RON95 subsidy removal should have been done long ago, we must stop giving subsidies to the rich: Anwar

The removal of subsidies for RON 95 petrol should have been carried out a long time ago, as the subsidies have been enjoyed by the rich, said prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

The prime minister, who is Tambun member of parliament, said that any government when in power agreed that there was a need to implement subsidy rationalisation, but did not have the will to do so, for fear of political repercussions.

“If you ask me, subsidy rationalisation on RON 95 should have been implemented a long time ago, but it is not easy. Over 3.8 million foreigners use this petrol, [and] people who drive [Rolls-Royce luxury vehicles] also use this petrol that we subsidise. So how do we solve this [matter]? It’s been years,” Anwar said in a Dewan Rakyat session, reported the New Straits Times.

The Malaysian government capped the price of RON 95 petrol in February 2021 to RM2.05 per litre, and the ceiling price for the fuel has remained to the present day. Meanwhile, the fuel subsidy rationalisation programme for diesel began on June 10, which is applicable to Peninsular Malaysia but the same price remains for East Malaysia.

No government in the past, or political party had opposed the subsidy rationalisation initiative, Anwar said. “When they were in government, all of them said ‘yes, it’s good, but wait, we are not ready’… [this is] because they know the political implications,” said the prime minister.

That said, there has yet to be any concrete plans for the subsidy rationalisation for RON 95 petrol, and that there has yet to be a policy paper opened on this, according to Anwar.

“I understand that maybe in terms of implementation, you can dispute. This I can accept. But all we hear now is claims that the government is ‘zalim’ (oppressive), taking away subsidies. The prime minister also did not discount the possibility of the government implementing more targeted subsidy rationalisation in the future, however its focus now is on the diesel subsidy rationalisation, he said.

Last year, the Auditor-General’s Report 2022 stated that the government spent RM45.184 billion or 81.5% on subsidising petroleum products, of the over RM55 billion in subsidies in 2022.

The diesel subsidy rationalisation plan is said to save the government around RM4 billion a year, and Malaysia spent RM14.5 billion on subsidising diesel last year. According to finance minister II Datuk Seri Amir Hamzah Azizan, the average daily sales of diesel in Peninsular Malaysia has dropped by over 30%, which was cited as proof of the diesel subsidy rationalisation’s effect.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• “…we must stop giving subsidies to the rich..”

It was the rich that put you in office. You think the B40 tiktok rempit voted you?

• Salam Madani on Jul 03, 2024 at 12:19 pm

Yes, please remove it and use the money in more meaningful thing. We can use it to fund our army to join UNWA to help Palestinians.

Sokong Budi Madani.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • Angry Voters on Jul 04, 2024 at 12:11 pm

There is no such thing as subsidy, according to his mentri formula it is all paid for with higher global oil prices. They must give what they promised!

Pakatan Rakyat Leader = Pakatan Harapan Leader
      Promises of Pakatan Rakyat for RM1.50/L petrol = Promises of Pakatan Harapan

Stop defending and give us cheap fuel that we voted for!

• Salam Madani on Jul 04, 2024 at 8:45 pm

This is just a sarcastic joke.

On this hand he is cutting fuel subsidy to save expenses and on the other hand he is sending army to URWA.

• Janji dicapati on Jul 03, 2024 at 12:25 pm

Refer my name

• the rich are always at fault in everything, being rich is a sin, be like B40.

• TinKosong on Jul 03, 2024 at 12:52 pm

in the end M40 is the one suffer

• Susukotak on Jul 03, 2024 at 12:57 pm

Tapi swtiap kali justifikasi adalah seludup & jual dekat orang asing?

• Angry Malaysian on Jul 03, 2024 at 1:06 pm

I think this reason does not make sense at all, the Malaysian is discouraged hard working to make much more income to be a rich assist our country hit higher GDP target because you would lost more rakyat benefit once you become rich, why do not put more effort to reduce country burden such as cut down civil servants benefit, allowance and bonus?

• stranger on Jul 04, 2024 at 8:32 am

Since this is car website, lets look at kayangan ppl advantage. EV cars so expensive, none existence for B40, All incentive enjoyed by the rich, BMW EV very affordable for them. B40 no worries ada Axia rahmah. Then there’s Tax cut, Luxury tax never been implemented. Oh yes, because the rich support gov. Guess you are right after all

• Ajibkor complaining satay price hike on Jul 03, 2024 at 1:46 pm

Diesel sales dropped …due to smuggling switching to other more profitable items.
    Can the rakyat see how severe is the corruption n smuggling?
    So is it no way out,or the easy way out, by cutting subsidies?
    So far,only eggs reduced by 3 sen.What happened to the Rm3.9 Billion savings ? Prorated savings also amounts to hundreds of Juta RM.

• anwar menang, rakyat dijubokkan on Jul 05, 2024 at 10:07 am

.What happened to the Rm3.9 Billion savings ? Prorated savings also amounts to hundreds of Juta RM.

all the politikus need to line their pockets to feed the T20 who put them in power!!

• But u collect tax from the rich right? What are u saying actually?

• Bruce on Jul 03, 2024 at 2:22 pm

Yes. But the problem is, many of those who are not driving Royce Rolls, not rich, just a normal working people, also not getting it.
    What the explanation is? They are not anak Malaysia?

• This dude forgot that the T20 pays more tax than the M40 and B40 combined.

Sure, let’s not give subsidy to people who pay the most tax. We will give them surprise next GE.

