Proton MPV due in 2009

Proton LogoProton managing director Datuk Syed Zainal revealed that Proton will be unveiling its new MPV early next year, but declined to reveal any other details about the MPV.

We can expect the new Proton MPV to have more carryover of components from existing models to improve economies of scale and reduce development costs.

EXCLUSIVE UPDATE: Proton MPV exclusive initial details revealed!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• fyzal (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 9:54 am

good job proton!!!
    make it as stylish as WISH or ALPHARD…
    :-)

• waimak (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 10:00 am

Well done. Just another news which I like to hear from Proton. With almost every manufacturer introducing MPV in thier product line, I dont think Proton will have a problem finding the right formula.

But then again, never forget the mistakes Proton did in the pass. That would help Proton move in the right direction.

Affordable and quality are the main things I would say Proton must focus for this MPV.

• scouser (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 10:03 am

Yey. Hope Proton will not produce ‘something’ like Juara. :-)
    I guess PINTAR is platform sharing programme, where it shares platform from other models like what Toyota did for Avanza and Rush.

• m08 (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 10:41 am

scouser said,
    I guess PINTAR is platform sharing programme, where it shares platform from other models like what Toyota did for Avanza and Rush.
    ——————-
    Nope, as what I read from the Bernama source; The Pintar programme is a corporate social responsibility (CSR) initiative by the government-linked-company (GLC) and under it a host of activities like tuition, nutrition, motivation, counselling and skills development classes are provided to students from selected schools.

• brutus (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 10:42 am

i saw some Wish in the Proton factory and they confirmed going to use the Wish platform to come up with the MPV in 2009. power plant is still a mystery but did reveal they might consider turboing the CPS to power the MPV.

• brutus (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 10:44 am

saw some Toyota Wish in Proton plant. they confirm to use the platform for the upcoming MPV. engine would most probably be CPS with turbo.

• drM (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 10:45 am

they got this bisnes with chinese people, right? they got our gen2 to be rebatched as RCR there. maybe we got something in return too.

RCR Wagon Stationery Alpha Z 330?

naaahhhh..i made up that one! hahahahahahahahaha

• zaen (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 10:51 am

hopefully it come from Lotus APX project line and not from China mainland project..

http://paultan.org/archives/2006/02/25/lotus-apx-aluminium-performance-crossover/

• zaen (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 10:52 am

hopefully it come from Lotus APX projec tline not from China mainland deal…

• abtm (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 11:05 am

what will it be called? The new Proton Juara?

• ys (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 11:08 am

nowadays MPV is becoming more and more pupular in Malaysia.
    i think Proton would like to have a slice of it too…
    anyway, Proton must be really careful to adress it stretegy….
    personally, something like Advanza with selling price around RM50k will definately storm the market…
    Good Luck Proton.

• msmar_453 (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 11:11 am

Where’s Si-Fu aah?
    Pls talk something about this MPV.. Can aah?
    About the name, just put Proton MPV! (is it ok with you Mazda?)

• White Jack (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 11:22 am

I guess with Campro 1.6 CPS power train, the MPV body can be slightly bigger than the Nissan LIvina. That will sell good :)

I hope Proton is starting to work on a Campro 2.0 CPS to be used for bigger MPV, SUV and sedan.

• nightReader (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 11:30 am

abtm said,
    what will it be called? The new Proton Juara?

Eheh.. If wanna call it new Proton Juara, they must develop the best design and quality so that can clean up the Juara bad name’s.

• Poxxue2 (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 11:43 am

Very unlikely its going to be a Juara replacement..However, its about time they (Proton) come up with an MPV model.The previous Lotus designed APX concept for Proton looks promising, hope they can apply a few of its characteristics to their upcoming MPV…cheers.

• dr_carz (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 11:44 am

I KNOW NOW THAT WHY PROTON IS NOT LOOKING DOR A PARTNER. ESPECIALLY WITH VW. BECAUSE THE PARTNER IS EUROPESTAR!

• waimak (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 11:52 am

Where is Theo? Do a Photoshop of APX and let this forum gets hot!

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 11:59 am

Don’t expect too HIGH about Proton MPV, I guess it’s based on Mitsubishi ZINGER from Taiwan. Its like ANVANZAAA minivan type lah bro.

Wanna to BET!

• epenarif (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 12:12 pm

My expectation..

Styling like Wish or New Stream- Mini MPV type.
    Engine 2.0 Campro or SuperPro he.. he..
    Interior – New Stream with 3rd row seat air-cond blower

Important: Prize below 80

sure laku….

• nad2r17 (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 12:13 pm

wht i heard the model based on wish(if i not mistaken) but slightly bigger than wish..the best thing..the engine..the r&d teams now testing the supercharge engine to put under the mpv’s hood..

