BYD Seal vs Tesla Model 3 Highland Malaysia comparison – how do these electric sedans stack up?

It’s safe to say that BYD has set the country alight with the Seal, an electric sedan that goes toe-to-toe with the ever-popular Tesla Model 3. The Chinese company has been quite aggressive with its latest model, particularly in terms of pricing.

Doubtless, there will be those of you who will be wondering how the BYD compares against the Tesla in terms of price, size and bare numbers. Here, we’re taking a closer look at how the Seal stacks up against its fiercest rival.

Pricing: Seal undercuts Model 3 considerably

We’ve been eagerly awaiting pricing for the Seal since it was confirmed it would be coming to Malaysia, and now that it’s here, it’s clear that BYD isn’t messing about. Prices are as follows:

• BYD Seal Premium RWD – RM180,430 on-the-road without insurance
  • BYD Seal Performance AWD – RM200,430 on-the-road without insurance

As such, the Seal Premium RWD undercuts the Model 3 LR (RM190,700). Meanwhile, no Model 3 Performance competitor for the Seal Performance AWD has been launched, yet the Seal Performance AWD is over RM19,000 cheaper than the Model 3 Long Range AWD (RM219,700), and you get more performance to boot.

Dimensions: Model 3 is smaller but more practical

Given that the Seal has been designed to compete with the Model 3, it’s no surprise they are largely the same size. However, the Chinese car edges out its Chinese-built American rival ever so slightly, being 80 mm longer and 19 mm taller; the Tesla counters by being 42 mm wider.

This advantage should give the BYD greater interior room compared to the Tesla, although the Model 3 is by no means cramped inside. But if luggage space is what you’re looking for, then the Model 3 has a slight edge, both in terms of the rear boot (425 litres vs 400) and especially the front (88 litres versus 40). The fact the Seal even has a front boot, however, is noteworthy, especially as the Atto 3 and Dolphin don’t have one.

Performance and range: Seal is faster, Model 3 can drive further

Tesla is known for providing a staggering amount of performance for your money, but it’s been upstaged by BYD here. The Seal Premium RWD makes 313 PS and 360 Nm of torque and is able to sprint from zero to 100 km/h in a claimed 5.9 seconds.

Meanwhile, the Performance AWD variant churns out 530 PS and 670 Nm from its dual motors, enabling it to complete the century sprint in just 3.8 seconds. That’s six tenths of a second quicker than the Model 3 Long Range AWD. To be fair, the Seal Performance AWD is more of a competitor for the Model 3 Performance, which in its latest Highland guise isn’t out yet. We’d expect the latter to be significantly more expensive.

The cheapest Seal is the one that has the most range (as the 82.5 kWh LFP battery comes standard). Even so, the Model 3 Long Range comfortably beats the Seal Premium RWD with a range of 629 km, versus 570 km for the BYD (both figures are WLTP) – despite the fact it has all-wheel drive.

Charging: Advantage Tesla

Charging times are inconclusive as Tesla doesn’t provide any figures for the Model 3 (only that its 250 kW DC Superchargers are able to provide up to 282 km of additional range in 15 minutes). But the car can accept a higher amount of DC fast charging power than the Seal (170 kW vs 150 kW), the latter taking 37 minutes to charge from 10 to 80%.

The Model 3 will also charge quicker when plugged up to an AC charger, as it can support up to 11 kW, compared to just 7 kW for the Seal. The latter takes a staggering 15.2 hours for a full charge.

And that’s with the right 7 kW single-phase or 22kW three-phase charger. If you use an 11 kW three-phase charger thinking it’ll be faster, the Seal’s onboard charger will step down to between 3.5 and 3.7 kW, meaning that it will take twice as long (more than a full day) compared to a technically slower 7 kW charger. Electric vehicles with a three-phase OBC aren’t affected by this issue.

It also goes without saying that only the Model 3 can use Tesla’s Supercharger network as well as its Destination Chargers.

Maintenance: Less servicing with Model 3, but shorter warranty

It’s here where you really see the difference between Tesla’s unconventional attitude to maintenance and BYD’s more traditional approach. The former hardly has a service schedule at all, simply recommending you to replace your cabin air filter every two years and an air-con desiccant bag replacement and brake fluid check every four years.

Tesla does not provide any pricing details on its Malaysian website, nor the cost of a replacement cabin air filter, which is user-serviceable. However, the Tesla Shop in the US lists the latter at US$17 (RM81) at the time of writing. We assume all these maintenance jobs (along with tyre rotations, recommended every 10,000 km) can be done by third-party workshops, although Tesla warns this may affect warranty coverage.

