Perdana Replacement Model study still underway

380vrx-small.JPGWe have some comments from Proton now regarding the Perdana Replacement Model project. Unfortunately, as expected we have to source this from foreign papers. This piece of news comes from the Australian paper the Herald Sun, reported by Bernama. Proton’s head for product planning and programme engineering Bob Hall commented to Australian journalists regarding the possible import of the Australian market Mitsubishi 380 as Proton’s flagship replacement for the aging Proton Perdana.

The Perdana is so far past its use-by date. It’s (the Mitsubishi 380 Perdana Replacement Model study project) still alive. It’s a heavily-studied project.

While the original plan was to bring the cars in fully imported as CBU models, this would push the prices of the Perdana Replacement Model far too high to be competitive. Proton now plans to import CKD kits and assemble it locally to save on non-ASEAN CBU import duties.

The report says Proton hopes to get the car with a 2.4 litre motor, which was also a concern of Mitsubishi’s due to rising petrol prices in Australia which are currently approaching A$1.50 (RM4.20) a litre. A 3.8 litre engine would be unfeasible for our local market, and a likely 2.4 litre candidate would be the 4G64 2.4 litre engine or the 4G69 (160hp, 212Nm) which is a derivative of the 4G64 with MIVEC variable valve timing as well as other enhancements found in the USDM Mitsubishi Galant.

Perdana Replacement Model to get I4 engine
Perdana Replacement Model in April 2007

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• asimo (Member) on Aug 01, 2006 at 11:23 am

good job!!!

• freeze (Member) on Aug 01, 2006 at 12:27 pm

I find it hard to even imagine this car selling many units. The price would be around 110+K right? The Civic would never let this car sell.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Aug 01, 2006 at 4:01 pm

Can't compare cars in different classes.

This car is a lot larger than the civic. In fact, I had the chance to test drive the USDM/Canadian version with both the 3.8 and 2.4L. Its a bit larger than the current accord if it will give any indication on its size. The 4G64.4L is pathetic though. Thats a lot of heavy car to be moving about. While competitors have moved to 5 speed autos, the Galant has still got a 4 speed. Fuel consumption is quite a bit worst than the the equivalent K24 Accord.

The Proton badge can't command a price premium, so prices are likely to be the same range as other competititors, one size class below, possibly a bit more.

Bring it in as a Mitsu and it will probably do pretty decent. Slap a proton badge on it, and its probably will fare worst. It just doesn't have the snob appeal as Honda or Toyota.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 01, 2006 at 5:05 pm

another 8 months to go…will it be launch on time? will this replacement model also come with guarantee power window change during warranty period? 22 years also still not in focus…what happen to MPV/SUV talks?

• rexis (Member) on Aug 01, 2006 at 5:05 pm

2.4 perdana replacement model? And cross into camry 2.4 section?

• ckengyo (Member) on Aug 01, 2006 at 5:38 pm

just like a picky girl break up with her boyfriend n now have 2 go back 2 his arms again. not a love story over here but just plain business development.

• whatsoever (Member) on Aug 01, 2006 at 6:33 pm

there is no way this CKD can be 110k the minimum will be 140k. and this will be direct competition to honda accord 2.4 and toyata camry 2.4 which the price is quote around 160k.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Aug 01, 2006 at 7:08 pm

i was xpecting a biuld from scratch model like gen2/savvy rather than liscence the whole car under proton name…bt i guess its either jus to expensive to totally biuld a new platform for it…or proton jus want to get out as many new models as possible in a short time…the current generation perdana since it was releases bqack in 1998..it sold alot…bt maybe curent market conditions wont be so kind…wil see how it goes…bt atleast seeing how proton design cars nowadays…its gona look a stunner!

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 01, 2006 at 7:40 pm

The Perdana was a success because it was(and probably still is) the cheapest 'big' car you can buy. Whether it is based on an old Mitsubishi platform doesn't matter because it gave people the chance to drive something 'executive'-like.

