?

Lol…ha ha ha !!

• If this one catches fire, it’s not Proton’s fault. Please be fair to Proton. Grille won’t cause fire no matter how you put it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 23
  • hamdanalias83 on Oct 16, 2023 at 11:20 am

TAKE MY MONEY.gif

• Tehtarik on Oct 16, 2023 at 11:31 am

Wowww.. Nice car…. Just take my friend money.

• price wise?

• Breadboy on Oct 16, 2023 at 12:01 pm

Android auto!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • AkooIm on Oct 16, 2023 at 1:04 pm

The S70 will not marketed as a B segment replacing Persona coz Proton intend to sell Persona for another 10 years…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • normal_user on Oct 16, 2023 at 1:12 pm

Important feature? Android Auto. I repeat again, Android Auto.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Pelir on Oct 16, 2023 at 1:17 pm

S70? Then should opt 1.8, 4 cyclinder. 1.5, 3 cyclinder after 1 year already need to replace engine mounting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • DonkeyKong on Oct 16, 2023 at 2:15 pm

The engine mounting is not cheap either.. geely’s hydraulic mounting spare parts are more expensive than some Japanese car’s engine mountings. Don’t believe me? Just check with any spare parts shops..

• AIkon on Oct 16, 2023 at 2:26 pm

You so sure? You’ve never heard of balancer shafts I guess.

• Bakar Ria on Oct 16, 2023 at 1:25 pm

Nama Proton S70B pun ok jugak. S untuk Soya, 70 peratus value jatuh selepas beli dan B for Bakar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
  • Made in china on Oct 16, 2023 at 2:16 pm

Later the s70 caught on fire

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • looks like Proton Saga round round

• Accordana on Oct 16, 2023 at 2:59 pm

Timing Belt or Timing Chain?

• make b segment platform bigger so that you can price it as c segment. Briliant

• Laugh on Oct 16, 2023 at 3:05 pm

There you have it folks….
    It’s official that the price of this vehicle is not as low as expected.
    Proton need to maintain a higher profit margin to pay to Geely.
    They know if they name it S50, they cannot price it accordingly.
    So the price should be within the range of the X70.

• Holly Joy on Oct 16, 2023 at 4:31 pm

I disagree with you, because in my opinion it’s a B-Segment car that will be placed above Persona BH MC2 (B-Segment). To avoid product cannibalising the Persona, they have to place it in C segment but the price will be around what the Toyota Vios and Honda City costs and not the Civic,Corrolla and Mazda 3.

• Celup2U on Oct 16, 2023 at 3:07 pm

So this would be the first Geely rebadge that’s a sedan. And we’re sticking with the uninspired naming convention. I get it when it was the SUVs, because Geely brought those, and we didn’t have legacy SUV nameplates available. But this could’ve been the new Proton Waja/Impian/Preve/Suprima/Chancellor (for an exec variant perhaps).

It becomes harder to ignore when not only do they restrict the localization of parts, you know actually give a Proton identity to it (on the plus side our engineers are getting really good at doing weaves on varying grill shapes), but they’re not even letting us put legacy names to supposedly ‘our’ cars.

• Proton naming convention to s70 is strategy to sell more expensive. Just be prepared to be disappointed if u are looking for preve equivalent price.

• Holly Joy on Oct 16, 2023 at 4:38 pm

In my opinion it’s a B-Segment car that will be placed above Persona BH MC2 (B-Segment). To avoid product cannibalising the Persona, they have to place it in C segment but the price will be around what the Toyota Vios and Honda City costs. I’d still go for the Saga or Persona any day over this S50/S70 and rather buy a Mazda 3 if I were to buy an executive sedan over the cliched Civics and Corollas. I really believe this rebadged Geely products are just not worth it with all the recurring issues with owning them.

• As being told before it is a C segment so S50 name more proper. S50 save for Persona Replacement Model.

• It has a Peugeot logo at the front though????

• Rico_12 on Oct 16, 2023 at 7:27 pm

Finally a sedan released. Been hating car makers where SUVs has been the mainstream products

• Syaiful Nizam Hassan on Oct 16, 2023 at 8:12 pm

So Perdana replacement should be S?0…?

• Honda Civic killer. Going to outdo Corolla as well.

• alldisc on Oct 16, 2023 at 8:40 pm

At the end of the day, this model is clear to fill the void left by Preve. Persona is still around. The size is clearly not D segment. And the B+ segment the Vios and City are is clearly where proton always wanting a big piece share of the cake. That’s where the gold mine is

• hazri on Oct 17, 2023 at 12:35 am

they should rebadge volvo S70 and rename it proton S70, eh wait..

• mikehighseas on Oct 17, 2023 at 1:02 am

Looking forward to the release date. Quite sure it will be good value for money comparing to main competitors. The interior should be good too, as seen on the Geely Emgrand.

• Bossku still in jail on Oct 17, 2023 at 3:10 am

Of course it sounds like a good deal! Pay for a Toyota, but get a Benz?? Oh..sorry, it is actually a Geely for a Proton. Sometimes, dog doo can look like Easter chocolate also.

• Civic Type Rawr on Oct 17, 2023 at 9:05 am

You think buy Perodua you’d get Toyota? Nahh Daihatsu for you. In MY even you buy Toyota you still got Daihatsu. Honda? SEA model only, other global model under 100k been pulled out. At least with Geely same platform sold worldwide, they passed worldwide standard.

• msia driver on Oct 17, 2023 at 5:14 am

proton SA told me they already secure 80-90k booking since launching first day.. best selling car in Malaysia book of record…they target sell min 50k per day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • ThePolygon on Oct 17, 2023 at 7:31 am

I guess if you call it Persona, it need to sell at Persona price, but if you call it Sxxx, now that’s an open price tag with no reference.

• WC_Ong on Oct 17, 2023 at 7:33 am

If it’s S70 C-segment. Apple Carplay is a must. Proton should somehow include it regardless of the predecessor in China who bans Apple.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • King Spawn on Oct 17, 2023 at 10:58 am

The price must be right,if 2 expensive i reather buy produa, Japanese rebranding car,more fuel save the Chinese rebranding car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Simon on Oct 17, 2023 at 8:02 pm

Will not buy any car without carplay/android auto build in.

• They can come out with kontot S70, S70 Aeroback after this!

• ALL NEW Proton SS11 on Oct 19, 2023 at 11:04 am

KUALA LUMPUR (Oct 19): Proton Holdings Bhd’s new SS11 model, which is believed to be a C-segment design, is likely to be launched in November, said RHB Research.