Toyota Vios pre-launch campaign

Toyota Vios campaign

[ LATEST UPDATE: Click here to find out more details on the Toyota Vios that will be available here in Malaysia, straight from the Malaysian press preview launch! ]

Toyota definitely seems to be intent on making sure all of us know the new Toyota Vios is on it’s way to showrooms. If you check out the Toyota Vios teaser page this week, you should have noticed a link to a new microsite: My Design, My Pride.

Think of it as a way to let you see if an airbrush artist specialising in the Toyota Vios could be one of your possible career paths. You are free to use your own imagination and create your own design on a virtual blank outline of the Toyota Vios. Its mostly modifying the car’s paintjob to your liking, not more advanced stuff like bumper modification and adding spoilers and etc. Once you’re done, you can submit it and you can also download your design as a wallpaper. Then you can proceed to do more designs or vote on other people’s submitted designs.

The top 3 designs will win a Panasonic DVD camcorder each, and will be featured in ads taken up in local newspapers, so it’s a shot for you to get the whole nation to look at your designs. Art students: this should be a good chance to add to your portfolio. I’ll be sending in some of my own “attempts” at a design as well, we can share our creations in the Photoshop and Design section of the forum later perhaps?

The Vios outsells all of it’s same segment competitors here, so despite divided public opinion there is much reason for Toyota to be very proud of their B-segment compact sedan. In general, Toyota Vios (and Honda City) owners seem to be quite proud of their cars. For many, it is their first non-national car; a graduation from local makes and finally a step into the world of imports, even though now imported has taken a different meaning and the car comes into Malaysia as a CKD pack.

There are so many Toyota Vios owners who have customised their rides in so many ways – different wheels, different grilles, some with turbokits perhaps? One way of looking at it is that these are each individual owner’s own personal designs. It’s really built into all of us – why else are we so excited whenever Theophilus Chin or Chaku cooks up an artist impression of a newly launched car? I usually just keep it to personalised alloy wheels though.

My guess is that Toyota is trying to connect with that part of us through this whole My Design, My Pride campaign. A very subjective and emotional thing, but refreshing in the world of launch advertising where others usually just harp on features and/or price.

Toyota Vios truck

There is also something else that reader Ben has sent in: some trucks have been going around the Damansara Heights area carrying white Toyota Vios models. They’ve also been spotted in Kepong and Sri Hartamas. Another reader Richard has spotted them and uploaded some photos here.

Some kind of teaser campaign leading up to the launch (tentatively 4th or 5th of October?). There’s really nothing hidden – it’s obviously the new Vios, just that it’s not a real car, just a white fibreglass model of sorts. It should give you an idea of how the Vios looks like in metal (albeit being an albino version), instead of just photos.

Let’s wait and see what happens the end of next week.

More photos after the jump.

New Toyota Vios line-up teaser with features and prices
Toyota Vios launch on 4/5 October 2007?
New Toyota Vios launched in Thailand
Toyota Belta on test in Thailand as Toyota Vios
UMW Toyota plans to price new baseline Toyota Vios at under RM70,000
2006 Toyota Belta (JDM name for Toyota Vios)
Toyota Human Touch advertisement featuring Toyota Belta/Vios

Toyota Vios truck

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• rashni (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 5:00 pm

The toyota vios, is a damn good car. I just got 1 in jakarta (the newest version of it). Its amazing and its not such a steep price for a wonderful car. Its nice to drve and has a trendy new interior.

• Max88 (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 5:02 pm

All-new Vios…Proton’s worst nightmare.

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 5:10 pm

cara advertise die cam nk tiru persona je..letak dlam box pastu pusing2 atas jaln…dieorg ni x d idea lain ke aa???

• drgn86 (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 5:11 pm

not really all new la, engine and transmission still the same, i hope prices are not going to be too steep………

• kinwawa (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 5:13 pm

shd b xpensive again based on the estimated price…..

• drgn86 (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 5:13 pm

u think proton is very creative? bmw x6 copy gen 2 and vios ads copy persona’s?
    well, i think creativity isn’t enough, they got to have integrity in their cars too……

• ah liew (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 5:16 pm

What a good car & a good way to advertise!

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 5:25 pm

honda city is much better than this viosgong..

• eezarm (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 5:26 pm

hmm…
    need to have a gook look at it…

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 5:26 pm

Good car?! Wow…I;m speechless. I guess people that used to crap are happy to get shit. Nuff said.

