Proton to produce MPV and SUV with Chery

NOTICE: This news was posted back in 2006, but things could have changed now.

More news on the Proton-Chery partnership – Business Times reported today that Proton Holdings Bhd may produce an MPV and an SUV model together with Chery Automobiles Co Ltd, according to Chery distributor Alado’s executive chairman Tan Sri Cam Soh.

Previously Alado said it wanted to locally assemble the Chery Tiggo T11 SUV and the Chery V5 Crossover MPV here in Malaysia. So what Alado’s executives might have meant is Proton will assemble the Tiggo and V5 here in Malaysia for Chery, or Proton will come out with SUV and MPV models based on the Chery platforms. I think it’s more likely the former rather than the latter.

Chery Tiggo (Chery T11) coming to Malaysia
Chery V5 Crossover (Chery B14) MPV

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 3:55 pm

China's designed car got Engineering doubt, now plus Proton assembly got Production doubt = What kind of product will be come out? (Problem unknown product)

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 4:14 pm

Another "lip service" from P1/Alado!

• shaif (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 4:21 pm

I believe Proton only offer their Tg. Malim plant for assembling the Cherry as Proton have their own design for SUV and MPV.

• msmar_453 (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 4:21 pm

what's wrong with that?

Even Dodge have Accent with Hyundai!

• honda_driver (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 5:01 pm

i think it was pretty clear in the newspapers today. chery will be using protons plant to assemble their cars.. which is good, as it should help proton maximise the excess capacity at their plant now.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 5:16 pm

Let's all pray and wish good luck to Proton…. and hope that Proton & Chery can produce some quality and reliable cars.. Anyway, the Tiggo & V5 Crossover are look resemblance to RAV4 & Odessey.. typical Chinese cars.. copy and paste..

• msmar_453 (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 5:20 pm

REDDEVIL said,

September 28, 2006 @ 9:16 am

Let’s all pray and wish good luck to Proton…. and hope that Proton & Chery can produce some quality and reliable cars.. Anyway, the Tiggo & V5 Crossover are look resemblance to RAV4 & Odessey.. typical Chinese cars.. copy and paste.

Even Japanese still copy and paste

Why? Look at Lexus-at present model they copy Merc, now they copy BMW

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 5:41 pm

Waht with PGA??… now with chery??.. congrat la p1… keep la producing rojak cars… as long as p1 produce rojak cars, problems will always rise.. sure punya la.. bcoz u see, with rojak cars, eventhough u can control QC in assembly line, but they can QC each parts that comes in the factory.. that why sometimes we heard gear box broke down la.. & etc.. lepas tu tunggu months for spare parts… keep la produce rojak cars.. it won't work…

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 5:43 pm

but they can't QC each parts that comes in the factory..

sorry, typo error…

• drM (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 6:51 pm

hahahaha…scroll abit down and you'll see kereta mainan cherry and if P1 ever to continue with this Cherry alliance, then we'll gonna see a SUV mainan packed on our roads! ..move it from my sight!

• honda_driver (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 7:02 pm

yup, you're right motorhead, P1 produces "rojak" cars.. i think all their cars , waja, gen2, neo still use mitsubishi gearboxes. except for the savvy which uses a renault gearbox. So i suppose volkswagen must also be producing rojak cars.. since their DSG boxes are made by an american company. silly supercar makers like pagani zonda also love to "rojak", using mercedes engines rather than design and build their own. Whats wrong with all these people la?

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 7:19 pm

other people "rojak" sells good and tatse good, Proton rojak all rotten before being eaten, that is a big different. Because stupid Proton also want to sell rojak other people need to mark up their rojak so Proton rojak which is already bad before being sell can compete in the rojak market.proton rojak somemore not tasty, less condiments and very expensive.

come on la, other people make rojak to help all people in the world ta able to eat it but Proton….

Proton are for losers…so dont buy or you become one…

• malayman (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 7:53 pm

#

mycar_stolen said,

September 28, 2006 @ 11:19 am

other people “rojak” sells good and tatse good, Proton rojak all rotten before being eaten, that is a big different. Because stupid Proton also want to sell rojak other people need to mark up their rojak so Proton rojak which is already bad before being sell can compete in the rojak market.proton rojak somemore not tasty, less condiments and very expensive.

come on la, other people make rojak to help all people in the world ta able to eat it but Proton….

Proton are for losers…so dont buy or you become one…

————————————————

lolz!!! damn funny!! man u r a good joker….but unfortunately you dont make any sense…. as usual brainless proton bashing.. funny to read but dissapointingly stupid.

• engtaokia (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 8:25 pm

this become a hot rojak discussion liaw…hahaha

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 8:49 pm

Malayman.. u r actually the brainless malayman…just few week my frens complain about1 broke down waja's gearbox & this is not the 1st case i heard about the same story.. i tell me how on earth p1 can inspect & gurantee each gearbox r free from defect, when it all come in bulks?…

Unlike honda or toyota (for example).. each components r design & built for certain models or certain level of tech & keep improving their products.. yes to do sub to some to produce the parts, but each follow their own high specs & designs!.. mana ada toyota use mitsu's gear box??..

that is why u see.. buat kereta bukan senang punya… tangkap buat cincai memanglah boleh, but how to raise our brand identity & reliability??… nak partner boleh.. but partner 1 @ 2 cukuplah… ni dah brapa byk??… the rojak is very rojak oredi.. at the end p1 will lose its brand identity & terus mampos! it all about brand!! p1 must learn it from honda or toyota…

ps: Can u dig that brainless malayman??

• pw (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 8:52 pm

Well When u r in deep shit, you'll any what way to survive the shit…

P1 has extra capacity, then they lease out capacity nothing wrong with that..

