FMCO: No JPJ transactions at post offices nationwide

With all land transport agencies under the transport ministry closed for the full MCO – which started yesterday and will last till June 14 – one can just head to the nearest post office to do JPJ things such as renewing road tax, right?

Wrong. The road transport department has announced the suspension of all JPJ transactions at Pos Malaysia counters nationwide during the FMCO period. The post offices will remain open as they’re an essential service, just that no JPJ business can be done during the lockdown.

But that’s OK, because JPJ has announced a leeway for driving licence, road tax (LKM) or vocational license (PSV/GDL) expiring between June 1 to July 31. These documents can be renewed later, from August 1 to September 30 this year. Like the previous MCO-related leeway, all vehicles with expired road tax must have valid insurance cover. Print out and keep your insurance e-cover note in the vehicle and present it to the authorities when required.

Remember, there’s no need to renew lesen or road tax during the FMCO, although valid insurance cover is a must. Inform your parents as well. Stay safe.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Tak Faham on Jun 02, 2021 at 1:08 pm

Where is the logic?

• Logical Deduction on Jun 02, 2021 at 3:47 pm

Reduce congestion.
      Reduce unnecessary contact.
      Reduce risk of infection.
      Reduce people coming out.
      Reduce the high cases.
      Reduce the death rates.
      Reduce the burden on healthcare & frontliners.

• Farid on Jun 02, 2021 at 2:00 pm

My road expires at 25 April 2021. In April when I went POS office they say can renew at 1st June. Now FMCO road tax expiring 1st June to 31st July. So we renew it on 1st August to 31st Sept ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
    • Same thing here. Gonna see if june 15th service will be resumed or not. Quite annoyed being stopped by police few times d.

• inb4 JPJ officers working from home.

• klguy on Jun 02, 2021 at 2:31 pm

so what are JPJ employees doing during lockdown? Play PS4 at home? So syok la, gaji buta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
    • Logical Deduction on Jun 02, 2021 at 3:48 pm

So as you friend. What are you doing for your employers while away from your workplace?

• Michael Lee on Jun 02, 2021 at 3:00 pm

How about those road tax not renewed yet which expired on April 28, 2021?

• ThePolygon on Jun 02, 2021 at 5:34 pm

You don’t say…
    I thought renewing is online? Still need to tutup?

• Low Chee Seng on Jun 02, 2021 at 9:22 pm

My road tax expired on May 10. I was asked to wait til 1 June to renew it at the Post Office. But now I am unable to renew it because of MCO. The leeway given is for road tax expiring between 1June to 31 July. What happens to those expiring in May that were not able to renew? Can it be renewed in JPJ or anywhere else?

• Tony Tan on Jun 03, 2021 at 6:08 pm

Anyone know whether road tax renewal can be done thru MyEG and get it delivered during FMCO?

• darwan on Jun 09, 2021 at 9:29 pm

importantly need to get copies for both my driving license and GDL to help me keep my current job.. couldn’t afford the waiting.. what do i do? is there anything i can do to get those?
    thank you

• MelDoremi on Jun 14, 2021 at 8:33 pm

Hmm I went through the steps above at MyEG but don’t see an option to upload a photo. Help?

• Faizal on Jun 28, 2021 at 10:56 pm

Same problem. JPJ is saying we need to visit nearest branch to upload photo. Currently everyone is wfh and no counter is allowed to open for renewal purpose.

• alwin on Jul 02, 2021 at 8:59 pm

Means we need bring hard copy of photo to upload in JPJ branch? or they can take the photon the spot?

• For those wondering, I recently renewed my insurance/roadtax through MyEG. Takes about a week for them to deliver it(In my case). You can renew it online through MyEG website anad then monitor it through the MyEG app. If you have questions, you can contact MyEG via Twitter.

• Jothi on Jul 06, 2021 at 2:23 am

My license expired in May. I went to the post office. They have a signboard saying license expired in april-may can only be renew from June to July 2021. Now with this MCO in extension. How do i still renew. What if they extend again. How do i go about with this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Ziggy on Jul 16, 2021 at 10:42 pm

Driver’s licence and road tax renewals can be done via MySikap JPJ or MyEG online portals. Those who have renewed the said documents do not need to collect the physical documents over the counter during the MCO 3.0 period; merely showing the proof of payment/receipt will do.