Proton Waja EuroNCAP Crash Test

Here’s the video of the Proton Waja EuroNCAP Crash test. I remember seeing this on Top Gear once, where Jeremy Clarkson was showing the difference between a Ford Fiesta, Proton Impian (Waja) and a Toyota Avensis. The Toyota naturally scored a 5 star out of 5 star result.

Results from Euro NCAP: 3/5 stars for adult occupants, 1/5 stars for pedestrians

Frontal Impact

The body suffered severe damage and both front passengers suffered chest loads that could cause injuries. The restraints needed to cushion their upper bodies better than it did. There were also hard points in fascia that could cause harm if struck. The driver’s footwell was pushed back, posing a risk of leg injury. The centre rear seat had a three-point belt. This gave superior protection to that of a lap belt.

Side Impact

The side impact protection worked reasonably well. However the chest loading could lead to an increased chance of injury, whilst the abdomen and pelvis were reasonably protected.

Child Protection

The 18-month-old was in a rear- facing restraint and the 3-year-old in a forward-facing one. Both were as recommended by Proton. Neither protected its occupant’s head in the frontal or side impacts. Warnings of the dangers of death or serious injury for a child placed in a rear-facing restraint in the front passenger’s seat were inadequate. There was a sticker on the passenger’s sun visor, visible in the stowed position, and a pictogram (which, because of its design, could easily confuse) on the passenger’s end of the fascia.

Pedestrian Protection

The pedestrian protection can best be described as dire. Proton admitted to Euro NCAP that its designs weren’t pedestrian friendly, but promised improvements.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 09, 2005 at 8:34 pm

Omg , this is a 3star? Then I really can't imagine 0 stars (Landwind) . But Landwind's test is from ADAC right? Maybe they have different judgements..

But look at that Waja , the engine compartment totally crumbled. I think if they meant to do the crumble zone for the Waja , they overdid it. I think that it nearly hit the passenger cabin , and as NCAP said.

I just think that the Savvy maybe is stronger than this.

• Aris Tee on Oct 09, 2005 at 8:44 pm

looks better when compared to the landwind… hehe

• kalen_XI on Oct 09, 2005 at 9:24 pm

err…ppl…that impian ade airbag…our waja dont rite?!..so basically..IF they were to use the WAJA (malaysia version)…i think it might be lower than 3.5 lorr…oh my…oh my…i dont want to see what happen if it was a kancil….

• narrowband on Oct 09, 2005 at 10:08 pm

My waja came with SRS 'bags. Not sure if they're in working condition though ;p

• e-Nabill on Oct 09, 2005 at 10:29 pm

3 out of 5 is not bad….dont compare to other cars that get 5 out of 5…here manufacturers are not as safty conscious as europeans or japanese…so 3 out of 5 considering everyting is fine…seriously u look at the cabin area and the A n B pillar , looks very solid to me..so techincally the driver didnt get affected by the crash….i tink if waja has side airbags would be great…i know the one thy sell in UK has side airbags n traction control!

• Great Wall Of China on Oct 09, 2005 at 10:52 pm

Paul…..post a Perodua Kancil crash test please…..

• i think kancil is made of glass so plz drive slow.

be extra careful because if u dun knock ppl ppl will knock you, lol.

how come at least once a week i see kancil crash in chinese newspaper? gory picture also zzz.

spend a little bit more might just save your life… or else drive like grandma

• nohiddenagenda on Oct 10, 2005 at 12:03 am

kalen_XI,

my waja have two airbags.

• Cheeli on Oct 10, 2005 at 12:42 am

why no Proton Saga/ Iswara, Wira, Satria, Arena bla bla bla? Proton dare to showing?

• Is_me on Oct 10, 2005 at 2:09 am

Remeber, the front test only score 1 star, only because the side impact is good, so it pulled become 3 star overall.

• melvin on Oct 10, 2005 at 2:15 am

The older Wajas (pre 2004) do not have airbags…..

• macspeed on Oct 10, 2005 at 2:24 am

those old proton wiras sagas sure no test one…sure zero…such old cars…where got protection….n i mean ALL old cars now….u crash in a corolla seg also doesnt mean u can survive lo….protn should stop selling those cars…..just making them to lose image…but those r the cars that is making money them….kekekek…wihtout them sure tutup kedai

• hmmm…

have u seen an accident in malaysia where the proton waja was surely wiped out? i mean totally flat…

from the roof to the bottom of the car..

the glass used in proton surely is dangerous for the driver

• e-Nabill on Oct 10, 2005 at 3:39 am

thers no such ting as a definative answer in crash test really,an accident has milions of variables , a person mite die in a 5star crash testing car,n mite survive in a waja which only has 3….as i said…in an accident thr are so many uncalculated tings….a 5 star does not guarentee ur survival,jus that u have more of a chance to live…bt if ur fate says u have to die,thn i guess a 10star car oso wil rip u apart…jus an opinion….

