JPJ working on online renewal of lesen and road tax

JPJ working on online renewal of <em>lesen</em> and road tax

Yes, you read that right. JPJ is working towards online renewal for driving license and road tax. No more queuing up at their offices or at the post office! This was teased by transport minister Anthony Loke yesterday, when he paid a visit to JPJ Negeri Sembilan.

In a Facebook post from yesterday night, Loke said that he visited JPJ Negeri Sembilan with the road transport department’s director-general Datuk Zailani Haji Hashim after an event in Seremban, where Loke is the MP. He observed that JPJ has added new kiosks at branches nationwide to ease the renewal of road tax and lesen, and to reduce congestion at counters. He added that operation hours for these kiosks will extend beyond office hours.

“The digitalisation process at JPJ will not stop at the level of kiosks, but we will continue to work towards offering online services,” Loke added. “Imagine renewing lesen and road tax via an app on your smartphone – how easy and fast? Yes, JPJ is working towards that!” the returning MoT minister added.

This piece of good news comes hot on the heels of Loke promising a “big change” in the quality of road tax stickers, which has received complaints from the public for many years. “I know that many have complained about quality of road tax stickers. This issue is in our attention and a big change will be implemented this year,” he said earlier this week.

“Our main agenda is to simplify things for the rakyat and I don’t want to see people in long queues at JPJ offices, which troubles them,” he added, declaring that the main agenda for JPJ this year is to implement digitalisation in its core services to the rakyat.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• seancorr on Jan 06, 2023 at 1:20 pm

Now this is what I call progress.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
    • Tin Kosong Tian Chua on Jan 06, 2023 at 9:48 pm

JPJ collected almost Rm5 Billion in 2022.
      Gomen collects another RM10 Billion from car taxes.
      So,our new PM…time to ringankan beban rakyat..reduce progressively both of these taxes,since the fuel subsidies will be abolished.
      Perhaps,u can have more special number plates bidding to get more funds from those syiok number plate kaki.
      It should be a win win ,not win lose.

• bugger on Jan 07, 2023 at 10:44 pm

before u reduce tax…better educate drivers to drive properly lah…so many drivers pay kopitiam money to pass

• Kevin on Jan 08, 2023 at 8:37 am

From Miri, Some people are still driving recklessly, no indicator upon overtaking, speed track cameras should be installed.

• To maintain road facilities where got that expensive. Why driving license have to renew yearly. We got pay roadtax to use the road facilities. Singapore driving license valid until 65th birthday.

• Papilo papiro on Jan 07, 2023 at 11:40 pm

Why are you still looking at administrative processes. Youre a minister, please look at the right issues. Prioritize and stop wasting time with train visit stunts.
      5 years is not long, considering your party has done nothing but talk for 30 years. Start doing fgs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • PlainBS on Jan 09, 2023 at 12:52 pm

Absolutely open for abuse and misappropriation is not progress bro. Later muka and gambar dalam lesen xsama. Gambar orang hindu tapi nama orang cina then how.

• Reformasi jadi reforBASI on Jan 06, 2023 at 1:35 pm

Good job Loke. Online renewal for licenses and road taxes is the way to go. Focus on the rakyat, not on the opposition like some other PH and BN ministers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
  • JPJeQ App on Jan 06, 2023 at 1:50 pm

Improve the webpage is good enough, no need another mobile APP which take up phone space and try hard to catch the location, counters within the AC room already reduced the congestion, because the crowd is trying their best on downloading the app and try catching the location outside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • Titus on Jan 06, 2023 at 2:13 pm

I can’t stop laughing when you say mobile apps take up phone space. Now we live in an era which we use smartphone more often. Downloading a simple apps wont cause you much space. You think game Ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 9
      • AP Putra on Jan 06, 2023 at 5:32 pm

jpjeq app’s mobile phone memory is too precious especially dedicated for downloading smut and prawn LOL

• KingoftheRoad on Jan 18, 2023 at 2:00 pm

He must be using iPone la. No SD card to store photos and video. Too cheap to pay for iCloud

• MaybeAnITGuy on Jan 06, 2023 at 6:41 pm

You punya otak letak kat lutut ke? Bila masa mobile apps take more storage? Comment pun logic sikit la thambi… ni mesti tak tau ape tu mobile app…. Oh My Malaysians

• Kariayam on Jan 06, 2023 at 8:15 pm

Even homeless people don’t have this problem

• That actually wasn’t much an issue, the real issue is information transfer and cyber security. If they can deal with that and secure a strong line, it would be golden.

• Cabbage on Jan 07, 2023 at 1:16 pm

You still stuck on 1GB Ram and 8GB memory era of smartphones?