I guess even if Proton doesn't design the replacement from ground up, it won't matter much as long as the car: 1) looks as good and unique as the Savvy's front end 2) Handles like a dream as all current Protons 3) Has a proven engine from Mitsubishi 4) Priced competitively

It's more likely to have a 2.4-litre for it to sell in Malaysia though. And you have to admit that Proton styling today has a far more European flavour than any Japanese or Korean makes.

It should be good then…

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Aug 01, 2006 at 7:48 pm

Why call it a "national car" when, despite being assembled localy, it is in fact an import? Hmm…

• blunt (Member) on Aug 01, 2006 at 7:52 pm

Dear Akazamabamaboo,

i think your question already been answered by P2, NAZA and INOKOM

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Aug 01, 2006 at 7:56 pm

Give it a reasonable price tag and it should sell as well as its predecessor. I would buy one myself if it has decent performance and quality. Just get rid of that "national car" tag – it is time for Proton to be independent from our Government…kalau tak bila lagi nak merdeka? :)

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Aug 01, 2006 at 8:02 pm

Then again there is that name – Perusahaan Otomobil Nasional – so I guess it will ALWAYS be our "national car"…heheheh…oh well… :P

• Jay (Member) on Aug 01, 2006 at 8:53 pm

OH BOY !Tell me about a Perdana V6….and i go sick about it. After being the proud owner of a v6 and then a sick owner…..this car really needs some serious planning……

price – competitive

comfort – good

performance – impressive

handling – good

built quality – ok

features – need an airbag, ebd & tcs man !

transmission – fuh very unreliable

body – beauty

maintanence – expensive……a timing belt would cost you a whopping RM 1K.

guys guys …. if they want to introduce a 2.4litre perdana…pls keep it v4 like the accord (170hp) & camry (140hp)……just make sure they car's engine is tune for good consumption and performance & definitely with some good features like mentioned above.

if the price is around RM 100K-110K….i think it's reasonable. if it has a 70litre fuel tank…that's crazy over the current 64 litres v6 vs the accord 65 litres & the camry i'm not sure 75litres & more.

• outspoken (Member) on Aug 01, 2006 at 9:28 pm

It's price war.. even if the new perdana is sold at 110k, it would be in the honda civic teritory -(even though civic is only 2.0).. But i do think that perdana is not really a mass product, and not really a niche product. It sits somewhere in between where the volume is moderate/small. Proton needs a hot selling cakes, but perdana will be an expensive cheese cake ( for us moderate mortals)..

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 01, 2006 at 9:30 pm

p1 can replace or introduce any models, but sure will fail one.. hahaha.. who wants to buy cars from critically ill company? everybody knows oredi, its not a secret anymore…

• pinkfrog (Member) on Aug 01, 2006 at 9:42 pm

The price is difficult to be competetive as I think the market is shrinking for that range. The market is polarising now, moving to a few segments. the Perdana is like in the cheapest part of the executive segment and the bulk of that segment is moving more towards continental cars. In the economic sense, I think it would be appropriate to consider Proton cars in general as inferior goods. As income increases, the demand for Proton cars will drop. Now that the income is increasing, I guess Proton should go for something more high-end, something that can be exported, something more luxurious while also playing at the other end of the market, manufacturing cheap production cars. But I guess in large it's many people's negative view of Proton. Proton still suffers from an image problem, although minor, it has a big impact. For me, quality sales are better than quantity sales. Extremes rock.

• avanza (Member) on Aug 01, 2006 at 9:47 pm

Rebadged! OMG. Aren't they out of this rebadging thing yet? If developing a new luxury sedan from scratch is too expensive (more like to much to handle), then co-develop with Mitsubishi.

Rebadging is so degrading to an automotive company..Such desparation. Proton just want to put their name on it. As if their name carries such premium.

Co-development allows the teams to learn from each other and share the cost as well.

• avanza (Member) on Aug 01, 2006 at 9:56 pm

Never fails to amaze me why people are still buying the Perdana. It's already 12 years old! For god's sake. You can get an Altis for that price.

