New road tax for cars and bikes in Malaysia – not required to be displayed, valid in other countries

Earlier this year, the road transport department (JPJ) announced it would continue to issue physical road tax (LKM) to those who aren’t prepared to make the switch to a digital one. However, the road tax provided will now come in the form of a paper document instead of a plastic disc that you stick on your vehicle’s windscreen.

Keep in mind that both physical and digital versions of the LKM are valid in Malaysia, with the latter accessible via the MyJPJ app and highly encouraged by the department. If you still insist on a physical road tax but are unsure how it all works, the department has published a FAQ to provide a better understanding.

First up, the JPJ says its offices and business partners will continue to provide the familiar road tax disc, although this is dependent on stock availability. Once the stock is finished at individual outlets, you will get the paper-type LKM instead.

Places that issue the new LKM include all JPJ counters as well as agents such as Pos Malaysia, MyEG and Puspakom. You can also get a physical road tax when renew your road tax via the mySIKAP portal, although you’ll still need to head to a JPJ counter to collect it.

There’s no additional charge to go with a physical LKM as it is factored into the renewal cost, but should you lose or damage the paper-type LKM, a replacement can be obtained at any JPJ office at a cost of RM20 for motorcycles and RM50 for vehicles that aren’t motorcycles.

The paper document (pictured above) includes details such as the vehicle registration number, expiry date, engine capacity, place of registration and road tax fee. The general look of the new LKM is now standardised for all vehicles, including motorcycles, regardless if they are privately owned or company-registered. All details are updated in real-time to JPJ’s system and MyJPJ app.

You are not required to display the new LKM on your vehicle but you must store it nearby in case you are requested by the authorities to show it. On a related matter, if your vehicle’s road tax hasn’t expired, you are not required to switch to the new LKM and can keep the disc that is already stuck on.

For those who plan to drive their vehicles in foreign countries, the JPJ says the entry of Malaysian-registered vehicles is subject to the regulations of the countries you intend to visit. In countries where a physical road tax is mandatory, the new LKM can be used.

According to a prior report by MySinchew, the JPJ received written notification from four neighbouring countries – Singapore, Thailand, Brunei and Indonesia – that Malaysian citizens driving into these four countries only need to show their digital road tax at the land border in order to get clearance.

Do take note that while the paper-type LKM is valid in other countries, it is a different story when it comes to your driving licence. If you’re planning to drive in a foreign country, you’ll need visit a JPJ counter to request a card version of your driving licence, which requires submitting supporting documents and proof relating to your trip overseas. This is because the new driving licence format, be it digital or physical (in the form of a renewal slip), is not valid in foreign countries.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• seitha on Feb 09, 2024 at 3:44 pm

This, I support.
    All vehicle road tax should be made like the one issued for motorcycles… easier to carry, no need plastic from insurance agents and no mess!.
    Hopefully insurance companies will reduce the premiums since now they don’t have to make the plastic stickers to place in front of the old road tax stickers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Calvin on Feb 13, 2024 at 8:19 pm

This i dont support.
      It is very obvious that internationally we are still required to carry and have to show our driving licenses (both local & international) when asked by their authorities. Plus if you go into Singapore or Thailand it is required, by their law, to display physical road tax, so if you plan on driving there without a road tax to display, good luck as it can easily be a SGD $300 fine. This is a stupid move from a stupid minister who intends not to be burdened with road tax issuance anymore as he focus his ministerialship to selling as much fancy number plates as he can.

• I totally agreed with you. This guy is the worst Transport Minister of all time. He just took office and making reforms that are unnecessary and expensive and most of all making road user life miserable as we have to download and use his stupid app only when enforcer conduct road block and examination. I think he is trying to sabotage the previous Transport Minister from MCA business connection in providing road tax sticker and license card, and perhaps returning favour for software companies that funded political party or career.

• Lokimak on Feb 09, 2024 at 3:57 pm

Enough with this nonsense. Just stick to selling your no. plates and stop confusing us normal motorists. Kejap digital kejap physical. Why the need to stop the normal road tax disc? How much does a piece cost? And how many trees can you save? Do you have vested interest in the MyJayPigJay or whatever mySIAKAP apps?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 16
    • Sick&Tired on Feb 09, 2024 at 10:49 pm

Totally agree with you! It’s so confusing, like rocket science! And why is there a need to change or improve!!?? Just leave things the way it is! The problem with mankind is that we always try to find ways to improve! We should all be living in caves and be happy!

