Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Chery T11 Tiggo for RM80,292

Advertisement

Chery Tiggo

The Chery T11 Tiggo is now available in Malaysia for a sum of RM80,292. While it looks much like a combination of the second generation Toyota RAV4 rear and the 2nd gen Honda CR-V and Naza Sorento’s front, the chassis is not carried from either vehicles.

Chery’s local distributor Alado says the T11 Tiggo sold here is powered by a Mitsubishi-based engine, but I did some research online and was confused by what I found. The Chery T11 Tiggo is available in other markets with two 2.0 liter engine options – one is a 1,997cc Mitsubishi 4G63 engine making 123 horsepower and 170Nm of torque. The other is powered by a Chery-designed ACTECO engine codenamed SQR484F which was developed by Austrian firm AVL. [Source] This engine family has also been commissioned by other automakers like Fiat, which will use the 1.6 liter and 1.8 liter ACTECO engines in it’s China-produced cars.

The Chery ACTECO SQR484F is a 1,971cc DOHC engine with a 10.2:1 compression ratio and produces 129 horsepower at 5,750rpm and 180Nm of torque at 4,000rpm, which matches the specs Alado quoted for our local Tiggo. [Source] In the Chery T11 Tiggo’s application, the engine is only available with a 5-speed manual at the moment.

Some basic specs – 5 seats, 2WD drivetrain, 3-spoke steering wheel, dual SRS airbags, CD player, heated front seats, antilock brakes, electronic brake distribution, and power steering. The rear hatch is of the side-hinged design, which Honda recently abandoned with the new 3rd generation Honda CR-V.

At RM80k, the Chery T11 Tiggo is a reasonably attractive SUV that manages to keep the price down with equipment levels that are only the necessities – not many people require 4WD. I’m not quite sure at this point whether the Tiggo is a CBU import or locally assembled. There was previously talk about having the Tiggo assembled at either Oriental Assemblers in Johor or at one of Proton’s plants – but I am not sure if this has happened or not.

Fiat to use Chery’s AVL-designed ACTECO engines
Chery Tiggo coming to Malaysia
Chery recalls Chery T11 Tiggo SUVs
Chery V5 Crossover MPV
Proton to produce MPV and SUV with Chery

Chery Tiggo

Chery Tiggo

Chery Tiggo

29 Comments »

1. armandd said,

April 23, 2007 @ 2:36 am

the exterior is not bad i think. the specs are quite good, it’s hard to find an RM80k car with EBD in our country! maybe the main problem with chinese autos is that nobody knows about its reliability. finding spare parts is another problem.

2. NiceCar said,

April 23, 2007 @ 7:35 am

i think that the most important thing for Chery is to change the mind set of the ppl on this China brand car..

3. auctioncenter2u said,

April 23, 2007 @ 8:02 am

Another GOOD from Far and FAR from Good products from CHina.

Some more RM80K? Don’t waste your time and money lah bro, go find a USED CRV or Toyota is much better than it.

4. BrakeFader said,

April 23, 2007 @ 8:17 am

Great Price but is the Product Great? That’s another story. Work a bit harder, for extra RM10K+ can get a Hyundai Tucson 2.0 2WD. Work even harder with extra RM20K+, can get a Kia Sportage 2.0 4WD CKD. Like NiceCar said, they really have to work on winning people’s confidence of forking out money for a China car. Even Chery Sedans isn’t doing so well so SUV would be a more tougher market.

5. ab said,

April 23, 2007 @ 8:39 am

it’s a bit like buying yourself a RM80k ciplak vcd

6. 4G63T DSM said,

April 23, 2007 @ 8:43 am

I second the remark that it may be better to buy a slightly used CRV or RAV4 than buying a new Cherry.

However, if it was powered by the 4G63 (from the looks of it, the SOHC one, similar to the perdana) then parts and service shouldnn;t be a big issue.

7. Paul Tan said,

April 23, 2007 @ 8:45 am

I highly suspect it is the ACTECO engine instead of the Mitsubishi engine!

8. rhoma said,

April 23, 2007 @ 8:50 am

honda CRV on the fornt + toyota RAV4 at he back

9. calvin5189 said,

April 23, 2007 @ 9:20 am

Paul, is a CBU or CKD? When is the Chery MPV coming out?

10. aesthari said,

April 23, 2007 @ 10:33 am

Looks surprisingly decent for a Chinese car, I think it would look better if the badge in front is removed.

11. albagmane said,

April 23, 2007 @ 11:36 am

u calculate lor, whether this is a good buy for this vehicle onot… though its kinda low at RM80K sth for an SUV, how bout for the long run? do we have to spend more for the repairs and services and parts? if so izit still worth to get this SUV? if for me, i would rather save up more money to get myself either a RAV4 or CRV… or even a kembara, since its an SUV oso hehe!

12. kei9 said,

April 23, 2007 @ 2:31 pm

decent priced car i may say…….