In fact they are still people buying the Wira! 13 years old! Why would anybody want to spend their hard earned money on such old technology.

But the best part is that people are still buying the SAGA Iswara! That design is frigging 25 years old! The LMST didn't change a thing. Just cosmetics.

Buy I think it just shows the sad fact that we don't have much of a choice. This is the price we are paying for having Proton. Sigh……

• blunt (Member) on Aug 01, 2006 at 9:57 pm

well said, outspoken..

• bummerboy (Member) on Aug 02, 2006 at 12:35 am

my first attempt at photoshop chopping of car.

http://www.moobah.com/howl/pneo2.jpg

• stanleyshyeoh (Member) on Aug 02, 2006 at 2:55 am

Very nice, bummerboy. If Proton produce that to replace the Wira and sell it between RM40K-RM50K, it may grow to be Proton's bread n butter "sedan". This price range is the sweet spot for Proton … "Sedan".

• SamGan (Member) on Aug 02, 2006 at 3:07 am

Proton should consider bringing it in CBU even if they have to charge more for it. Local assembly means that the proton sigma of poor quality will rub off on it and sales will be low plus have to be much cheaper than the competion.

• shaif (Member) on Aug 02, 2006 at 3:41 am

Its look good bummerboy. About why people still buying Iswara and Wira even it have older technology. People just want the best value for money and for the price range lower than RM50k, acceptable look, cheap and easy to maintain, I guess only this two model can cater the need of middle level income group.

• szw (Member) on Aug 02, 2006 at 4:48 am

it would be a nice car .

• jzkzlz (Member) on Aug 02, 2006 at 9:17 am

not bad!!, bummerboy..

i like the headlamp & the bonnet..

good job…

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Aug 02, 2006 at 4:57 pm

my suggestions is that proton should probably make use of the e1 engine from petronas. it already develops 200hp and should be sufficient enough to be used in the proton. if proton ever puts a 2.4 litre or a 2.4 litre MIVEC, it would be far more unaffordable as road tax would kill more people. plus its a forward wheel drive with 1600kg, definately not a solid drive , like other australian FR cars at that weight.

• avanza (Member) on Aug 02, 2006 at 6:08 pm

Paul,

Have you read today's news? Bloggers beware! Your blog may be ok but the forum that follows your blog may not be. What if your forum 'spreads untruths'? Will you be held accountable? If so, you had better vet through all the forum replies. Boy! That will be some task.

I wonder what they will do to foreigners who blogs 'untruths' about Malaysia. What can they do, eh?

The govt have to suck up to it that the Internet is hear to uncover all truths! The Internet is a paradigm shift which they have to accept. You can't suppress information flowing thru te Internet much like you can't tell people not to breath air. Threats of criminal actions can no longer work. The fact is that the Internet means freedom and there is nothing anybody can do about that. Long live the Internet!

• malayman (Member) on Aug 02, 2006 at 7:39 pm

gosh..i seriously hope this is not a complete rebadge….

but at least we will be getting something that is up to date now..not ancient tech.

damn was expecting something from scratch actually.

• Xoomie (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 12:00 am

Rakyat need a reliable cheap 1500cc car like City /Vios..

not a 2.4liter thirsty monster !!!

Ploton should do their homework.

• malayman (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 1:38 am

errr….xomie..the gen 2 is a what ar? 2.0 thirsty unreliable monter?

do your own homework la fren…

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 1:52 am

malayman said,

August 2, 2006 @ 5:38 pm

errr….xomie..the gen 2 is a what ar? 2.0 thirsty unreliable monter?

do your own homework la fren…

wah..you are one hardcore Proton fan la…

why are you one of their super rich vendor ka?

everybody talk about Proton you want to bash them…

if you one Proton owner very loyal very smart but dont try to trick other people to end up like you…

have to open door everytime want to pay toll…"power window not working"

Proton own branding…..you know right….22 years of power window problem

• superman (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 1:54 am

Kevin Lee said,

August 2, 2006 @ 8:57 am

my suggestions is that proton should probably make use of the e1 engine from petronas. it already develops 200hp and should be sufficient enough to be used in the proton. .