• This is not improve, this is just jpj trying to increase their income while being cheapskate on rakyat

• Penguin on Feb 09, 2024 at 9:14 pm

i have no problem with it but make sure every officers are aligned.

• Stop the nonsense about physical or electronic roadtax, just issue physical roadtax upon renewal. I just renewed my roadtax on 8th February at Pos Malaysia and requested for physical roadtax, I was asked to pay RM5 for physical roadtax. What nonsense is this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • This nonsense is called the 160 mil discount we gave to bossku. Please help to foot the bill. TQVM. Kasihmu dijunjung

• Disc on the car with car road tax payment is transparent to all road users and road traffic officer. Transparent and above board.Use pliable paper like our ringgit notes with a sticky strip
    So this digital system is not fool proof and susceptible to online hacks.

• THANIGAI VALLAL on Feb 10, 2024 at 7:22 pm

NO COMMENTS

• HY113 on Feb 11, 2024 at 1:26 am

Common, I frequently fly to neighbouring countries adhoc for meetings & I rent car to drive. Without physical driving license issued like before, it’s going to give me lots of problems as you can’t issue me one without proof of flight. Why the need of proof driving in foreign country in the first place? Whether I drive or not is not JPJ’s business. But it’s JPJ’s job to provide me a physical driving license when I need it.

• Kelly on Feb 11, 2024 at 6:23 am

Until today I’m unable to create account with myJPJ and I’ve been to the JPJ PJ New Town branch 3 times to queue but after wasting 2 days, I couldn’t even get to the counter. My queue number is just wiped out at the end of the day. So I’m driving with expired license and road tax, and has no app as proof.

• Rasydan on Feb 11, 2024 at 10:10 am

If only the minister would focus on the increasing issues of heavy commercial vehicles causing fatal accidents, instead of the digital roadtax and the selling of plate numbers.

• Dunno what 7 u say on Feb 11, 2024 at 7:21 pm

This is really 69

• Alexandria on Feb 11, 2024 at 8:04 pm

So funny

• Bengangnya on Feb 12, 2024 at 11:21 am

Road blocks by JPJ may cause longer traffic jams due to digotal road tax.

• Chris Tan on Feb 12, 2024 at 11:23 pm

Driving license card version should be available on demand. Why do I need to show proof of my personal travel plans to obtain what is already rightfully mine? And stupid car sharing companies like Gocar are still demanding photos of physical driving licence to verify our accounts

• This is government decision to increase their income, 20 ringgit for motorist and 50 ringgit for motocar.

The real question is how much the real cost to produced each paper? I bet it didn’t reach 10 ringgit per paper. Government just want to maximise income by making it’s own rakyat as source of income. in world first country, you doesn’t need to renew license every year until 65 years old.

If i’m minister, i will do physical paper for motorist for just 10 ringgit and for motocar as 20 ringgit and why on Earth we need to provide a proof to go outside our own country when most of old generation 60 and above didn’t know how to use digital system? My mom didn’t have internet on his phone, how she gonna use myjpj app?

Not everyone have internet on their phone

• MySiakap on Feb 14, 2024 at 10:38 pm

Bengong JPJ ni, kejap ye kejap tak. Bulan ni dah kena tahan tiga kali, tiga² suruh tunjuk walhal hari tu kata tak payah. Dah la kena kena tahan kat tempat tak ada line nak bukak mysikap, ni nak ubah lagi…

• TUKAR BALIK on Feb 15, 2024 at 7:46 am

la nie makin lama makin merapu²,depaa x pikir ka kalau esok nie tiba² fone rosak ka…member nak pinjam moto emergency ka,orang yg fon x dak kaa…kadang yg setengah tu x sempat nk tukar nama kebab owner dok jauh or pindah ka,pikir la semua tu…rakyat nie bukannya duit belambak dalam bank tu nak bayar saman hampa,buat macam style roadtax yg lama sudah laa…menyangkak boleh…

• Perlisian on Feb 15, 2024 at 10:37 am

I just wondered why they only categorized the roadtax as “Motosikal” and “Selain Motosikal”..Why not “Kereta”, “Motosikal”, “Bas”, “Lori” etc..Digital kan?