Digital road tax and driving licence: If phone is dead, how? Can show screenshot or print? JPJ answers

The move to a digital driver’s license is among the latest in the Malaysian government’s moves in digitalisation, which, together with vehicle road tax, can be renewed digitally via the MyJPJ mobile app from February 1 this year.

In an interview with Nasional FM (click here for video) recorded on Thursday (January 11), road transport department (JPJ) director of vehicle licensing Abdul Rahman Emang Anyie explains in the interview the changes that come with the implementation of digital road tax and driver’s licenses.

The road transport department fields all manner of feedback, says Abdul Rahman, and among them are anticipated scenarios such as when a motorist arrives at a roadblock. In that instance, the digital license is sufficient, and if the motorist prefers to hold a physical copy of their driver’s license, they will need to show the new format license that is the printed slip, along with their expired physical card.

What if it has been a long day, and one’s mobile phone has run out of battery or is otherwise out of order? JPJ personnel will have a device to check on a motorist’s license simply by checking against their NRIC number, said Abdul Rahman.

In terms of road tax, it is no longer mandatory to display a physical copy of the road tax sticker on one’s vehicle windscreen, effective February 10 last year. Where enforcement of road tax compliance – such as at roadblocks – is concerned, the vehicle’s number plate is all that is required, just like how a licensed driver’s IC is enough for the checking of their driver’s license, Abdul Rahman said in the interview.

Abdul Rahman also addresses the public’s concerns in terms of consistency between agencies, such as the JPJ and the Royal Malaysia Police (PDRM) in enforcement, and he says that the procedures as stated have been communicated to and are understood by these enforcement agencies.

The move to a digital form of road tax (lesen kenderaan motor, or LKM) is also due to prior feedback, in particular referring to the replacing of road tax stickers which motorists have found to be difficult to remove, and can leave residue on their vehicles’ windscreens after removal.

Digitalisation of services also help to reduce the long queues encountered at JPJ counters, where motorists would historically have had to be in order to renew the road tax for their vehicles. As with other digitalisation measures, the digital method for road tax is in addition to existing methods of engaging the services of the JPJ, such as with Pos Malaysia, JPJ kiosks, and more.

Going digital also has financial benefits for the road transport department; doing so will also save the JPJ RM96 million a year, transport minister Anthony Loke said last February.

What have your experiences been so far with the digital road tax and driver’s license, dear readers? Has it been as seamless as planned? Let us know in the comments.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• We’re in an awkward transitory phase now. My driving license expires March so I went to Pos Malaysia post office to renew it but they said they no longer offer license renewal because it’ll be done online from Feb 1 onwards. However, this online renewal is not available now, so if my driver’s license expires Jan 31 I’m out of luck unless I visit a JPJ office (I’m not even sure if they offer renewal there now, but most likely?)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
    • Lets See on Jan 12, 2024 at 5:45 pm

Go SG, kena routine polis inspection, SGD $300 fine for not having physical driver license, SGD $300 fine for not displaying roadtax, SGD $300 fine for trying to argue with SG polis that stupid Loke put all into Msian cloud.
      So sape bayar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 15
    • John Doe on Jan 12, 2024 at 6:27 pm

What is the ROI in this digitalization process?
      It’s time to be transparent how much was spent, going to be spent, and who are the contractors involved.

• Gloves on Jan 12, 2024 at 7:30 pm

HAVE you tested NOW cannot renew via on-line????

Or you just typing A long sentences based on what you read???

• James on Jan 13, 2024 at 3:22 am

You can renew your licence in mysikap website..

• Vasan on Jan 13, 2024 at 7:59 pm

This is definitely an improvement into digitisation. But whereas the authorities look at your physical road tax and wave you on if it is valid, now they pull you over and ask for your printed copy of insurance and road tax renewal. This can be a bit of a nuisance, especially when you are in a hurry.

• Facepalms on Jan 14, 2024 at 7:51 pm

Just print and keep in glovebox….. whats the big issue???? No topics to write about anymore ????