• PenyokongTegarPN on Jan 07, 2023 at 11:01 pm

Rm500. Bisa dpt fon chyna lengkap 3GB kelajuan dan luang 32GB gak pyh bimbang

• SubContract on Jan 06, 2023 at 2:00 pm

No need to sub sub to my e z lah.

• RyanT on Jan 06, 2023 at 2:08 pm

Wayang kuat…why car prices are increasing when RM is stronger? Or PH is increasing car taxes silently to car makers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 67
    • Titus on Jan 06, 2023 at 2:17 pm

Orang buat kerja you say wayang kuat. You say easy. Why don’t you do? What have you done to the society besides complaining? Why don’t you ask for free car? Dumb guy. RM is stronger so car must drop 50% ke? Go see RM strong by how much la dumb guy. What you know about economy? Buta buta comment. So wait one day RM weak again car price increase you complain lagi kan? Bdoh to the next level.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 5
    • slumber on Jan 06, 2023 at 2:34 pm

How ‘stronger’ is RM? Compared to 2 months ago? Was it as strong as 5 years ago? If yes, only then we talk.

And, do you think with a sudden increase in RM value against SGD or USD by 20% overnight, the general public will ‘feel’ the rool-over effect immediately?

Hari ini kahwin esok terus dapat anak ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • Betol Tak? on Jan 06, 2023 at 2:52 pm

Because your gaji salary is low. Work harder please.

• RyanT on Jan 06, 2023 at 6:42 pm

Hi B40, I have not taken salary from others many years ago….don’t u see I am fighting lower car price for u? Haaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
        • Kariayam on Jan 07, 2023 at 9:26 am

So noble of you to fight for b40, while receiving money from daddy. Maybe if you keep it up, someone will eventually hire you.

• Bieight8 on Jan 06, 2023 at 2:23 pm

Should change the whole system that is based on engine capacity…

• Standard number plate plz! on Jan 06, 2023 at 2:25 pm

Plz standardised the number plate and issued by jpj only to curb illegal use.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • tatu880 on Jan 06, 2023 at 3:04 pm

JPJ should look into standardising number plates and be the sole issuer of number plate frames made of metal. Our country is so left behind by Singapore, Thailand and Indonesia.

• Progress on Jan 06, 2023 at 3:14 pm

Be like our neighbour country, no more road tax sticker, everything is online.

• @Snakebabu on Jan 06, 2023 at 4:47 pm

Hassle-free &
    Personal data protected app please.

• hazri on Jan 06, 2023 at 4:49 pm

finally.

• Pillay on Jan 06, 2023 at 5:41 pm

Great job by YB Anthony. sincerely hoping you can help clear the mess in Immigration department. Wish you were the Home Minister.

• Ex kelisa owner on Jan 06, 2023 at 5:45 pm

Ehailing roadtax can do in utc and follow insurance date please.

• LAI sK on Jan 06, 2023 at 5:56 pm

Why not get rid of physical road tax disc like UK and save the government millions of ringgit…with online the authorities can verified whether road tax is being paid or genuined. We have seen policeman using their online apps to reverified road tax, thus making physical road tax disc redundant..Please keep up the good works

• husin on Jan 06, 2023 at 6:04 pm

Sekarang ni memang dah byk transaction online JPJ pun. renew lesen, road tax, bid regn no, saman. semua ada dlm web mysikap, jpj ebid, jpj eQ.

• Marhaien on Jan 06, 2023 at 6:59 pm

Limousine service @Klia LIMO Company been slotering driver since 1998(cronisme)untill now.New MOT Minister pls do something about this.tq

• Susukotak on Jan 06, 2023 at 7:52 pm

What is the purpose of licences renewal every year? No improvement on driving skill no re-test. Should change this to lifetime unless terminated by court order thrn should attend new class and seat for exam.

• Sick&Tired on Jan 06, 2023 at 8:07 pm

During his first tenure, the best thing he did was allowing the back windows to be tinted without any restrictions! Most will take it for granted, but it really made a huge difference and I think impacted a lot of people, especially in a hot climate like ours. Sometimes small changes can make big impact in people’s life’s. The roadtax is another stupid thing which has been going on for such a long time. I am glad someone is doing something about it.Keep up the good work Anthony!

• Badrol on Jan 06, 2023 at 9:45 pm

YB Loke, lihatkan juga keperluan resit bercetak yg masih diperlukan untuk urusan kaunter. Urusan pbaharuan cukai jalan atas talian tapi bila nak dapatkan stiker, kena beratur dan buktikan resit bercetak. Ini pengalaman saya di JPJ Taiping. Digital ke laut. Terang2 pembayaran telah dibuat. Nak bukti resit cetak lagi. Syabas YB. Let full digitalisation takes place. Staf takuk lama boleh direhatkan.