13. DtG said,

April 23, 2007 @ 2:57 pm

#
    ab said,

April 23, 2007 @ 8:39 am

it’s a bit like buying yourself a RM80k ciplak vcd

HAHAHAHA!!!

14. bs said,

April 23, 2007 @ 5:23 pm

i have viewed the car at the Ampang branch.
    There are major big problem with the quality of the finishing, i.e. the dashboard, the plastic and all… looks rough and of poor quality.
    Even the fittings are not inline and goes out of place here and there… you have to see to believe.
    But there is saying, what do you expect for RM80K.

15. mystvearn said,

April 23, 2007 @ 8:38 pm

… looks a lot like first gen Honda CRV to me

16. Malaysia BoXXX said,

April 23, 2007 @ 9:21 pm

The front logo reminds me of Toyota logo…I bet it failed crash test…

17. ynnad said,

April 24, 2007 @ 1:53 pm

Cherry launch a new version of the Tiggo, we get the old one… this is malaysian automotive karma. Always getting the old model.

http://www.chinacartimes.com/2007/04/09/chery-tiggo-here-comes-the-tiggo-6/

18. transformer said,

April 24, 2007 @ 11:16 pm

Dear, Paul
    Look nice, quickly go and get one for a test drive….. Please…
    couldn’t wait to read your raves and rants about this….
    (and also that Nissan Livina)

Thanks!

19. Chery Tiggo6 said,

April 25, 2007 @ 11:25 am

[...] Chery Tiggo and updated it as the Chery Tiggo6. It looks more modern than the Chery Tiggo that has just reached our shores this month, and doesn’t look so much like a cross between a CR-V and a RAV4 [...]

20. AdamC said,

May 9, 2007 @ 1:31 pm

On this new lauch, I see lesser crticism than the earlier launch. It is a good sign. China has became world number3 motor vehicle producer in 2006. If you take a look at Shanghai Motor 2007, you can feel the strong emerging of China local brands.

Chery has become China’s number one car producer in March 2007, overtaken GM, VW and others. Tiggo also has became the best seller SUV in March 2007.

The Acteco engine is one of the best engine in the world. Even other manufacturer like FIAT also willing to use it on their cars.

I do not think that you would regret of buying a Tiggo for RM80k, compare with buying a CRV at RM140k.

Malaysian, please do not look down on China as they are advancing to become one of the most sience and technology advanced country in the world.

21. Chery Tiggo (Chery T11) coming to Malaysia said,

June 1, 2007 @ 10:52 pm

[...] [UPDATE: The Chery Tiggo has been launched in Malaysia. Click here for more details.] [...]

22. Chery B240 7-seater MPV in Malaysia said,

July 2, 2007 @ 5:08 pm

[...] B240 in Malaysia, another CBU fully imported model for us to consider soon after launching the Chery Tiggo [...]

23. Mohamed Shalaby said,

April 11, 2009 @ 9:01 pm

Is it a strong car ? Is there automatic trans. and how much the cc ?

24. zulhelmi said,

April 17, 2009 @ 11:01 pm

Mr.Paul Tan,this is not a comment,just a question.I just want to ask some question about Tiggo T11 SUV 2.0.I just bought it about couples a week ago.My question is,is the Tiggo T11 SUV 2.0 have a 4WD system?Please give me an answer.That’s all about it.

25. Sudarmono said,

April 24, 2009 @ 10:20 pm

Cherry tiggo merupakan mobil masa depan yang representattif dengan harga yang terjangkau. Namun saya belum dapat menjangkau harganya. Sebagai dosen jelas tidak cukup gaji untuk mengharapkan dapat memiliki mobil tersebut

26. shakura said,

August 25, 2009 @ 1:54 pm

i think why no u all think about this brand…mybe it good n not…but dont simple tell that the brand is bad…i must go and check it at showroom.same to u all bro……just be agood malaysian

27. nahanud said,

September 8, 2009 @ 10:27 am

is the the parts to expensive.service after sale ar good and canbe trust.

28. newbuyer said,

September 14, 2009 @ 8:57 pm

alo malaysian…come on lar..itz only typical malaysian punye thinking. China is now very advance. Since it is a very big country, there are million of labours that need jobs. That’s why most of China products are cheap. Their cost of production are very low. Those who studied business and costing, i’m sure they know about this. If their products are not good enough, then why is it many countries in the world imported China cars? Every country has their own level of quality, they won’t simply export products without doing any testing on them. Come on lar, don’t simply say. GOD gives us two eyes, two ears.Listen from one side, don’t straightly believe it. Go, see and listen the explaination from those who already owned the car. Look at it wif your own eyes, test drive wif your own hands and legs, then only you know the answers. THINK Malaysian!

29. Kak Nur said,

November 21, 2009 @ 8:50 am

I don’t want to say either the best or the worst about this car, but for me, I like this car and I bought it last September 2009, manual type 1.6 in KK. If anyone want to see it, welcome.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

previous post: Nissan GT-R Spy Video
next post: MINI Clubman Teaser Site