That EO1 engine, despite pushing 200bhp was at the expense of fule consumption and emmision standards.

Besides Petronas specified alluminuim block which in our country does not have a Allu cating plant. All in all the engine cost too much.

• superman (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 1:57 am

Xoomie said,

August 2, 2006 @ 4:00 pm

Rakyat need a reliable cheap 1500cc car like City /Vios..

not a 2.4liter thirsty monster !!!

Ploton should do their homework.

Compare like with like la friend. The Vios /City is a small/medium sedan, ala Wira, Waja

The Perdana is in a bigger segment ala Accord and Camry.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 2:12 am

#

superman said,

August 2, 2006 @ 5:54 pm

Kevin Lee said,

August 2, 2006 @ 8:57 am

my suggestions is that proton should probably make use of the e1 engine from petronas. it already develops 200hp and should be sufficient enough to be used in the proton. .

That EO1 engine, despite pushing 200bhp was at the expense of fule consumption and emmision standards.

Besides Petronas specified alluminuim block which in our country does not have a Allu cating plant. All in all the engine cost too much.

well, i think its much better to be in expense of Proton rather than the rakyat. Long term economical benefits. If Proton creates a car that is so worthy, people would switch to buy Proton, the image brand goes up, this way, the economical benefits is well covered.

Loosen your money a bit Proton, and you would make yourself a winner.

• superman (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 4:43 pm

Kevin,

That EO1 engine would not make much sense. Petronas was only willing to sell the engine to Proton at a very high price ( word has it more than the total cost of a GTI with 4G93 engine) . Which in turn would shoot the OTR price of the car sky high.

And the EO1 engine was never fully "commercialized" and developed for mass market. For example, Emissions std were never set. drivebility . Just peak horsepower. Sure it has 200bhp headlining figures but at what cost?

At the current market I think Proton being a business entity should be tightening their belts. not loosening it.

Imagine the cost and logistical nightmare of having the Block cast overseas, imported , then assembled here.

• Khairy bin Tengku Ma (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 4:52 pm

Not a wise choice though….

• avanza (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 6:09 pm

Paul, I have one comment that didn't seem to make it to this forum. Did you do something to it?

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 7:46 pm

i'd agree. this perdana replacement crap will not be able to compete with civic even with the added extra space. the civic is unbeleivebly big enough and ultra economical.needless to say it will be a better drive all together.

the threat by the government seems more like to scare people rather than catch people distorting the truth. it will be silly for bloggers or poster to say anything that is not the truth. and dont misinteprete between stating a fact and stating an opinion. this is the internet and most people nowadays know the internet comments cannot be trusted fully and you need to back up that claim/comment with your own experience and judgement.

just becoz i say 380 is a failure in every part of the world doesnt mean it will be a failure. its just that based on my experience and my hard earned income, i wouldnt waste money on it. its gonna be built in australia, so quality wise it is already questionable.

btw i also disagree with that multimillion dollar park they are building. we need to build things that generate income for the country. it seems building that putrajaya and the other one hasnt taught us anything.

• malayman (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 12:05 am

hehe…yes i also have to open my door to pay toll but unfortuately i am not a vendor for proton getting rich. yes i am a proud first owner of my tiara and i have noo complains about the car. it gets me where i want to go, a fun drive and it doesnt give me hassles. the point i am trying to stress here is this, this is ure national car wether u accept it or not. i am not playing the nationalism game here but if you want to keep brainlessly bashing the car company then it just doesnt make sense. ok agreed before the gen 2 came out it was producing cars below expectations. now i see a difference. ask yourself this. are the few latest cars failures? anyone have window problems with your savvy? i was in a fens savvy negotiating a corner at 100kmh…i was surprised at the handling!

u got something to say make it sensibel and a constructive comment. you make me read crap on this blog i bash you back..simple!