By contrast, BYD will sell you various service packages to keep you in its after-sales network. The Standard package includes tyre alignment, single-speed transmission oil service, air-con filter replacement and refrigerant service, brake fluid service, motor coolant service. This is priced at RM2,688 for three years, RM6,288 for six years and RM8,288 for eight years (add RM200 each for the Performance AWD model).

BYD Seal service packages

Alternatively, you can purchase a Plus package that throws in replacements for wipers, washer fluid, remote control and 12V batteries, and brake pads and discs. This is very expensive, weighing in RM11,488 for six years and RM17,488 for eight years. As yet, BYD has not released a schedule for these replacements, nor has it confirmed if servicing your car at its service centres is required to maintain warranty coverage.

Speaking of which, Tesla’s more lenient maintenance schedule means you get less warranty coverage – just four years or 80,000 km for the vehicle, compared to six years or 150,000 km for the BYD. The Model 3’s battery and drive motor warranty is at least competitive with the BYD, with the same eight-year/160,000 km coverage (the BYD’s warranty for the drive motor is only up to 150,000 km).

What else?

BYD Seal (left), Tesla Model 3 (right)

If you’re looking for the car with the most value for money, the Seal trumps the Model 3 hands down. The kit list is basically identical across both variants, including full-LED lighting, massive 19-inch alloy wheels, flush pop-out door handles, a 10.25-inch digital instrument cluster, a novel rotating 15.2-inch infotainment touchscreen, powered leather seats, a glass roof, a 12-speaker Dynaudio sound system and a 360-degree camera system.

You also get a full suite of driver assists, such as autonomous emergency braking, adaptive cruise control and lane centring assist, plus nine airbags that include rear side and driver’s centre airbags.

By contrast, you have a lot of option boxes to tick with the Tesla, such as alloy wheels (lowly 18s as standard), colours (only white is free) and even the choice of Autopilot (normal, Enhanced or the dubious Full Self Driving). On the plus side, even the standard Autopilot is one of the best in the business, as are the standard 15.4-inch front and eight-inch rear touchscreens. No stalks, however, so there’s that.

Itching to find out how these two cars drive? Check out Hafriz’s video review of the Tesla Model 3 and Anthony’s first drive impressions of the BYD Seal.

GALLERY: 2024 BYD Seal Premium RWD in Malaysia

GALLERY: 2024 Tesla Model 3 Long Range AWD in Malaysia

Learn more: ,

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• CHINA have done it on Feb 24, 2024 at 2:17 pm

When Malaysians MALAP going to do it?
    I meant STEAL and Copy Tesla

Indun is on the way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
    • lilian jee on Feb 24, 2024 at 4:52 pm

what is malap?

• Worst Tesla Malaysia Team on Feb 24, 2024 at 10:44 pm

Tesla car is good but the poor Malaysia Tesla team will kill the car sales. As Tesla user, buying experience is the worst in life.

• Khalib Ismail on Feb 26, 2024 at 1:55 pm

Same experience here.

• Tesla user on Feb 27, 2024 at 12:14 am

I am Tesla user, tried test drive BYD. Experience is like iPhone and Huawei. Tesla is greater in many ways.

But Tesla service is hopeless. Redza the DA is really wasting your time. Great car but sampah service.

• Sean Cornor on Feb 27, 2024 at 12:18 am

Tesla beat Seal completely as i have both. Australia Tesla service is so far acceptable. Charging stations are convenient

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Tesla Malaysia Service Suxk on Feb 25, 2024 at 4:42 pm

Worst buying car experience with Tesla Malaysia. Good car 3rd world service standard. The Delivery advisor basiclly do nothing. Briefing by the Mat Salleh slang advisor when you collect the car is hopeless, it doesn’t bring up yr service level with the slang. Advisor that brought me to the car also hopeless, 5 mins briefing. Watch youtube better.

Bravo to Tesla Team in Malaysia.

• Celup King on Feb 26, 2024 at 6:01 pm

Made in USA vs Made in China. Even blind man knows which is better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • Clean King on Feb 28, 2024 at 9:30 am

Actually both are made in China. Thank God nothing is made in Endia

• Shahriman on Feb 24, 2024 at 2:47 pm

Baikbeli BMW i4 …takiyuddin PAS kami pon ade sebijik bmw i7

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
  • Change on Feb 24, 2024 at 4:07 pm

Why the comparison tables so jialat one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Matti on Feb 24, 2024 at 4:25 pm

Actually what’s the true cost of maintenance for these types of cars? Tesla says no need maintenance aside from tyre changes (and maybe small stuff like windscreen washer fluid), while the BYD brochure has all sorts of things in their service package like coolant and whatnot. Would be cool if this website provided a breakdown on how maintenance differs between different EV manufacturers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 2
    • He Long Must on Feb 25, 2024 at 10:05 am

Does that mean anjing laut more fragile and prone to breaking down?