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 5:35 pm

Max88 said,
    September 28, 2007 @ 5:02 pm

All-new Vios…Proton’s worst nightmare.

Think so? Its the opposite man…it has been everybodys’ dream and nighmare since it was born.

• wheregotcar (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 5:37 pm

booOOOOOOOoooooooriiiiinggg…

saw em’ back in bandung n phuket..
    old news olredi.. those ppl there use it as taxis!

• ab (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 5:50 pm

who cares? wake me up when they launch a TRD vios or something like that!

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 6:30 pm

waja handling is much better than current vios…

• avanza (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 6:34 pm

I’ve driven both City and Vios for quite an extended period.
    Verdict: Vios is much better than the City in handling. The City’s short wheelbase and narrow tracks coupled with tall body make it very wobbly when switching lane at speed. Also at speeds above 120kmh, the City is scary!

But you know what, my Wira handles better than both of them! Throw these cars into a tight and fast corner, the Wira turned out best at pulling away from the corner. The City felt like tipping over while the Vios felt wobbly. The Wira actually has a better suspension setup at the rear, multi-link versus torsion-beam of both the City and Vios.

Of course the City is much more spacious than the Vios especially the back. But the new Vios has addressed that if it’s anything like the Yaris; the Yaris is spacious, rear cabin even has a flat floor.

Just my 2 bits. :-)

• 1NZFE (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 8:07 pm

waja handling is much better than current vios…
    —————————————————————-
    Current vios handling is much better than waja. So dunt compare waja with vios. Waja is outdated already!!!

• szw (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 8:18 pm

vios only wat…
    wat’s da fuss ?
    it also has 4 wheels , engine , transmission .
    not to say it hav stuff like i drive or sum sort .

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 8:20 pm

Current vios handling is much better than waja. So dunt compare waja with vios. Waja is outdated already!!!

——————————————————————
    do you have drive both waja and vios?you should then compare bot.after that you can know which one better.or because waja is outdated, we cannot compare la?if one thing is very good even it already outdated, people still remember for sure la.you should try by yourself and then compare.not just talk!!!how many people will agree that vios handling is better than waja?????you should make poll!!

• 1NZFE (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 8:26 pm

do you have drive both waja and vios?you should then compare bot.after that you can know which one better.or because waja is outdated, we cannot compare la?if one thing is very good even it already outdated, people still remember for sure la.you should try by yourself and then compare.not just talk!!!how many people will agree that vios handling is better than waja?????you should make poll!!

so u have drive both waja n vios??? But i have drive both of them wo…
    So u ask la how many people will agree that waja handling is better than vios. u make a pol la!!!

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 8:52 pm

so u have drive both waja n vios??? But i have drive both of them wo…
    So u ask la how many people will agree that waja handling is better than vios. u make a pol la!!!

_____________________________________________________________________________

yes, i have waja and honda city.in term of handling, city and vios never can beat waja.you should go to genting by driving each of them.then you tell me which is more scary when taking corner at high speed.or because its made by toyota, should be the best in every aspect???haha.i want to know how many people in this paultan blog which agree that vios handling is better than waja!!!

• nmh (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 8:59 pm

True2…new proton (neo,waja,g2) handling are alot better than vios. Proton are ready for this (but main kotor ‘NAP’ pricing larr). And yes ive driven both gen2 and vios

• 8918 (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 9:08 pm

I’ve got both waja and vios in my garage.
    Waja very stable at high speed(good travelling at highway)even while changing lane because of the width of waja.While vios is more for city drive,thanks to its responsive vvti engine that moves you whenever u want the acceleration.
    Can’t compare both…

• nmh (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 9:09 pm

Im not bashing….love toyota. But this is reality …proton latest model are fun to drive. Quality also albeit improve but toyota is still better. Plastic interior? Previous vios got plastic interior same with gen2. Buying new vios…..hmm, maybe another proton please…

• nmh (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 9:13 pm

But no more auto transmission campro engine proton…it suxx. Manual is alot powerfull….ive rent a manual transmission gen2 just to test drive …hehe

off topic sorry

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 10:19 pm

It is sad that the new vios still have the same hp as previous vios, I am eager waiting for the new city that might have the new i-vtec 120ps engine…
    Still, vios is a nice and reliable car to own, especially it is bigger than the previous vios, still it is an improvement…

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 10:21 pm

so 1NZFE, why keep quiet?no comment anymore?