• Rajin rajin la google jangan malas on Jan 15, 2024 at 8:07 pm

Brooooo go to MySikap portal and renew. I’ve done this recently

• Sohai on Jan 12, 2024 at 2:18 pm

Such long winded answer..: So? What’s the conclusion?
    Motorist don’t need to keep anything right? I don’t need to bring my phone for a drive.
    JPJ has all they need to know whether license and roadtax are valid.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
    • They have the device but instead they stop you when you don’t display your road tax and ……

• Lee Cheng San on Jan 14, 2024 at 2:22 pm

So the new.digitization move now requires JPJ or PDRM to stop every car, in order to ask driver for digitized rdtax n driver licence? You just created the world’s longest roadblocks, brilliant

• Many runner lost job…
    When road block JPJ or police should have their way to check road tax or license expire date if driver can’t show during that time, they can have own apps to check with faster way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • observer on Jan 12, 2024 at 2:29 pm

Are you certain that going digital will save us money? Your system doesn’t require security, tech refresh, patching, firmware/hardware upgrades, etc.? Somebody is getting a lucrative contract here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 7
    • And there is probably no budget for data / cyber security protection

• Frankc on Jan 12, 2024 at 2:29 pm

Good. Very good job by the ministry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 28
  • Gomorrah on Jan 12, 2024 at 2:52 pm

If this is the case then why not just check IC and number plate first. IC is the primary form of identification for citizens, so before talk just punch the numbers in to the device. Then no need to cakap banyak lah. No license = fine, road tax not current = fine. That’s all. No room for perbincangan, MACC can go catch big fish.

But your initial implementation menyusahkan the public. Wanna roll this stuff out, do it properly. The onus is on YOU for changing the system. NOT the rakyat. Is there a mechanism to report officers who don’t follow procedures and saja create problem because they didn’t read the brief? Will you take action against them for not performing their jobs?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 4
    • Your friendly CarCam reseller on Jan 12, 2024 at 6:59 pm

Go get a 360deg car cam to records everything little napoleon utter and their actions.

• Gomorrah on Jan 13, 2024 at 10:31 am

Bro if a cop can kill a teenager because he tak suka bunyi moto, it was recorded and the police chief can say don’t viral, don’t spread false information, and imply that anyone who does will face action from the police, you think we got chance with a recording of their misbehaviour over this issue?

• King's Council on Jan 14, 2024 at 3:04 pm

PSA collects evidence presented in court not viral it.

• IPCMC on Jan 14, 2024 at 3:16 pm

Agreed. Policemen manning roadblock usually won’t waste time asking you winding down window or to pull aside when they spoted your car has cameras .

• How about vehicles owned by foreigner?
    Is the road tax sticker remain to be used?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Is it an offence to leave the expired road tax on the windscreen after moving to digital?

• Bieight8 on Jan 12, 2024 at 3:21 pm

No need to waste money on those high-tech devices, just provide the public with power bank will do…

• TM Khor on Jan 12, 2024 at 3:27 pm

What if I travel to Thailand or Singapore is the digital road tax valid and license valid?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Lets See on Jan 12, 2024 at 5:48 pm

Of course not! We don’t have international agreements to recognise digital only documents. You need physical copies when crossing the border.

• Ash Burn Ben Alley Olsen on Jan 12, 2024 at 7:02 pm

Says those sohai whom never driven to Thai Sinki land yet. LOLOLOLOL

• Whether digital or not, the tax and insurance are not valid in foreign land. They may not check your licence but if they did and you do not have a valid driving (Malaysian or international) license, it is an offence

• The 4Runner on Jan 13, 2024 at 12:10 am

My thoughts exactly, renewing the VEP to enter Singapore is gonna be a hassle. They specifically state to take a picture of road tax dics. If don’t have physical one then how?

• Road Warrior on Jan 12, 2024 at 3:30 pm

I renewed my insurance and road tax online while seated comfortably in my armchair. Press ‘PAY’ and it’s done. Brilliant!
    At a roadblock, I saw the officer using his gadget (which I assume was a quick digital check) and then waved at me to go. Can’t be more convenient than that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
    • Agreed. don’t understand why people keep thinking negatively and fear the change

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Mcwong on Jan 12, 2024 at 4:48 pm

Isn’t this talking rubbish? If the RTD or police have the devices to check based on nric and vehicle no then there’s no need to show the app or display photocopy of the road tax. In fact no need to carry driving licence unless driving to Thailand or Singapore?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Hoe S K on Jan 12, 2024 at 4:48 pm

We’ve tried to get the digital road tax, but we can’t access the app as it requires the driving licence of the owner.
    The car is registered under my wife’s name & she doesn’t have a driving licence. As such, we had to get a physical road tax instead. Can JPJ look into the matter & advise. TQ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Kenneth C on Jan 12, 2024 at 4:51 pm

I work in a street mall which provides free parking to visitors. I hv seen lots of cars with expired roadtax, parked here and car pooled. I can foresee, without the needs to display physical roadtax, cars with expired roadtax will b everywhere bcoz the driver won’t feel the pressure of driving with an ‘everyone can notice’ roadtax sticker on their cars. How often u get caught in road blocks during u commute to and back frm work?