Even if P1 does rojak cars, let the market decide. If the rojak taste good P1 survives loh if No good …. no need to lease out the plant … just sell it ….

Can bukus ..kakakka… Let all wait and see lah ….

• pw (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 8:53 pm

opps typo …. Bungkus …….. ta pau ….rojak ……

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 9:06 pm

This is the right version, the last one got typo error.. sori..

Malayman.. u r actually the brainless malayman…just few week my frens complain about 1 broke down waja’s gearbox & this is not the 1st case I heard about the same story.. you tell me how on earth p1 can inspect & gurantee each gearbox r free from defect, when it all come in bulks?…

Unlike honda or toyota (for example).. each components r design & built for certain models or certain level of technology.. yes, they do sub to some to produce the parts, but each follow their own high specs & designs!.. mana ada toyota use mitsu’s gear box??..

that is why u see.. buat kereta bukan senang punya… tangkap buat cincai memanglah boleh, but how to raise our brand identity & reliability??… nak partner boleh.. but partner 1 @ 2 cukuplah… ni dah brapa byk??… the rojak is very rojak oredi.. at the end p1 will lose its brand identity & terus mampos! it all about brand!! p1 must learn it from honda or toyota… car & brand is the key for auto success…

ps: Can u dig that brainless malayman??

• indigo (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 9:44 pm

Chinese cars are craps…don't ever buy one

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 9:45 pm

Proton – Perusahaan Rojak Otomotive National

• malayman (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 9:55 pm

excuse me….i have read on this blog about a brand new camry catching fire on the highway, have seen a merc 230e break down coz of broken suspension, a 730il break down coz of overheating and the overheating broke the gearbox,a jaguar that couldnt start..this is just to name a few. i play with cars and i play with continentals..but i still respect proton for what they are doing. you seem to talk so knowingly about cars..how many cars have you overhauled and fixed? what do you know about the inner workings of cars? i recently did an overhaul on my tiara carb and was surprised to know that it is the same type used in other continentals.. please dont talk about japanese cars to me…they dont get my respect. they get the same respect as they do my japanese manufactured fridge or washing machine.

and i have never read a comment intending on bashing anyone else then later read a correction with all the typo mistakes… please stop embarresing yourself and go hide in one corner before i find out who you are and laugh in your face….

have a nice day.

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 10:03 pm

I wud choose the classic kereta kerbau, with healthy kerbau or lembu instead of chinese cars… u know, if well trained these animals know its way home automaticly.. like auto drive some sort… and minus fuel.. can use up to 10 years…

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 10:08 pm

go ahead laugh la.. but rojak tetap rojak.. that is a fact, the fact that p1 can't keep develop new car on its own, the news is every where & almost every week!!.. same like your rojak tiara.. not worth even RM2k nowdays..

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 10:49 pm

malayman the non typo error brainless…

"..please stop embarresing.." embarrasing lah!!.. lu pun tak tahu malu… & I am laughing to know u own a discontinue product from p1.. & u can't selling it either & everybody knows how the maintenence cost is.. suit urself, embrace la ur beloved p1 & use p1 for the rest of ur life.. kahkahkah!!

• msmar_453 (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 11:03 pm

You rock malayman!!

I'm with you, man..

Let si Lucai terjun dgn labunya…

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 11:25 pm

msmar_453 said,

September 28, 2006 @ 3:03 pm

You rock malayman!!

I’m with you, man..

Let si Lucai terjun dgn labunya…

both of you la jump with your Proton.since you are so in love proton…live it the coffin on wheels

p/s if do other make also have problems like you said hah Malayman…but Proton is worst..it have 1001 of problems as standard accessories. do you get that? and if you do have you car service under warranty..all the mechanics wont try to correct all te problems at one time BECAUSE THEY KNOW THE CAR WILL COMEBACK WITH PROBLEMS.no need to repair everything.lastly "TIDAK APA" or "PROTON MEMANG MACAM NI BANG"

I never have expeienced with other make that have a "CULTURE OF PROBLEMS" like PROTON POWER WINDOW FAILURE.it is a culture for 22 years ++…

come on la Malayman..the Oldman Mahathir also admit that Proton is a fail project…and I say will close shop.just forget the PRM, or SUV/MPV PROTON is going down…

• òmn&Ati (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 11:26 pm

motorhead mate,

malayman has some gd points. if u think tiara is crap, out there they r some gainers who slap cheap 2nd hand tiara with some good citroën parts and it turn out as good as some other makes. some gainers, some losers and some whinners…

most car manufacturers share part during production. even some oz holdens r using toyota camry gear box. so nothing is wrong with proton using mitsubishi parts. it is the local supplier is at fault. most malaysian businessmen r damn sly as usual. make fast money only, none has corporate social responsibility and ethic.

abt ur said waja gearbox brokedown, hahaha… my kl company's toyota innova gearbox brokedown n fuel tank feed stucked too in a week after delivery. i have frens' ford n holden v8 brokedown too after 1 month after delivery. they r all just lemon. nothing is perfect. they can only minimise it.

cheers mate, i've seen each time proton news release bring tension n anxiety to all my countrymen. i hope u guys don kill each other like some shooting case in Columbine.

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 11:38 pm

òmnícp,

got a point or not.. but hes the one who used the word brainless 1st… things happen, problems occur, so we all raised the isu la…

abt the innova or even merc defects.. well,.. it is not toyota or merc who is so desprate looking for partners, they still can keep producing and sell new models very well… we heard abt p1 partners almost every week or days oredi… got it?

