2006 Toyota Ractis

Toyota had just launched this new model in Japan earlier this month on 8-10 October 2005. The Toyota Ractis is a compact mini-MPV class of car. Quite similiar to the Toyota Passo/Daihatsu Boon/Perodua Myvi type of vehicle.

The Toyota Ractis has slightly better engine options than the Toyota Passo. It’s available in 1.3 and 1.5 form, with the same engine and drivetrain options as the Toyota Vitz. There’s a 1.3 litre 2SZ-FE in 2WD mode. For the 1.5 litre model, it’s powered by the 1NZ-FE which is also found in our local Toyota Vios. The 1.5 model also has a 4WD mode.

The 2SZ-FE 1.3 litre makes 87hp at 6000rpm and 116Nm torque at 4000rpm. The 1Nz-FE 1.5 litre makes 110hp at 6000rpm and 141Nm torque at 4400rpm. The car comes with a Super CVT-i stepless transmission option.

The back reminds me of the Toyota Ist a bit. The side-wheel arch flares are a bit more refined in this design when integrating with the rear bumper, unlike the Toyota Passo which create the impression of a big butt.

Interior looks spacious. Look at the rear chair design. Looks like it can be folded down to create a huge boot space. But these days something like this should be a standard feature in this type of car.

Some people would be relieved this car does not feature a center meter panel.

A close-up view of the dashboard meters.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• yhtan on Oct 16, 2005 at 9:41 am

the front looks like estima…..

the back looks a little bit weird….

but i think this car won't enter in m'sia bcoz of myvi

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 16, 2005 at 9:43 am

Sure looks good. As expected of Toyota's engineering team.

The Myvi should take the form of this car , Instead of the Passo. The Passo's dashboard sucks.

• mounting the gear shift on the front made way for easier access between driver & passenger.. for those extra curricular activities, nice.

• blackhead on Oct 16, 2005 at 10:26 am

this car got it's market in malaysia, many ppl are looking for toyota's compact car, they can bring in 1.5 one n sell at 70-80k, beat aveo, swift, about his own vios n avanza… i think that 3 are different car so ppl might go for what they want?

• blackhead on Oct 16, 2005 at 10:30 am

but this car's ass is ugly for me, the rear bumper seem not really useful while someone bang u from back…

• woeihaur on Oct 16, 2005 at 11:12 am

just like big size myvi..

• cbljkkj on Oct 16, 2005 at 11:42 am

The front really looks like a MYVI including the shape of the headlamps although the rear does fend me off a little. Glad to see manufacturers really taking notice in the mini MPV department.

• if it enters malaysia…

surely the price would be around 100k… =honda jazz

• weilun on Oct 16, 2005 at 3:13 pm

maybe it's a myvi /passo/boon/sirion platform?

• cloudz on Oct 16, 2005 at 5:11 pm

hmm..i dun quite like its outlook..i prefer myvi more than this..

anyway..the overall shape of this thing looks like a JAZZ..

• hmm maybe toyota should know that malaysian taste is more to vitz than ractis.

• 4WD mode? Why?

• i think i a bit look like the new generation of spacio

• albagmane on Oct 16, 2005 at 6:59 pm

love the interior very much! the dashboard is cool!

• borgning on Oct 16, 2005 at 9:23 pm

if one does not pay attention to the details, it just looks like a souped up myvi

this model just looks slightly longer at the back with a little improved cabin space, otherwise I think the interior space is almost the same as myvi

4wd for this model is not likely to make it here, 1.5ltr (CKD) should retail around RM65k-RM75k to make it a swift, matrix, getz beater

but then, people will buy the car cos it is a Toyota

• gegaoff on Oct 16, 2005 at 10:14 pm

ah, think only 1.5 model wil come into malaysia market? since myvi is targeting 1.3…

look great for me, the interior design… but outside, emm… front like Jazz, back? emm… what's that? don't think it wil go up to 100k as Jazz… jazz is overrated anyway…

cheers…

• huhuh…

anything could happen in this world.

be prepared~

• Great Wall Of China on Oct 17, 2005 at 12:53 am

Jazz looks better than this thing…the rear design reminds me of Atos….totally flat…and weird…

• aksMs on Oct 17, 2005 at 1:26 am

The 1.5 version got the same hp with 1.6 gentu. Nice….