• Orang kaya mampu beli EV, so how?
    Mahu naik petrol cakap je, jangan pusing sini sana…Mr 24 hours

• pengayuhbasikal on Jul 03, 2024 at 2:44 pm

Mereka perlu ingat…subsidi petrol perlu dinikmati oleh semua rakyat malaysia yang layak…subsidi petrol bukan hanya untuk diberikan kepada mereka memiliki kenderaan .

Wajarkan mereka yang layak untuk subsidi tetapi tidak memiliki kenderaan di nafikan subsidi ? student tak perlu subsidi ?

• I agree.

But.

Who is the ‘rich’?

If you consider m40 earning 7k per household rich, then this is a move that would hurt more than it will help the poor. because 7k per household in a city is most definitely not ‘rich’

• Ahbeng on Jul 03, 2024 at 2:48 pm

They should trim the fat cow in govt first before removing subsidy.

• Azam Baki on Jul 03, 2024 at 2:51 pm

What’s wrong for the rich? Pay so much tax but can’t enjoy anything? The govt should do more to uplift the lives of B40 rather than punish the T20

• Lawless on Jul 03, 2024 at 3:30 pm

Okie, i agreed with this suggestion that the RON 95 shouldnt subsidise to the Rich…so how much incomes is considering as RICH?? Inflation, businesses going down the drain and now petrol subsidise shouldnt enjoy by the RICH.. Oh gosh..it seem the RICH came from oversea. then the Rich shouldnt close down their businesses very soon.

• Laugh on Jul 03, 2024 at 4:35 pm

So when is the pay and benefits for the politicians going to be revised?
    There got to be billions more there.

• Lets See on Jul 03, 2024 at 5:30 pm

“we must stop giving subsidies to the rich: Anwar”
    Then why are we paying huge salaries to these MPs particularly to underperforming PMX?

• RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Jul 03, 2024 at 5:37 pm

Sila jawab Nuar!

• why not bringing in Ron 91 fuel? That will limit most luxury cars from using it and float the Ron 95 and 98 price based on the market value.

• DonkeyKong on Jul 03, 2024 at 6:23 pm

Eh? It was Anwar himself that said the BN govt was zalim when petrol prices were floated once upon a time to optimize subsidy expenditure. Who said there wasn’t political will? It was done by Najib but thanks to you monkeys inciting the rakyat to fight against it, that reform had to be rolled back.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 04, 2024 at 12:10 pm

When PM Najib is back and running the country with a pure BN Gomen with full rakyat support, he will start by lowering the PH cekik darah taxation thru a lower 6% GST to replace 8+10% SST, then direct payments of cash to B40 via BRIM2.0, then inflation will be lower when our RM rises back to RM 2.5 per USD, with a stronger ringgit there will be less reasons for foreign cars to come take our subsidised petrol so there continue to have cheaper petrol for our rakyats, with a stable gomen back on track to high income more investments will flow and this brings more professional jobs for educated rakyats then they no more need to leave the country to work, this helps to bring more prosperity & happiness to all rakyat when everyone has jobs and money in their bank accounts.

We can’t wait for the day to kick out useless PH Gomen & PMX into Klang River which they repolluted after Najib has cleaned it up! Rakyat was truly senang under PM Najib now we regret putting him down.

• Rich not need to pay income tax? If yes, then really not fair to subsidize them. Now, you want rich to help you subsidize poor? For what reason?

• B40 with a brain on Jul 03, 2024 at 10:36 pm

What bulls he is talking about? Those rich people (a royce owner is in the T1 bracket) are just a minor 1% of the malaysian population, normally they can reduce tax paying through various methods. And he is penalizing the M40 T10 & T20 (in which incomes ranges 7k-20k, and are honest income earners and tax payers) which are the tax contributors of the nation. What difference is the method of handing out cash relieves for fuel compared with previous government handouts? The new government is really taking us for a ride, and they have no proper plans or strategies, day by day we are hearing more excuses rather than solutions. Pmx wake up this is not a debate against the nation u need to do things!

• Gomorrah on Jul 03, 2024 at 11:01 pm

The rich will sort themselves out subsidy or not. The question is you tarik this subsidy from a car centric nation all at once without fixing the public transport last mile connectivity what are people supposed to do? It’s not like this place is bicycle or pedestrian friendly. You and Ah Loke got a plan to restart all the private bus companies ah? First that Intrakota nonsense and then Rapid. Bas mini for all the bau ketiak at least got the job done. And anyone with half a brain can see that using full sized buses on small roads in the taman was never going to work. Rapid is a joke, everything they do is the opposite of their name.

• opmanmy on Jul 04, 2024 at 8:34 am

All forms of subsidy should be removed or reduced to bare minimum. Only spend / buy what is truly needed. Look at all the cars on the road nowadays. Loan stretched till kaw kaw.

Even the road cleaner makcik got iphon…this is truly awesome.

• PH the best on Jul 04, 2024 at 9:46 am

Padan muka semua org yg voted for PH…eat ur own medicine

• I Miss BN 60 Years Rule on Jul 04, 2024 at 3:05 pm

But the problem is, us non PH voters also suffer along!!!!
      Can we make it that only PH voters will get their subsidies removed while us non PH voters remain as we object to them as Gomen and their decisions are not OUR decisions?

• Sick & Tired on Jul 05, 2024 at 9:27 am

But why should rest of Msia suffer with them?!

• Ben Yap on Jul 04, 2024 at 10:12 am

before PMX start to talk. go and review the MPs pension. they are stacking their pension based on where they served their tenure. for example, if they serve in Penang, Melaka and Selangor, they enjoy 3 pensions from the 3 states. they are using taxpayers money to enrich themselves. that’s excluding their allowances that they receive.

• Oh yeah? The rich must stop subsidizing the poor too and we should have stop paying taxes long ago