• nad2r17 (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 12:13 pm

wht i heard the model based on wish(if i not mistaken) but slightly bigger than wish..the best thing..the engine..the r&d teams now testing the supercharge engine to put under the mpv’s hood..

• tango5 (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 12:14 pm

mitsu design?..nah..dont think so

hmm, hold my booking for Grandis to give way to Proton MPV – the Malaysian People Vehicle.

Dont let me down proton!

• raptorclans (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 12:37 pm

Eheh.. If wanna call it new Proton Juara, they must develop the best design and quality so that can clean up the Juara bad name’s.

juara where got bad name? >:-(

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 12:41 pm

11 seats is not an MPV, thats a mini bus….

Its good they are diversifying thier product line. When proton can catch up, the rest of us will enjoy better safety….(lets see, once proton comes out with a 7 seater, they are goign to bring mandatory one pass. per seatbelt into effect).

Now, proton’s big worry would be how to price this…with the Citra and rest coming in about low-mid 70s, it leaves to see if Proton can come in at under the 70k mark. It would be marketing suicide to price it any higher.

With this in effect, it would also seem logical that Perodua itself may retaliate with a stripped down FWD only long wheelbase “Kembara”. Its certainly a posiibility that doesn’t sound too far fetched.

Its nice when they fight over our $$$.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 12:50 pm

actually it wil be based on the waja councilor extended platform….and thrs talk it wil use a light prasure turbo CPS campro…btw…the wish is thr bcos its what thy r aiming for interms of interior and design….oh , thy had one gold color grand lavina as well !

• wildthingz (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 1:15 pm

can it be like Air trek- mitsu or maybe something like gen 2 with big long body or maybe waja with air trek body or maybe saga with wish body or maybe dun know p1 give us hint please cant wait until 2009 lol but make sure it doesnt look like avanza or any boring mpv

• moha774 (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 1:21 pm

Any spyshot yet?… only 1 year to go…. the prototype should be finalised already for world wide road test…. agreed with e-nabill, Waja platform are designed to accomodate design for MPV in their future model… APX although patented under Proton, at UK Patent house, are designed to be powered by new 3.0L engine… anyway Paul, any news on Proton-Lotus SENG (small engine new generation) Project that you highlighted few years back??

• vandenlye (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 1:27 pm

this is actually a proton version Toyota Wish, the outlook remain unknown…

• kerelbort (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 1:31 pm

i tot SENG has become CAMPRO?

• petulance (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 1:35 pm

If Proton want to make a 7-people soft-roader MPV, then they should be looking at emulating a Mazda CX-9, Toyota Kluger or Subaru Tribeca

http://www.drive.com.au/Editorial/ArticleDetail.aspx?ArticleID=48533&vf=2

And 4G63T DSM is correct, an 11 seater vehicle is a not a MPV, it is a mini-bus!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 1:35 pm

With rising fuel prices, more competition, etc. I wonder if the MPV market will be what it used to be in 2009 and beyond?

• Roti Naan (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 1:46 pm

a diesel engine with turbo unit might be the answer to the fuel price issue. Alternatively, they can use NGV, just like Naza Ria MPV. Claimed to cost only 30 buck for 480km distance. Read it in today’s newspaper advert.

• epenarif (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 2:01 pm

I think waja platform is good enough. Bigger then Grand Livina.

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 2:04 pm

huh
    mayb another zoom-zoom proton mpv
    focus on performance than comfort n quality

• nad2r17 (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 2:26 pm

i heard the mpv moved by 1.6 engine..larat ke the engine bawak tht mpv???

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 2:36 pm

dr_carz, “I KNOW NOW THAT WHY PROTON IS NOT LOOKING DOR A PARTNER. ESPECIALLY WITH VW. BECAUSE THE PARTNER IS EUROPESTAR!”

i think proton has already made it clear that they are still on the look out for a partner and are already talking to other parties. besides that, europestar is a customer, not a partner. they’re paying proton to buy, rebadge and resell them in china.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 2:40 pm

Cyberkayu “mayb another zoom-zoom proton mpv
    focus on performance than comfort n quality”

looking at the way the persona was more comfort biased, and likewise with the new saga, I dont think proton are heading down the road of performance like they used to with the emphasis on a lotus tuned “performance ride & handling”. Seems more like a safe but comfy lotus tuned ride nowadays.

• zk9 (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 3:19 pm

Wishful thinking, fyzal!

An insider told me last year that the new MPV will have starking similarities with the TOYOTA WISH.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 3:28 pm

something similar to Citra, Ria or Livina?

hope so……

• jazzer (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 3:38 pm

i want smthg like alphard

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 3:48 pm

Wow Proton is following Fiat’s footstep, not bad man…

• carsut (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 4:02 pm

Wishful thinking, fyzal!

