Chery V5 Crossover (Chery B14) MPV

chery_crossover_1.jpg

The Chery B14 MPV be a nice competitor to the Naza Ria and Toyota Innova if it is priced below RM100,000. It’s also known as the Chery V5 Crossover. The MPV is a 7-seater powered by 2.0 petrol, 2.4 petrol or 1.9 turbodiesel engine options. I’m guessing the petrol engine options are the same as the Chery Tiggo’s and we’ll get the 2.0 litre unit. It was first unveiled as a concept vehicle at the 2004 Beijing Motor Show.

Alado Corp Sdn Bhd plans to assemble the Chery V5 Crossover locally at Oriental Assembler Sdn Bhd’s plant in Johor Baru in October 2006. This 7-seater MPV should be on sale in November 2006 if plans go smoothly.

chery_crossover_2.jpg

chery_crossover_interior.jpg

chery_b14_1.jpg

chery_b14_2.jpg

chery_b14_3.jpg

Chery Tiggo (Chery T11) coming to Malaysia
Chery QQ coming to town this month
Visionary Vehicles to bring Chery to USA

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cnc (Member) on Jul 02, 2006 at 1:14 pm

The rear side looks very much like Honda Stream.

• neurra (Member) on Jul 02, 2006 at 1:16 pm

looks like a bloody odyssey to me

• DrA (Member) on Jul 02, 2006 at 2:52 pm

Central console looks like Sorento's.

It had help from the Norfolk company for chasis tuning though.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 02, 2006 at 4:09 pm

hhmm…the profile like nissan presage to me..

• HMMaster (Member) on Jul 02, 2006 at 7:05 pm

the color of the interior is a bit….weird?

• acbc (Member) on Jul 02, 2006 at 8:00 pm

Wah! Budget 'bling-bling' mobile! :)

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 02, 2006 at 9:52 pm

how come thy get away with copy designs like that everytime china introduces a car??i cant believe it…n imagin the amount of stick and humour one gets wen seen driven in one of thse cars…he wil lose repects in a split second…

• engtaokia (Member) on Jul 02, 2006 at 10:14 pm

why got purple-yellowish two tone dashboard there?looks pelik pelik 1…macam kek lapis :p

• antaras (Member) on Jul 02, 2006 at 10:32 pm

It's the same as owning a proton wira. Since proton said that it's locally made… why lose respect when owning this car? Don't know bout the quality but from the images shown… I must say it's not bad…

• jiun_sayz (Member) on Jul 02, 2006 at 10:41 pm

Saab front lights + Wish side profile + Stream (or maybe Focus) rear + almost Audi front grille = whut's its name again?? oh yea… the Chery V5 Crossover.

Sheesh…

• xg9 (Member) on Jul 02, 2006 at 11:48 pm

VOLVO S40 + MG ROVER + NISSAN PRESAGE LOL

• acbc (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 5:34 am

Let's face it… it is very unique but what about the maintainace? We all know that Korean cars are dirt cheap but maintainance is f***ing expensive! Chinese-made cars could follow the same as their Korean counterpart.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 5:40 am

hahha…agree wit u xg9…the rear really looks like nissan presage…

• szw (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 6:09 am

donno how dey gonna survive .

da oni way maybe is through da price .

• kt71 (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 6:34 am

Hey, look closer at the logo. They even copied that from Toyota.

Person who own Chery car must be thick face enough.

• jzkzlz (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 6:56 am

interior & dash color weird to me..

like cheese cake..wit chocolate on top…

uargg…

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 7:38 am

I think its because china has weak copy right laws (maybe none) so they can copy away. BTW, that is the display model, I would like to see how the market model interior would be like

• Sharfox (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 6:00 pm

Dun wanna talk about the look so much coz it's normal la nowadays, copy there a bit copy here a bit. Normail what??… What to complain?… The real issue is the quality. Learning form NAZA Bestari, it's gonna be headache for the rest of the life.

• bolo (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 6:12 pm

nothing wrong with copying. the germans did it before ww1, the japs did it after ww2, the koreans are just coming out of it. I don't mind copied products at all, as long as it is good value for money. What good is a product of orignal design but gives you lousy value for money? I say bring on the copycats and flood the market with cheap cars! Let the buyers sort them out.