• penguin (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 12:10 am

peehhhhh……very panas la todaayyyy…anyway..jgn pasal P1 we all gaduh2…don't be like that…don't be soo emosional….reelaaxxx…..sometimes I think..you all cakap macam berapi pun memang tak guna..punya….

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 12:55 am

Seems proton is trying to create a united nations identity ler…

MOU with VW, MOU with Peugeot, MOU with Mitsubishi, MOU with Cherry…. wat else? aiyooh…….. stupid Proton….

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 12:58 am

AAAyyooo…people…people…calm down….!!!The heated arguement can be felt from Sarawak here…(adding heat to the present haze…)

Why dont we just let the P1 market determine its own course…Malaysian are not all very rich people laa…sometimes we "unfortunate" ones here have no choice but to buy P1 or P2..thats all our wallets can carry us to maaaa….

Hopefully the MPVs and SUVs from P1 will be made much-much-much cheaper from their foreign counterparts….

• offroader manix (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 1:11 am

I just cannot understand why our automobile in only interested in making money with inferior quality products rather than the public would buy.

Accident statistics in USA and Europe show low fatalities rate because cars are built with the highest quality and no doubt safety standard too are enhance. It is good to both passenger and drivers.

But in our country, we are getting inferior products made by our Proton and our M'sian goverment do not even bother………SAFETY is a factor which all concern.

What are they trying to do to all citizens in Malaysia ? Beats me.

• ilmondo (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 1:13 am

hope its oni proton assembling chery. and not rebadgin chery as proton. hmm.. sincerely its juz my opinion. really hope proton come out with real protons tat make rakyat proud!! juz think of a proton wit psa magic carpet suspension, safety, lotus handling, previous proton's reliability, vw quality, italian design, japanese efficiency,economy..n btw, psa hav really good diesel engines….rojak is not all bad i guez.. d power of mimpi.. but hope it comes true and make sure d price of a proton. giv us wat we want.. not wat u want us 2 hav.

show real malaysia boleh spirit.. malaysia boleh!!

• offroader manix (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 1:26 am

Don't hope, because the day will never come.

I got foreign friends who came from abroad and they criticised the quality and the looks of our National car.

Proton, Perodua and etc build such inferior cars and M'sian are forced to buy due the high taxes and putting everyone's life in danger. Sometimes when you comes across accident, it saddens me to see the car actually……in horific conditions and the whole family dies and this is the kind of quality we are getting here.

I hope Badawi will open the market even more and force our national manufacturer to comes in term of quality and safety standards like the Japanese car.

• szw (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 1:27 am

end of da world…

• andyyap (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 2:12 am

QQ , shit ! make in china ! please , proton , design the car by self , like Satria Neo , look so nice .

• Celicazz (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 3:56 am

I hope they just gonna use the platform and stop produce those copycats…

I hope…

Proton should retain its design cues…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 4:19 am

uuurrrrgggghhh…hancusla…

• mosss8299 (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 4:48 am

the chery tiggo, looks like CRV from the front & RAV4 form the back and mitsubishi engine inside? so wat should you call this kinda car? a hybrid?

no offence, but i really had bad encounter with chinese cars in the form of Naza sutera. the interior looked like it was glued together with corn starch.

• mosss8299 (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 5:02 am

i've just read malayman's postings, well..wat i could say is it all depends on how you regard a car should be. some regard a car as a tool to get from point A to B, just like a fridge to keep the food fresh, so it must be reliable as a traditional stove, just put it charcoal and off you go.

but then it's rather disheartening to see that the new waja has omitted the airbags so that proton can reduce to the price for it to be more competitive which i think is a rather irresponsible act. I've been to the showroom and requested abt fitting the airbags with extra charge, then, i was told that I have to "WAIT".

i'll leave that to yr imagination whether how long the "WAIT" will be.

IMHO, at the very least, the airbags should come as extra options. just a thought thou. and please don't talk abt how many engines have you/ i / other readers have overhauled to comment on proton. It's a consumer's right to complaint abt the breaking down of their cars just like it's perfectly fine when we complaint that the new fridge that we've bought is not cool enuf. i dun have to overhaul an X number of fridge to complaint that, do i?

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 5:40 am

Vios 1.5E, only RM40k, plus taxes, becomes RM76k.. got 1 airbagfree & VVTI, save fuel!!, well furnish!!…I paid more than RM25k for taxes.. RM40k, here u can get std savvy or gen2 1.3… no airbag!… our life is cheap!!.. now want to make china's cars?? go to hell la p1, & bring NAP together with u!!

• ali38hak (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 5:59 am

if proton produce the cherry modells for own mpv and suv, i say only one thing: NO MORE PROTON.. proton should produce his own plattforms and designs not the Honda c-rv copied cherry modell….

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 6:46 am

Totaly agreed with you motorhead!

Back to topic, this is the "inner information" on both side of this P1 and Alado/chery story: –

For Alado/Chery: Alado is newly set up privately own by Tan Sri Cam Soh for the purpose of import and distribute Chery car from China. BSA International is the listed company helming by him and the pricipal activitiy is making alloy wheel. They have factories at Rawang and Malacca. For the past 2 years the operation at Malaysia is scale down due to cost conderation (main cost is gas to make alloy wheel). At the same time, BSA take over Chinese alloy wheel maker at Fushun and currently most of the alloy wheel making biz is transfer to China due to lower labour and production cost (use coal).

Therefore, Alado secured rights for Chery cars importation and distribution venture is a "forward intergration" growth for Tan Sri Cam Soh to capture a slice of lucrative Bolehland car market under crappy NAP. However, initial effort to bring in Chery A160 hit a snag and stored at Port Klang due to AP issue. Therefore, the "logical" steps for Alado/Chery are to sign "MOU" – aka "marriage of convenience" with P1 is an attempt to overcome AP constraints as well as CKD unit to make it more competitive in term of pricing under crappy NAP.

