Road tax, lesen renewal at post office by appointment basis, no walk-ins – 3 trx max per slot, book online

Road tax, <em>lesen</em> renewal at post office by appointment basis, no walk-ins – 3 trx max per slot, book online

You would have heard by now that your expired road tax (LKM) and driving licence will have to renewed by September 30, as JPJ has announced that there will be no further extension of the grace period given due to Covid-19 and movement control closures.

The department said that one should do the renewals online via the MySikap JPJ portal or through MyEG. JPJ counter service is an option, but it’s on an appointment basis. Post offices nationwide will also resume counter services for JPJ transactions, which was stopped for the FMCO in June.

Pos Malaysia has now confirmed that it will welcome JPJ transactions starting today (August 9), but before you head to your local, note that all JPJ services at post offices nationwide will be on an appointment basis. This means no walk-ins, and you’ll have to secure an appointment slot online before heading there.

To book an appointment slot, go to Pos Malaysia’s Outlet Finder feature on its website (www.pos.com.my) or mobile app. You’ll need to select the state, select the post office branch and click on the link provided. Customers are allowed to book one appointment slot per day, and a maximum of three transactions can be made per appointment.

Sounds like a hassle, but Pos Malaysia says that this this move is to avoid overcrowding during the pandemic. The company reminds people to follow all the SOPs when visiting post offices – face mask, temperature checks, MySejahtera check-in, one-metre physical distancing. This is very important – if you’re feeling unwell, don’t join the rush. In fact, don’t go anywhere.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sick&Tired on Aug 09, 2021 at 12:11 pm

They expect us to stay at home, sacrifice our livelihood and they can’t even give people until the end of the year to renew roadtax and license? Kerajaan perihatin my foot la!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 49
    • PlainBS on Aug 09, 2021 at 5:28 pm

They gave you until end Sept which is 3/4 of the year in. What are you doing 3/4 of the year? Sleeping with your foot in mouth? Myeg can deliver it to you hassle free and that you dunno or you just plain BS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
    • cedyy on Aug 09, 2021 at 5:31 pm

govt run out of money.

• Sick & Tired on Aug 09, 2021 at 10:16 pm

From 1st Jan until 30th Sept you cannot renew your license? Dude, rather than ranting like a clueless imbecile at the Govt, why have you not renew it for that long? During that time you happily enjoyed traveling with your expired license and now you get angry when they tell you it is time to pay up. Do you really think the world owes you a living? Really sick & tired of these ingrates.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
      • honchong on Aug 11, 2021 at 12:12 pm

Dear Sick & Tired
        I do agreed with you from 1st Jan 30th Sept cant renew? But did you experience their website down or heavy user cant proceed. Then given notice 30 days to renew, so its the nation fault? Do bare in mind, each time we move out from the house there is a risk waiting for its victim. Instead you saying nation to be blame why not you suggest a better solution for us to renew all this documents?

• This online booking requirement only came out like this week. The earlier 30 weeks what are these procrastinators doing?

• Copy Paste on Aug 11, 2021 at 3:20 pm

Copy paste: “suggest a better solution”

Copy paste: “Myeg can deliver it to you hassle free”

• Citizenkane on Aug 25, 2021 at 9:53 pm

Please lah realize bro that 90% of our citizen are careless and tend to do things last minute. It’s been rooted in their DNA. I say “their” coz I am not included. I always stick to the rules without compromise.

• Torres on Aug 10, 2021 at 12:21 am

Juz a suggestion to my related dept.. Since the case is like 10k n 20k daily, why dont waive the roadtax n license fee.. It sounds like bantuan prihatin as well.. How many are doing well during this period?
      By paying these, u can get few millions ringgit.
      By waiving these, u can save few millions people.
      Which one is worthwhile? People or paper?

• I never knew gov is ran out of a post opis. Since when did pos malaysia became our gov?

• Norlia on Aug 10, 2021 at 1:35 pm

Saya sudah buat. Anda bila lagi? Mau gomen undangan dgn kompang sekali bagi hantaran lesen ke tempat mu? Amboi betui!

• Yogeswaran on Aug 09, 2021 at 1:26 pm

Road tax and lesen

• Malaysian stylo. Wait until last minit then everyone jam everything up, then complain laa here n there. This is why we can never advance, we blame others for our own failures.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 09, 2021 at 2:11 pm

But it looks like pos malaysia’s website has been overwhelmed with traffic.