• Bob Mal on Feb 26, 2024 at 8:24 am

Well is it when one says EV cars have no maintenance because Hyundai did publish their maintenance figure for the EV6 and for 60k km itself cost RM1415, on 90k km cost RM973 and on 120k km cost RM2202 and if you all all others cost it won’t be much cheaper than ICE cars.

• very mid comparison.

I want to see comparison of after-sales services when it comes to EVs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • This comparison is clearly to make the middle kingdom one looks better. You dont see them comparing self driving capability, data collection and other tech.

• What sort of after sales service? Like sending an escort for every trip you make, or having valet service to the posh places you visit? These cars don’t need servicing, they only need wear and tear replacements hence there should be none of after sales service to speak about.

• Sohai on Feb 25, 2024 at 10:08 am

Is an electrical appliance, you get your warranty. Maintenance? What maintenance? You sign maintenance for your TV and fridge?

• Please proofread on Feb 24, 2024 at 7:14 pm

“And that’s with the right 7 kW single-phase charger. If you use an 11 kW or 22 kW three-phase charger thinking it’ll be faster, the Seal’s onboard charger will step down to between 3.5 and 3.7 kW, meaning that it will take twice as long (more than a full day) compared to a technically slower 7 kW charger.”

This is a confusing statement for people unfamiliar with EV. Only the 11kW will provide 3.7kW to EV with 7kW OBC because it’s providing only 16A. Using the 22kW charger will provide full 7kW to EV with 7kW OBC because it will still draw maximum 7kW because of 32A. Please correct this statement.

• AdiTa on Feb 24, 2024 at 9:13 pm

BYD may looks more sporty and drive faster but these are subjectives, at the end of day Tesla still far superior on software with better power efficiency, things that really effect your daily usage!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • But durability for Tesla is not better than BYD and maintenance cost for Tesla is expensive than BYD

• Tesla Fanboi on Mar 28, 2024 at 4:21 am

How is Tesla DIY service approach more expensive maintenance then paying Sime Darby engineers to touch your BYD ?

• Any comments on interior finishing and overall build quality, considering these are priced to compete with one another? Which one feels more premium? Both are manufactured in China, but are they built to the same standards?

• DC fast charge for Tesla Model 3 AWD long range us 250kw

• Mat Kilau on Feb 25, 2024 at 11:31 am

Tesla beat Seal when it comes to ownership experience. It has something similar to bmw concierge and can even control yr car in emergency.

When you get into an accident, Tesla customer service will call you to confirm and activate emergency aids to you (ambulance and tow trucks etc). They can even remotely power down yr battery for safety if required.

One of the Malaysian Tesla owner got into an accident and he was shock when his phone rang right after accident and the customer service ability to arrange everything for him. Saved him from thinking what to do I such confusion state.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • Dude, no much different between Tesla and BYD, as both brands service center are doing good. So don’t see any problems. The only issues that Tesla is not much better reliability than BYD and Tesla maintenance cost also expensive than BYD

• I got both of Tesla Model Y and BYD Atto 3, but unfortunately that BYD much better reputation in terms of servicing and last long term than Tesla. You will know what happened if you buy Tesla. Experienced owner here

• Kingking on Feb 26, 2024 at 8:37 pm

Don’t bull la. Model ay yet to deliver and you claim you have it. If you go buy grey import, that’s why no service.

• Hahaha. I bought both of Tesla Model Y (after opening Tesla showroom) and BYD Atto 3. So I know which is better. Why not tried both and see

• Pro-Palestine on Feb 28, 2024 at 9:33 am

Yes I agree. After driving Tesla and then go test BYD, you will feel immediate difference. BYD just makes you feel at home. With the Seal, tekan minyak/lektrik, the smile it gives you is like no other. When cruising the BYD is a friendly Seal but when floor the pedal it becomes Monster/Raksaksa. Super car also kena tapau

• Bad environment battery has cobalt on Feb 25, 2024 at 2:08 pm

Go and buy the car that comes standard feature of android auto and apple carplay support ok

• Paoes on Feb 26, 2024 at 3:07 pm

BYD has Apple CarPlay and Android Auto but Tesla don’t have!! Even all car brands including proton also come with that but tesla why don’t have

• Pro-Palestine on Feb 28, 2024 at 9:36 am

Only Sohai will buy a car of this calibre based on apple car plat. Hahahaha. Sohai. People buy this car for the power and driving experience. No time to play apple in car like this. Go lock yourself in your mommy’s house and play your apple or android la. Cars are meant to be driven to enjoy the driving

• Dong gor on Feb 25, 2024 at 3:45 pm

Pricing paragraph got calculation error..delta 37k but use basic 3 price to compare? Need drink more coffee before dulu…

• newme on Feb 26, 2024 at 8:44 am

Reputation: Seal-people will compliment you but labeled you as dumb butt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Ben Yap on Feb 26, 2024 at 9:50 am

Tesla = Totally Electric, Still Lame Anyway
    BYD = Bring You Deeath

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
  • YT Ng on Feb 26, 2024 at 10:11 am

your math is wrong.