It is neither Chery nor Alado intention to explore the possibility of export P1 car as CBU and/or assemble at Chery factory to be sold in China as it is well known fact that P1 car is not competitive in any part of the world outside Bolehland. For e.g, Savvy if to be competitive in China, perhaps this car has to be sold at around RM 15K vis-a-vis say Chery QQ starting from RM 9K ++!

For P1 – it is well known fact that they are desperate to acquired tehnology in an attempt to replace its aging range of product. In addition, there are "countless" announcement of "strategic partnership" which is also motivated by provide the "lip service" to please shareholder (G) and the public (share market confident) as try to portray such "adventure" will bring rosy potential future earning to shore up it falling share price.

With its "xenophobia" mentality, P1 won't receptive to any venture with foreigner that result in lost control of its share holding in the company. But to expect foreigner to give P1 latest tech but maintain current sturcture is "mission impossible"……….

Therefore, in the real sense, there will be no genuine partnership will take place between Chery/P1, except "marriage of convenience" – Alado/Chery want to use Tg Malim excess capacity to CKD Chery car to overcome AP restriction and pricing constraint for car under CBU unit. On the other side, it is fairly to say there would be NO potential for P1 to joint produce or rebadge Chery car or vice-versa simply because Chery forms a strategic partnership with Visionary Vehicles of the U.S.A. for more info click http://www.cheryglobal.com/Brief%20History.htm .

See how Chery grow since its inception in 1997. Just 10 years time frame, they learn thing fast and the following are part of their accomplishment: –

1. 2002 – Chery becomes the first Chinese automaker to be awarded with ISO/TS 16949 by TUV, Germany

2. 2004 – Chery production reaches 200,000 Units.

• offroader manix (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 6:46 am

I kinda of agree with motorhead……the issue of a simple airbag which is a necessity for a head on crash becomes an option.

Who is making all the $$$ ? A simple air bag feature and a $ 40K car doesn't even have one ? USA and European and even Japan makes it compulsory to have one not because it is cool nor anything; IT SAVES A LIFE AND IT IS ALL IT MATTERS.

Like he said " OUR LIFE IS CHEAP IN MALAYSIA " and I agree 100%

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 6:59 am

Yes you are correct offroader, P1 make high-high price, low-low quality yet very unsafe car that make consumers life "CHEAPEST" on the road. In many accidents resulting in death and involving P1 cars – it is no different from chicken run over by the car on the road………

• vague (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 7:02 am

aiya…. what can proton do??? they have to take care of their p**d*k political linked vendors…… aite? But then again… i also heard bout abuse those purchasers have done.. quality tak bagus tak pa… janji ada$$$ masyuk gua punya poket..ok?? chantek!

• offroader manix (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 7:15 am

LOL

With the current economic situation in M'sia ? Looks like those guys involved will never pull thru.

Construction already 100 % crash head on with no air bag. Looks like it's the same with them.

Maybe we get a dbl stage dual airbag in the near future ! :)

• ilmondo (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 7:41 am

i wonder ppl from proton read dis blog or not.. d comments really bakar semangat!! dont tell me p1 doesnt know wat we need. maybe they r already efforts made, but d prob is its already 2006. globalization is near. its not tat we dont support p1. we do!! n b4 our support vanish slowly, please giv us n show us d reason 2 support.

proton makes wonders.. b4. remember satria gti n perdana v6? magic done on 2 'seasoned' cars. i wonder wil d magic come back or not. i mean.. tatz wat we expect. a product at least better than d one before. we need 2 move forward(even transmission says more forward gears than reverse).

peace. i'm stil a supporter of proton.

• mosss8299 (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 7:42 am

well, as a lot of the pple here has pointed out, airbag is essential. I reckon it's not a hard thing for proton to do at all. It's just that they've put 75% of their effort on making the car fram hard & sturdy (savvy) or the lotus tuned handling.

i'm not sure abt u guys, but i'm amused everytime i see a 60yr old uncle driving the new sage with "sport" exhaust. i understand tat's the cheapest model of the range thus proton is aiming at youngsters, but wat abt the poor pple like me when i'm old? Gen2? SAVVY? Satria Neo? all these cars are aiming at the same pple too leaving the waja & the aging perdana & wira to fight with other cars? I really wonder who came out with that kind of marketing strategy.

conclusion? proton is too obssed with producing lotus developed this & that and the outcome is most of the parts in the car are afterthoughts. (eg the coin holder that doesn't hold coins on the waja dashboard, nudging the aircon controller everytime i shift into 3rd on a satria neo)

just one thing tat i'd like to mention. dun think maintenance of proton cars are cheap thou…i've read somewhere that a spark park for perdana will set you back for RM96 and the V6 needs 6 of them! hooray!!

• mosss8299 (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 7:43 am

oh, & i missed out something, fitting the airbag on the cars are way cheaper than pounding the test tracks round & round just to "fine tune" the handling

• offroader manix (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 9:54 am

End of the day, P cars only need to get the airbags sorted at least it is another marketable safety aspect.

Being a national car…….it suppose to serve it's citizen well…..and not endangering the life of those in it.

Those lotus things is to tell people how well the car in terms of handling when the car goes flat out; the air bags already missing……the brakes ?…..it is horrible.

Everyone knows how to go fast but what about the stopping in time and the shortest distance ?

I don't know what is the thing with LOTUS ? But is doesn't appeal me at all, it suppose to be foreign where safety is primary.