The first picture looks nice compare to blue and red. But I think the dashboard is too high. And the steering wheel position looks awkward to me. And yes, it looks roomy.

I'd rather go for Jazz.

• aksMs: i think the reason they made the dashboard high is the same idea behind honda's two-layered dashboard design. putting the meters at the highest point closest to the windscreen allows the driver to check the meters with minimal eye movement.

• aksMs on Oct 17, 2005 at 2:22 am

Paul: It is a good idea…to minimize eye movement. But I posted my comment with the thought for lady drivers 5' and below. Hope they could still look to the front, not directly onto the meters. ;)

• Ihateproton on Oct 17, 2005 at 6:18 am

i dont get it. why would toyota build a machile so similar to a few of their cars in their line up? where would it slot in?

• sekot on Oct 17, 2005 at 6:49 am

They found out that Passo/Boon Myvi is to girlish. This car is targeted to the guys. It is using the exact same platform. Look closely at the doors. It is the same door and side profile. This car comes with CVT, with NZ series engine. The 1.3 didnt use our common K series engine (found in Kembara DVVT, Myvi, Avanza). Hey, remember, we're still third world to them. It RR seat looks like the Honda Ultra Seat. cool.

• neurra on Oct 17, 2005 at 7:45 am

i don't see any reason why they should implement the 4wd drivetrain to such a small cc engine.. must be straining the hell outta the engine to power all four wheels.. and yeah.. the rear sucks

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 17, 2005 at 5:59 pm

Why TOYOTA design so many types of cars? From Small, Super small, medium, medium small, medium big, big, large and then Huge size. Really make sense??

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 17, 2005 at 6:04 pm

Do you think each models has the HIGH demands?

If I were TOYOTA, I prefer to focus on few models like Small, medium, big same goes to Mcdonalds COKE cup size. Easy to development and make more money then offering big variants like 10cc, 25cc, 35cc,,……..1liter COKE size. Of course for Consumers is good but for Manufacturer is it really make sense?

• SEE FU on Oct 17, 2005 at 6:10 pm

DOG THE WAN arr!!

I know why!!

Don't you forgot TOYOTA Slogan? They said "DRIVE YOUR DREAMS"

Which means if your dreams car is F**king small or F**king weird size they will make it for you too. They don't care Making profit or not only for your dreams come true.

YOU MO KAU…….CHOU!!!

• SEE FU on Oct 17, 2005 at 6:15 pm

I am wonder What is POTONG Slogan is? Anyone knows?

I guess the slogan is "POTONG Leher KAMU tanpa SAKIT teruk"

YAU MO KAU……CHOU!!

• newspaper update on Oct 17, 2005 at 6:30 pm

Paul… I saw an improvement over my car Myvi.

I did complain to P2 on Myvi last week, The A-pillar (the beam between the front windscreen and front door) is too too big and it make left turn much dangerous as you cannot see the road while making the turn.

notice the A-pillar have a small triangular glass and the mirror is away from the A-pillar.

:) :D

• Michael Chua on Oct 17, 2005 at 10:27 pm

Beautiful. Toyota has does it again. Is Toyota the manufacturer with the widest range of cars? It sure does have seemingly endless lists of car catalogues.

• espionage on Oct 18, 2005 at 12:13 am

back looks extremely ugly….front look like myvi, side look like jazz, back look like shit……extremely big SHIT….

dono how the designer design?

• purity on Oct 18, 2005 at 3:36 am

interior's the killer! love the headrest on the backseat… back does look a bit flat but i think a nice spoiler (and BK of course) shall do the trick… ok ark!

• Spyder RMX on Oct 18, 2005 at 4:50 am

Nice looking car, yes i do agree with some bros here the back of the car do look like atos, over all is a nice looking car both inside out.

really wonder how much this baby gonna cost. hopefully can be around 70k or lesses than it will be wonderful to own one.

• manan on Oct 18, 2005 at 5:50 am

i wan to buy a new car. i look into toyota verso. is it this mpv will come to malaysia ??? if not are naza citra s the best choice for me.

• E-Nabill on Oct 18, 2005 at 9:34 am

will never buy a car like this.mini mpv jus nt for me or atleast not anyting that has a myvi genes..bt i admit..i luve the dashboard design…looks very nice…n like the flat floor…make it look more spacious….looks like an egg,bt notice..the passenger leg room is very small…knees easily wil touch the center console..bt maybe made with japanese size in mind..

