Proton extends agreements

Proton has once again extended it’s three running agreements with Mitsubishi Motors Corp Japan, Chery Automobile Co Ltd and Alado Corporation Sdn Bhd.

The Memorandum of Understanding between Proton and Mitsubishi has been extended for another three months, set to end on 2nd February 2007, while the feasibility study with Chery and it’s local partner Alado Corporation was extended to 28th February 2007.

I’m sure we all eagerly await the outcome, the first could possibly result in a new Mitsubishi-based model while the latter could result in better utilization of Proton’s coveted RM2 billion Tanjung Malim plant.

Source: Bursa Malaysia

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• sloth (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 9:14 am

Waiting…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 9:18 am

Exercise another EOT – Extension OF Time. Better sign the MOU & FS with no deadline – Time At Large.

Whatever extension for sure these 3 months thingy won't produce any results in new model(s) and/or export of P1 car to China, and definitely won't help in shoring up sagging share price.

• Cire (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 4:00 pm

Most unlikely for P1 to export cars to China. The markets there is already full of cars of various makes and models,plus all the cars are as update versions as Paul could put in this website.

We have nothing much to offer except for the infrastructures, and vast local networks of dealers. Other than this, I do not think China offers any less of bolihland.

IMHO, Chinese car makers are still very dependant on foreign technologies. Most of their products are clones and improvements of existing products. If P1 were to merge with one, it will find itself continuing to clone designs and technologies from the west or the east.

There will come a time where ideas will run out and outright cloning will take place. Not unless the main reason is to create job and irregardless of the state of technologies we will get, then merge by all means.

If our main aim is to quest for technology know-how, please then revive talk with VW or even PSA.

Don't make a rash decision. Look for future development and not short term gain for popularity or votes.

my take.

• kendo (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 4:59 pm

still TIDUH, proton!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 5:07 pm

wuteverla proton…

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 5:31 pm

Ladies and Gentelmen, we are pleased to announce the '2006 Best Big Mouth' Award to…………………………

PROTON……………

Hopefully there is something concrete will prevail after that extension time.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 5:48 pm

prepare for the FUNERAL

clock is ticking….

I'M SINGING….FASTER LA DIE DEAR PROTON

p/s say bye2 to Perdana replacement

• faizulamin (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 5:53 pm

i think, rufaqa' corporation, if given the chance to run the proton, something different will happen.. with rufaqa' corporation, they manage to hold a revenue for RM9.8Mil in 7years. in business wise, this is good man! proton? huh, how come people with no sincereity make money?! they eat the money by themselves! rakyat merana! proton sux, government sux!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 6:01 pm

Aduh, extend another 3 months, at the rate of average losing money of RM 80 Million per month. Extend another 3 month translated into further lost of RM 240 million, yet after the deadline in Feb 07, likely we won't see P1 car export to China and/or there is a Perdana Replacement Model in sight. Sigh ……… P1 bunch of management people get another 3 month fat cheque salary plus year end bonus! Tax payers money……….

• RM (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 6:49 pm

Same old same old. While extending the deadlines of the MOUs, Proton seems to be adding more would be suitors. What we have now is Chery & Alado Corp, Mitsubishi, PSA-Peugeot Citroen, VW, Sime Darby, Naza, DRB-Hicom. While nothing tangible has come out one thing's for sure, Proton is definitely circling the globe.

• whodz (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 8:18 pm

I have some friends that working at Proton and seems that they are seriously eager to find side income. That is abviousla kan, but the odd is they are doing mlm, that is 'lb'. For those who knowsla..ok, the point is, I think Proton's staff (actually my friends work at lotus rnd) are indeed feel that their company are not secure anymore to continue pay them. wth..I pity for them (for joining lb).

• faizulamin (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 8:29 pm

whodz.. so pity to hear that.. because, few month ago, i'm sooo eager to work at proton, it was. but not anymore now.. by the way.. what is lb u mentioned before?

• bugbear (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 9:26 pm

whodz: lb is lamb berger?

• cyborgx (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 9:39 pm

extend to another 3months.

typical govt management la.. produce empty bottle in the end. Only Bodoh percaya.

• outspoken (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 9:53 pm

rilek la brother, let us wait til next year.

• KY (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 10:00 pm

about time to have a new Perdana

• Initial D (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 10:56 pm

hm……………duno wt will turn out………..or will it turn out to be anythg……….

even ur fren oso feel bad……….proton rili is in a much more trouble state than i tot.

• transformer (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 11:12 pm

DAMN PITY protonian…. coz they are simple the BEST!

• osh_kosh (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 11:45 pm

guys..guys… think +ve loh…

hmm.. i can't think of any… :)

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 12:38 am

others make car 30,000rm

we make car 40,000rm (net price minus dirty thing )

DONT MAKE CAR.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 2:56 am

waiting for some spy shots…thats wen u know thy already started working on the new perdana…!

• tamannegara (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 6:21 am

keep extend…than do not set date la.

or just provide longer time frame such as 1 year or 2 year.

now thing make like proton is rushing to partner with others…

• nizam80 (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 7:54 am

Honestly, l kinda liked the design and built of new Proton cars (new Waja, Neo, Savvy). But, this kind of news from Proton really make me sick. What i heard is, for 2007, there's only 1 confirmed model – GEN2 sedan rite? Wonder how are they going to further stretch the GEN2's body which ALREADY has a long wheelbase??!!!

• normal_user (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 4:07 pm

nizam80, i dont think its a Gen2 sedan. I think its a Waja replacement they've been working on. No point of having a Waja & Gen2 sedan at the same time; sure cannibalising each other.

What do u mean Gen2 wheelbase is LONG? at 2600mm its shorter compared to the Focus & Civic, and the same as Altis & Waja. Its not stretching if u just add a longer bonnet; the wheelbase stays the same. Stretching is like what they did with the Waja Chancellor/Perdana Exec.

• nizam80 (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 5:58 pm

normal_user said,

"nizam80, i dont think its a Gen2 sedan. I think its a Waja replacement they’ve been working on. No point of having a Waja & Gen2 sedan at the same time; sure cannibalising each other.

What do u mean Gen2 wheelbase is LONG? at 2600mm its shorter compared to the Focus & Civic, and the same as Altis & Waja. Its not stretching if u just add a longer bonnet; the wheelbase stays the same. Stretching is like what they did with the Waja Chancellor/Perdana Exec."

Thanks for the information. We will wait and see whether the Waja Replacement will come out by next year.. But, if they extend the bonnet, wouldn't it make the car longer than the Waja? Also, u are going to tell me that the uncomfortable low rear roofline still remains?

Sorry out of topic.

• al (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 5:34 am

Come on la Proton, we are waiting the MPV……….maybe in V8 engine……

not 1.6 liter, low power man.

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 5:02 pm

Hehehe, nice work P2, planting a spy to head Proton……..P1 cant never compete P2 bcoz the head is ex P2…………

Kah kah kah………..head P1 must take over P2 immediately, if not never improve………….