An insider told me last year that the new MPV will have starking similarities with the TOYOTA WISH.

————————————————

WOW, can’t wait…..

• bmpower (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 4:09 pm

Renault kangoo? :D
    Nooooooo!!!!

• prangin (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 4:35 pm

Proton MPV will be 7-seater the size of Innova but with sporty design cues like Wish and built on monocoque chassis. Apparently, the test mule is already on d highway. Hope to see spy shots soon.

• ilmondo (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 4:39 pm

waja platform is okay i feel.
    how about using airtrek(old gen) platform? more flexible i gues.. MPV+SUV.. may b a successful x-over. 3rd gen mitsu chariot is fine too i feel. for its mid size. it also need a better packaging to complete d whole package of an MPV. goodluck!

• nmh (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 4:41 pm

Please be more RADICAL but not UGLY and looks soccermoms.

• transformer (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 4:41 pm

i think Renault Kangoo are much more better than Fiat Multipla…

• nmh (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 4:46 pm

Wei…..buat je la APX tuh alang2 dah ader blueprint, seat 3 row, RWD, pakai third party 2.0 turbodiesel agak2 150bhp 320nm. Konpem laku. Save time save budget, tak payah nak develop engine. Tapi QUALITY jaga yer

• nmh (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 4:49 pm

APX : )APX : )APX : )APX : )APX : )APX : )APX : )APX : )APX : )APX : )APX : )APX : )APX : )APX : )APX : )APX : )APX : )APX : )APX : )APX : )APX : )APX : )

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 5:15 pm

Nice, Proton making all the right moves.

Next plan, replace the Waja and Perdana to become a higher end model (than current Waja), as the Waja is a little too close to Persona. The new “Perwaja” (ha!), should be around the size of the Civic. No point in having too many models priced so close to each other.

I still feel the Neo is a bit of a waste, as its like a standalone model. So I’m wondering if Proton will think of making a Putra replacement based on the Neo, and using the CPS engine. Hmmmm, yumm!

On IAFM, I wonder if Proton plans to introduce this tech in 1.6l form, so the other models can “enjoy” its benefit, if any at all, and if so, when?

And on CPS, will it be released on Neo too? As I understand, the Persona wont have it, but Gen.2 will. But Neo being a 3-door car (sporty, see?), shouldn’t it have the CPS too?

• theking (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 5:27 pm

the culprit,

Proton start to assemble Persona 1.6 Campro IAFM this month.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 5:31 pm

theking, thanks!

just one other thing, I assume the Neo will also come with it then? I mean, that makes the most sense, since it uses the same engine rite?

• zafedz (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 5:52 pm

Currently they are under testing Toyota Wish using Campro engines.If you noticed proton staff wearing uniform driving Toyota Wish around Putrajaya/Cyberjaya..they are under testing the campro engine reliability on toyota wish chasis..main problem I heard is all about the drivetrain which the gearbox still under mitsubishi design which can’t boost much power to drag the toyota wish chasis.To develop new gearbox is one thing..so our MPV will be Campro 1.6 engines…the body style might be same as Chevrolet Nubira or Grand Livina..priced will be 60K-70K..this is what I’ve heard from their staff..

• farghmee (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 6:12 pm

EXCITING! :)

last time at saga2008 launching, my colleagues & i asked the proton bigman, syed zainal, ourselves. his remarks were:
    1. it’s a 7 seater; 7 adults size, not 5adults+2kids.
    2. the engine will be enough to carry them all.

from other blog, i got to know that:
    1. they are studying the Wish.
    2. during the saga2008 launching, it is said that the prototype of this upcoming mpv was aired in the presentation, at a glance.

lamanye nk tunggu setahun ;)

• nizam80 (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 6:36 pm

Is it based on the Waja platform? Anyway, i think it will use a 1.6 Campro CPS engine. Si-Fu, any comment on this? Turbocharged? Supercharged?

• ENZO (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 8:42 pm

the new Saga oso already sooo many problems, how to make a MPV????
    although they put a lot of afford in making a car, but the QC department make the whole company’s name bad.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 8:47 pm

i dont tink its true that the campro has been fited to the toyota wish…very far fetched…the Wish is thr for design and interior flexibility understudy ONLY….since , for proton…its the best mpv…..its definaly going to be Wish/Grand Livina Size and NOT Innova …..its NOT a full 7 seater…its practically 5+2….and its gonna emphisize on interior design and maximising space….

im not trying to be a si-fu here…bt thrs a very interesting blog by one of the proton mpv designers ! check it out!