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 9:25 pm

Anyone cant afford to buy Volvo SUV, can buy this one.. but sure will get veeerry bad resale value… Datuk Cam Soh so desprate to penetrate our market with china's cars… Boleh ka??.. He thinks he can.. bcoz he have faith with our national's slogan.. Malaysia Boleh!!

ps: China's cars tak boleh, but taxboleh!!

• ekeretaDotCOM (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 9:36 pm

nice car…

• lembagatanah (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 9:38 pm

i got no problem with the look, because i concern more wit the quality, but china car has bad reputation on that respect. but good design for cherry (discounted away the copy cat thingy hehehe). should the price is right, i dont mind driving one

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 03, 2006 at 10:08 pm

At least its better looking than Innova… Innova just look kinda strange for me… even when the bodykit is up… btw, how's the safety for this B14? and the dashboard colour looks funny… but acceptable… maybe for some ppl…

• tkuan18 (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 2:57 am

As long as the price are right, safety are taking care off, why not. This is a beautiful car. Why no respect as long as you bought it with your hard earned money.

• tkuan18 (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 3:00 am

As long as the price are right, safety are taking care off, why not. This is a beautiful car. Why no respect as long as you bought it with your hard earned money. Anyway, after sales service is a concerned.

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 6:29 am

yup…

• mankrm (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 7:50 pm

Guys, for any manufacturer products, either cars, mpvs or suvs, which one would you recommend or would be a better model choice. Petrol 2.0 litre or 1.9 turbodiesel? I need to know before making a buy..

Thank you in advance

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 6:21 pm

Eeeuuuwww… *PUKE*

• antnagir (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 11:33 pm

A Chery is a Chery. Yeeeuch !!!!

• geminas (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 1:13 am

wah nice design

• xenith (Member) on Nov 01, 2006 at 8:42 pm

is it me or my eyes are fooling me?

are the front disc brakes actually BIG?

design boleh tahan….

• rocker_arm (Member) on Jan 24, 2007 at 7:21 am

I say it's a good mpv car…by the look of it…this segment of car market in M'sia is not fully tapped and most of Malaysian families would choose a mpv for next new car . If the quality can be level with proton then it is worth to buy .There are peoples like me who are still waiting patiently to make the right move. For an ideal mpv …a Malaysian one . An ideal mpv car in Malaysia market would be :

1st ….fair price , say RM60K to 80K .

2nd….. it's a mpv (8 persons) good seating arrangement, folding or whatever

3rd ….. 2 ltr fuel injection engine( can both operate either on petrol or LPG) vvti, timing chained, (near to free maintenance engine) . I can change the lube me self hehe..

4th double blower or each row seating with a/cond..

5th … ABS ,EBD, air bag …..no need coz have to cut cost.onces pop up so costly to 'set in' the air bag RM1K or more..depends..

6th ….5 yrs waranty

7th ..proton to be appointed a 3S (sales , service and supplier of part) and also the manufacturer of parts..

…….wow what a deal..as add on… whoever tread-in a any proton car and get a 30% disc. credit to the loyal citizen….again wow….what a deal of the century…

..For sure proton will definately make a lot of fortune..

p/s : still have faith in proton…me and my easy and cheap to maintain wira

• harrypotter (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 9:34 am

This car looks really nice, I would buy it if the price is reasonable.This car looks much better than proton cars.

kt71 said,

July 2, 2006 @ 10:34 pm

Hey, look closer at the logo. They even copied that from Toyota.

Person who own Chery car must be thick face enough.

Sorry I looked at it really carefully and I cannot spot any resemblance, it gotta be your eyes mate. Chery logo looks nothing like Toyota logo. I think your face must be really thick to make that accusation,

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 2:02 am

mystvearn said,

July 2, 2006 @ 11:38 pm

I think its because china has weak copy right laws (maybe none) so they can copy away. BTW, that is the display model, I would like to see how the market model interior would be like

———–

China have strong copy right law but they have strongest copy cat culture, even jet fighter also can copy with the help of Israel!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 2:04 am

harrypotter said,

June 29, 2007 @ 1:34 am

This car looks really nice, I would buy it if the price is reasonable.This car looks much better than proton cars.

————–

This is car is better looks than Proton? Which one, nearest is Juara. If this is the case, you are rights.

I am in the opinion the design is stylist and way better than Innova, but quality aspect???????