Proton and the rest already have so many issues in it regarding safety. And now Chery pulak…….must our citizen pays for someone's luxury and success.

• kinwawa (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 4:56 pm

The issue about airbag……err…..personally……..i'm not sure whether the airbag fitted by Proton will work or not during crashes……so….it's better for me to assume that they do not have airbag and to drive safely……….

• Khairy bin Tengku Ma (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 9:45 pm

The upcoming revolutionary Proton engine: Campro 2 Sawit Editiion. I feel so sorry for P1. P1 is operating at the expense of the Malaysians. I am sad. Social Mobility is too low, thus, still maintained as the automobile outcast (Dalit, Pariah). I am sorry…..

• Khairy bin Tengku Ma (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 9:51 pm

They may change the Lotus Technology to Teknologi Bunga Raya. Tuned with Bunga Raya Handling. Coupled with Campro Sawit, Tayar Getah Tamiya, Rim bling bling, gear stick tongkat, Air Con khatulistiwa, Kerusi Sport Cengal, Spotlight MAta Kerbau, paip ekzos tahi kucing, suspension kekenyalan rotan dan sebagainya. Kesimpulannya, it's a world's first green car.

• shaif (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 11:15 pm

Proton install airbags, EBD and ABS in some of it highline model and of course the imported model to develop country such as UK, OZ which make the safety equipment a compulsory in a car.

But sadly our country still not taking any action to make the airbag compulsory equipment for any car especially national car. So this coming festive season, just like other years, driver are prone to head injury during accident. So it make our country less develop and at par as third world country. Bravo…Malaysia Boleh.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 11:32 pm

With so so ……. anouncements, do this and do that ……… all is merely lip service. How much it will help to shore up P1 share price ….. ?

• offroader manix (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 11:45 pm

well I don't agree with you kinwawa…..drive safely ? Accident are cause by either one or both parties. You can drive safely but if got one guy who drive like a man in possessed…It's maybe and fate.

So to have it, and it doesn't open, the public can sue. To have it, it is better than not at all.

Public awareness is a concern and it is time we all know the safety which not only us but our families too.

Since Raya coming, drive carefully.

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 1:11 am

We can all drive carefully but how safe are we on the road when we are driving a car with a very low safety feature. With ABS and EBD, during emergency we might avoid colision by being driving carefully. Without those active safety feature in iswara,wira, kancil, kelisa, etc, during emergency…. what chance do those poor driver have?

safety feature is for a purpose.. to prevent accidents and to save life. just like helmets. Y must we wear it on motocycles? Cars like proton do not encourage safety feature so far in Malaysia, this show how irresponsible they are. is this what we want as our national car?

• Centralman81 (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 1:35 am

We often heard people says:

Stupid Proton, Brainless Proton, Useless Proton, Cheap Proton….etc..

There are also people saying "Proton lama-lama apa-apa pun bunyi, satu tak bunyi, radio tak bunyi!".

Why do Malaysian always complaint about Proton? I think this has been a fact that Proton is not gaining a good name as Perodua does. I have never heard Stupid perodua. At least for me.

Kelisa, Kenari, Myvi in-fact is a good car :)

Of cause i believe even if the luxury car like Merz will sometimes have problems, but let me show you the fact.

Merz : 1/1000 car got problems

Perodua : 1/100 car got problems

Proton : 1/10 car got problems

The fact that Proton are getting a lot more problems can be tastified by a lot of Proton user. Why? If you ask me i do not know. Maybe people in Proton are a bunch of lazy yet only know how to eat n sleep?

Or maybe they dont care of the quality. Shit! Why should the damn PROTON care since it is so CHEAP??? Maybe they think like that~~

Well anyway, for me i prefer Perodua, and please dont ever let me know the stupid cherry the derry…since proton is so lack in quality i will not expect cherry in good quality

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 1:41 am

What P1 now doing are: –

1. Treat local auto market as captive consumer under NAP.

2. Give minimum safety (or rather lack of it), low quality, highly price yet put life very "cheap" on the road.

3. No innovation, lack of R&D and other resources to come out with truthfully latest design with most advance tech features including safety aspect.

4. P1 and NAP always and need to "co-exist" in order to "justify" their "relevant" to Bolehland auto market. P1 need NAP for "protection" and NAP need to be in place to "protect" P1 – in the end create big and fat crocs, AP king, cronies, sucking vendors (e.g. power window, absorber, bumper, etc). All this was done totally and absolutely at consumers/tax payers cost – in the name of "patriotic".

5. Can't achieve economy of scale, can compete in open market.

Talk about drive carefully, this is the most important as JPJ statistic shown that around 92% of accidents were caused by "human error", approx 6% is mechanical fault and the rest (2%) is a "true accident" (after take into consideration factors like drive carefully, good road and car condition).

However, minimum safety features (or lack of it) will definitely increase the intensity of injury/fatality given the same impact level. Safety features like airbag, EBD, ABS, better built body shell (better NCAP rating), etc, etc, will reduce or protect the driver/passenger(s) and reduce/minimize the injury.

Drive safely is the message not only during festive season (balik kampong) but have to be practice it all the time on the road. We have a duty of care toward other when driving on the road. Unfortunately, P1 is a bad corporate citizen that do not carry out its social responsibility as expected! Long life the rakyat but go to hell P1 if still churn out dangerous cars yet forced us to buy under NAP.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 1:49 am

Centralman81 said,

Merz : 1/1000 car got problems

Perodua : 1/100 car got problems

Proton : 1/10 car got problems

————————-

Wah you are so "generous" and give a lot of face to P1 lah. For me, I am more agree with mycar_stolen comment something like P1 – "1 car but 1001 problems as standard features".