• proton GL (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 8:53 pm

ENZO said,
    February 11, 2008 @ 8:42 pm

although they put a lot of afford in making a car, but the QC department make the whole company’s name bad.
    ——————————–

enzo can you point out the problems, exectly

• Paul2008 (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 9:14 pm

if proton trully builds its own mpv, i must buy that nissan mpv immediately.
    why? by then all nonproton mpv price will misteriously go up 200 % to protect the proton mpv sector
    of course some people will forget and say how cheap proton mpvs are, and we need to be grateful
    please leave mpv out of it. i am content with the cheap mpv of other brands and if i am force to buy an inflated proton mpv for so many problems, what am i gonna buy for my family

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 9:42 pm

i heard about proton make toyota wish as their reference for the mpv…
    to excited about the proton mpv form…
    hope the engine will 2 liter…
    full wit latest features…
    like sat nav,dvd player,dual air bag,xenon headlight 4 high line
    spec…
    just my personal opinion…
    beat wit stream,innova,livina,citra n others same class..
    good luck proton 4 u mpv project…
    another ‘mpv rakyat’,maybe…
    :)
    si-fu,where r u?….
    want hear u comment,bro.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 9:48 pm

1.6l is not enough…they shud come out with 1.8l at least…

• chap_de_x (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 11:43 pm

my opinion the MPV will compete with livina, avanza and citra…mayb ria and innova for higher spec… so i think the basic look of this mpv will base on this competitor…1.6 campro cps is enough to move this mpv…and if the price is below 70k its sure will sell well….avanza is only offer 1.5 for the highest spec..livina 1.8…but still sell well…its about brand rite….if the car are others brand then p1 1.5 or 1.6 is enough huh.. so lame…the right design p1 should consider for this mpv is good tech (no need big cc just need enough power n torque)…good look…spacious enough…cost effective…low fc…and correct pricing…sure it will sell

• m08 (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 12:46 am

Paul2008 said,
    if proton trully builds its own mpv, i must buy that nissan mpv immediately.
    why? by then all nonproton mpv price will misteriously go up 200 % to protect the proton mpv sector
    ———-
    does any car price went up mysteriously 200% when saga 2008 launched? please, think properly before you make any judgment. Any car maker will set their target market before producing any car, so the price is already ‘set’ in design stage.

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 1:30 am

Proton making a toyota wish. What about the price? It will be hovering around the Perdana category or higher?
    Using bits from existing cars help to bring cost down, I just wish it will not turn out to be something like the Proton Arena. Looks half-cut to me.
    I think a 7 seater MPV the size of Toyota wish, Kia carens will help. A big MPV appeal to less people. People will want more seats to begin with. Boot space comes second, though I don’t think the last row passengers want their head 3 inches from the rear glass.
    Wait and see…

• nd (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 1:31 am

Everybody is looking for si-fu to comment on this proton mpv. Why not just use the search function on this blog site and use the keyword “si-fu” and you might just found the answer you need on the mysterious proton engine that will be use on the proton mpv. He already commented on it before!

And there are also many hints already on the exterior and interior design of the this MPV by one of its designer. Just googled the keyword “azlano”;

Cheers! ;)

• tokmoh (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 3:10 am

Through my exchanges with azlano, I can conclude he’s thinking abt:
    – power-to-weight issue. Important for fc, as the engine is gonna use Campro force-induced (assuming si-fu is correct). He wants to make sure it wont be well known as fuel guzzler like the ria. may nt be economical ala kancil, bt at least acceptable for an MPV.
    – it’ll be cheap n for wider audience ala Avanza, Innova, Grand Livina, rather than niche type ala Wish, Alphard, Odyssey, etc >rm200k MPVs.
    – which also means it won’t hv miles-long equipment. Expect it to be as basic as avanza,innova,Grand Livina. So forget abt sat-nav,dvd,xenon, etc. just prob oso, abs n twin airbag will be reserved for h-line
    – Practicality, practicality, and……..practicality. So dun expect it to be wild like Gen2, Savvy, but sensible n subtle ala Persona n new saga.

I know for certain from motortrader’s article on new saga that there will b curry (or preferably known as teh tarik) hook this time.

• adunadun (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 5:13 am

personally i think this P1 MPV target is more for commecial.
    like public transport. so dont hope so much it will be like wish or stream.

• naikmotoje (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 6:52 am

just wait and see spyshot of this baby…
    what i heard from my friend working at proton s.alam, this mpv looks like a wish a bit.