• EddyHyip (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 10:44 pm

Please check out my design. Just created…..
    If you all like my design, please vote for me….
    I’m a toyota fan…… too bad my mom bought de old gen vios d….

my design title= hippios
    Name= Khoo Boon Keat

• richnet_campro (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 10:50 pm

frankly.. vios is a nice car to have.. it looks cool…
    but if you’re a car enthusiast and you’re really into car, not because of outlook.. Waja is still the best selection.. I’m talking about overall rating.. handling wise, Waja is the best..

Comparing Waja, Vios and City.. my vote will goto Waja.. I’ve driven these 3 cars before.. and Waja is really stable and also Waja comes with manual transmission, unlike others, only Auto/CVT.

I guess people will just bash here and there on Proton.. I just don’t understand why….

another simple thing, have you seen Vios or City chasis and suspension bracket being used in drift racing? well, if you do, please do flag us, but I never did… and for Proton.. they’ve got their Waja chasis with different engine.. well, not to mention the engine but we are comparing the stability here.. I guess you know what I’m talking about.. still don’t understand? run a search online for Waja drift and you’ll get some amazing results..

http://paultan.org/archives/2005/08/23/proton-waja-fr-with-video/

• observerV (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 11:31 pm

Love the vios. Super responsive 1NZ-FE engine and the best bit, fuel consumption. Better milage with this car. But kinda dont like the new design looks weird. But compare with city, city looks even more weird. More like a puffer fish ( Ikan Buntal ). The Vios is really really light. Even when you drive pass a lorry you could feel the turbulance. Overall, superb car

Too bad, that is my mum’s car. Im getting a satria neo.Not because i like it, my budget is limited, i hope this baby dont disappoint me.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 11:39 pm

i didnt want to bash toyota or whatever..sometimes u dont look something because of the brand.maybe not all toyota car are good and not all proton car are problematic.i also have bad experience with my ex iswara, after that i bought wira and waja and i change wira to honda city.for town ride i use city because of its fuel economical but for traveling i prefer waja because of handling and i like to speeding at highway..back to the topic, i think is not worth to buy this new “old” model..better go to new honda city with more powerful engine.

• stanz on Feb 02, 2012 at 4:13 pm

dahla takder duit beli, nak kelentong di sini…..waja after few years pon bunyi bising mcm wira

• EddyHyip (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 12:12 am

aha…. just found the link to my design..
    http://www.mydesign-mypride.com/view.php?i=317&[email protected]&v=4a4d04563713ae49406d0e0cae52d86e&t=

• chanel (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 1:18 am

anybody out there have driven both Waja & Vior or City…..
    lets compare our thought of these cars’ handling characteristic……(handling= lane manourve, cornering, high speed manourve, high speed stabality..)

which cars perform better?

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 1:54 am

i vote for waja surely.

• peYno-1 (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 2:14 am

chanel said,
    September 29, 2007 @ 1:18 am

anybody out there have driven both Waja & Vior or City…..
    lets compare our thought of these cars’ handling characteristic……(handling= lane manourve, cornering, high speed manourve, high speed stabality..)

which cars perform better?
    ======================
    when we talk about ride quality/handling
    proton cars much2 better than typical medium cost japs cars..
    infact little savvy cornering better than vios
    Thanks to lotus

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 2:57 am

lotus is well know as the best suspension and handling tuner.many more big car maker use lotus specialist for tuning their car handling . lotus help proton in term of car handling.that why proton car have better handling compare to some japanese car.

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 3:09 am

maybe can remind toyota to put the meters at the drivers side rather then center

• wong (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 3:13 am

mmm..maybe let Paul Tan share his experience,.

• analyzer (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 4:00 am

yo paul,

i’m a tribe toyota member, and i received a sms and email from tribe toyota, for a special viewing of the new vios in mid valley convention center this coming friday, 5th october. wanna go?

• mishima (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 4:06 am

Got the news that this car will be launch on OCT 19. C’mon… where is the integration of mp3 players. Even the new CITY now in the market has this new feature.

Actually Guys.. what is it about this Optitron metre on Vios 1.5S model?

• king (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 4:31 am

vios good handling? that must be the joke of the year.

