Avoid two-tier RON95 pump price; subsidy should be given based on type of vehicle, not income – expert

The most significant news of the recent tabling of Budget 2025 has to be the impending end to blanket subsidies for RON 95 petrol, which will be replaced by a targeted version that will come into place from mid-2025. After subsidy rationalisation for diesel was implemented in June, it was always a matter of when and not if RON 95 petrol would follow. Now we know when.

Prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said that the T15 (a new term that means the top 15% earners) and foreigners will soon have to pay market price for petrol, while 85% of the rakyat will continue to enjoy subsidised RON 95.

Anwar, who is also finance minister, used maha kaya to describe the T15 in the budget, but this actually isn’t the first time he’s using the term. Perhaps there’s no need for a big tech company, mansion or a fleet of supercars to be classified as ‘super rich’ in Malaysia – we’ll soon find out if a RM15k household income is enough to join this rarefied club.

Aside from the definition of T15, the Madani government will also have to work out the mechanism for this ‘once in a generation’ move, which has to be the trickiest part. Will we have two RON95 prices at the pumps – market price for the T15 and RM2.05 per litre for the masses – or will it be one flat market rate, with cash assistance given to ‘reimburse’ the target group?

There’s no 100% foolproof way, but professor of economics at UKM-Graduate School of Business Tan Sri Dr Noor Azlan Ghazali opines that there shouldn’t be two-tier pricing at the pumps.

“In my opinion, don’t disturb the price – a fair price, even if it’s high. If there are affected groups, help them in other ways, not by putting two different prices at the pump,” he said, adding that if the government wants to provide subsidy for RON95 to targeted groups, it should be given according to vehicle type and not based on classification of household or individual incomes.

“It’s like highway toll payment that follows the class of car. If a rich man uses a (Perodua) Kancil, he will qualify for the subsidy, because he’s then using very little fuel. I think that generally, richer individuals will use vehicles with larger capacity engines. Of course, in every classification there’s leakage, but it can be reduced,” Noor Azlan said.

This mention of ‘Kancil’ (throwback post here) reminds me of the statement by former international trade and industry minister Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali, who said “those with a BMW cannot receive the same subsidies as those with Kancil,” when pushing for a targeted fuel subsidy system back in 2022. Yes, this topic is hot but far from fresh.

As simplistic as it sounds, surely you don’t know of many rich people driving around in Peroduas? And would a rich man go out of the way to save RM1 per litre (for example) by driving an Axia to the petrol station, filling it to the brim, and then transferring the RM2.05 per litre liquid gold to his BMW? The good prof’s suggestion might work, you know.

He continued to make sense when talking about the government’s efforts to classify us according to income. “I have a bit of a worry that people will start thinking of the T15 as maha kaya. For example, if you’re in Kelantan, with a household income of RM7,759, you’re already a T15. But if you come to KL, RM7,000 is just about enough to survive (baru cukup-cukup hendak meneruskan kehidupan), correct?”

“So when using ‘T15’ as one of the enablers for policy change, in my opinion, if not careful, it will be prone to mistakes in targeting,” he said.

What do you think of the professor’s suggestion that subsidy should be given based on the type of vehicle, as opposed to income? The tricky thing about this method is where to draw the line between a car that deserves subsidy, and a fancy/luxury car that doesn’t. If it’s based on the good old ‘cc’ method, premium brands have been using downsized turbo engines for some time now. If it’s according to brand, there will be endless arguments, and there’s also the issue of old cars with a premium badge.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments generally express support for targeted subsidy systems based on vehicle type, engine capacity, or market value rather than income, with many suggesting using vehicle value or horsepower as basis. Some propose implementing technology at fuel stations to limit subsidies to low-volume users like motorcycles, reducing misuse by higher-end or luxury car drivers. Several comments highlight the unfairness of uniform subsidies across all income levels, advocating for stricter measures or fixed quotas, and criticizing current policies for encouraging smuggling and inefficiencies. There’s also skepticism about overly simplistic solutions and calls for government accountability, better tax structures, and reducing leakages. Overall, the tone is mixed but leans toward favoring rational, fair, and technologically driven approaches to fuel subsidy management.

