Ora Good Cat turns one, celebrates with RM20k rebate

The Ora Good Cat turns one and its parents are throwing a party to celebrate. The ‘party’ is at the Artbox event for two consecutive weekends – November 10-12 and 17-19 – from 3pm to 11pm at the Sunway Pyramid Open Carpark. Visitors can take part in a lucky draw with RM2,000 cash vouchers and GWM merchandise as prizes.

The gift? A RM20,000 rebate. Great Wall Motor (GWM) Malaysia has announced the rebate as ‘grand gesture of appreciation for the unwavering support of Malaysians throughout the year’ for those who the EV in selected colours in November. Book from now and register your Good Cat before the end of the year and you’ll also stand a chance to win a grand prize of RM18,888 and other prizes, such as the new Honor X9b phone and Lubar Camping Packages.

“It is with immense pleasure that we celebrate GWM’s first anniversary in Malaysia. Our unwavering commitment to delivering the best driving experience for Malaysians has been the cornerstones of our success,” said Mike Cui, MD of GWM Malaysia.

“Looking ahead, we are excited to share that GWM Malaysia is committed to introducing even more new vehicles tailored to the needs and preferences of the Malaysian market in the coming years. We believe that innovation and customer satisfaction will continue to drive us forward, and we look forward to the exciting journey ahead as we strive to provide the Malaysian community with a diverse range of vehicles that exemplify quality, innovation, and sustainability,” he added.

Two variants of the Good Cat are available in Malaysia – the 400 Pro packs a 47.8 kWh LFP battery for 400 km of range (NEDC) while the 500 Ultra gets a 63.1 kWh ternary lithium battery for 500 km range. Both juice a motor with 143 PS and 210 Nm of torque. The RRP for the cute EV is RM139,800 for the 400 Pro and RM169,800 for the 500 Ultra.

Is a relatively affordable EV like the Ora Good Cat cheaper to run than an equivalent petrol-powered car? Here’s some math.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• SmartConsumer on Nov 03, 2023 at 12:30 pm

This is a really good car. Very under rated. So well build and design by Porsche chief designer but at Toyota pricing. Top notch after sales service some more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
    • Darren on Nov 03, 2023 at 1:50 pm

EV car price is just like paying Saman. The longer you delay, the more diskaun you wud get.

• But overpriced and comes with an iffy infotainment system that lags! That’s why you don’t see it on the road and they are giving discount now.

• davenport on Nov 04, 2023 at 5:47 am

Porsche’s chief designer is Michael Mauer, he has nothing to do with this China-made copycat.

The person you are referring to is Emanuel Derta, whose claim to fame is, you guessed it – designed the exterior of the Ora Good Cat. His connection with Porsche is only ever mentioned in articles about Ora Good Cat.

Don’t believe me? try googling his name.

• Tesla Fan on Nov 03, 2023 at 2:00 pm

Baik beli tesla.

• ROTI CANAI on Nov 03, 2023 at 2:13 pm

20k? its probably 50k overpriced

• aderen on Nov 03, 2023 at 2:24 pm

dumping prices lo. wonder what the early buyers have to say.

20k rebate just like that.

• Lang poon chea. All the hype about this car at the end I only ever seen 1 unit being driven. In Thailand this car brand is a lot more popular.

• Bad pricing on Nov 03, 2023 at 3:20 pm

idk lah, 20k rebate right now seems a bit late. Those who are contemplating between this and other EV have probably chose the other options already.

• Lindy on Nov 05, 2023 at 12:35 pm

This is my daily use car believe it or not. I do 60+ km a day and i only need to charge it once a week. Really underrated and underused by buyers. I guess Ora Cat owners dont like to “show off” as much as Tesla owners.