The much-maligned RFID system for toll payments has come in for a bit of stick since its introduction in 2018, but authorities have apparently been hard at work remedying the situation since. Deputy works minister Ahmad Maslan said that highway concessionaires have been carrying out more frequent fine-tuning work at toll plaza lanes to ensure it runs smoothly.
According to Bernama, Maslan remarked that the firms have also been making announcements to users, telling them to make sure that their Touch ‘n Go eWallet balance was sufficient before entering a toll plaza.
He was replying to Permatang Pauh MP Muhammad Fawwaz Mohamad Jan’s question regarding efforts to resolve the inefficiencies of the RFID system, as well as whether the government had any plans to standardise the toll payment system nationwide.
Maslan added that concessionaires are also monitoring in real time whether there is a need to add more RFID lanes. There are currently 580 RFID lanes at toll plazas nationwide, out of 2,348 lanes overall.
Are you still experiencing issues or long lines at RFID lanes? Sound off in the comments after the jump.
1) Still experiencing, cannot detect RFID when passing through. Have to reverse than only can detect.
2) Not enough RFID booth as compare to Smart Tag. Need more booths.
Thanks
The system works, the only stupid thing was giving kits allowing car owners to stick wherever they want. I was 1st batch user where I went to TNG booth and they installed it. So far went thru various highways and never failed.
It’s about putting it where it should be.
There are owners who put them in brackets, behind a metallic window tint.
Then they complain system does not work, want to go back to old system. Yeah then they will complain Smart tag device easy spoil lah, fast run out of battery lah, cannot detect lah, then demand for a better newer system. Facepalm these jokers. Never can satisfy them.
May b have to place the rfid on roof
After years of pilot for the RFID, still fine tuning stage but not seen improvements. Works Ministry enforce la RFID for all lanes and use your authority to push the concessionaires to include more RFID lanes. If this also takes years, the MLFF will only launched after dooms day.
Meanwhile, LDP only has a single RFID lane. How hard is it to make more RFID lanes?
Yes, many highway besraya, smart only got 1 lane for RFID, the queue is always longest and when someone stuck then have to switch to touch n go or smart tag lane, we need more rfid lane for sure now and ensure all rfid get it checked at fitment centre. Touch n go ewallet should notify user to top up when the balance is low.
frankly, the old smart tag, is a far better system. albeit its old and bulky, it is much more reliable than the RFID.
the (RFID) solution, doesn’t really solve the initial problem. instead, creating more problems.
all users want is a reloadable TnG that can be done online / direct deductible from their acc / credit card.
do that, and you’ll see users start abandoning RFID.
SmartTag + NFC Tng Card, we’re done with RFID white elephant.
Malaysians sudah lupa how bad Smart Tag was before? The endless complaints & long lines waiting at Smart Tag lanes. It is still a thing just there is less users nowadays to complain about.
Smart tag is old & obsolete system, before you peeps complain about RFID not detect you peeps were then complaining about Smart tag users forgetting to reload TNG card or forget to slide the TNG card into the reader, or forgetting to change the battery on the reader device or the reader device was easy to spoil (yes, post 1st gen devices easy to die for some reason).
No matter what technology is use, you peeps will still complain. Just grow up and move with the times.
So let’s rejoice in incompetency then? Bravo
Incompetency is remaining and not changing. The only incompetence with RFID is from users self sticking at the wrong places which caused it to detect badly. If you install it at approved centers, like me, there is far less issues.
It’s frustrating to enter a rfid lane as more often than not motorists need to queue. Not to mention the scanner fail to read the rfid and motorists need to reverse. Imagine reversing in toll lane. No where in the world u find this
often, those stuck in RFID lanes are usually those who like to stick their stickers wrongly. Just paste the RFID sticker on the front headlamps, it works 100%. All the cars in my household we DIY stick the stickers on the headlamps, all works 100% of the time. Stop trying to be fancy and stick on tinted glass, etc etc.
2nd, the gomen really needs to enable more RFID lanes if they want larger adoption. Currently RFID lanes makes up only 1 out of 7 toll booths, which is too little.
3rd, some highways still dont even have RFID lanes! For instance Tol Gambang, which I used when travelling to the east coast from KL.
Agreed with your 2nd and 3rd but not the 1st point as mine was installed by qualified technician but the problem is the angle of camera which detects the tag at some toll plazas. It always happens at the same toll plaza but not others.
