RM5 rebate for digital driving license renewal, from now till Dec 31 – RM20 charge for printed physical slip

Last month, the transport ministry announced online renewal of driving license and road tax via the MyJPJ app from February 1. Now, the JPJ has released more details, including how to get an RM5 rebate for online lesen renewal.

Valid from February 1 till December 31 this year, the RM5 rebate will be given to those who apply/renew their lesen without a physical print (e-LMM). The licenses included are the application of Lesen Memandu
Percubaan (PDL), the application of Lesen Memandu Kompeten (CDL), and the renewal of the CDL. Vocational licenses are excluded from this ‘promo’. One can only enjoy the RM5 e-LMM rebate once in this interim period.

New road tax (left), driving licence slip (right)

In a move to push motorists towards digital services, the rebate is only for those who apply/renew e-LMM without a physical printed slip. By the way, if you want a physical lesen, it’s now a paper slip instead of the plastic card that we’re familiar with. When needed, you will have to produce the slip along with your expired lesen card. Those using e-LMM can just show the MyJPJ app to the officer.

If you opted for e-LMM and the digital display mode, and have received the RM5 rebate, but want a physical slip, you’ll have to pay RM20 for the latter – think of this as a ‘reprint fee’. So, are you OK with having your lesen and road tax solely in an app, or do you want something physical? More on the new digital road tax and lesen from JPJ here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Loki kimak = lokimak on Feb 07, 2024 at 6:09 pm

Amende la menteri pengangkutan ni. Cukup2 la jual no. plate. Kita renew lesen dah kena duit nak cetak lesen simpan dompet kena lagi 20 hinggit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • Azroy on Feb 07, 2024 at 7:25 pm

Borang PAS 1 keping rm50.. lagi hanat. Jajajah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
      • Alfonso Romeo bin Kelembai on Feb 07, 2024 at 9:56 pm

Byrn lesen RM30, Byrn print RM20… Total RM50… Beli borang PAS RM50… Seri.
        Yakk yakk yeayy… Yakk yakk yeayy

• Sick & Tired on Feb 08, 2024 at 1:30 am

Loke is basically forcing everyone whether we prefer or not, to go with paperless when this imbecile of a mentri doesn’t have a clue that we need a physical driving license if we want to use car abroad.

Go fly your kite with fancy plate Loke! YOU are the worst minister in 60 years and when compared with the worst of UMNO ministers, that says a lot!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
      • Walanon planta taik on Feb 08, 2024 at 3:45 am

Typical walanon bodoh hari2 minum kencing free. Asal kritik menteri walanon bodoh je kene cop pembangkang. Patut la menteri semua bodoh, penyokong 10x bodoh.

• Susukotak on Feb 08, 2024 at 5:12 am

Dah lebih 20 tahun masih tak tahu tujuan perbaharui lesen. Bukan ada test pun. Setiap kali kena bayar.

• dum dee dum on Feb 07, 2024 at 6:10 pm

Kena stop at roadblock, as usual still ask for physical card and road tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • UK camper van couple on Feb 08, 2024 at 8:57 pm

Did the rozzer said u were speeding 80kmh in 60kmh zone at 11.50am? Did he then offer u a cheaper fine of 100 if u pay on the spot?

• Dioan on Feb 07, 2024 at 7:16 pm

MOT had better focus on road safety such as lorry brake failure incident. And get rid of unlicensed driver and also those without valid road tax and insurance off the road . These are priority issue to be resolved asap .

• Gomorrah on Feb 07, 2024 at 7:34 pm

This is a joke lah. Just issue a new card with new expiry date. That was done for about the last decade or so. This laminated renewal slip that looks like it was done in the neighbourhood photostat shop is so 90’s. On top of that you are discriminating against the elderly and less financially able by assuming everyone has and can operate a smart phone. Seriously what is going on in JPJ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • No jpj. It’s me. My doing. I’m not called the god of mischief for nothing

• maaf tuan, saya selalu terlupa bawa fon semasa keluar rumah.

• UK camper van couple on Feb 08, 2024 at 8:49 pm

Bayar sini 100 setel. Balai 300. Mau mana satu?

• Lee Cheng San on Feb 07, 2024 at 11:01 pm

Whose fault is it if i can’t present to authorities my digital driving licence because my phone battery had gone dead? Or there is no cell phone coverage at that spot?

• Sick & Tired on Feb 08, 2024 at 1:31 am

Loke fault. Please send your saman to useless Anthony Loke!

• It has been said multiple times by JPJ and the police. You do not need to show your phone. They can check their system. If you want to be quick at the roadblock, then show your phone. It’s not rocket science. And for those of you who keep saying police are insisting on seeing a physical road tax and license, are you just talking rubbish or do you have proper evidence?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
      • Gomorrah on Feb 09, 2024 at 7:56 am

JPJ and PDRM pusat say one thing, the officers at the roadblock say another thing. Whose mercy are you at? Is Ah Loke at the roadblock for you to air your grievances? You think people simply complaining about this ah? I’m speaking from personal experience in PJ not anywhere rural.

• I don’t have time to listen to your complaints. Busy auctioning no. plates

• Pejuang nasib rakyat keris on Feb 08, 2024 at 9:00 pm

Ni semua salah DAP. Menteri org DAP kan?

• ridchot on Feb 08, 2024 at 2:06 am

yang selalu masuk brunei tu terima ke slip tu nanti?

• piplup on Feb 08, 2024 at 7:54 am

laminated paper charge for rm20? lollll

• Billion dollar whale on Feb 11, 2024 at 2:51 pm

Or RM4 bil for selling snake oil to bossku? PMX needs your help to plug the hole

• seitha on Feb 08, 2024 at 10:19 am

all f#$%ing govs tax their people to death!!

• seitha on Feb 08, 2024 at 10:21 am

this is not fair to people who have renewed their licenses for 5 years!!! in 2023!!!!!!
    this fa||ing gov is ridiculously stupid!!

• seitha on Feb 08, 2024 at 10:25 am

Guys,
    If your license is expired does that mean you also forget how to drive your car or ride your motorcycle?

I would rather have a one time fee of RM100 for new license applications and then the license does not expire for life.
    If one adds other class of driving license, then its another RM100 and does not expire for life

• Johnny on Feb 08, 2024 at 11:49 am

Benda mcm lesen sepatutnya bagi hard copy mcm IC, sbb bukan semua orang ada smart phone, kadang2 bateri habis, phone rosak, atau server kat jpj hang, tak dapat masuk. Kalau nak digitise, bagilah option.

• UK camper van couple on Feb 08, 2024 at 9:02 pm

Opsyen nya tampal wang kertas warna ungu kat cermin kete

• The Saint on Feb 08, 2024 at 11:53 am

I have a printout of the digital road tax kept in all my respective cars, just in case.

Similarly, I will also keep a printout of my digital license.

• hazri on Feb 08, 2024 at 1:33 pm

someone please enlighten me, the new driving license dah tak ada gamabr muka kita macam IC ke?

• Enlightenment on Feb 08, 2024 at 8:53 pm

Can paste Robert Downey Jr. or Johnny Depp face stickers on your lesen