• Chan Boon Chew on Feb 26, 2024 at 10:22 am

i believe Tesla Model 3 has higher range mainly because it is 208kg lighter in Kerb weight than BYD Seal.
    I am surprised that i hardly see car reviewers mentioned about this when they do comparison on range and conveniently omit this fact.
    Yes, i understand that consumer only care about how much a car can travel in one liter of fuel (or 1 kW of power etc) but a more scientific way of comparison is to factor in the weight if you want to know how efficient the car is.
    This is akin to comparing fuel efficiency of Toyota Camry against say Volvo S60 without highlighting the differences in kerb weight.
    So, my recommendation for car reviewers, next time when you want to say this car is more fuel efficient than the other car, please also include in your sentence that this car is how many kg lighter in kerb weight than the other car.

• James KWON on Feb 26, 2024 at 10:36 am

how can compare a China Brand EV to world class US brand EV???? even in China Tesla is the most popular. just go Shanghai and can see. BYD sells their cars in whoelsale to dealers and records as sale and dealers unable to sell dump them in yards. Tesla sells direct and their numbers are real. Also Blade Cells are not safe and catch fire easy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
    • Chan Boon Chew on Feb 26, 2024 at 2:39 pm

Obviously, you are very ignorant, and you are here to spell your anti-China sentiments, isn’t it? The fact is that BYD sold about 3x more EV in China than Tesla did in China in 2023. Although Tesla still hold the Number 1 spot in Global EV sales in 2023, BYD had took over the crown of quarterly sales in the last quarter of 2023.

• James KWON on Feb 26, 2024 at 7:04 pm

I am Chinese. how can I be anti China???? I know the industry and China EV ecosystem in and out. if you dont believe me, go and check in China yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • Yet, BYD beats Tesla, you will know why and especially Tesla now can’t beat BYD

• Pro-Palestine on Feb 29, 2024 at 9:28 am

This tambi is shame of his own culture and wants to be a chinese so desperately until change his name to James Kwon. Be proud of your own culture la.Dignity pun tak ada ke kamu ni. Haiya

• feelstest on Feb 27, 2024 at 9:21 am

No evidence to your claims, both companies cars have caught fire and have similar incidents. Was gonna play devils advocate but its clear you are just Anti-China.

• Mohan Nair on Feb 26, 2024 at 10:48 am

Byd cars are hot when it burns!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • lowpro on Feb 26, 2024 at 11:26 am

Here’s an idea for a shootout – Add in the Hyundai Ionic 6 as well.

• You wont know which is BEST until on Feb 26, 2024 at 2:06 pm

After 6 years, fully charged max 400KM, worse as battery goes older == HALF LIFE battery

• Slow charging keeps battery healthy on Feb 26, 2024 at 3:54 pm

Battery degradation mostly due to rapid charging.

• Clean King on Feb 29, 2024 at 9:31 am

Blade battery does not degrade like other form of battery. That is why BYD battery is the best yet

• EV frozen during cold blast winter on Mar 02, 2024 at 6:05 pm

ironically somebody presumes ev must comes with fastest DC charging shortest time to achieved 0-80%. Dendrites likes to them.

• BYD beats Tesla in terms of reliability, practical and also maintenance cost

• Got both of Tesla Model Y and BYD Atto 3, but BYD much better reputation in terms of servicing and last long term than Tesla. You will know what happened if you buy Tesla.

• Paoes on Feb 26, 2024 at 3:10 pm

BYD beats Tesla due to comfort inside and interior looks more details. Good things that BYD aftersales and quality also better than Tesla. At least less worries for driving BYD than driving Tesla where caught fire and concern on issues

• Byd salesman detected.

• He talks fact. Not like Tesla salesman claiming that Tesla better than BYD but no facts and yet BYD sales beats Tesla

• Tesla Sales Man on Feb 28, 2024 at 9:47 pm

No need to say anything. Fact is Tesla is better and more expensive than BYD and people still buying it. Except the hopeless Tesla malaysia team that do not know what service is

• Andrew on Mar 06, 2024 at 8:39 pm

Efficiency wise Model 3 RWD has the best consumption rating among all EVs out there at 139Wh/km vs Seal’s RWD at 165Wh/km. My M3 has clocked 5132km to date and it’s averaging at 137Wh/km. Check out EV Database @ https://ev-database.org