Reverse.Forward.InshaAllah.Detect
only known for REVERSE FORWARD IRREGULAR DETECTOION ( RFID ) . This lousy system is a failure if not why only 1-2 lanes implemented since they say will go away with conventional smart tags
RFID implemented is to ensure smooth flow of traffic but our RFID implementation here is to help to build long Q. Our problem here has 2 part. One is user, normally ppl forgot to top up their ewallet. Which is still common. 2nd part is those company tune that sensitivity to the lowest, of course the scanner will require longer time to scan. That adding up to the frustration when peak hours. Actually the government can be more proactive in this manner. If you been overseas and notice how RFID implantation were done, then you will know how streamless it is. Dun even need to hve toll booth and gate at all. Not sure when our government official said they go do survey of other country implemention, wonder if they really go do their homework. Beside that also too many companies interest at stake as well. Time to really improve as we are already slowly lagging behind other ASEAN countries
Smart tag is there and worked perfectly. Why reinvent the wheel and did it badly?
Kerinchi link RFID lane i have reported a year ago. Nothing has been done. Every 10 cars pass through, 4-5 will need to reverse.
I use Kerinchi daily but i gave up RIFD lane now.
Simple, people report also you are not doing anything, then there is no purpose of your existence.
Expand the lanes accepting RFID. The busiest toll plaza, at most have up to 3 RFID equipped lanes. Some only 1. All lanes other than Smartag, should accept RFID. Strange that RFID works in many places. In fact, they should also make it that RFID only works in eWallet with auto-reload function. Even better is to tie the RFID to a debit/credit card. No worries about whether the RFID has sufficient credit. Forget about linking to TnG eWallet. End that “monopoly”.
Cannot believe, 580/2348 (one quarter) is RFID.
5-6 lanes only 1 RFID, some over 8 lanes also 1 RFID
Have to drive slow, so that no need to do Reversing Act, compared to SmartTag which I used earlier on.
At some toll booths, both TnG and RFID had to share the same lane and this slows down the traffic flow plus builds a long queue. Having SmartTag and RFID in the same lane is not as bad.
When a TnG car passes first, the system takes a very long time to process the next car with RFID. But it is faster the other way around. I had to wait long at the barrier to lift itself for RFID processing at the shared lane.
Initially, when it was launched the RFID lane allowed both SmartTag and TnG. After that issues seem to crop out now and there, and now mostly RFID. This passive system is no good. Look at our neighbour, active RFID, fly thru lane without even stopping / slowing one bit. Here…dunno what to say.
Suggest just make all lanes with RFID.
This would be like how they removed Cash Lanes in the past
Already coming 7 years and still on testing stage !!! What the heck is this ………..what happened if the government plans for nuclear reactors ?????? Can stick the ‘ROSAK’ sign suka2……….gone case la
Not enough RFID tolls at Cheras highway. And its position is too near the lorry exits.
Come to Batu 9 toll after 5pm…. Literally you are paying to get stuck at the toll. Similarly in most tolls too.
Couldn’t they combined RFID +TNG + SMARTTAG
Smartag system proven least problem. Why install problematic rfid system into more lanes and make users suffer.
At many toll plazas in Malaysia especially at Klang Valley Toll Plazas, there are only 1 RFID lane. If a vehicle entering it gets stuck bcos of lack of credit balance in TnG e-Wallet, then it causes inconvenience to other vehicles behind it. The other vehicles behind the stuck vehicle have to reverse to let the stuck car move to other TnG lanes or wait for toll plaza staff assistance. Other vehicles following behind have no other alternative RFID lane to enter! More RFID lanes should be added if the Govt is serious in encouraging people to use RFID tags which would be almost similar as Multi Lanes Free Flow system which the Govt intends to implement soon.
Worst for me at Semenyih where our RFID lane shared with t&go
1. I observed an installation of an RFID tag on my nephew’s new car.
The ID was placed on the left head lamp and the technician used a gadget to read the tag, while standing 1 foot(0.3 meter) away from the car.Is this logical when the reader at the toll booth is 2.5-3.5 meters high?
How is this installation justified? Shouldn’t the installation and testing of the new tag actually simulate the actual condition of the tool booth?
2. The RFID system works on the below freuency.
Low frequency (LF): 120 – 125 kHz: Older (less popular) proximity technology based upon inductive electromagnetic coupling.
High frequency (HF): 13.56 MHz: Contactless smartcard technology for short range and high security applications.
Ultra-high frequency (UHF): 800 – 900 MHz: UHF technology enables low-cost passive tags with long read range.
Microwave: 2.45 GHz: long-range identification in combination with semi-active tags.
All the RFID by TnG is of the passive type( no power source) so it works by reflecting back the RF to the reader.
Installing the tag on the headlight, will be prone to physical damage by debris, stones, insects and tar thrown up by other vehicles in front of the car.
SO chances of the reflection of the RFID back to the reader is distorted. Thus the reader will not be able to detect the tag.
My suggestion is
1. The RFID need to be located at a place where its not prone to physical damage. The location on the headlight is not a ideal location.
2. Installers must test the RFID as per the height of the reader at the toll booth.
No issue so far,