• king (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 4:35 am

its better compared to kancil

• peYno-1 (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 5:10 am

savvy,neo,persona,gen2,waja and wira handle better than vios..
    vios is better if compared to proton JUARA

• theking (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 8:14 am

OK guys, let us compare the engine performance once the Waja Campro CPS and new Vios to be launched next month.
    Handling wise Waja definitely a lot better than current Vios and upcoming Vios.

• 1NZFE (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 8:59 am

i wonder if waja more better than vios, y waja’s sales is lower than vios, abt a half?

• jasmani75 (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 9:14 am

Huh…already saw in Miri..Brunei ones..nothing special even smaller than currect ones. City is better in all aspects then Vios…Power of Dreams..See..Toyota not dare to reveal the fuel consumption compared to City (just dare to advertiose in newspaper…on the moon! dreaming wooh)

• ab (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 9:51 am

In my opinion let me put it this way:
    In terms of handling waja is better than vios or city. The vios is setup for ride comfort, that’s why it sells even when it’s expensive. But the waja has a heavy chassis which slows the performance- and why does it has a heavy chassis? because they wanted to put stiff suspensions on it and to do that, they need a more rigid chassis to reduce flexing.

Anyway, all three cars are not perfect: the waja has lousy engine, reliability and quality, vios interior is too plain and the city looks like a fish. I’ll have a Suzuki Swift instead, it’s new, looks cool and has respectable handling.

• schdmitz (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 9:52 am

hello! hello! cannot compare vios with waja/pesona/gen2…..different classlah….look at the tech. and built of the car….any1??

• farmcow (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 10:59 am

yeap…different class but its okay to compare them because both are “cars” and people decide to buy a car in terms of the performance and price…so it doesn’t really matter on the class…haha

• Alifz (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 11:00 am

Ello…what is this??Now toyota fanatic is coming out..

Big power in engines is useless if it can’t handle it. That’s why Proton car is not eagerly putting big engines, until they have solution to the handling capability..for sure Waja handles better mehh…I always tapau Vios when comes to corner and bends, even Golf GTI…with standard suspension..

And just to comment Malaysian mentality..always looks at the cover..doesn’t go in depth…even vios is new but the skin and interior only…underneath suspension do you ever look meh..??

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 11:04 am

maybe vios should compare with persona because they maybe in same B class segment..

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 11:30 am

peYno-1 said,

“vios is better if compared to proton JUARA”
    Hah now that’s a good one. Personally, i never like VIOS at any sense and what more to invest my monies on this Toyota junk…that’s for sure. On its handling capability, yes concord with most of guys up there. It’s damn scary, but whether any improvement has been made on this new VIOS?..no idea.

Well, anyway…it depends on one’s purpose and taste of purchasing the car.Perhaps it might suit for city-driving or anyone ‘taste’…It’s your monies after all dude. So no offense please ! For me…no thanks, Toyota ?…yeah i’ll rather take IS250L anytime anywhere..muhaha ops sorry, different segment though !

• transformer (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 1:03 pm

its NOT FAIR to compare Vios against Waja!

WAJA are definately HANDLES much much more BETTER than Vios!
    backed by GOOD REAR SUSPENSION SETUP(independant)! LONGER WHEELBASE! WIDER TRACK! STRONGER CHASSIS too!

So its not fair to Vios! ( anyway, i’ll buy a Waja over Vios! )

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 1:06 pm

vios get how much star rating for uero NCAP?anybody know?

• transformer (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 1:21 pm

didn’t find Vios… try under Yaris/Vitz

http://www.euroncap.com/home.aspx
    http://www.safercar.gov/

• chanel (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 4:11 pm

out a topic…..(sorry)

how about Waja vs new Civic handling? suspension setup for this two cars almost indentical, albeit Civic rear arm is bigger & double wishbone…..

just very eager to find out…..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 4:40 pm

agree wit some of u dat we cannot compare vios wit waja…bcoz theyre in diff class bt most of us in bolehland compare it bcoz of the prize…i dunno which one is better bcoz i didnt gt a chance drive the vios..for me…waja shud be compare to honda civic or corolla altis…dats shud b fair i think…any1 agree wit me???sor if im wrong…

• observerV (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 5:05 pm

According to Jeremy Clarkson on top gear, in the episode featuring crash test on cars which i saw on youtube, waja( known as impian in the UK) is rated only 3 stars for the euroNCAP.
    Please correct me if im wrong. Sorry not a related post again.