• adunadun (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 8:31 am

ENZO said,
    February 11, 2008 @ 8:42 pm

————————————??

soooo many problem? i believe u already receive new Saga … and know the new saga very well compare to us….interresting…could u share with us. believe some of us here really need those information :)

• kody (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 8:54 am

wahlaueh…

P1 MPV is a good ideal… but if they want to achieve cost saving… putting GENTU headlights… backlights…. hehe…. sorry this MPV will not worth for me even to visit at showroom…. because too lack of new outlook designs… Any proton folks read what i type pls feedback to management dun over cut cost on exterior, IMHO e.g. may b Persona can go even more higher sales if not get GENTU head & butt…. & sure below 70k is still acceptable price…
    not a bit over 70k lah…
    I am worry about CAMPRO can withstand long term turbo or supercharge…?? :)

• mokh997 (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 9:18 am

pendapat utk proton
    skrg minyak mahal dan bakal naik lagi lepas pru12 ni
    ini hanya cadangan yg rasanya belum terlambat proton ambik tindakan
    sekarang ngv adalah satu lagi alternatif tambahan bahan bakar
    kita lihat semakin byk kenderaan yg mungunakannya terutama di dlm bandar2 besar
    cuma 2 masalah je bg ngv ni
    1 sresen ngv yg teramatlah terhad
    2 tangki ngv tu sendiri
    apabila sesebuah kenderaan terutama sedan ingin mengunakan ngv ia terpaksa meletakkan tangki ngv di ruangan bonet blkg
    dan ini telah menyebabkan kehilangan ruangan kapasiti penyimpanan barang yg amat luas
    satu kerugian dan satu masalah besar bagi teksi2 dan kenderaan keluarga
    jd cadangan saya agar proton dapat membina ruangan khusus untuk meletakkan tangki ngv ini disemua kenderaan keluarannya
    tempat yg paling sesuai bg saya jika sedan adalah bawah seat belakang
    dan bg mpv yg bakal keluar ini juga agar diciptakan ruangan khusus yg bkn didalam kabin
    buatlah dibahagian bawah mcm terletaknya tangki minyak
    dan dgn tangki ngv diluar kabin keselamatan adalah terjamin
    kerana jika berlaku kebocoran pada sistem paip risiko kebakaran itu dapat dikurangkan
    contoh jika didalam
    kalau bocor dan ade pula penumpang merokok kan akan terjadi kebakaran yg saya tk dapat bayangan mcm mana risikonya kerana yg terbakar adalah gas
    jika diluar jika bocor ia akan terbebas diudara dan sensor yg berbunyi pasti akan dapat menyelamatkan penumpang kerana ia akan terbebas diudara luar
    maka risiko kebakaran itu dapat dikurangkan
    harap proton ambil berat bab2 ini
    tak perlu jadikan pemasangan ngv itu satu standart
    cukup ada ruangan khas utk tangki itu dan mungkin jika proton sangup menjadikan tangki ngv tu sebagai satu aksesori tambahan yann mana mungkin boleh dipasang di semua pusat servis proton
    tak perlu la pemasangan dilakukan di kilang kerana kerja2 pemasangan perlu ketelitian
    dan saya rasa tiada masalah bg pennguna2 yg inginkan sistem ini bg menambah sedikit harga
    dan dengan harga sistem yg kompetetif dan alatan yg khusus untuk kenderaan proton mengapa tidak penguna2 proton mengunakannya sebagai satu keperluan
    jgn la jual mahal sgt sebab yg mementingkan penjimatan yg berpendapatan rendah
    jual murah dari kedai insyaallah ramai akan beli
    dan mungkin jurutera2 dan pakar2 dari universiti tempatan dapat berganding bahu mencipta sistem gas ini yg khusus utk proton
    dgn sistem ciptaan sendiri kit mampu mengurangkan kos
    dan mampu membantu mengkomersilkan produk buatan malaysia
    byk lagi teknologi2 yang buatan anak watan pihak r&d protn harus ambil
    mmg mereka bina prototaip
    tugas r&d proton lah pula mengecilkannya sehingga bole digunakan pada kenderaan
    dan mungkin juga mpv ini mesra oku
    mpv harus
    selesa
    luas
    pemanduan mantap
    jimat minyak
    tak perlu laju cukup pickup kuat utk membawa beban yg ramai
    ruang bagasi luas utk barang
    dalaman sedap mata memandang tidak over futuristik dan tidak ketingalan zaman
    interior sebaik2nya berwarna gelap kerana ia kereta keluarga mudah kotor
    luaran tidak terlalu gemuk dan tidak terlalu kurus
    jadikan lampu kabus/fog lamp satu standart aksesori
    keselamatan dalam pemanduan waktu hujan harus jadi satu keutamaan semasa membawa keluarga
    lampu2 isyarat adalah led kerana pengunaan mentol biasa sudah tidak ekonomi
    mentol2 led mampu memancarkan cahaya yg baik tak kira siang atau malam
    rekaan harus gabungan timur dan barat
    sebab rakyat asia mementingkan ruang kabin dari segala2nya

• PROTONiaN (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 9:40 am

The major design freeze for proton MPV will be on end of this month, for our first MPV we benchmarked TOYOTA WISH, but the size slightly bigger than WISH…i hv all the details and the drawing, i really want to post all the details to this site but afraid proton might take some action la to people yg pandai2 bocor rahsia…hehe

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 9:58 am

haiya..u already gt d pic..how it look like??can u give us a bit info??