• albert on Aug 09, 2021 at 2:20 pm

Normally road tax renewal is either for 6 months or 12 months. The road tax expiry date is 6 months or 12 months from the renewal date.
    Take a case where I renew my insurance cover on 1st June 2021, and manage to renew road tax on the 15th August 2021 it seem I can only renew it for 6 months until 15th February 2022.
    On the 16th February 2022, I cannot renew it for another 6 months am I right? The insurance only will cover till 31st May 2022, while another 6 months after 16th February is on 16th August 2022 which is a lapse of more than two months without insurance cover.
    How?

• Cassie on Aug 23, 2021 at 4:59 pm

I had same problem, managed to book appointment with POS on 17 Aug to renew roadtax which is due on 30 Jul, but can’t renew 12 months because Insurance till 30 Jul 2022, short of 17 days. It was stated in JPJ news statement that they will backdate…???

• Fantastic on Aug 09, 2021 at 2:22 pm

The goverment always fail us. You can’t even get to the Pos Laju website. Get your dung together.

“Sorry, we’re facing heavy traffic right now. Please be patient and try again in 1 minute.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 27
    • Simple suggestion JPJ on Aug 09, 2021 at 2:32 pm

Alot of the expired license are CDL. The problem seems to be that there’s no photo online to allow online license renewal.

Here’s a very easy fix. Just allow people to renew license using IC photo. You already allow this in person and JPJ counter. Why not just allow this online. This will fix the current long waiting list and license renew backlog issue.

It’s a simple fix. Please implement it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
      • Yes, exactly. I tried on line, mysikap and unable to proceed due to no photo. Why not take proper action to fix it

• joyce on Aug 09, 2021 at 3:04 pm

Cannot load the site in the morning. After successful load the site in the noon, cannot select any date as it said not available.

• Unknown on Aug 09, 2021 at 5:43 pm

Pos Malaysia is private entity noob. Nothing to do with gomen, if you have beef take it on DRB Hicom who owns Pos Malaysia.

And if you got no patience to wait, you really shouldnt be driving at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Who knew gov is ran out of a post opis. Since when did pos malaysia became our gov?

• Dong gor on Aug 09, 2021 at 2:29 pm

Just tried a few of the branches around Pj, all of the August dates are not available for booking… And can’t go to September. Simple Apps yet can’t make it right… Now wonder late comer Jnt took most of the business share in courier

• Aziza on Aug 10, 2021 at 12:32 pm

It is absolutely crap service, gagal tetap gagal…

• When are there open up September for booking? What if September also full? What happen then?

• Aziza on Aug 09, 2021 at 3:08 pm

Already tried whole day..still getting

“Sorry, we’re facing heavy traffic right now. Please be patient and try again in 1 minute”

WTF..

• dong gor on Aug 09, 2021 at 6:23 pm

Pos Laju has long established in malaysia and with the widest network, but new comer like J&T can just come in and take all the courier market share within a show time…so from here you know Pos Malaysia’s capability. this also explains BUka untuk register, but nothing u can click. Pui

• Akhtar ZAINUDIN on Aug 09, 2021 at 3:33 pm

Easy to make announcements but system cannot accomodate the traffic. I suggest the authorities stop focusing on scaring the public by warning of summons on 1st October but focus on improving the service. Even if POS Malaysia is owned by DRB, to provide Govt services is a national responsibility which must be carried by the giver (Govt) as well as the Recipient (DRB) of the contract. I’m ashamed to be a Malaysian today, our system like 3rd World attitude after all that effort over 30 yrs to be a 1st world player.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Unknown on Aug 09, 2021 at 5:48 pm

The giver is DRB the recipient is rakyat. Gomen has nothing to do with this, JPJ only engages DRB which owned Pos Malaysia as one of the avenues to transact. As for JPJ their main transaction point is still via over counter or MySikap.

People should get their facts right and correctly direct their anger at the right party.

• Daniel on Aug 09, 2021 at 4:08 pm

The online portal is appalling. Is so unfriendly. Common Pos Malaysia do something about .