• fliedlice (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 5:32 pm

I agree with akshen_kamen and 1NZFE. the waja’s handling is miles better than both the city and the vios. the torsion beam suspension in the city and vios makes the rear feel like it’s moving “sideways” in hard cornering. the torsion beam setup that they use does not appear to be as rigid laterally when compared to a multi link setup. in fact, I will even go as far as to say that the waja (or gen-2 or persona, same platform anyway) handles better and has better body control than the altis. and yes, I have driven each of them. hard.

• tokmoh (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 5:49 pm

akshen_kamen said,

September 29, 2007 @ 1:06 pm

—————-
    >>>Vios is nt sold in Europe, thus, no Euro NCAP. Euro NCAP is done oni for cars sold in European Union AFAIK.

@ObserverV
    >>>Yes, Waja aka Impian scored oni 3 stars.

@raybrig85
    >>>Sure Vios knot be compared wit Waja overall, bt specifically, most ppl here are oni comparin the handling. So when it comes to R&H, Waja>Vios thnks to Lotus. Bt even then, analyzing the Vios, the handling’s sooooo numb. Rly, rly boring to drive.

The oni reason ppl buy Vios then, I conclude, is bcuz they desperately want a saloon and seek financial security. Bcuz Vios is a Toyota, it is guaranteed high re-sell value n reliability ie less unnecessary trips to workshop n unnecessary expenses to replace parts. But the car itself is pathetic.

So if you’re someone who hates driving n do it for the sake of gettin from A to B, then go ahead. Buy it, park a proud face of “I’ve bought a good car wit high re-sell value”. But never ever complain a single thing abt being boring to drive etc. You’ve paid the price for trying to milk as much 2nd hand value from the car as u can.

• tokmoh (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 5:53 pm

@ObserverV
    Nothing’s wrong gettin the Satria Neo, that is…..assuming you’re no taller than 165cm tall. That’s my height, and I hv to say, any1 taller than that will suffer headroom problem…….

• wong (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 6:09 pm

observer v, I think u’ll enjoy driving the neo,1.6manual will be nice,if u’re into handling,ride comfort and 180km/h ease…..one thing I hate about Jap entry level cars is their handling and ride..very bad..Proton is much,much better..

• muazzam730 (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 6:11 pm

MY GOODNESS..All they did was expand/stretch Yaris into a Sedan..no creativity?..n now it looks like a dugong like u guys said..cant describe it better..

• ezralimm (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 8:17 pm

transformer said,
    September 29, 2007 @ 1:03 pm
    its NOT FAIR to compare Vios against Waja!

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    I agree, correct me if im wrong, the waja is a bigger car.
    I think a comparison between the Vios and the upcoming BLM is more appropriate – both are 5 door compact sedans.

Btw, i hope the new vios does not have the pitfalls of the yaris sedan.
    1) Engine Drone – it has a very very unattractive, hollow sounding drone at high revs. The engine is not very powerful and you will find yourself revving quite often.
    2) New car smell. I dont know why, the interior trim on the Yaris sedan (should be the new vios in malaysia) has an odd ‘plastic like’ smell that i couldnt quite stand.
    3) Ride too cushioned. It’s like you’re riding on a sofa.

…ended up getting a jazz after some contemplation. The two reasons above were why i opted for the jazz even though it’s an old design.

• ezralimm (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 8:22 pm

akshen_kamen said,
    September 29, 2007 @ 1:06 pm

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

If you’re talking about the Yaris sedan,
    5 stars. For the version with every safety feature. Side and kneebags etc.
    The normal version with two airbags is 4 star i think.

• richnet_campro (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 2:08 am

@ObserverV,
    If you’re getting Satria Neo 1.6 Manual.. that’s real good..
    some will say Campro no power lar.. banyak problem la.. all these kind of stuff la.. but I myself driving a Waja Campro.. no problem at all.. and i can say, you’ll surely love it when you push the car.. the engine roars while you push it and you’ll be feeling like going hyper-speed while revving high.. trust me.. it’s really a very nice feel…

hmmm… about servicing or defects.. have anyone heard that no Toyota for defects??? I don’t really believe it.. it’s just that people say.. “aiya, it’s toyota ma.. overseas company, can trust one.. and people dun bash out so much..”
    else if it’s a proton, you’ll hear people complain here and there.. it’s just people say it out.. believe it or not, I’ve got a friend who bought a VIOS.. his car cannot start after one week.., UMW sent someone to change a battery for him.. then it’s ok dy.. but after another week, the car is dead again.. it happened for a few times.. I’m not sure what happened at the end, they managed to settle it for him.. I didn’t bother to ask so much already… so, anyone dare saying Jap cars no problem? Have you guys ever heard of the City issue? engine died while running halfway on the highway.. it actually cause some users to involved in accident for this case. electronic power steering? it’s totally DEAD when power is cut.. think about it.. Jap cars no issue? do some research and see, then you’ll know..