• PROTONiaN (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 10:08 am

of coz la,im one of the designer here,…personally i think its quite sporty,bigger than avanza,innova and slightly bigger than wish….if u go to prton, u can see lots of WISH in our prototype and testing shop, because we really want to make it as good as WISH….to make it easier u just imagine wish with Proton top mark…haha

• Alifz (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 11:30 am

Oo.. i see..

So the new P1 MPV is based on Toyota Wish platform…

So did P1 have acknowlegment to Toyota about this matter, same like Waja from Mitsubishi?

• ganz (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 11:35 am

i wish…wish look like.. kekekek

anyway.. Paul..keep on updating…

• kody (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 11:37 am

wahlaueh…
    good to have P1 designer here…
    Hi PROTONiaN, you are responsible for the external & interior design only or overall including engine??
    Is it using LED backlight?? If using LED, i give u an advise, only use high standard automotive LED, do not use cheap LED because of livespan & brightness may degrade upon usage affected by sunlight (sometimes)… like last time some P1 car external 3rd breaklight..some LED easily malfunction…

Slightly bigger than WISH…wah…. look yummy…. but need to know what is the initial estimate to achieve selling $$ for the MPV??….pls tell lah..ok… It is a excellent move to take WISH as benchmark…

I will suggest to test this MPV with P1 engine to go up to Genting with fully loaded 7 persons in the MPV… At least we can know how good the engine can move with fully loaded…

1 more suggestion… don’t use giant diameter steering wheel of toyota like in VIOS… Waja is just nice in size… haha..hope to contribute some opinion to the design…hehe…. :) who know i may go back to P1 car again although i always bash P1….coz i own 2 P1 car…. & now left only 1…

• kody (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 11:42 am

wahlaueh….

PROTONiaN, may be just paste the outlook of the MPV..you no need to paste every detail lah… this may help to hold up some purchase…. to wait for this MPV… haha….

• scottloeb (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 12:18 pm

Proton don’t just test the car at genting la kawan, they went to australia, sweden, spain and states (not to forget, UK too). Also endurance, bikin engine bukan macam workshop bawah pokok, kasi korek blok semua ok.. Mesti go for even the finest details, the lube use, operating temperature and everything. Kalau betul Campro cocktail tuh, sapa supply turbo dia, BorgWarner? Transmission, CVT ka? LED is too expensive to manufacture, depends on Proton la so I reserved my opinion.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 12:19 pm

interesting…hopefully it will b a good step 4 proton…bt pls…qc…hd to be good oso

• axis_706 (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 12:29 pm

most important, the engine have enough power to bring on all load of the mpv. 1 more thing, hope to reserve space for ngv tank for future benefit.
    exterior and interior? maybe as usual as persona ok. dont expect too much because 1 more thing proton’s side want is to reduce the cost. (but at least, i think they wont use persona or saga’s head & tail light)

• nd (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 12:36 pm

Alifz said,

February 12, 2008 @ 11:30 am

Oo.. i see..

So the new P1 MPV is based on Toyota Wish platform…

So did P1 have acknowlegment to Toyota about this matter, same like Waja from Mitsubishi?

I think you misunderstood the word “benchmark”. Proton is not using the wish platform for the new MPV. Is so, then they will have to pay royalty to Toyota and it ain’t gonna be cheep. Maybe they will have to sell it above RM100k to cover the cost.

Benchmark means they use the wish as a design reference for the size, shape, interior, exterior, comfortability, handling, equipment level, etc….
    same as the new saga was benchmark against the vios. In short, the new Proton MPV will be as good as Toyota Wish if not better.

Cheers! ;)

• PROTONiaN (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 12:47 pm

WAAhh….EVERYBODY SO INTERESTED TO KNOW ABOUT OUR FIRST MPV, GOOD2…I ONLY INCHARGE OF BODY DESIGN, NOT INCLUDING THE POWERTRAIN, AND ELECTRICAL PARTS, BUT DUN WORRY WE ENGINEER HERE EVERYDAY READ ALL UR COMMENTS AND SOME OF IT WE USE IT IN OUR OWN DESIGN…..

led backlight??..good idea, but hv to consider the cost too

• nd (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 1:02 pm

kody said,

February 12, 2008 @ 8:54 am

wahlaueh…

P1 MPV is a good ideal… but if they want to achieve cost saving… putting GENTU headlights… backlights…. hehe…. sorry this MPV will not worth for me even to visit at showroom…. because too lack of new outlook designs… Any proton folks read what i type pls feedback to management dun over cut cost on exterior, IMHO e.g. may b Persona can go even more higher sales if not get GENTU head & butt…. & sure below 70k is still acceptable price…
    not a bit over 70k lah…
    I am worry about CAMPRO can withstand long term turbo or supercharge…??