• Suburuk on Oct 25, 2024 at 6:36 pm

A foreman, or whoever (enthusiasts) driving a 20 years old Bmw is a confirmed big earners? What an academician!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
  • Tan Chon.Sown on Oct 25, 2024 at 7:08 pm

Thumbs up. A betrer choixe using CC ypndetetmine subsidy. Make it 1500cc and below for subsidy in line wuth Afta trade agrement. Definitely Non Aspirated model as Turbos are lucury car segment. In this way Govermrnt is promoting the Rakyat to save resources and going Grern. Thos also promote our local car industry like perodua amd proton cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
  • Nurul Izzah on Oct 25, 2024 at 7:09 pm

Anwar menang rakyat senang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
  • Goatlike on Oct 25, 2024 at 7:46 pm

Price at pump should be not subsidied to curb fuel smuggling! Give a fixed amount of subsidy to all regardless of income, subject to registration. The rich wouldnt bother to register for that peanut! If you useless, you keep the rest! If you’re a heavy user, regardless of your income you pay by yourself the extra.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 23
    • A car user on Oct 26, 2024 at 7:20 pm

I agree.Already sent this suggestion to the gov. 2yrs ago to introduce fixed yearly subsidy quota system for every Malaysians.The ones who drive big cc cars should also be able to afford paying the full price once their quotas are used up.Let the people manage their own usage instead of forcing certain people to pay more just because they’re more hardworking & earn more.But looks like they’re not listening.There’re many official B40 but unofficially T10 & driving big luxury cars.Is the gov. going to give them unlimited subsidy?Subsidy quota system will also prevent people from smuggling subsidised petrol out of the country.

• Formula Basi on Oct 25, 2024 at 8:13 pm

Just increase 10 cents per year, after 7 years it will 2.75. Business can adjust slowly. No 2 tier pricing. No stupid labeling maha Kaya. Remember the T15 or T20 didn’t ask for this subsidy in the first place.
    It’s the government shortsighted vision last time that overly subsidized.

Keep claiming maha kaya maha kaya.. as it like it’s their fault.

Just do ONE price at the pump. Increase 10 sen yearly till its reach a sweet spot between market price and minimum subsidy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
  • Too many Stupid professors..A Clear and Present Danger on Oct 25, 2024 at 8:25 pm

The professor might get a shock ,if he makes a trip to some kampongs.
    There,datuk nenek have a few Honda Accord,Camry BMw ,Audi..2 decades old.Are u gonna treat them as maha kaya ,based on the type of cars they drive,when they r retired with no active income?
    So,LHDN might start giving them “tak cukup tax” letters soon,cos they are suspected to be hiding their maha kaya status.
    Some professors are good at talking 3 talking4..I wonder if their doctorate is from Ukay ( Not UK ).
    Just from the LHDN data base,if a man is already taxed to the brim,it doesnt matter if he choose to drive a kembara ,kanchil or old junk BMW.He is T15..you need Iranian ballistic missile science?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • T15 maha kaya on Oct 25, 2024 at 8:39 pm

TQ Tan Sri. I’m browsing mudah now to mop up as many kancils as possible. My Bugatti drinks petrol like a fish. I have an underutilized driver who only needs to drive my mistress to cafes, malls and beauty salons. Can put him to better use since I have to pay him RM1.7k next year

• I agree completely that it should be based on the vehicle’s engine size or maybe it’s MSRP. I just wonder how much work that will cause to implement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • ThePolygon on Oct 25, 2024 at 8:46 pm

Basically all that work across in Singapore with SGD 4.6k is maha kaya.

• YB Kinte Kunte on Oct 25, 2024 at 8:53 pm

PMX,stop using the Mr Surprise ,Rafixi.He is a Public Relations disaster.
    If u want another term,just credit Rm400 to 500 monthly into the B40,M40 qualified recepients account.R u telling me the PADU efforts,data base is in museum negara or Jurassic Park?
    No need rocket science,show IC,reset petrol station IT.The Banglas got no time to verify anything.They r busy with tiktok videos at the petrol stations.