• Kicap on Jan 07, 2023 at 3:16 am

I am residing in a country where they have an apps similar to mysejahtera and from this apps they have all the personal info and needs such as driving license renewal. Here you just need to go to hospital to verify your health status and later pay the renewal fees online. Then you can choose to pickup your new driving license at the nearest “jpj” office or you may opt to courier the new card to your adress with very minimal fee. That is how you move forward.

• Better Tomorrow on Jan 07, 2023 at 7:52 am

Mr Loke vission is good. But I personally againts this. Licence renewal process should be tighther. So we could eliminate reckless driver on the road. At least, test driver`s eyes and response. We aged more on our birthday anyway (lesen expired). Whoever fails shouldn`t get renewal untill they pass the test.

• GoKembara on Jan 07, 2023 at 9:21 am

YB.
    1. Itu toll mau buang memang susah nanti mau maintain takda duit. Jangan ikut cakap itu PM10 atau Lapiji masa PRU. Jika tol turun 50% kira ok dulu LGE dah bagi 10% esp PLUS – RON Rm2.05 tol 50% bolehlah anak2 kerap balik kampong tgk parents.
    2. Itu KTM KOMUTER KL-SBN-PD boleh ON balik kaa. Atleast Weekends & public holidays PD tak sesak dan hasil mahsul pelancongan membantu rakyat maa. Mesti boleh.

• Azlin on Jan 07, 2023 at 6:41 pm

Anak saya kena saman jpj di Kelantan kerana road tax expired.masalahnya anak saya tinggal di kuala Lumpur.kenapa pula tk boleh bayar saman di kuala Lumpur,sebaliknya kena bayar di kelantan.ini sungguh menyukarkan.bukan kah sekarang semua urusan online saja.mohon tolong permudahkan rakyat.

• Logan on Jan 07, 2023 at 10:20 pm

Jpj senawang jgn tidur bangan

• Kenwinn on Jan 08, 2023 at 8:35 am

If the same can go for renewal of passports for all Malaysians. That would be great!!

• Why cant we alike Singapore where driving license valid until 64th birthday?why have to yearly renew license?we pay road tax to use the road facilities.
    If you are a Singapore citizen or permanent resident, your motorcycle or car driving license in Singapore will be valid until your 65th birthday. Following that, you will have to renew your license every 3 years which can be easily done online.

• Kimsky on Jan 08, 2023 at 9:58 am

Tuan Menteri. Tolong kaji penggunaan RFID menggantikan pelekat Rodtax. Renew menggunakan apps mobile so no need change sticker every year.

• Rossli on Jan 08, 2023 at 1:20 pm

No need to stick road tax on the car mirror.Everything has to be on digital.JPJ /police just scan the number plate it will appear on the computer whether road tax,insurance,license valid or not.It will save time and road congestion when there is a road block/check.Just paid online everything is ok.No need to print anything.

• Murugan subbiah on Jan 08, 2023 at 2:12 pm

Good and nice sir

• Another task for mr. Loke is come down hard on noisy exhaust specially motorcyclists and cars too around senawang, seremban area where they racing day and night through senawang taman’s area. very noisy we just can’t stand it. The only suggestion is to banned completely the installation of such noisy exhaust because roadblocks done by police and JPJ doesn’t help, we have been suffering for long time already! Mr. Loke can check this area specially weekend which is worst time.

• Ismail on Jan 09, 2023 at 9:39 am

To promise is easy.
    Please also state the timeline, eg either 01/2024 or 01/2034.

• Lala land on Jan 15, 2023 at 11:01 am

Can renew at Myeg.com.my ma.

• Alex Lim on Jan 24, 2023 at 11:21 am

When will the road tax be available? Will drivers/owners be compounded by pdrm/jpj for no display of road tax disc on the cars???

• SIOW JUN MENG on Jan 28, 2023 at 4:26 pm

Hi JPJ BOSS IF I DO IT ONLINE BUT I STILL HAVE GO JPJ COLLECT AND GET NUMBER AND WAIT FOR THE NUMBER REACH TO COLLECT FROM COUNTER THATS IS NOT THE POPER WAY WASTE MY TIME.

• Sasitharan on Mar 10, 2023 at 12:50 am

Anthony Loke is awesome. His approach and solution is simple, effective and timely. Mr. Anthony Loke, you are the man!.. Thank you sir.

• Human Being on Mar 21, 2023 at 5:48 pm

There are many expats working in the country paying taxes and supporting the country but why they even don’t have an option on the app to check car details using passport? Are we not driving the car in this country?