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 2:10 am

I feel sorry for the tiara, juara and a few unfamous models of P1. These are all junks produce to rip you guys off. They should do proper marketing survey.

How many Tiaras or Juaras you see on the road?

Haiya. end story.

Sorry if I offended anyone.

Have a nice weekend.

• Whopper (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 3:41 am

Wah so many comments about Proton. Hey Paul, ain't it about time you created a forum dedicated to Proton eh ?

1st it was possible JV with VW

2nd it was LOI between PSA

3rd it is Chery.

4th ? BWM and Proton ?

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 4:50 am

I'm going to enjoy myself reading all these…heh heh heh….

• chenyl (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 7:25 am

i think is unfair to says that proton is a bad car. many car companies in the world to recall cars like toyota but no one say that they are bad but when proton produce 1 car even in their prototype stage everyone is talking bad about the car…… so is actually what we think in our mind. yes i do agree that proton produce car with poor QC but that is the past wat we hav to say is now current not during 1990s….. we are in 2006 but wat we think about proton is proton 1990s so it is unfair to say proton is a bad car plus how old is proton….. well only 20 unlike honda, benz, vw…. this company are more than 50yrs for Perodua…… well they do not hav to worry about their engine cause they dun make engine so they can void the stage of making an engine and monitor it plus Perodua do not even make their own car they only change the brand of the car like Myvi and more…..

please think if wat i post

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 8:18 am

chenyl, you ask other Bolehlander to think your point of view………. go and tell the whole world and promote P1 oversea, see what response you get from them. If you have the capaity and capability, try to put your point to Jeremy Clarkson and see how his response………????????????????!@#$%^&*()

If your argument is valid, then can ask G dismantle NAP and P1 have to plan at least export 1 million car against currently around 13K unit annually? Can P1 do it and can you talk "cock" to the world, don't bullshit in this blog and treat Malaysian consumers at large as have limited info on auto industry and/or know nothing!…….

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 8:33 am

chenyl said,"i think is unfair to says that proton is a bad car. many car companies in the world to recall cars like toyota but no one say that they are bad but when proton produce 1 car even in their prototype stage everyone is talking bad about the car…… "

Joe Ooi – Off course GM, Ford, Toyota, etc, etc, previously in one way or another recall their faulty cars to remedy and make good to ensure their reputation and safety of the car owner come first. But for P1, with its notorious faulty power window for the past 20 years ++, do they recall any of the car to replace it. The worst is they still continue fixing new car but old model with these faulty power window and other substandard component as a "1 car but 1001 problems as standard features".

Look like your statement is very ignorant or "dumb" as far as "prototype" is concerned. Which model(s) of Proton car is entirely develop from "prototype" – that is entirely new and develop on it own which may include but not limited to new chassis, new engine, new design, new handling, etc, etc, etc. Talk about Saga, Wira, Perdana, Juara, Tiara, Arena, the answer is big no – rebadge from Mits. Savvy, errrrrrr – engine got from outdated Clio (latest in the Euro market is Clio II), Satria Neo, errrr claim to be new chassis but many included Protonian whistle blower also said it is Satira chassis (both have same lenght). Now with all kind of this-and-that LOI, MOU with PSA, Mits, Chery, etc, etc, etc, where to get "prototype" other than rebadge?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 8:48 am

chenyl said, "Perodua…… well they do not hav to worry about their engine cause they dun make engine so they can void the stage of making an engine and monitor it plus Perodua do not even make their own car they only change the brand of the car like Myvi and more….."

OK now we compare Savvy vs MyVi. Both also use outdated Clio and latest tech Daihatsu engine respectively…………

Your statement intone that Perodua seem have to worry about "poor quality" or the like as what P1 is facing now. Let us go straight to the fact that MyVi vs Savvy in term of sales is 6 MyVi to 1 Savvy and the ratio keep increasing in favour of Perodua. The REAL worry as feedback from Perodua Bkt Beruntung plant is the workers are overwork including OT in order to meet the customer order and reduce the waiting time. For Savvy REAL worry is the sale figures is dismay and you can get Savvy as fast as car loan is approved (i.e. 48 hours), or instantly if you buy cash! Yet there are 2005 stock out there to be clear!

Enough and many time repeat about this lol ……………… and ahem ……….. put P1 to sleep so that more car consumers have a good sleep not thinking and beset by P1 bad quality.

• offroader manix (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 8:54 am

Chenyl, A fair comment:- PROTON IS OUR CARS. It is suppose to built for our citizens.

LOW Quality, Bad car and No safety feature in our national car.

Who is losing ? WE and all of us. MALAYSIAN CITIZEN.

ASKING OUR NATIONAL CAR MANUFACTURER TO INPUT A AIRBAG OR TWO WOULDN'T BE TOO MUCH TO ASK ? AREN'T WE ?

WE WORK SO HARD AND OUR CARS ARE NOT CHEAP HERE, DUE TO THE FACT WE HAVE NO CHOICE BUT TO BUY THEM.

OUR HARD EARNED MONEY DO DESERVE SOME QUALITY PRODUCTS, DON'T WE ?

:(

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 8:59 am

chenyl said, "….. we are in 2006 but wat we think about proton is proton 1990s so it is unfair to say proton is a bad car plus how old is proton….."

————————–

To think P1 still like in 1990s already give face lol ……. The damn old lady "Saga" is as old as P1 existence. It is still valid if I see P1 even like in the 1980s. So it is "fair" to say 1985 Saga old model produce in 2006 is a good car? Ask any and many consumers, the general consesus is clear – new car but old model, unsafe yet put Bolehlander life "cheap" on the road. Maybe you mentioned think P1 in 1990s is refer to "venerable" Wira and "flagship" Perdana! …….. How old is P1, 20 years ++++ , still grapple with quality problems and most "untrusted brand".