• Not to mention if someone decides to use somebody else’s number plate with the same car model and colour, that person doesn’t even need to renew his road tax

• Marcus Chang on Jan 12, 2024 at 4:56 pm

I am 67 years old and recently I had encountered problems just to get registered in myjpj app. The message was competent licence serial number not match. For a start the serial number on the reverse of the driver’s licence is so small in print that you need a magnifying glass to read it. That’s not the main issue. To make matters worse the serial numbers includes alphabet characters some in capital letters and some in small letters. Just imagine a capital I is very similar in appearance with a 1 and a small l. Can you see the frustrations I faced. It’s not that at our age we are computer illiterate but rather the whole system is just not user friendly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
    • Goodness. People are genuinely complaining about things like this? Reading the comments, Malaysia is going to be really left behind if this is the general mindset of the people.

• The police and JPJ has the ability to check the insurance, road tax and driving license validity of all vehicles and drivers. The vehicle registration number and driver IC number are suffice for enforcement officers to check the vehicle and driver particulars.

Hence, with the digital road tax and driving license implementation, why s there still a need for road users to show proof ? Why further inconvenient law abiding citizens and open up possible power abuses by enforcement officers ? Might as well revert back to the old hard copy driving license and road tax. After spending so much tax payers money.on digitization, why can’t the government do it right ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • victor wong on Jan 12, 2024 at 5:53 pm

Has anyone noticed that in all these happening, when you buy a used car, the road tax has to be paid again even though the seller u buy from don’t cancel the road tax. So roadtax double paid? is this called smart digitalization to milk money??

• Apa pun complain on Jan 14, 2024 at 5:09 pm

When you buy the used car, your new roadtax date is valid for one year from the day you purchase. What are you talking?

• Lester Luna on Jan 12, 2024 at 6:21 pm

On 30th december 2023,i’ve been issued a summon by traffic police officer due of my phone out of battery power.i using the digital license since august 2023.i’ve asked the officer the powerbank and any conclusion such as thier checking data base to reconfirmed my driving license is valid.at the end,i got the bill.what i hope is,the police department also need the same system as JPJ using.so the others will not get the bill as i do.by the way,i appreciated the way the system running.have a safe journey to all

• Marty on Jan 12, 2024 at 6:44 pm

Already have the system to check. IC has the chip, so insert it to the machine and all the details are there.
    Implement IC with chip
    IC Chip not fully utilized
    Police force has driver IC to check license validity
    Car has the number plate to check road tax

Want digitalization but dont have the equipment and procedures to execute it?
    Save 96M a year, buy more equipment and it will only be one off investment

OR simply because all the operation are without approval?

• Victor Wong on Jan 12, 2024 at 6:45 pm

What will happen if you forget to bring your handphone n there is a road block

• Lye Mun Hon on Jan 12, 2024 at 8:13 pm

Keep both digital n physical roadtax on as an option for both n allow senior citizens to choose. Aredy life is hard dont make things complicated with tech.

• Nizam Tamsir on Jan 13, 2024 at 2:19 am

Im myJPJ apps user.
    True experience in rdblx…jpj officer asking me about my digital licence and rtdx which pasted on wind screen is still the expired one since new rdtx is only digital in phone.
    Unluckily i cant proceed to them due to “password invalid”…WTF???
    Ohhh…jpj officer said that pswd need to revise every 3 month…is it true?
    Then they say…no problem..just show ic they can see overall…ok problem solve.
    Then asking about my expired rdtx…i say no physical rtdx even already renewed but i can show it due to above problem.
    Ohhh…ok. They say can just trigger / scan the plate no, they can know everything about car history include summon availability.
    So…why asking me about physical rdtx?
    Just scanlah…ok is ok…not ok just tell me whats going wrong.
    Just simplify your job and improve your system.

• CarolT on Jan 13, 2024 at 2:39 am

Ok, JPJ saves 98million. With the extra money on top of their given yearly budget, what are they going to do to improve public roads, traffic lights and the horrendous devil may care driving from motorbikes zipping in and out of vehicles , traffic lights jumping and using pedestrian walkways as their private roads regardless of traffic directions? They are a menace to other road users as well as pedestrians.
    Cant Jpj standardise the traffic lights countdown? Some turn red after 3 or 5 green blinks.

• How if a car with digital road tax is borrowed from a friend? It would be much better that at road blocks, the authority checks the car road tax from their device. Since the digital move will reduce staff at counters, those staffs can assist at roadblocks to check any vehicles road tax validity.