• rectis sounds like rectal…i don't wanna be driving in a car that sounds like rectal!

• Abraham "Botswana" on Apr 28, 2017 at 8:49 pm

Type your comment here..R -means run act- means activities S-means space.
      That’s the meaning of Ractis.It’s a very good car .

• could this be the new kenari????????????????????????????

• peter on Oct 21, 2005 at 1:55 am

Re: 4wd, many small cars have a 4wd option in Japan, including Vitz and Jazz, so having a 4wd option for this car is nothing new. I suspect that the Japanese who enjoy snow and icy conditions might find 4wd useful.

Re: where does this car fit in? Well.. look at Nokia. They make tons of mobile phone models. They make many that look and function in almost the same way. But different people have slightly different tastes. The Vitz might look nicer to one person than this car does, but another person might dislike the center console mounted dials and prefer this car's layout. Another will go for the Avanza for the seven seats and smaller engine. More options is always a good idea. Ultimately it's probably very easy for Toyota to provide many variants based around the same basic platform. For example the engines, transmissions and break systems, steering, suspension are all probably identical between this car and the vitz. The front doors look the same also.

More choice is a good thing.

• Hey man.MYVi with WISH look..Great..

• Bryan on Oct 24, 2005 at 9:56 pm

the rear looks is a bit weird….

• spoonkin on Oct 26, 2005 at 6:57 pm

This car wont come in. Mark my words.

• rojak on Nov 14, 2005 at 8:20 pm

Bila boleh tempah ini kereta? nice la. if ican booking this car next year i'll cancel my Myvii booked. tapi wa gerentila malaysian Gov will not allowed market this car in malaysia. they want malaysian citizen only buy malasian car. the prise masti mahal punya.

• sleEP!! perodua!! on Dec 14, 2005 at 9:24 am

is this thing coming to m'sia..

• Fatboy on Dec 15, 2005 at 7:43 am

toyota ractis no airbag???

• ah dog on Dec 16, 2005 at 12:33 am

let's guess how much it OTR cost ? …. i think arround RM50K – RM65K, what do u think ?

• nazham on Dec 20, 2005 at 3:54 pm

Look like others toyota…..

Rear shape look do ugly, sorry to say but Citra MPV was bettr!

• i'll buy dis car nex year.

• nzafrie on Dec 23, 2005 at 11:11 pm

when the car launched in Malaysia??

• Jamie on Dec 30, 2005 at 8:34 am

I wish to know…will this car launched in Malaysia? HEard that it will be true~and the price range would be around 60k…is that real?

• hahaha.... on Jan 04, 2006 at 10:05 pm

hahaha…

one AFTA already almost kill Proton,

you really think MsiaGov will allow this good car

come in to kill its Produa.

so… sit tight and keep driving your local over cost car :D :D

• lightning69 (Member) on Mar 07, 2006 at 7:59 am

My friend got a message from his friend that the ractis will launch in malaysia sometimes in march or april from RM55K to RM65k. So far his info is quite accurate on the vios and avanza.

• super33 (Member) on Mar 21, 2006 at 10:08 am

Are you sure it will launch in March or april? sound good

• super33 (Member) on Mar 21, 2006 at 10:10 am

pretty good…..march or april

• zchtan (Member) on May 11, 2006 at 11:00 pm

Good car, except for the back but for a purpose. It has all features I want; Glass roof with shade that stops at any position, Privacy glass, Cruise control, Pedal Gear Shift (7 speed CVT), flexible seat, retractable mirror, side mirror indicator light, very good space, nice dash board, good consumption (18km/l on 10-15mode), good power, good torque, no need to remove head rest when flatening the seats. I have seen the real stuff, really nice and practical, and the actual size is quite big. I dropped Airwave after seeing this machine.

• i have one key i whant 2key what is solution?

• alex micallef on Nov 23, 2010 at 4:57 pm

i have one allready ractis is fantastic its a wow car.

• Check out all-new 2011 Toyota Ractis

http://toyota.jp/ractis/index.html

• Bernard King on Mar 28, 2015 at 5:30 am

I just bought one and find it hard to back into the driveway at night with the narrow field of vision through the back window. I couldnt find any backing lights to make it an easier job. Otherwise nice space and great handling.