Malaysia should seek alternatives to diesel in light of subsidy cuts, such as hydrogen: Abang Johari

Malaysia should seek alternatives to diesel fuel in light of the subsidy rationalisation exercise that has started this week, Sarawak premier Tan Sri Abang Johari Openg said, The Star reported.

Sarawak is now actively exploring hydrogen as a form of renewable energy, including the reduction of its production cost, the Sarawak premier said. “Find an alternative to diesel, then you don’t need any subsidy. Why should we be talking about diesel when we have hydrogen?”, Abang Johari said yesterday.

While the subsidy rationalisation for diesel fuel is carried out in Peninsular Malaysia, the retail price of diesel remains at RM2.15 per litre in Sabah, Sarawak and Labuan. A similar move for the East Malaysian states would be overwhelming for these states as diesel-powered 4x4s are the vehicles of choice out of necessity, Warisan VP Datuk Junz Wong said in a statement last October.

There would be no need for petrol and diesel once the cost of hydrogen could be reduced, Abang Johari said. “That is the solution. If we are still using diesel, people will keep asking for subsidies. Why can’t you have cheap alternative energy so you don’t have to use diesel?”

The Sarawak premier added that the state government, in collaboration with Petronas had lowered the electricity requirement for the production of hydrogen, from 60 kW to 38 kW. This development aims to reduce the cost of hydrogen production by 50% and more, “significantly enhancing its viability and competitiveness as an energy source”, he said.

The price of diesel in Peninsular Malaysia has been set at RM3.35 per litre based on the unsubsidised price of the fuel, according to the automatic pricing mechanism (APM) formula for last month. The Malaysian ministry of finance released an infographic stating that Malaysia’s new diesel pump price is still the lowest in Southeast Asia, except in Brunei.

Last September, the ministry of science, technology and innovation (MOSTI) said that hydrogen refuelling stations as well as hydrogen public buses are expected to be operational in Peninsular Malaysia this year, where multiple hydrogen vehicles will be deployed for trial runs once the first hydrogen refuelling station is operational, it said at the time.

Sarawak became home to the first four units of the second-generation Toyota Mirai hydrogen fuel-cell vehicle in Malaysia in January 2023, when UMW Toyota Motor handed over four units of the hydrogen FCEV to SEDC Energy and one unit to the premier of Sarawak.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• call me by your name on Jun 11, 2024 at 10:38 am

its not as easy as that isnt it?
    what about the current diesel vehicles? did people started dumping their petrol and diesel vehicles en masses when the tax etc waived for EV? the charging cost are cheaper than subsidized fuel so why not?
    also sarawak indirectly gonna be profiting from the hydrogen industry so your words should be taken with a pinch of salt

• ThePolygon on Jun 11, 2024 at 10:42 am

Actually I am curious as to how much is the cost of the hydrogen fuel now? And how to we measure in terms of per 100 km usage as compared to normal Ron 95 or Diesel?

• Bob Mal on Jun 11, 2024 at 10:50 am

LOL until today there is only 1 Hydrogen vehicle we know being available here from T brand and you want that to substitute diesel?

There is none in our region uses Hydrogen vehicle also so you think even with 30mil people can make a difference with economic of scale just with 1 type of vehicle?

• Lala Land on Jun 11, 2024 at 11:00 am

I don’t get it why the need to compare “The Malaysian ministry of finance released an infographic stating that Malaysia’s new diesel pump price is still the lowest in Southeast Asia, except in Brunei.” with other countries as the comparison is inaccurate. How about their standard of living, their salary etc.

• Perhaps your Ministry of Finance has identified that the average Malaysian spends a significant proportion of their income on fuel, and that the average Malaysian will feel the pinch in their wallets from the fuel price change. This infographic is still a valid criterion in establishing a comparative sense of the cost of living through the lens of one’s own income in Malaysia, which varies upon the reader. You are free to interpret/digest the information accordingly, whether as an independent criterion or within a broader basket of goods.

• Not just that. Why convert the currency?

• Rennie Bin Abdul Ghani on Jun 11, 2024 at 12:18 pm

Sembang, generation H2 uses a lot of Energy

• ROTI CANAI on Jun 11, 2024 at 1:24 pm

support, tapi i x mampu beli toyota mirai

• Bel Jin on Jun 11, 2024 at 1:32 pm

We could see not many private car owners attracted to diesel. 90% of diesel powered vehicles are either lorries and buses. Out of which receive subsidies throught govt SKDS 1.0 and 2.0 programme. Remaining 10% are pick up trucks for contractors and the likes.

Lets not bother with the minority. They could afford 120k hilux or ranger, means they could afford fuel pricing.

• how much is the diesel price in sarawak? RM3.35/L?

• Taknak PH on Jun 11, 2024 at 3:07 pm

This guy should be the premier for mesia

• I Miss BN 60 Years Rule on Jun 11, 2024 at 6:19 pm

Abang Jo is tonnes better performing than failure PMX

• You’ll still need FUEL / ELECTRIC power to generate power to produce hydrogen first. So… it’s not as bright as they wants you to think it is…

• Johan on Jun 11, 2024 at 3:58 pm

good, let’s transform existing 33million + registered vehicle to Hydrogen Fuel Cells,

which even B40, M40, T20 all can afford and meet usage critieria, e.g Hatchback, SUV, MPV, Trucks, Van.

it’s a good dream.

• Jom Global on Jun 11, 2024 at 7:17 pm

if we have matured Hydrogen Tech here,
      let’s do export,

wangmalii banyak.
      jobmalii banyak.

• How was their Hydrogen Bus pilot runs on Jun 11, 2024 at 5:30 pm

Rolled OUT or Kick OFF

Back to CHINA?

• AniNomad on Jun 11, 2024 at 8:40 pm

My research of stray dogs-powered chariot is still ongoing. Unfortunately, I have to postpone the revival of pigeon-powered delivery until I can get them to grow bigger than KFC chickens.

• To all the menteri, understand this. Hydrogen technology as of now converts to electrical energy (such as the Toyota Mirai). Do you know how much torque is required to pull heavy duty lorries such as trailers? There maybe a full EV trucks, but who the hell would wait hours just to get a certain range. They are long haulers. If hydrogen can produce high torque with long range, then can talk. Now, there is no technology to replace diesel.

• Mike Tee on Jun 12, 2024 at 11:36 am

If you think EV fires (over stated, ICE are 20x more likely to burn) are dangerous, wait till you see a hydrogen tank explode. It’s instantaneous and it’s a bomb

• GreenLady on Jun 15, 2024 at 6:06 pm

For long distance haulage the cheaper alternative is LNG. Estimated cost around RM2.10-2.50 per litre and you get almost 50% higher mileage too.

Big haulage companies just need to install their own small storage and refilling pump at their lorry depot in North,Central and South and East Coast. The Capex cost are small.

You can the lorry dual fuel. LNG & Diesel so no issue of being stranded.

1 in 3 of new trucks sold in China now is LNG fueled.