• infinity on Oct 25, 2024 at 8:54 pm

My suggestion, bring back GST. Don’t worry about subsidising the rich or not. As the rich spend more and pay more GST

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
    • Sohai on Oct 26, 2024 at 4:54 am

Stupid, make everybody busy and waste of money develop so many system with no value. If im minister, i will put all ron97 ron95 diesel floating market price, and let those eligible to submit claim subsidies via govt system with a monthly limit direct bank in.

• Lily l on Oct 26, 2024 at 7:32 pm

your idea more stupid. just let the fuel floating, those that cant afford will take public transport instead of driving..

• Wake up on Oct 25, 2024 at 8:59 pm

What about those people driving BMW with 1500cc engine? It is almost there with the decision. 1 saying after another. Don’t we have other thing to care more about? There is not even 1 thing can satisfy every single 1. Everyone want to be government. 1 day, maybe you may touch your heart and wonder if there is no government anymore. Enough is enough!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Damansara Perdana dwellers on Oct 26, 2024 at 3:23 pm

Morning go rides a BMW Motorad to station pumps cheap subsidized RON95 full tanks go home car garage then siphon out into a Mustang for tonight outing

• Introduce fuel tax alongside road tax. That way, you could find the balance both ways (reduce/increase fuel subsidy & reduce/increase fuel tax).

Fuel tax is based on the market value & class of the vehicle; with different % over certain range of the price. While road tax, maybe based on vehicle class & power generated instead of CC.

Fuel tax is paid on quarterly/half-year basis. Defaulting on fuel tax will freeze the issuance of road tax, hence insurance as well.

Those fancy ‘smart’ car plates on EVs should also be implemented for all cars now, so cars that should not be on the road can be detected and tracked.

Ultimately RFID readers should be compulsory on fuel pumps/EV chargers so it can read those ‘smart’ plate numbers; where it is able to refuse to operate if the vehicle does not have valid road tax.

Not perfect (as the fuel station should always have the ability to override those sensors, so they might refuel with jerry cans), but should be good until the day where all vehicles are able and made compulsory to feed/emit data live.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 36
  • Daniel on Oct 25, 2024 at 10:29 pm

So what they mean is even used luxury car that had dropped price the poor also cannot drive? What nonsense

• Ronald on Oct 26, 2024 at 1:38 pm

I think what professor Dr Noor Azlan means is that the market value of the cars…(Can be determined by market value from a insurance company)
      Anyone driving a 200,000/= cars should be denied to pump subsidized Ron 95… that’s beginning stage
      Then come 2nd stage whereby those driving 150,000/= and above ~~ will not qualify to fill Ron 95….
      And the list goes on

• hazri on Oct 25, 2024 at 10:42 pm

tbh, gov servant with rm4k salary in kelantan, trganu, kedah, perlis (eh why all opposition states)…you already feel rich and enough. and if wife gov servant too, house income can go to 8k-10k. easy to get loan, can buy cheap house low interest, cheap land and build house, buy new car especially alza veloz serena stepwgn noah voxy hrv ativa, buy new iphone, make more child, go enjoy to thailand public holiday, and so on. compare to those living in kl, selangor, penang….wahh even want to eat fancy fancy pun have to think many times la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • PkmkHijau on Oct 26, 2024 at 10:58 am

Lmao sounds like they be living the best lives in these “low income” states. Downside is the water is teh tarik colour default from tap and seasonal flooding.

• kaizen on Oct 25, 2024 at 11:28 pm

This Prof., need to read more. He oversimplifies the structure of our socioeconomic status, deep-rooted income imbalance in a cultural monopoly society. To offer this kind of solution is dumb to the core.

• Should just be based on taxable income and net asset holding, that way should justify what T15 should be. In short using rebates are the easiest, don’t apply don’t get.