According to one of the designer, the new Proton MPV will have minimal carry over part from the previous model. So it will have a fresh outlook for the interior and exterior.

Regarding the durability of the Campro CPS supercharge, I believe the proton engineers must have considered this factor too, and ample testing will be done to make sure of it.

Cheers! ;)

• nd (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 1:05 pm

PROTONiaN said,

February 12, 2008 @ 10:08 am

of coz la,im one of the designer here,…personally i think its quite sporty,bigger than avanza,innova and slightly bigger than wish….if u go to prton, u can see lots of WISH in our prototype and testing shop, because we really want to make it as good as WISH….to make it easier u just imagine wish with Proton top mark…haha

PROTONiaN, just wondering… are you on the same team as Azlano?

• naikmotoje (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 1:06 pm

waahh….
    perodua how long will u rebadge daihatsu for your new model… :D

• PROTONiaN (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 1:45 pm

nd said,
    February 12, 2008 @ 1:05 pm

PROTONiaN, just wondering… are you on the same team as Azlano?

• kody (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 1:58 pm

wahlaueh…

LED backlight now already become future trend… & i believe the cost will become lower day by day… like MyVi… new WISH also come with LED backlight if i am not mistaken…

waiting to see piece of art from PROTONiaN… white & black body colours also become current trend for cars. WISH look good in white…

1 suggestion… make readers survey to judge which is best outlook for the MVP if you have multiple plans of body design on hands… You will get best & not too bias design which suite best to the market…

Pls…no more cassette player ICE…already outdated lah…
    may b option to upgrade better ICE from factory… front & center aircond are the must… bonus if have end row seats aircond…

hehe… i am happy to make comments now BECAUSE atleast i know P1 people read Paul’s blog… bravo Paul!! :)

Even the designs are good… the manufacturing PROCESS quality may kill the birds… Top management messages & determinations need to clearly hardcoded to every DIRECT manufacturing operators to keep up the quality… So WISH to see the P1 WISH… ASAP…

• PROTONiaN (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 2:01 pm

haha..don expect too much from me ah….i can only give u some idea of the styling body not the engineering side…..heh

• kody (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 2:02 pm

wahalueh…

aggresive front grill… make the car look good…. e.g. like Mitsubishi lancer 2.0…

• kody (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 2:06 pm

wahlaueh…

i think u know cars get better sales with Aero kits… more stylish outlook… but minimum $$ hehee….

• kerelbort (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 2:34 pm

will proton have MPV design clinic? I wanna join!! hehehe come come.. send me email to join the clinic… i will take annual leave just to join this clinic if it is made during weekdays…
    here.. i leave my email add.
    sirkerelbort (a) gmail.com

• waimak (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 3:17 pm

Proton MPV will have the standard that is based on the specs of Toyota Wish, is this true?? Reading some of the posts here makes me wonder abt the credibilty of Proton’s design team. Sorry for being prejudice and I hope I’m wrong.

• kody (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 3:47 pm

wahlaueh…

waimak,… we need to give chance to Malaysia Boleh… atleast they know Malaysia taste n go for WISH as benchmark… It is a good sign indeed… not everyone can affort ~rm160k WISH leh… at least another option for WISH a like MPV… with much lower $$ if below 70k… we must encourage the design team to come out what the market want….

I strongly believe this MPV sure will catch a lot of Malay buyers… coz of family size & cost of the MPV, stylish…

hehe… our local baby finally grow up a bit with the right formula milk & right teacher… :)

• kody (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 3:51 pm

wahlaueh…

with limited time & with radical approach… good move to take a recent product as benchmark… at least better than China.. exact copy with sure die body structure when crash teruk…

• madimat (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 3:53 pm

The Proton MPV design and engineering team set their benchmark on the Toyota wish DOES NOT necessarily means that they are copying directly whatever features or design or cues or dimension of the model they are ‘bench-marking’ on.

It is common for any car makers all over the world to set their benchmark on certain more successful models, most of the times of their closest competitors. That is why now if we look closely somehow the Latio and the City looks quite similar from certain angles, and the new Sonata if we see in a glimpse we will see an image of the Accord. We can’t really say how many dozens of those cars they broke into pieces just to study them and come out with their own product, and make theirs better.

Proton studied the Wish because it is the most successful mid-MPV here in Malaysia. Nothing wrong with that i guess. As long as the in the end they successfully come out with a product which is on par or better that their subject of studies ..

• BEARGEN (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 3:57 pm

design shape like Toyota Wish!!

