Jalan Sultan Ismail in KL is now a two-way road – from Raja Chulan to Bukit Bintang (Lot 10) junctions

KL city centre motorists, take note if you haven’t already noticed this big change. DBKL has announced that Jalan Sultan Ismail is now a two-way stretch, instead of the previous single direction flow.

The stretch in question is the one from the Jalan Raja Chulan junction (Wisma Genting and the former Hotel Istana) to the Bukit Bintang junction, which is of course KL’s very own version of Tokyo’s Shibuya crossing.

So, if you’re coming down from Jalan Sultan Ismail towards Bukit Bintang, you can now go straight at the Raja Chulan junction – previously, you had to turn right towards Pavilion. Likewise, if you’re coming from Jalan Raja Chulan (Weld), you can now turn right towards BB.

Cars coming up to the BB junction from Imbi, you must now erase the old habit of entering the right lane, otherwise you will lawan arus!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• The timing of the traffic lights needs to be readjusted. The duration for traffic lights at the Jalan Raja Chulan junction (Wisma Genting) heading towards the Bukit Bintang junction needs to be increased.

• Cyrus on May 06, 2024 at 5:24 pm

I’ve noticed a change since 2nd May during my regular drive to the office. Unfortunately, I haven’t benefited from this alteration on the two-way route; instead, the time spent in queues has increased. Additionally, should it be referred to as “laluan baru” or “laluan baharu”?

• rushing home on May 07, 2024 at 9:09 am

nice. good that DBKL feels it’s more important to add more lanes leaving the city, so that ppl can go home faster, rather than getting to work on time.

• Sick & Tired on May 07, 2024 at 9:13 am

More traffic jams from this incompetent PH Gomen after the chaos they wrecked on the southbound North South highway

• Disgruntled driver on May 07, 2024 at 9:52 am

The amount of cars making a u-turn at the bukit bintang intersection really hogs the flow of southbound traffic at jalan sultan ismail. For your own sake and others, please DO NOT make u turn there just to save a few minutes. 20 Minutes wasted due to these drivers

• Bernard on May 13, 2024 at 4:16 am

“So, if you’re coming down from Jalan Sultan Ismail … – previously, you had to turn right towards Pavilion.” Sorry do you mean turn left towards Pavilion?