and I’m really not very comfortable with Jap cars sales people that always wanna promote their after sales service. like nissan Latio are promoting was replacing a new unit if car is lost or something.. sigh.. it doesn’t sound reasonable to me at all..

• king (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 2:20 am

richnet_campro said,

think about it.. Jap cars no issue? do some research and see, then you’ll know..
    ________

So true. Your fren must be feeling like the most unlucky person in malaysia why oni his vios got problem so he keep quiet. But doesn’t realise there are many others like him…

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 3:09 am

what richnet_campro and king said is true.malaysian people sometime believe that all the japanese produce the best car with no defects problem and high resale value.but if about proton, especially the bad one, they will believe until they swear they will never buy proton even that came out from their friend or people around them with no proof sometime but if about the good one, they will never believe.I’m not try defend proton or protonmaniac but this is true and happen.

dear king, i believe more people outside there that already bought japanese car but have defect problem and they to shy and never tell to anybody.maybe because they already said that japanese car have no problem at all and shy to take that word back.come on malaysian,open your mind,that judge something buy because of brand only,but the brand and the true quality.

• vincentwee (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 5:11 am

no matter how proton tarnish good image of Toyota,it will never win.
    u can say any proton model how good it is BUT the reader in this forum not stupid!

if u work under VW and compare toyota model,yes then it can be comparable.
    proton please get your ppl out from toyota forum. we don need your backstab.

the only model than can compare with Vios is either City or Latio.please use Singapore as reference.the citizen there don buy Proton.Singaporean is smart and know the world automobile.Proton is out of quality car list!

Proton ! I curse you that Volkwagen will take over entire mgmt of yours and produce world class car model

May the new Proton under Volkwagen shine our Malaysia to entire world and be the world player.

p.s
    ppl don compare Bata (Proton) with Nike (Toyota)
    ppl only compare Adidas (Honday) with Nike

• CarWatch (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 8:02 am

There are many new Vios in Bangkok.. some said it looks like dugong and still narrow!

• bobdbilder (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 8:53 am

The only hope of actually making sense to the discerning auto enthusiast in Malaysia is a Scion tC! NOT this crap.

• nmh (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 10:30 am

vincentwee

this is not toyota forum and nothing wrong if we are comparing with any model. ‘Plastic Interior’ Vios and VW…what a joke. Pricing also abit crazy in malaysia….so no problem with abit crazy comparison. Vios ‘Nike’…izit sporty enuff?

Wise opinion please…no blind basher

• scooterist (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 1:03 pm

my team joined this competition also… there are only 6 mockup cars. and the deadline is on 2nd october.. and paul..do u know where’s is the car will be launched??

• richnet_campro (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 1:13 pm

vincentwee,

I’m not siding who or which company or wat-ever..
    but this is NOT a VIOS forum..
    and why should we only compare VIOS with City and Latio?
    Proton not qualified to be in the competition? why? any specific reason? just because you think it’s not qualified? no facts? it sounds like a very discrimination situation to me…

and bear in mind, if Waja is not comparable with VIOS or City, then Latio shouldn’t be qualified as well..(from your point of view)… I suggest you better do some reading/research before start blasting here and there… every car makers are trying their best to give their customer the best.. that includes Proton as well.. ít’s just a different approach only..

• 90125 (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 2:33 pm

ppl don compare Bata (Proton) with Nike (Toyota)
    ppl only compare Adidas (Honday) with Nike———————————————————————————————–Bata =Proton? Very weird,Bata is founded by Tomas Bata from Czech Republic and its in 1894!

• observerV (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 2:34 pm

sorry another unrelated post. persona or neo? which is better?