• Why can’t the JPJ or police has a handheld that is connect to jpj main system and with just keying in the car license plate will know if road tax has expired or renewes already. It will help reduce traffic jam. Thks

• Diana on Jan 13, 2024 at 1:27 pm

Well it’s really hard for the rural areas like kpg with out internet and coverage and not all people can afford or buy tel digital or good phone.even the food it’s really hard to buy now adays.this will make the old or poor people more stressful My suggestion is those who want to do like normal or they can choose .

• Roslan Hamden on Jan 13, 2024 at 2:29 pm

A very good move which is long overdue, thumbs up to JPJ

• Charles Jourdan on Jan 13, 2024 at 3:18 pm

Actually I still prefer the traditional road tax disc as it serves as a constant reminder on when to renew the road tax and insurance.

• Abdul Hamid Muhammad on Jan 13, 2024 at 4:07 pm

PAULTAN10

• Susukotak on Jan 13, 2024 at 7:20 pm

Nombor plat pun masih terkial2 nak selaraskan. Nak buat digital.

• Simon on Jan 13, 2024 at 8:56 pm

I think it is unreasonable to ask the motorist to have a printed copy of the driving license in the new format AND the expired physical card driving license as suggested. The JPJ is making things difficult for the motorists, when the law enforcers are equipped with a device to retrieve these information on-line. The motorists should only be asked to produce his NRIC and the law enforcement officers should be able to get the required info from their device.

• Zainol abidin Bin Md Arshad on Jan 13, 2024 at 10:11 pm

At a roadblock, the waiting time will be longer due to the process of scanning number plates to ascertain the vehicle has a roadtax.

• viter on Jan 13, 2024 at 11:29 pm

bagaimana pla kereta tu milik orang yang sudah meninggal. contoh.. milik arwah ayah. nak digital tapi boleh ke kita guna apps yg bukan milik kita. Passwrd pun kitr tak tau. dah la byr roadtax pun kene 2x setahun.

• Sarah Vernon John Nathan on Jan 14, 2024 at 3:10 pm

Go to nearest jpj branch to inform and change ownership, bring along your parent death cert. It’s an offence for not updating jpj.

• Palpatine on Jan 14, 2024 at 6:39 am

The digital whatever only works in Malaysia..
    I tried in Switzerlans and they only accept physical driving licenses.. showed Loke’s newspaper announcement that everything is digital in Malaysia now and they don’t care.. is it so hard to make the license and roadtax physical with digital options available?

• Chris Chinyk on Jan 14, 2024 at 7:41 am

There’s no problem renewing the license at the post office. My husband’s renewed his license (which expired on Jan 2) on Jan 3 recently. The staff helped him install the MyJpj app n guided him to renew as well as made cash at the counter.

• Peter on Jan 14, 2024 at 8:01 am

Somebody does not believe a binary is cheaper than physical material will ask question like this. Think about online banking! Somebody believe someone will get a lucrative contract, his or her voice would be useful to join others to demand JPJ to do open book and public audit rather than like old days Rakyat time we did not really know how much lucrative had been spent on printing, facility, officer and forgotten how much time you wasted to get serviced.

• give ppl option on Jan 14, 2024 at 11:06 am

Should give people option. Those prefer to have physical license shld just apply online and get it at jpj when ready. For roadtax, just allow to apply online and courier it to customer or pick at jpj office. Like tht also can save a lot of time already. I prefer physical roadtax & license.

• TanKayTeck on Jan 14, 2024 at 6:12 pm

Those authorities concerned should have & carry the scanning machine to scan car registration plate numbers on any road block check. Should confirm renewed or non once it’s scanned. We don’t see why the authorities concerned are pushing these burden to the public & car owners..??

• Vykki on Jan 14, 2024 at 10:41 pm

Its really inconvenient as one need to stop at a roadblock and need to wait longer since there is no physical road tax to be check by the enforcement. Furthermore, a few cases arise already where people edit the online roadtax/plat number to suit their bad purposes. Please minister, reinforce the pysical road tax please!! Just improve the sticker quality!!

• Use digital and then give full access to the police and JPJ of all the data on your phone? Not very likely. What’s to stop the police from taking your phone and then going through the contents.

• We should print one copy and put in the car

• Penguin on Jan 15, 2024 at 11:29 pm

looking at these comments is one of the reason malaysia difficult to move forward.

• Chew chin Hong husband name and emails address on Jan 26, 2024 at 8:30 am

Husband name and email address

• Chew chin Hong husband name and emails address on Jan 26, 2024 at 8:36 am

Insurance and road tax renual

• Chew chin Hong husband name and email address on Jan 26, 2024 at 8:38 am

Insurance and road tax renual