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 2:51 pm

Actually, I don't care what p1 wants to do so long that nap abolished and no more @#$%^& high tax on non-local cars. Just let us have a choice!!!

p1 and its by-product, i.e. nap, are destroying the economy value of this country. We, who suffer most.

I am baffled why there are still so many die-hard p1 supporters even after so we had presented our solid reasons here in various forums endless times.

sigh….

• pendek (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 5:13 pm

does P1 still won't allow P2 to produce a bigger CC'ed vehicle than them?

uh!

if P1 want to assemble MPV SUV blahblah blah let them be, lantak lah

i prefer to wait for the P2 5 seater MPV

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 5:29 pm

To all p1 supporters….

Go & visit toyota or honda showrooms, see the latest models, see their features then ask for a test drive (if u canlah).. after that, ask the sales person what r their selling prices before all the god damn taxes (ED tax & sales tax).. then compare the price with ur worthless rojak p1 cars & their features..

The point is, don't say we don't have any point or BRAINLESS when we criticize or bash p1.. bcoz u r the one who r blind and have no brain at all!!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 5:48 pm

Agreed with Motorhead, the most P1 can produce is rojak by world standard. And in my opinion for P1/Alado/Chery partnership it is "empty arrangement" for P1 to produce new car, at most talk coc in the market to boost share price…………………………

• SamGan (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 6:24 pm

Despite being called a national car company, Proton has never view itself as having any social responsibility to provide affordable and safe cars to Malaysians. It's primary purpose for existence is to make as much money as possible.

In fact, rich consumers in first world countries have benefited more from proton than Malaysians.

Although it is more than obvious, many die-hard supporters still think it is patriotic to support proton because it is a national asset.. All have been deluded by the underserving "national" tag.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 6:27 pm

p1 deserves bashing…what they produce are rojak with rotten ingredients but wanna sell at sharp fin soup cum abalone price…WTF.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 6:36 pm

I wonder if wasting economy resources and destroying economic value deemed as patriotic. What is "pride" if it can't even compete domestically without protections…"pride"? My blood boils everytime I read comments in favour of p1 backed by lame excuses.

No need to go to the showroom, just log on to their website to see the selling price in lanjauwi and penis-suila, find out for yrself!!!

I need a good car but couldn't afford one.

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 7:39 pm

Just imagine, with more than RM25k taxes I paid for my vios E (selling price only around RM40k), the japs can equip all seat with airbags, ABS etc in the car… The gov is responsible for high death in car accidents in the country.. they r so greedy! never think of human life! pikir wang & how to protect their bisnes saja! (khazanah owns share in proton), plus, the MPs can get special AP for import car (without the silly taxes).. what kinda of gov is this??.. our democracy turns rotten!!!

ps:…make me sick, very sick!!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 8:42 pm

Motorhead, at RM 25K taxes, for poor hardcore, they may get low cost terrace house! NAP really rip us off anywhere and anyway they can………. Sage launch in 1985, low cost 3 rooms terrace house built by G is RM 25K, But today it is raise to RM 32K only. For Toyota Corrola, it was sold around RM16K in 1985 but today it is selling at more than RM 100K?

ps:… I am equally sick on all this crappy and shitty NAP/P1…………..

• SamGan (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 12:49 am

Malaysians pay the highest car prices in the world. Let's not have any illusion about protecting a so-called national car. It's to protect the wealth of the Umno-putras and cronies who find concept of a "national car" extremely advantegeous.

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 4:35 am

Haiya, what to do. Just sit back and see loh… We put these people up there the very first place.

Time will prove their statergies are wrong loh.

• Khairy bin Tengku Mahaleel (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 12:45 pm

Our automotive industry needs “reformasi”! I will never buy an outcast even if I can’t afford the better one. Let’s not support the outcast. P1 business model is fishy. Sounds like Ponzi or Pyramid Scheme. NAP = NEP!!!!! Singaporean say it is LPPL means (Lan Pa Pa Lan). Be it NAP or NEP, that’s only benefits the Umnoputras and not us!!!! This is not a democratic country at all. The gonverment has no rights to condemn Myanmar’s junta administration. Mind your own business! We are all suffering here!!! You cakap beli proton boleh hentikan aliran wang ke negara asing, itu tidak benar sama sekali. You beli komponen2 kereta secara besar-besaran dari Jepun, adakah ini bermakna aliran wang ke Jepun? Masyarakat Glokal yang diseru kamu, P1 tak glokal, lopung (local + kampung) kononnya. P1 loya buruk, P1 joget lambang!!!! Logo tahi kucing. Merana kita dibuatnya. Kami mahukan referendum, tanya rakayat sama ada harus diteruskan NAP atau tidak!!!!

• Khairy bin Tengku Ma (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 8:45 pm

Our automotive industry needs "reformasi"! I will never buy an outcast even if I can't afford the better one. Let's not support the outcast. P1 business model is fishy. Sounds like Ponzi or Pyramid Scheme. NAP = NEP!!!!! Singaporean say it is LPPL means (Lan Pa Pa Lan). Be it NAP or NEP, that's only benefits the Umnoputras and not us!!!! This is not a democratic country at all. The gonverment has no rights to condemn Myanmar's junta administration. Mind your own business! We are all suffering here!!! You cakap beli proton boleh hentikan aliran wang ke negara asing, itu tidak benar sama sekali. You beli komponen2 kereta secara besar-besaran dari Jepun, adakah ini bermakna aliran wang ke Jepun? Masyarakat Glokal yang diseru kamu, P1 tak glokal, lopung (local + kampung) kononnya. P1 loya buruk, P1 joget lambang!!!! Logo tahi kucing. Merana kita dibuatnya. Kami mahukan referendum, tanya rakayat sama ada harus diteruskan NAP atau tidak!!!!