• Vios KingoftheRoad on Oct 26, 2024 at 12:54 am

Potong number of useless gov staff and all the nonsense mahaikaya allowance of menteri and Jusa/Turus staff, free car,free driver,free petrol,free everything. That alone can save 10 billion or more already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Reintroduce GST or renamed it with other moniker if your pride perished when you introduced GST PM

• Have to think also about all the subsidised petrol that’s being smuggled out of the country. The T15 idea might just help put a stop to the smugglers as well

• Hmmmmm on Oct 26, 2024 at 6:16 am

They willing to took years and spend money on how to reduce spending on subsidy….funny because it wont cost u a single cent if u want to control leakage from normal gomen spending on ‘mundane’ things like road maintenance, state gomen spending, anak syarikat kejaraan negeri spending, etc.
    In Melaka, there is a new kid on the block…CM Infra, these group are running all over the state supposedly maintaining things and their job overlap with some other agencies. Why do we need to spend more when existing agency should be made more efficient?

• talk here, chit chat there, not going to change anything. At the end, bad decision has been made by gov, alot of people suffer..those people in gov just want to show they do work, because rakyat ask for it but they no brain in doing it properly.. Go take action, mogok or what before its too late.. Wrongly defining T15 is bad consequences..

• Sohai on Oct 26, 2024 at 9:00 am

Just tax the rich another 1%. Address the disparity at the income source, not during consumption.

• Just have non subsidised ron95 at the pump. Anyone who is qualified for help will get it through cash back from the data they submit to the income tax.

• Thomas on Oct 26, 2024 at 9:11 am

Base it on the horsepower.

• Just increase RON 95 to RM 2.50. Simple.

• Common Sense on Oct 26, 2024 at 9:18 am

Our gov are filled with pea brains teh tarik experts. We have ministers that want to punish the rich for their hard work that actually contribute to the country (T20/T15). No w we have a nutty professor that wants to target cars instead which will lead to more cheap cars on the road giving the impression to tourists or visitors that Malaysia is a poor country. In Dubai things are opposite. Cars are cheap, no tax to all and because of that they look like a High class country

• I see a lot of big CC engine”s car on the road which consume too much fuel and not energy efficient. Current subsidy price it’s a reality distortion from real market price which continue to discourage consumer from adopting new energy vehicle (NEV).

• I wholeheartedly agree with single unsubsidized RON95 pump price and the Prof gave good reasons for it.
    Perhaps the govt can provide the B85 subsidy when car owners renew their roadtax, and give them only to cars which are valued below RM100K (for example) by takaful or insurance.

• hafiz on Oct 26, 2024 at 10:29 am

since he is the professor, I agree :)

• Ronald on Oct 26, 2024 at 10:50 am

I totally agree with professor Dr Noor Azlan…. we should start taxing or reject those big and expensive cars to pump Ron 95 fuel…. maybe starting with those cars which is 200,000/= and above…
    Then when come to stage 2…. those driving 150,000/= cars will also not qualify for subsidy fuel

• Singaporean is poor with rm15k salary. Here, maha kaya

• YD Yong on Oct 26, 2024 at 11:35 am

Remove the subsidy totally and also abolish road tax totally. The bigger engine vehicles will definitely use more fuel hence more taxes and vice versa for the smaller cars. In short the more you drive the more you pay.

• Barack Obama on Oct 26, 2024 at 11:50 am

What a stupid expert. Those driving protons or peroduas should be paying more. B40 should just stick to the mrt la. Don’t make the roads more jammed for us thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Really want to save…… we should go for luxury items not on common items//necessities. Fuels are now basic necessities and any price changes will definitely affect the lower incomes and general consumers.