• dong gor on Aug 09, 2021 at 6:21 pm

Pos Laju has long established in malaysia and with the widest network, but new comer like J&T can just come in and take all the courier market share within a show time…so from here you know Pos Malaysia’s capability. this also explains BUka untuk register, but nothing u can click. Pui

• Ah Chong on Aug 09, 2021 at 4:09 pm

Was at post office today. Can renew road tax, but driver’s license, even the post office complains that nobody ship them the card and card printer ribbon. No way for them to print one for me even if they wanted to.

• Aunty Lian on Aug 09, 2021 at 11:26 pm

May I know which branch of post office that you go to earlier today?

• Robusta on Aug 09, 2021 at 4:10 pm

The post office is not opening any slot for appointment at all. They want us to renew via online and users have to pay the handling fee of $20?? for the renewal .

• SY Lai on Aug 09, 2021 at 4:34 pm

After 6 months or more worth of backlog of expired driving licenses and road taxes, they expect the public to scramble to get renewals in the next 7 weeks?? How many thousands of driving licenses have expired cumulatively since MCO2.0? Doesn’t JPJ know? I tried renewing my driving license on MYEG but it requires prior activation of account at JPJ. How to do that now? Meanwhile the POS Malaysia app is hopelessly unusable right now maybe due to heavy traffic. JPJ and the Transport Minister please use your brains or at least have a heart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • kopio on Aug 10, 2021 at 7:38 am

may be transporter minister spending too much time play acting like jason statham

• azhar ali on Aug 09, 2021 at 5:36 pm

very frustrating! the government makes announcement as if the system is super perfect. ive been trying to access the pos malaysia web page, when clicking the outlet finder, a busy message appears. this has been going on since yesterday until now. the people in the government making these instructions should try it themselves. then only they will know how frustrating it is, so please stop threatening us on date lines. and give us time. we are already on a down turn in our lives, please dont add more miseries to our lives.

• Mahentaran Muniyandy on Aug 09, 2021 at 6:51 pm

I cannot book the appointment

• Fed up on Aug 09, 2021 at 7:25 pm

What overcrowding, let 5 to 10 person to enter like going to bank.

• Yap Jin on Aug 09, 2021 at 8:26 pm

Renew lesen

• pss, can ask this fella Charles to help make the website better ah?

https://www.nst.com.my/business/2021/07/713308/pos-malaysia-names-charles-brewer-new-group-ceo

• Nagalingam Kathirgamer on Aug 09, 2021 at 9:00 pm

Been trying and trying ….what a waste of time.
    What kind of crap system this is?

“Sorry, we’re facing heavy traffic right now. Please be patient and try again in 1 minute”

• Pos Malaysia Bhd has appointed Charles Brewer, who spent 34 years in DHL group, as its new group chief executive officer (CEO).

HEllo new CEO – make this your 1st job to deliver with that high pay grade of yours.

Please try and book an appointment yourself.

lupsup

• LO YIK MENG on Aug 09, 2021 at 9:53 pm

I have registered pos malaysia online, but when I want to pick a time slot, there is no date open, is there a bug?

• Mak Cik Frust on Aug 09, 2021 at 9:58 pm

Hello, Wee Ka Siong

Go try “Pos Malaysia’s Outlet Finder feature on its website (www.pos.com.my)” yourself.

System takbole pakai la. Must be your August 2021 joke.

• Manaboleh on Aug 09, 2021 at 11:35 pm

Just tried to book the time. Firstly, request to try again after 1 minute. Keep trying a few times, can go in. After selected service to renew all date not available. Not allowed to select September or October month too. Please don’t open this kind of services if system unable to handle. Please make sure that all require printer, ribbon, paper, card, etc. Is ready to print. Else rakyat go there after booking. This system down, that no card, printer no ink…… When want to improve?

• Torres on Aug 10, 2021 at 12:22 am

Juz a suggestion to my related dept.. Since the case is like 10k n 20k daily, why dont waive the roadtax n license fee.. It sounds like bantuan prihatin as well.. How many are doing well during this period?
    By paying these, u can get few millions ringgit.
    By waiving these, u can save few millions people.
    Which one is worthwhile? People or paper?