• Khairy bin Tengku Ma (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 9:09 pm

Untuk setiap kereta bukan Proton yang kita beli, ia adalah bersamaan dengan sebuah kereta bukan Proton bersama dan kereta Proton. Ringkasnya, harga sebuah Honda City = (Honda City + Proton Savvy). Oleh yang demikian, setiap pembeli kereta bukan proton harus membayar ufti sebanyak sebuah Proton Savvy kepada Tuan Proton. You know, big time gangster, menindas rakyat. Jangan hairan, Proton pun boleh untung tanpa menjual sebuah kereta pun secara tidak langsung. Kalau yang dieksport tu, qualitinya lebih baik yang dijual kepada rakyat sendiri. Itulah double standard. Janganlah disembunyikan dosa kamu, proton. Ingat tu, padang jarak, padang terkukur!

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 6:46 am

Yeah right mr khairy tengku mahaleel… we r equal junta myanmar.. we rich with resources but ppl live like other 3rd world countries…ppl still makan ulat & siput!!!.. about cars, we r worse than some 3rd world african countries… indon election even better than us… even in afganistan's election ppl use finger prints. here, dead ppl oso can vote!

• oranglulu (Member) on Oct 03, 2006 at 8:23 am

talking about TIARA,uncle notice there are a lot of this cars being abandon in roadside,parking lot,workshop,and for those still on the road,their condition are all in very very sorry stage!you know how must a usecar quote uncle's friend TIARA just sell only! dun want! trade in for a cheap car,you tiara worth 500 ringgits!!!honda ex5 got higher trade in value lah,same year make!

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 03, 2006 at 5:31 pm

Uncle, now RM500 oni ka?.. really??.. malayman, r u reading this??… how much u bought ur tiara in the 1st place??.. hahahaha.. (I am still laughing) can't wait to see poton start to produce rojak car with china's!!

ps:Our auto industry is a big joke! but this joke eat my heart out!! (NAP).. someday the gov will pay for this mess…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 5:18 am

Malayman, got Tiara still want to "aksi" know this and know that to overhaul car. Me last time got Iswara felt very-very shame and no face lol, after 7 years, come with all kind of sound but radio no sound. My Honda EX 5 last time bought RM 3,400 after 4 1/2 year still can sold RM 2,300. What a pathetic Tiara car. If open market, any P1 cars more than 3 years., maybe selling price are: –

1. Perdana RM 25K

2. Waja RM 15K

3. Gen-2 RM 10K

4. Satria Neo RM 8K

5. Savvy RM 5K

6. Tiara give "ang pau" RM 500 if you take away from the owner.

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 7:36 am

hahaha… I guess the overhaul cost wud be more than the value of the car itself… hahahah… dah terror sgt, better go & overhaul ex5 la.. hahahha… RM500??.. no thx… better hanging out with my china dolls.. wuagrhahahah…. overhaul proton cars so good meh??.. only craps need overhaul!! hahahaha..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 8:26 am

malayman said, " i play with cars and i play with continentals..but i still respect proton for what they are doing. you seem to talk so knowingly about cars..how many cars have you overhauled and fixed? what do you know about the inner workings of cars? i recently did an overhaul on my tiara carb and was surprised to know that it is the same type used in other continentals.."

Joe Ooi – Overhaul crap Tiara car want to make "noise" in Paul Tan blog, ha, ha, ha, ha, ……… some more surprise to know that it is the same typed use in other continental ………. !!!!!!!!! What a crappy statement, yes it is continental, but which year technology? It is definitely outdated technology from Citroen just like as old as Saga/Iswara from Mits. Below is the fact on Tiara: –

Proton Tiara – Most ostracized Proton product as it was procured and makes minor modification from outdated French’s Citroen compact car. Proton re-badged this model that was adapted from the Citroen AX, a small hatchback model launched in 1987 and ceased production in 1997. This mean the Tiara, which is based on Citroen AX model already past it shelf life long time ago. Tiara was an absolute product introduced in the 1990s into Malaysian road but received cold responds from motorists.

So someone out there bought this metal junk but still respect the rojak producer yet "surprise" it is the same type used in other continental! Really pity there are at least someone with soooooooo "poor" (in info) about the tech of the car ……. really pity that our Bolehland auto industry not only have poor quality producer, but also have "poor soul" user…….

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 5:24 pm

Wah Joe, u know so much about tiara??… I can't forget the location of its hon!! hahaha… but is ok malayman.. good oso.. u can save on the comprehensive insurance.. insurance la for RM500!!.. hahahaha..

” i play with cars and i play with continentals..but i still respect proton for what they are doing…" huyoo.. I oso play, but play with die cast models from toy shop… hahahaha… I oso respect what they r doing… doing rojak cars and rebadge models that goin out soon… hahahaha

• figure on May 01, 2010 at 7:11 pm

salam…sory i just join for education…for me what type vehicle u all use is same the differrent may be cost n price..if more cheaper the vehicle so more lower quality…if xpensive so high qulity…n depent on the driver too. i mean how u take care n maintain if always maintain so the condition should be ok too …if try to modification its can be worst ..my complain to proton is your price is x pensive i think coz u make the vehicle in malaysia n u sell in malaysia too why the price is pretty same with import vehicle…