Ford’s turbocharged direct injection EcoBoost

EcoBoostThe brand name TwinForce has been dropped for a new name called EcoBoost, which encompasses a far wider range of engines than just the twin turbocharged V6 we knew as the TwinForce. (click image to enlarge)

The EcoBoost family includes inline-4 and V6 engines. It uses a combination of direct injection and turbocharging to improve fuel efficiency. Ford group vice president of Global Product Development says customers can expect to recoup their initial investment in a 4-cylinder EcoBoost engine through fuel savings in approximately 30 months. A diesel will take an average of seven and one-half years, while the cost of a hybrid will take nearly 12 years to recoup. This is based on costs in the US.

The first EcoBoost product will be introduced in the Lincoln MKS, and this will be the 3.5 litre twin turbocharged V6 unveiled earlier. The force inducted V6 produces the same amount of power as a V8 engine, but it has a much nicer torque curve – 461Nm of torque from 2,000rpm to 5,000rpm, compared to a normally aspirated 4.6 litre V8 that only makes between 366Nm to 420Nm over the same rev range.

Ford picked the EcoBoost brand over TwinForce because the primary use of the technology is for fuel economy and emissions. It was worried consumers would associate the brand TwinForce with power instead.

Watch an animation of the EcoBoost turbocharger after the jump.

Ford’s new TwinForce engines to debut in Lincoln MKS

Video: Ford’s turbocharged direct injection EcoBoost

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 5:02 am

ecoboost is a right name for it… but DAMN FUEL ECONOMY LAAA… damn, so high horse power yet still so fuel economy…. O.o”

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 5:12 am

I have heard it before from my friend(not really my friend la…)about this technology… they say it is damn good at fuel eco and about 20% more fuel save… now i pengsan… (i heard… correct me if im wrong, but dont atack me)

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 9:11 am

Turbo users have always enjoyed good fuel economy and power (though not both at the same time).

As on my 4G63T, On cruising, it jsut works as a regular N/A engine, perhaps slightly worst due to the lower static compression ratio, as a slightly detuned 2.0L engine. However, stomp on the loud pedal and you get the power equivalent of a highly tuned 4.0L engine.

Obviously, if it has the power of a 4.0L engine, it will drink gas like one.

But if you can resist the temptation to boost all day long, a turbo car can be pretty nice on gas. On cruising with some boosting on overtaking, its not uncommon to see well over 500kms per tank of 43L. Bear in mind, my car does have a power sapping AWD drivetrain. So factor in another 15-20% better mileage on a regular FWD car.

Due to the design of a N/A engine, it will never meet the volumetric efficiency of a force fed engine. In the last few years, turbocharging and engine technology has improved (no doubt by the popularity of turbo diesel cars) to make another comeback.

Turbo engines are great for countries such as ours where road tax on large CC cars can be prohibitive.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 10:52 am

Yup, Turbo are built for better F.C. nowadays especially VW taking it on his own 1.4L TSI. Even Ford are following it wif Turbo Direct Injection.

If u want to safe fuel wif Turbo, low pressure turbo are great to run. I own a Turbo Kancil L502 and i know the difference between my old L200 caburated engine.

4G63T, if u dont care about the performance and care about F.C. U can try modifying the turbo into smaller DT03 or Subaru twin scroll turbo and higher compression piston, from 8:1 to 9:0 for better pick-up. But the hp will drop almost the just 180-200hp. Subaru turbo might be higher a bit in hp.

Turbo all the way!

• jamsbong (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 11:41 am

This is fantastic news! The brave Ford is going to sell some high-tech efficient engine at a cheap price. Personally, I trust Ford that they will keep their words more than louzy GM. Can you believe that GM claims they can do better hybrid cars than Toyota?

FSI engine for everyone! What ford is basically selling is what Volkswagen/Audi had been selling. Just take a look at the Golf Turbo charged engine fuel consumption, it is lower than the N/A engine.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 3:49 pm

how about using this tech on local Ranger and Everest?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 11:44 am

Local new ranger is even better then this… Since it is turbo diesel engine, they used direct injection technology long time already. Our Ranger even get the newest VGT turbo.