• Ramachandram Keloo on Aug 10, 2021 at 1:32 am

Went to renew my road tax and license but they say I have to make appointment on line. But I tried but can’t get into it even late night.. tell me how can I make an appointment n please let me know how’s

• Lee Ee Ken on Aug 10, 2021 at 1:51 am

Too much hassle for old people

• Lee Ee Ken on Aug 10, 2021 at 1:52 am

Too much of work

• Lee Ee Ken on Aug 10, 2021 at 1:53 am

Problem for OKU

• MOHD HAMIZAM BIN AB RAHIM on Aug 10, 2021 at 3:05 am

Re new road tax

• Nazriee on Aug 10, 2021 at 7:06 am

Upgrade pos Malaysia server 1st!

• Murugan subramanian on Aug 10, 2021 at 10:03 am

Renew road tax

• Unggoppa on Aug 10, 2021 at 10:24 am

dealing with the app crash every time tryna locate a POS office is just tiring. Even after successfully selected a POS office no date available. Poor App development.

• Mahahhock on Aug 10, 2021 at 11:03 am

Pos

• Mahahhock on Aug 10, 2021 at 11:04 am

Lesen

• Tony Lim on Aug 10, 2021 at 1:44 pm

Tried to book app…got a slot but when I entered the code, the slot taken by others…no other appointment times available till end August and the site didn’t allow to go to September…just great!

• WHY AH CHEE on Aug 10, 2021 at 1:47 pm

renew road tax

• KWTham on Aug 10, 2021 at 3:01 pm

With such system, how you expect people can get their driving licence renew in time. All d systems set by our government don’t seem to work like the MySejahtera. My driving licence already expired. Have been trying to make an appointment. But, dont know how to get an appointment make. I wonder how about those not educated at all. How are they going to have an appointment made for their driving licence renew. They are making things more difficult for people.

• SIOW KAY KEONG on Aug 10, 2021 at 3:23 pm

Renew roadtax for motorcycle and car.

• Did Pos use the same system for AZ slot booking?

• Selvanathan on Aug 10, 2021 at 6:13 pm

Renew roadtax

• Rajanthiran on Aug 10, 2021 at 9:13 pm

I wish to renew my car Road Tax. How do i make an appointment date?

• Muhammad alias on Aug 10, 2021 at 11:08 pm

Bagaimana pula bagi orang tak punya pengetahuan dalam smartphone? Nak buka chrome , google pun tak pandai. INGAT.. bukan semua orang boleh dan pandai buat appointment menggunakan telefon..

• Huoang on Aug 10, 2021 at 11:58 pm

Should be renewed on line then jpj post the documents to us. I m tired of running around like a fool

• Nurul Aisyah on Aug 11, 2021 at 6:59 am

buat appointment 9hb tapi suruh balik, kata tak valid, suruh buat new appointment.. tapi semua dah penuh… stupid

• rtax renewal on Aug 11, 2021 at 9:25 am

I Ve been trying booking appointment online from JPJ and Pos Malaysia website….What the heck…always full and cannot do bookings….Using MyEG at last, with extra unnecessary payments that is….:(

• choo kee hong on Aug 11, 2021 at 12:46 pm

nak ke jpj tukar nama lesen loti lori lesen

• Shiawyan on Aug 11, 2021 at 1:21 pm

All appointments were fully booked on the 09/08/2021. there is no one post office that has available slot. This is totally unacceptable; rushing everyone that needs to renew road tax at this last minute. Please revised your regulation!!!!

• LAI JOON CHIN on Aug 11, 2021 at 2:27 pm

How booking on line bukit INDAH jb pos office

• Ross Bauer on Aug 11, 2021 at 3:00 pm

Nothing available in August with no way to click ahead to September. Brilliant!

• Rozita Abd Aziz on Aug 11, 2021 at 7:18 pm

Want to renew driving license

• Ong Song Kuan on Aug 11, 2021 at 11:03 pm

I want to request for make an appointment to renew my driving licence at the Pos office in Endah Parade Sri Petaling. Pl email to me the application form or how do I do it

• Saiful on Aug 11, 2021 at 11:55 pm

Okay

• Sameer on Aug 12, 2021 at 10:38 am

Rod tax

• Wu Tian Yung on Aug 12, 2021 at 2:19 pm

Pay Road Taxi

• Yeo Puay Sze. on Aug 12, 2021 at 3:23 pm

Renew driving licence and road tax in kuching, Sarawak.