• raptorclans (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 3:48 am

dun insult the juara

• xstan (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 5:32 pm

Design passable for under budget car pricing category. The colour combination of the interior obviously odd..anyway, China is notably best COPIER in the world.U should also see its other made Cars,emblems, IT euipment, Electrical appliances & especially Dvds.

• lembagatanah (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 10:38 pm

xstan, i second that. china has copycat in almost every product

• en7yfl (Member) on Jul 05, 2007 at 3:16 am

Too expensive

• kobe15 (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 8:10 am

waa.. This is a beautiful car.i think this is nice MPV compared with new proton MPV, nissan livina besides the price is affordable as well.I cannot spot any resemblance at this car. the design is stylist.. isn’t it?
    i have fren who already own this car, from his experience, he said that the quality aspects of this car is good.

People, why no respect for those own this car, as long as they bought it with their hard earned money. there also nothing wrong with copying. the other car also did same way. as long as the design is stylist is orait :)

• tganu (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 7:11 pm

Saya baru tengok kereta ni tadi. Memang MPV ini agak menarik.
    Enjin 2.4L Mitsubishi. Harga RM 81K – 83K. Ruang kaki pada seat paling
    belakang selesa. Kalau unser kaki kena bengkok sikit.
    Saya setuju dgn harrypotter & kobe15.

• calvin new on Mar 10, 2009 at 5:47 pm

Ths is a wonderful MPV, come wth a powerful 2.4L Mitsubishi engine which produce 130 horsepower and 198Nm of torque, a 4-speed gearbox with manual shifting features, SRS airbags, ABS system, 4662mm long, 1820mm wide and 1590mm tall….& it is selling only RM79k-RM89k…..what u aspect? aspest from Proton?

i don't think Proton can give u ths kind of MPV in such a low price!! Proton Exora? Just compare the look & the interior….ths Chery Eastar is much more better, & bigger! I even can say tht it is better looking thn the Toyota Innova. Me myself driving a Proton & i am understand tht, Proton is suck!!! & the service is terrible…imagine u gonna wait for 24hrs jus to change the car oil…Proton memang Boleh!!

I saw ths Chery Eastar in The Curve few days ago, thy give me a very good price & i'm going to have a test drive ths afternoon!! If the performance is not bad thn the Proton, i'm very happy to have one!!

Proton, u really need to improve ur product & services to win back ur customer…if not, not only lose to Jap but China as well…& i'm one of them!

• peace collins on Mar 13, 2009 at 4:48 am

oops! this cherry v5 is my dream car.am from nigeria.please where can i buy my own.what is the name of the dealer in nigeria?

• david on Sep 23, 2009 at 7:21 am

chery my dream car, how can i get it in malaysia?any dealer in malaysia?

• allen on Oct 26, 2009 at 3:12 am

cntik ap interior design dye! nmpk quite exclusive gitu! awww!

• Capt.(R) Zainudin on Feb 19, 2010 at 7:24 pm

Yes, yes, yes my full vote for cherry mpv. Sincerely hope Government Malaysia can approve price below RM 70,000. Its about time we see some competitive prices!!

• Bkt Beruntung on Jul 24, 2010 at 6:49 pm

i dah baca semua komen pasal keta chery ni. I tak ada kompromi dengan sapa2 atau ada kepentingan dengan chery alado ni. I bukan pandai sangat nak komen panjang2 pasal apa2 jenis keta pun macam u all komen. Semua keta yang ada dimuka bumi ini sama saja. tak kiralah branded atau local made, semua ada kelebihan dan kelemahan, pasal buatan manusia la. itu faktanya. Pembuat dan pengeluar keta tahu apa misi dan visi mereka.
    Be professional & be matured to make some critics.
    Kita ada mata untuk melihat. Kita ada hati untuk menilai. Kita ada akal buat keputusan dan pilihan. Dan akhirnya kita ada wang untuk milki. Beli la chery. Sori saya dah booking…… ini koleksi keta saya yang keenam, hee..hee..hee……..

• ahmmmuzo on Jan 09, 2012 at 3:49 pm

So amacam Bukit Beruntung? lepas setahun pakai Chery Eastar ada apa2 masalah yg major tak? saya tgh memilih mpv ni. salah satu pilihan adalah chery eastar. tp enjin 2.0 la.