• richnet_campro (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 2:50 pm

observerV,
    depends on your needs.. if you need to fetch family most of the time, then go for persona.. but it terms of youngster and more ‘gaya’ way, go for Neo..
    for me, Persona still looks abit weird to me.. maybe because I’ve been staring at too much Gen2.. hehe.. it’s your choice and remember, make a decision and never regret on it..

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 3:28 pm

of course vios equal to nike.but nike that sell at chow kit or petaling street only..hahaha

• Vengeance (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 3:34 pm

Vios? Toyota’s baseline model, with baseline standards, u cant say its a bad car, its juz a baseline car, u get wat u pay for(although 79k for a baseline model makes me feel sad) Lolx

• Vengeance (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 3:36 pm

Correction : Baseline model for malaysian market…where is the small Aygo(Aigo? how to spell)?

• fliedlice (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 4:07 pm

I have a honda city. I must say I’m very dissapointed with the quality. within the 1st year, I had the wipers stop working, the power window broke and the spare wheel well in the boot flooded with water. and the car only did 7500km and is never even parked outside. I have less problems with my 11 year old wira. I must that with my experience and richnet_campro’s story about the vios above, this common perception that honda and toyota cars do not give problems is looking more and more like an “urban legend”.

just my 2 cents worth.

brickbats welcome :)

• peYno-1 (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 4:29 pm

akshen_kamen said,
    September 30, 2007 @ 3:28 pm

of course vios equal to nike.but nike that sell at chow kit or petaling street only..hahaha

===============
    prrfthh good one
    NIKE from petaling street and tht guy tot it’s from NIKE USA

• richnet_campro (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 5:30 pm

ahahha… nice top up peYno-1.. :)

a boring Sunday for me…. I re-read some comments here.. hmmm.. I felt that someone thought this is a Toyota forum. and some people thought that Malaysian cars cannot be compared with others..

well, all I would like to advice people is that to be more open minded.. the more you bash on people’s product, the company will not suffer but instead you’ll suffer for your own reputation I guess.. hehe..
    anyway, it’s better to compliment rather than bashing.. and also.. voicing out REAL issues is better than keeping quiet.. at least it gives people chances to improve.. I guess that was what happened to some car manufacturers.. car makers get feedback from public, then they will improve, where they’ll come out with different phases of cars with improved quality.. car makers includes makers from every country, not just Japan… guess there’s some hidden stuff within my words.. hehe.. enjoy catching it.. :)

• nmh (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 9:17 pm

Is there any other clown want to make some jokes?

• protonfan (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 10:06 pm

sorry to all vios or toyota fan, this car very very lousy…persona stil very beautiful…hehehe…jgn marahhhh..

• 1NZFE (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 11:23 pm

Did u know, in Malaysia, automotive industry has never hav a fair competition. U c a price of waja. Waja was born in 2000 n should compete with toyota altis, honda civic, kia spectra n nissan sentra which r all 1.6 n also at same class, c class. But bcoz of our gov’s proctective policy, waja’s price can b much lower than most of their competitor.
    But did u know also, the 1st gen of toyota vios was born in Thailand in 1997. At that time, honda city was also born in same place n also same year. So these 2 cars have bring Thailand into the most competative automotive industry in this region…
    Wat i wanna 2 say is toyota vios is born to compete with n oli honda city until this time. If proton wanna 2 compete with this 2 cars, they must produce 1500cc car n if can, gov should not protect proton anymore to ensure a fair competion.
    But so far, proton didn’t have produce this type of car. So dunt compare waja with vios or city. Pls!!!

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 11:53 pm

i think persona belong to the same group with city and vios because it nearly have the same size even persona have 1.6 engine..

• observerV (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 3:40 am

richnet_campro,
    sorry to ask again but doesn’t the persona have a better resale value than the neo? thats why im changing my preference to persona although i still prefer the neo…looks better hehe

• duffayoi (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 8:24 am

i need opinion from all of u…im gonna buy a car…but dont know which to choose…city, new vios and persona…..can u give a comment on value 4 money, fuel consumptn, quality and space……….

• 1NZFE (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 9:00 am

i think persona belong to the same group with city and vios because it nearly have the same size even persona have 1.6 engine

Pls compare specification btw vios, city n persona. Abt a technology, vios n city use 1.5 vvti n vtec engine. Persona oli use basic DOCH engine. How can u say persona belong to the same group with city and vios unless persona use 1.5 campro cps engine…

• vincentwee (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 9:48 am

1NZFE,

80% who replies is from proton.
    don need say so much.results speak louder.

new toyota vios awarded Car of the Year 2007, “Mil Autos” Magazine

if check every car award , proton is out of the list.no point praise so much for proton car when it cant even get an award.

it is like ppl praise Malaysian badminton player is best but in reality…cant even win thomas cup except once upon a time (rashid era)…

• kevyeoh (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 11:23 am

it’s out in newspaper today….official release date is 5th Oct !!!

