Something to do while waiting for the bus

Everyone knows Malaysia’s public transportation system leaves something to desire. Here’s something to do while you wait for the bus ;)

PS2 button bubblewrap! :P

I heard this is McCann-Erickson’s doing in Malaysia.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Man, it's been ages since I touched any bubble wrap!

• how creative……… (^_^)

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 24, 2005 at 4:29 pm

I think propably ppl will miss the BUS and stay at the bus stop!! Wah….haa…aha…. Should ban……..it! KACAU saja!

• Yes, it's McCann Erickson's concept. The guy who worked it was Dinesh Sidhu, I used to work with him when I was interning there.

• anybody know where is this iS

• Conan on Sep 24, 2005 at 5:46 pm

cool… really creative.. but then.. need to change the bubble wrapper later rite

• cool dude,where is this bus stop? i`ll be there hehe..

• izudeen on Sep 24, 2005 at 6:36 pm

can I poke it all? :p

• eRis-Aeir4s on Sep 24, 2005 at 7:35 pm

Ahh..the PS2 , What a wonderful machine that is.

And the PS3 should be arriving in the US by Spring 2006 , Not sure if that's true. Sony's my saviour =P

• Nairud on Sep 24, 2005 at 8:10 pm

PS3 is not coming to the States in Spring 2006. It'll be released in March 2006 in japan and after that it'll take another 6-12 months for it to be released in the States.

• MutantTomato on Sep 24, 2005 at 8:11 pm

bubble wrap!! woo hoo!! :D who needs to take the damn bus anymore! just go to the bus stop and pop about an hour out of your life!

• Adrian on Sep 24, 2005 at 8:14 pm

Looking at the background, looks like a bus stop in front of Sucasa Serviced Apartments in Jalan Ampang.

• FireAngel on Sep 24, 2005 at 8:25 pm

I WANT ONE OF THOSE IN MY ROOOOOM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

• sinleong on Sep 25, 2005 at 2:59 am

I hope PS3 not expensive.. Could cost RM5,000 here. PSX already cost RM3K.

• cbljkkj on Sep 25, 2005 at 5:44 am

Thats really creative thinking. Congrats to McCann-Erikson for thinking up something like that. It's a time filler and advertising at the very same time!

• Marmitecrab on Sep 25, 2005 at 7:14 am

I'm sure some people will miss the bus and end up cursing Sony for making them miss it. :-)

• foxtrotecho on Sep 25, 2005 at 10:51 am

sinleong

"I hope PS3 not expensive.. Could cost RM5,000 here. PSX already cost RM3K"

PS3 rm5k ?

PSX rm3k ?

Dude. You are so far wrong, that I dont even know where to start …

iirc, one can get a ps2 now, with mod chip and 2 original dual-shock controllers + 20 games for less than rm1k.

• Nairud on Sep 26, 2005 at 12:06 am

dude, what he meant was when it was released.

• Selvenz on Sep 26, 2005 at 12:21 am

True but its a known fact that PS3, X-Box 360 will much more then that. At least RM3.5k to 4k

• albagmane on Sep 26, 2005 at 1:56 am

haha.. its really creative..

i hope there are more bus stop such as this in Malaysia..

• gegaoff on Sep 26, 2005 at 7:36 am

giss… where is it?

i want to play on it!!! i'm very stress now… :-(

• I'll be surprised if the PS3 or Xbox 360 costs more than RM2k. Top spec Xbox 360 has been announced to be priced at USD399.

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Sep 26, 2005 at 7:15 pm

but.. i always, almost see people 'korek hidung' while waiting for the bus.. :D

• Johnny Boy on Sep 26, 2005 at 7:35 pm

Wow…..paul, where's it is…???

• foxtrotecho on Sep 26, 2005 at 9:51 pm

Nairud, Selvenz: Please get your facts right before posting more crap.

USD399 x 4 = RM1596.

If its gonna cost RM5k, then Sony or MS would be selling their next gen consoles at a mind-numbing price of USD$1250 !?

RM4k = USD$1000

RM3.5k = USD$875

All that, and it does not include the price of a TV ?

When MS first launched the Xbox @ USD$299. They were making a lost on each console sold, but they made up for it through sales of game titles. That is why MS never officially launched the Xbox in Msia.

• Lainie on Sep 27, 2005 at 2:17 am

Oooh…bubble wrap.

• redbull_y2k on Sep 27, 2005 at 4:18 am

dear foxtrotecho,

it's obvious you're the one talking crap here. They're mentioning bout the consoles price when it reached here after launch. You calculation is only applicable in Japan or US. Here? Well u need to factor in the shipping cost and those cutthroat console shop sellers in Sg. Wang of course…. LOL…. i.e: PS2 was selling for RM4k when it was 1st arrived here.

• foxtrotecho on Sep 27, 2005 at 4:51 am

redbull_y2k:

RM4k for a PS2 ?