• RAGHAVAN ANNAMALAI on Aug 12, 2021 at 7:07 pm

Appointment for rtax renewal

• PHILIP LEE YOON THIAM on Aug 13, 2021 at 11:53 am

I wud like to made appt to renew my d.licence

• PHILIP LEE YOON THIAM on Aug 13, 2021 at 12:11 pm

I am very dissapointed with Pos Office cos I cannot login to made appt for licence renewal after so many times.Can someone at pos off help me to get an appt at P.Off Lotus B.Tinggi , Klang so that I can renew my licence.

• KONG CHAI LIN on Aug 14, 2021 at 3:09 pm

APPOINTMENT FOR RENEW ROAD TAX

• Rajendra Kumar on Aug 14, 2021 at 4:04 pm

REnew licience in Kulim

• Ngo kia chun on Aug 14, 2021 at 11:33 pm

Renew liesen

• LIM SEOK CHENG on Aug 15, 2021 at 5:34 pm

Tamat Lesen renewel

• Tantiensze on Aug 15, 2021 at 10:10 pm

Renew license

• Ramesan a/l Chellappan on Aug 16, 2021 at 2:17 pm

Roadtax

• how the pos malaysia online system can work dee …

• Muthusamy Marimuthu on Aug 17, 2021 at 7:42 am

Renew road tax for vehicle

• Ganesan Vembadi on Aug 17, 2021 at 8:36 am

Renewal of licence

• chu poh len on Aug 17, 2021 at 11:29 am

I would like to renew my road tax on 19.8.21

• lunlun on Aug 18, 2021 at 2:52 pm

I want renew lesen

• Abibulah Bin MOHD Hussain on Aug 19, 2021 at 7:22 am

JPJ only 40people book appointment perday but the whole month is fully booked why can’t the minister look into it

• Alian Madek on Aug 19, 2021 at 8:42 am

Road tax renewal

• Nancy on Aug 20, 2021 at 9:45 am

I can’t even see the book appointment function. The selected post office branch only has information, instructing people to book appointments. How to book??

• kalasagar a/l A,G, Nair on Aug 23, 2021 at 1:43 pm

How do I register for a suitable date to renew my driving licence. I live in Setapak and the nearest post office station is in Jalan Gombak (near Ong Tai Kim). Thank you

• GT Khoo on Aug 23, 2021 at 3:42 pm

Appointment slot all full. Some have appointment slot, but license renew unavailable. failed.

• LOH AH LEK on Aug 24, 2021 at 9:34 am

i want appointment road tx

• Any surcharge when renewing RoadTax at Pos Office?

• SIMON on Aug 25, 2021 at 11:19 am

Bahlol punya sistem….nak renew road tax, keluar error message “this outlet do not handle such service” !! Apa ni ?? Tiap tiap tahun saya pun renew di POS M’sia AEON Maluri, tapi sekarang pulak kata tak boleh. Check MyTown, Pudu dan yang berdekatan pun semua sama….baik tutup kedai je.

• Jong Ah Fah on Aug 26, 2021 at 11:10 am

Renew druving licence

• Eng lee miang on Aug 26, 2021 at 2:51 pm

Book an appointment

• Mohd Shazali Bin Md Salleh on Aug 27, 2021 at 11:12 am

Renewal Road tax

• Tan choon yen on Sep 01, 2021 at 1:27 pm

Lenes

• Sritharan on Sep 01, 2021 at 6:15 pm

Road tax

• Selvakumar s/o Marimuthu on Sep 01, 2021 at 11:06 pm

Want to renew my driving liecense… dates no available… what i do..

• amran abdullah on Sep 03, 2021 at 10:07 am

Renew road tax

• jessie Van Treijen on Sep 04, 2021 at 2:57 pm

I have an appointment with pos Malaysia for road tax renewal. Can I pay by credit card? Tx

• Attla Nareshkumar on Sep 08, 2021 at 12:15 pm

Driving licences

• chin。wan ping on Sep 09, 2021 at 9:55 am

nak renew driving licence

• chin wan ping on Sep 09, 2021 at 9:56 am

nak renew driving licence

• Sam min jon on Sep 10, 2021 at 9:31 am

Road tax

• Nur Mohammad on Sep 11, 2021 at 2:45 pm

Rodetex apoidment

• Stupid system.. More troublesome to user.. More complex… Not friendly user instead madly user..

• renew lesen

• Santhi A/P Munusamy on Oct 18, 2021 at 11:40 am

Bayar road tax (kereta)