• tokmoh (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 12:02 pm

I read in MTM Campro CPS wit VIM will prob arrive here this month, while it will arrive in Thailand nxt month.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 12:26 pm

vincentwee,since you seem so proud of it, what exactly is “mils auto magazine?” never heard of them.

you obviously are very ignorant to make this statement. “if check every car award , proton is out of the list.”
    they might not be the best cars in the world, but they have won awards. not just in malaysia, but overseas as well. so your statement isn’t accurate.

as for the vios, the only vios i’ll ever buy, if it comes to malaysia, is the 1.5 turbo that i drove in thailand. since the car is so light (i wonder why), it really feels very nippy, bu performance wise, reminds me of my old wira 1.8(which is heavier than the vios).

• scooterist (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 2:33 pm

my group is in part of this competition…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 3:02 pm

I dont know people still compare cars to a proton especially on the price.

Seriously, as Car classes are concerned Waja = Altis/Civic. (The Waja shares its platform with the Carisma and old S40). As a platform, it is already 2 generations behind.

Take price away and you can see just how far Proton has to catch up. Granted, they have moved up a notch recently, and I will give them due credit, but the comfortable protectionism it enjoys wont be a push factor for it to improve.

What people who are comparing cars are missing the point. Consumers are willing to pay a price for reliabililty, stable resale, comfort, fuel efficient car. The Vios is that car. And in the same line, so is the City. They would care less if the Waja (or any Proton’s current stable mates) handled better.

Like it or not, Proton has garnered itself a bad name and has lots of ground cut out for it to better its consumer perception. Until they can do that (and it will take time) you will continue to hear ppl say…”as long its not a proton..” now, whos fault is it really?

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 3:27 pm

This new VIOS r horrible.. It’s crap..my frens @indon said tht this VIOS has lot of problem…like power window… door hardly to open…cracking sound from the brake…highly vibration on dashboard..more noisy engine…and plus… just buy 3 month dah longgar2 at dashbord… sounds like horrible…they said the previous VIOS is better…

• duffayoi (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 4:22 pm

kevyeoh said,…’it’s out in newspaper today….official release date is 5th Oct !!!

which newspaper?…….

• Infinitt (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 4:46 pm

Tak sabar nak test ini kereta DUGONG.. hopefully no more tired when driving long journey like current Vios.

• vincentwee (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 5:02 pm

duffayoi,

that is at midvalley….for exhibition/teaser only.
    it is not official release date…official release date means every toyota shop will have launch it…

• transformer (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 6:14 pm

We can’t deny that T-brand cars normally sell well…
    but what we want to voice out is this supposed to be NEW Vios(JDM Belta) aren’t totally new! Belta(a JDM) are derived from Vios(1st Gen) in the firtst place and Belta are targetted at Female! Its the same old engine, same old transmission, comfy for female and etc…

If you think you need to be perceived as “upper class” then get yourself a Belta!

Waja certainly for value for money, economy to run for a long time…

As different people has different needs, different perception, so its your own choice to think which suit you most!

I would like to reinforce my statement, Vios are Belta(JDM) and are not totally NEW! And don’t think it will take your breath away when you’re testing it!

• king (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 8:25 pm

I dont know people still compare cars to a proton especially on the price.

Seriously, as Car classes are concerned Waja = Altis/Civic. (The Waja shares its platform with the Carisma and old S40). As a platform, it is already 2 generations behind.

isn’t that exactly what this old “new” vios is all about. same old platform, old engine n old 4 speed gearbox. to me its actually a facelift only…toyota-who r u trying to con ? sigh…why r malaysians so gullible?

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 8:39 pm

because it has brand toyota, even they just change the face lift and label it as a new car..many malaysian people will believe it as a new car..

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 1:51 am

anybody know about the fc for vios?compare to city,which one better?

• stanz on Feb 02, 2012 at 4:33 pm

i ‘m not surprise….to see all of those immature comments made by you all. there no hope already…….it reflects your mentality…..