• @FowlIam on Oct 27, 2024 at 11:44 am

Lest the govt is forgetting about the multiplier effect of any small hike in a necessity like petrol. Food, transport etc will follow the upward price pattern..and we’re back to tak cukup living standards again. Besides helping theT40 community, what about warga emas? Lol

• based on the vehicle price is the best…..200k and above considered t15..Special cards shd be issued to all car owners and it IS COMPULSORY to produce the card before being allowed to pump petrol.cannot based on cc as 1.5 can be Bmw worth 200k++All car owners must be issued a card to identify its cost and entitlement for subsidised petrol.

• Poh Hup Lin on Oct 26, 2024 at 1:52 pm

How about T15 using EV not pumping RON95? Fair to impose levy on Roadtax like WKS suggested? 2 tier pricing as AL suggested

• hengsin on Oct 26, 2024 at 4:18 pm

Base on usage (like electricity) is probably the simplest and should help the environment as well.

• Ignatius Victor Rajendra on Oct 27, 2024 at 11:19 am

Tell this to the Japs and voila! They will have a solution.

• Ignatius Victor Rajendra on Oct 27, 2024 at 11:21 am

They will not use our brains because cronies will get cut off from whatever the politicians can say.

• Ignatius Victor Rajendra on Oct 27, 2024 at 2:41 pm

Yes, exactly. A small cc motorcycle cannot use RM 50/- worth of fuel per occasion. It’s needs just 1 or 2 litres. So he gets charged for that – subsidy should be full. A.mid size car 1300 cc cannot use more 100 litres so subsidy should be according to it. The higher cc cars cannot be pumping RM 10 or 20/- worth of fuel. Definitely more so no subsidy. How to regulate this: at the fuel pump. If we can send a rocket to space and bring it back, is it so difficult to tweak the fuel pumps? If you don’t know ask me .

• Maharani Supporter on Oct 26, 2024 at 10:36 pm

Pay for the price for you have a new government

• Shanmuga Velan on Oct 27, 2024 at 12:22 am

Hari ini kita menang, esok kita turun harga minyak

• Please base on car hosepower, because of downsize engine. Eg more than 150ps or 200ps. Ya, maybe someone drive a old car with big hosepower car, but big hosepower = use more petrol = gov need subsidy more. So u can choose to change to low housepower car. Ya more than 150ps = x50 x70 all kenal

• Ignatius Victor Rajendra on Oct 27, 2024 at 11:16 am

In this era of hi tech computers and loads of programmers why can’t they just tweek the pumps to issue maximum subsidy for low volume users like motor cycles and those using less than 2 litres of R95. The more fuel you use the lesser is your subsidy where you pay max. A motorcycle cannot use 10 litres and high end cars cannot use 5 or 10 litres! Fuel suppliers need to tweak their pumps – it is not rocket science!

• Iqmal on Oct 27, 2024 at 4:39 pm

Bersalahkah jadi maha kaya. Usaha masing-masing cari rezeki. Maha kaya bayar cukai dan zakat pendapatan lebih manakala yang kurang kaya bayar cukai sikit. Katakan harga RON95 di pam naik kepada RM3 makanya sama ada individu itu maha kaya, kurang kaya dan susah tetap dapat harga sama. Bezanya individu yang layak akan nikmati bantuan lain daripada pihak kerajaan untuk meringankan beban rakyat. Mana mahunya ada dua jenis harga petrol di pam untuk yang maha kaya dan bukan maha kaya. Kerajaan minta cukai lebih dengan maha kaya pada masa yang sama tekan lagi dengan hal lain. Ini tidak adil sebenarnya.

• Stooge on Oct 27, 2024 at 5:45 pm

Enforce full EV by 2030….kau tim

• Ben Yap on Oct 28, 2024 at 10:12 am

just increase income tax for individuals earning RM200k a year. whatever car or motor they use, it’s their problem.

• Another si bodoh writing this article. If u own a 20 yrs old Mercedes, u belongs to T15 ka?? Net Disposable Income would roughly get targeted groups n filtered out unqualified ones. How to implement govt had to work out the mechanism be it 2 tier or 3 tier, so be it

• Kotak Peti Kota Baru on Oct 31, 2024 at 11:24 pm

Terlalu banyak komen from nuts here semua produk SjkC