:)

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 3:53 am

gen2, savvy and neo are a failure as long as they cant sell overseas and also in malaysia where there is protection and virtually few competitors.gen2 and savvy are failures. the neo is pending. will have to wait and see how it performs in the market.

btw, gen2 savvy and neo are indeed below expectation. will see how this perdana replacement model talks go.

• Xoomie (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 6:12 pm

Launching a Perdana replacement would not make a different for Proton.

What they need is a car that could sell like hot cakes. I dont think the new Perdana will do any much different for them.

Like I said, Proton needs fressh models to replace Wira, Waja, Gen2.

(Sedan with 1300cc – 1500cc)

There is still some hope for savvy & neo, but let's see after 2007.

Proton needs to keep the ball rolling.

• Xoomie (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 7:03 pm

I just read in AW that Proton had cancelled the plan to make the 380 as perdana replacement.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 8:22 pm

TXoomie said,

August 4, 2006 @ 10:12 am

here is still some hope for savvy & neo, but let’s see after 2007

hope hope and hope…afetr 22years..still hope hope and hope

my bet is 2007 PROTON CLOSE SHOP this model make it into production.

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 8:37 pm

close shop?.. may not, but sold, may be..

• sipi the penyu (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 12:41 am

Xoomie,Xoomie…………..you must be upset when currently, Proton does want to assemble the Mitsubishi 380 as the Perdana Replacement Model.

It is actually a smart move from Proton.Customers nowadays are demanding for new models from Proton.And to produce a new model,it takes hundreds of MILLIONS investment.So, assembling the 380 does reduce the cost to launch a new model.Besides,we sure want to see a new Perdana right?

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 11:17 am

nope. i dont want to see a new perdana. or maybe im the only one.

• nizam80 (Member) on Aug 06, 2006 at 4:07 am

I think, Proton's new strategy now is 1 model per year basis. Maybe la.. i'm just guessing. Perdana Replacement in 2007, next maybe a Waja Replacement in 2008?? Perhaps we're going to see spyshots of the Waja Replacement in late 2007, huh??

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 6:16 pm

motorhead said,

August 4, 2006 @ 12:37 pm

close shop?.. may not, but sold, may be..

yes agree with you, but we have bigger target like to just close shop if cant make it maybe we go for second plan to sell over. you know like planning to score 4.0 maybe because of some problems will end up 3.8 but still a first class students. target achieved.

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 8:14 pm

Oo.. got ur point.. but if close, poton's workers will run amuk.. pity them.. give some face la… vendors oso will be affected..

• maxtek (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 12:05 am

NO MATTER WHAT PROTON IS GOING TO DO, NEXT YEAR, THE GOVERNMENT HAD BETTER STOP PROTECTING PROTON. I'M SICK OF PROTON'S STUPID WAYS OF DOING BUSINESS, EVEN PERODUA WASN'T USING THE GOVERNMENT'S PROTECTION.

PROTON, IF YOU CAN'T SELL CARS, SUCH AS ALLOWING THE PRICE OF THE HONDA CITY TO BE AS SAME AS YOUR WAJA, I'D SAY, GET THE HECK OUTTA THE BUSINESS!!!

PERDANA FOR WHAT?! BUILD YOUR OWN, BE PATRIOTIC AND STOP TAKING OTHER CARS TO REBADGE THEM!!!

iF YOU CONTINUE LIKE THIS, HOW ARE YOU GOING TO IMPROVE! IDIOTS…

• matmoto_5125 (Member) on Aug 12, 2006 at 3:53 am

proton,stop tking other's please!!!!!!!!!!!

u hve succeed 2 develope waja,gen2,savvy n neo by urself.how come for perdana u continue 2 take mitsu's??????

don't let we say u stupid by taking other's.klu ye pun join venture,jgn ambik la model org len..aiyo…

• cactus_25 (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 10:09 am

Hi All,

What kind woth perdana update?I'm awaiting for long time to hear launch for this model.Need advice