• aksMs on Oct 10, 2005 at 3:54 am

Paul: If I'm not mistaken, it was not Ford Focus but Ford Kia, the lower range segment. The thing is, the cheaper Ford Kia recieve 4 star in the crash test compared to Impian. Which means, Ford built better car than Proton at cheaper price. This is something that Proton should improve.

e-Nabill: Actually, Impian's driver will get injured on the chest, abdomen and lower body part (e.g. legs) because of the brake pedal (ref. Top Gear video) and the steering wheel.

They should've strengthen the passenger shell more.

• sinleong on Oct 10, 2005 at 3:59 am

Traveling at 50kmph is actually kinda slow.. Image traveling at 80kmph.. I might lost my head.

• Naruto on Oct 10, 2005 at 5:02 am

very true. 50kmph.? who wld hv accident at 50? 80,90, myb la…

• karheng on Oct 10, 2005 at 7:44 am

Accidents with a stagnant pole or wall causes more impact at 50 kmh compared to when u have an accident at 90 kmh with another car which is moving.

The impian is built better than the wajas here. So i think the waja here is probably a 2 as the folding zone works quite well. The cabin would be ok as the shell is probably strong enough. The NCAP tries to judge based on accidents against a wall at 40/50 kmh. That's a good idea of how strong the car is.

• this will b good if proton come in whit improvements. that what we 1 in the future soon s possible if this proton r for Malaysians.

• armandd on Oct 10, 2005 at 9:47 am

karheng, I think the impian's body is not built any better than the wajas here.. the fit and finish and the accessories may be better, but not the structure of the car…

• Streamyx User on Oct 10, 2005 at 2:23 pm

Kudos to Proton!

NCAP should now run the door handles break test.

• Lucent on Oct 10, 2005 at 4:46 pm

Hi PT !

Waja need lot of improvement….

I wonder you can get the crash test result for Savvy, Kelisa (or Myvi) and Picanto(KIA). TQvm !

• confused on Oct 10, 2005 at 5:20 pm

"Germany’s ADAC which conducts tests for Euro NCAP safety standards."

anyways.. we all laugh and or are horrified at kancil accidents, but remember, it wasnt the malaysians who designed the car, it was the japanese.

• Joe Rock on Oct 10, 2005 at 5:22 pm

somebody has post link savvy crash test before
    http://media.putfile.com/savvycrashtest

• Ah, but remember. The Kancil is an old design. Designed when safety isn't such a big priority that it is these days. And, more important fact, the Japanese aren't selling it anymore, the Malaysians are.

And it is the same case with the Saga and the Wira. Both obsolete designs, no longer made or sold by the Japs, but by us. With minimal safety equipment, I might add.

Back to the Waja…I mean Impian. It was dire in the frontal impact test. The front pillars actually crumpled, compromising the safety of the passenger cell and reducing the chances of survival. Furthermore, the dash and pedals were pushed back towards the front occupants, further reducing the survival chances. 3 stars really isn't that good. It is just slightly better than bad.

Of course we should compare it against 5 star cars. How can we improve if we don't strive to be the best. What's the point if Proton only set out to build a 3 star car? You'll end up with a car worse than that. And Malaysian lifes are just as precious as European lifes. Why should we be shortchanged in the safety department?

If given a choice of a 5 star car and 3 star car to take into a crash, which one will you choose? You know damn well it'll be the 5 star car. So don't be lying to yourself.

• nohiddenagenda on Oct 10, 2005 at 8:37 pm

an evening drive with another waja owner

whoaa…. your waja got two airbags mehh… this must be the imported one, the quality also a lot better than mine.

conclusion: i'm driving the imported waja /:)

• Rosdi on Oct 10, 2005 at 9:43 pm

I have the Top Gear video comparing Waja with Toyota.. I can email it to you if you want Paul.

• Rosdi: would appreciate if you can mail me! :) could you give me your email address using the contact form? if both of us put our emails here, spam bots would pick it up.

• KL Lim on Oct 10, 2005 at 9:50 pm

import or export?

or u living outside the malaysia .. LOL

airbags ermmmm… just go and get from Autoliv Malaysia .. factory at Balakong.. know them and u may get staff price.. :)))

• aksMs on Oct 11, 2005 at 2:27 am

Rosdi: Thanks for the link. Waahhh…the Savvy damn strong lah. But the engine gone la. Hehe. But dunno bout the brake pedal, steering wheel and the dashboard. Paul, do you think you could find the report on that one?