Someone kena potong big time.

Please do not forget that by the time any console comes to M'sia, the 1 thing that drives the price up it the mod chip.

And a PS2 for RM4k back then, I highly doubt it. Msia get its stock of PS2s from either Japan or China. Even if you factor in the price of the mod chip, there is no way, with shipping or whatever cost you want to factor in, will it cost RM4k.

• redbull_y2k on Sep 27, 2005 at 5:31 am

like i said…. those cutthroat console shop sellers is the one hiking up the price. Even the PSP was RM2.2k when it 1st arrived here. Dun believe me? Well, wait till the PS3 gets here 1 week after it was launched in Japan. I'm pretty most shop would quote it for at least RM4k. Heck, wait till the XBox360 gets here by the end of the year, i'm sure it's gonna be pricey as well.

• foxtrotecho on Sep 27, 2005 at 7:35 am

redbull_y2k:

And your point being ? The only people willing to fork out what RM4k are those that have the money to kena potong.

People that did their research online about the prices wont be willing to pay such prices, unless they REALLY need one that badly.

None of my console gamer friends, even the hardcore ones are that sohai enough to willing go and kena potong.

Your so-called cut-throat vendors are the parallel importers that are out to make a quick buck or two from idiots who cannot wait.

Are you gonna fork out that much money just to be able to play the next gen consoles ?

Yes ? No ? Maybe you dont even know ?

• hokkien lang. on Sep 27, 2005 at 8:09 am

buy ps2 free 20 dvd games title? where?

here got 10 title only…….

and….. how bout nitendo revolusion? how much the price?

• redbull_y2k on Sep 27, 2005 at 8:13 am

My point being is that, it's normal that the consoles are super expensive when they first reached here. And i truly agree, those who's willing to fork out that much money just to be the first to get the next gen consoles are idiots. Well it's their money anyway. :P As for me, i'm willing to wait 1-2 years until price comes down at an affordable leven and more variety and quality games comes out. No point spending so much money just to showoff to the world that u get the next gen console first when that money could be spend on other important stuffs rite? :D

Peace!

• hokkien lang bro…the dvd games now sibei cheap larr…buy 4 'sang' 1…pay the price of 8 u got 10 dvds…kor pi, kor chi, kor tua liap :P

• damnit..how cool is this!!!

• Nairud on Sep 29, 2005 at 5:50 pm

foxtrotecho,

get my facts rite?

Go on…search the web, google for it. even MS Xbox 360 is at least USD399 and yet the PS3 price is still undertermined because of it's high end specs.

The rest are being pointed out already by redbull_y2k

If you want to see a idiot hardcore gamer, let me know, i'll show you his collection. Once a new console is out, he'll be the first in Msia to get it.

• foxtrotecho on Sep 29, 2005 at 6:21 pm

Nairud:

1. Your facts ? What, pray tell might that have been ?

2. No, I dont need to google for it. I know where to look.

3. Yes I already know the pricing for the xbox360. For every package that they happen to be offering also. The Ultimate pre-order package is going for USD$700, thats IF you really want to compare the prices coming close to rm4k.

4. ps3 "high end" ? Dont believe all that marketing hype. When both the consoles come out, we'll know just how "high end" their specs will be.

5. Pricing for the ps3 is "still undertermined" because currently, Sony is going through a MAJOR internal restructuring of their various departments, with their new CEO. This is one of the chief reasons why Sony Japan has not been able to even give a remote estimate on how much will it cost. Industry analysts are predicting a price point similar or lower to match the xbox360, to remain competitive.

6. You OBVIOUSLY skipped reading my other comments. Kindly do note that I stated "parallel importers".

7. Even if you sohai friend or whoever he/she is to you gets a ps3 when it launches in Japan, unless he/she understands japanese, there wont be much point trying to play the ps3's launch titles.

8. As for seeing "idiot hardcore gamers", I deal with their lot all the time online. So no, I dont need to go though you just to see one, even if this particular one is rich enough to throw his/her money around.

all your base are belong to us.

kthxbai !

• Nairud on Sep 29, 2005 at 6:42 pm

7. Even if you sohai friend or whoever he/she is to you gets a ps3 when it launches in Japan, unless he/she understands japanese, there wont be much point trying to play the ps3’s launch titles.

Trust me… that sohai will buy.

• azareth on Nov 16, 2005 at 4:38 am

chill dudes.

No point arguing over fundamental economics – ie. supply & demand. If supply is low and demand high, there'll always be some people willing to pay whatever price – RM5K, RM10K, whatever it takes.

• Kitty82 on Dec 09, 2005 at 3:30 am

erm….why does it seem as if almost everyone's fascinated by bubble wrap? but really..eveytime i come across one i'm always tempted to pop all the bubbles…wonder why…must be something gone amiss in my system