• aksMs on Oct 11, 2005 at 2:30 am

Alamak…wrong person lah….Joe Rock, jangan marah haaa…thanks to u! :D

• waja=crap

• Sleepyhollow on Oct 11, 2005 at 11:05 am

Not too bad for waja compared to China's landwind…

BMW 5 series scored only 3 of 5 previously when it first launched..

A Retest got 4….well….

• MutantTomato on Oct 11, 2005 at 11:37 am

aksMs: Bro, if you're refering to the "top Gear" vidoe, the Ford being shown is a Ford Fiesta. Its a small little hatchback. Nice to drive though. Zippy and very economical on fuel. If I'm not mistaken, its a 1.1

I know, because my sister has one in Ireland! :D

• eckoric on Oct 11, 2005 at 4:27 pm

Ala, what so great about that?, the europeans get ABS,airbag,traction control,curtain bags and so many more systems to acheive 3 star only, but in malaysia if got waja involve in accident prepare the BODY BAG.

• nohiddenagenda on Oct 11, 2005 at 5:33 pm

read it satirically.

i'm malaysian, my car bought at PESB. And yes, he said your car must be imported. i also wonder imported from where heheh. But as he is considered my boss, i just nod my head lah haha.

Gen2 1.3 is very cheap one. White color one is nice…

• Reader on Oct 11, 2005 at 11:35 pm

Waja 1.8X and Waja UK Specs have 2 airbags….FYI

• armandd on Oct 12, 2005 at 7:41 am

waja 1.6X also got 2 airbags.

• hhkonghh on Oct 13, 2005 at 6:01 pm

Hi askMs. The engine are supposed to be "gone" to protect the occupants. Which would you rather choice, save the engine or you the driver?

"aksMs said,

October 10, 2005 @ 6:27 pm

Waahhh…the Savvy damn strong lah. But the engine gone la. Hehe. "

• pdadvance on Oct 18, 2005 at 8:13 am

Proton must have a "kiasu" and "kiasi" attitude, why they still want to selling the 20 year old proton saga model,they should scrap the model and stop producing that old model.Have you see car manufacture keep on selling their same car model for 20 year ??? .Why proton is not showing the euro ncap result from their webpage,because they try hiding the facts from consumer.If your waja got two air bags, it not mean that your car is safe,but the most importance is the car body structure.Even in the early 70s' volvo 240DL still score 5 star without any airbags. I suggest the proton should redesign the proton waja and have all the side, front airbags ,abs,tcs as standard.SO MALAYSIAN CARMAKER,PLS PLAY YOUR PART AS A RESPONSIBLE AND CONSIDERATE CAR MAKER.INTRODUCE STANDARD SAFETY EQUIPMENT IN YOUR CAR….KEMPEN KESELAMAAN JALAN RAYA IS NOT GOING TO WORKS IN THESE DAY.SO GOV, DUN WASTE YOUR MONEY TO ADVERTISE ON TV,INSTEAD ,SPEND THOSE MONEY IN R&D IN ORDER TO PRODUCE A SAFER CAR FOR MALAYSIAN AND PPL AROUND THE GLOBE…>MALAYSIA BOLEH

• Lo (bridgy) on Nov 03, 2005 at 9:27 pm

to be fair , the volvo that is on the same platform scored almos tthe same . if not mistaken only 3 and half star only .

nothing new or nothing special with this crash test .

i am not tyring to protect . automotive is a piece of art , it is about learingng and self developing . it is somekind of university type , where no ppl will supply expertise for u . as for proton , young company that can score quite ok alreayd .

try take the latest hyundai sonata and any korean car for crash test , they are not too good either .

to compete proton with toyota is lightyear ahead . just like comparing the quality of toyota and proton build quality .

• kopial (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 10:07 am

Isn't it silly that proton open their factories in malaysia? Plus, most of their parts come from factories in malaysia. Other companies move to china and india to open factories…build better quality cars, while cheaper.

Then again, malaysian government is still corrupted to force proton to build their factories in malaysia, buy their parts from factories in malaysia. So that those politicians who own or partially own these factories can make money.

However, i partially support that decision. If our own company don't open factories here…then where are we gonna find job? At the same time trying to feed the job demand to malaysians…malaysians keep throwing stones to them, i pity proton…from the bottom of my heart.

Maybe before we even think of commenting how lousy our cars can be, and what proton should do to change their cars…we might as well change our attitude. There you go…

• akbarwaja1.8x (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 4:41 pm

my waja is Waja 1.8X,,,from singapore,,only got two units here,,the rest is waja 1.6,,,,its a powerful engine,,renault laguna’s engine,,