• dzat46 (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 4:21 pm

Due to the weight of these 7 seaters mpv, we badly need a diesel engine MPV since diesel will be more suitable bcoz of the high torque at low rpm to pull the weight of an mpv ….further with the frugal fc of a diesel compare to same cc petrol…

If only P1 can produce or manufacture under licence similar diesel engine as currently being use by the Sorento (2.5 Turbo diesel) or Santa Fe (2.2 CRDi)…damn gud….

• evan eross (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 4:33 pm

hopefully this new MPV will be the most beautiful car proton ever produce, as malaysian i always support proton……hebat proton!!!!

• evan eross (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 4:39 pm

hebat protoonnnnnnnnnnn…..hebat proton………….hebat proton……..

• proton GL (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 8:03 pm

next year,
    worth wait, it has been a thorough study before it rolls for public,

anyway you got the choise for other makes,
    for me i can see proton make nice car and competitive,

• proton.com (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 8:50 pm

PROTONiaN said,

February 12, 2008 @ 10:08 am

————————————–

be careful of your word, this considered as company secret i think….

• e-nabilll (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 9:43 pm

ha? bigger than avanza and innova and same size as wish….???

doesnt make any sence at all..the innova is biger than the othr two….im strating to doubt claims n those who claim thm

• empeevee (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 11:31 pm

I guess the MPV a bit look alike MAZDA MPV or new PREMACY in term of size and dzign…protonian!!..am i right?…heh

Just dreamin this MAZDA MPV…ooolaalaa

http://es.autoblog.com/media/2007/06/mpv_brightstylishcustom_blk.jpg

• shamel (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 11:56 pm

TOKMOH;

I can’t enter azlano wordpress anymore? Are you have similar problem? Is it Proton management ask the designer to close to blog for us?

• zzua (Member) on Feb 13, 2008 at 1:32 am

sempat tgk skit sketch proton mpv kt blog tersebut 2 ari lepas.. dah tak buleh nk masuk dah blog tu.. diarahkan tutup ke.. huhu..

• chaku/maru (Member) on Feb 13, 2008 at 6:05 am

same here…cannot view azlan othman’s blog anymore…wonder why

• naikmotoje (Member) on Feb 13, 2008 at 6:26 am

can`t go to azlano blog…
    it says protected wordpress…. hurm i think some people ask him
    to close his blog…

• razzack04 (Member) on Feb 13, 2008 at 8:32 am

Happy New Year. I heard that proton is actually using the Wish platform for this MPV. I don’t know if it’s true but asked a few friends and they said it’s not a copy or benchmark but actually is the wish platform. The extended Waja platform will be used for Perdana replacement.

• evan eross (Member) on Feb 13, 2008 at 10:14 am

proton, keep up the good work ah…..cannot wait for ur new product….wht i heard the model based on wish(if i not mistaken) but slightly bigger than wish..the best thing..the engine..the r&d teams now testing the supercharge engine to put under the mpv’s hood..

• nizam80 (Member) on Feb 13, 2008 at 10:54 am

I think they use the Toyota Wish as a benchmark, not as platform to develop the car from scratch. If they use it as a platform, then i guess they have to pay royalty to Toyota and maybe will not be able to sell it at an affordable price. Just my 2 cents.

• wflo128 (Member) on Feb 13, 2008 at 1:55 pm

i hear my fren said tat perodua will launch myvi sedan 1.6 cc very soon…. dunno true or not ??? He said similiar like EVO ……

• proton GL (Member) on Feb 13, 2008 at 2:37 pm

to use other model as a case study is a normal practice,
    proton has to digest and synthesise other design in the process of developing its very own,

the design crucially has to take account the fixture the space utilization the cost skimming not forgetting aesthetic,

so at the end of the day its affordable, yet good package.
    but at the same time it has the ‘look’.

• epenarif (Member) on Feb 13, 2008 at 3:47 pm

Myvi sedan? ha.ha. is not true. And the design like Evo? ha..ha I want to cry..

• madimat (Member) on Feb 13, 2008 at 4:15 pm

wflo128 said,

February 13, 2008 @ 1:55 pm

i hear my fren said tat perodua will launch myvi sedan 1.6 cc very soon…. dunno true or not ??? He said similiar like EVO ……

+++++++++++++++++++++

wekekeke … can imagine how funny the Myvi will look like if Perodua really going into stretch it into a sedan, :) … heh heh,.. EVO some more!

well maybe it will look something like a Suzuki Swift sedan …
    http://www.vicky.in/straightfrmtheheart/wp-content/uploads/2007/09/maruti-suzuki-swift-sedan.jpg

naaah, i think this is just a nonsense rumour..

• madimat (Member) on Feb 13, 2008 at 4:21 pm

MyVi sedan with an EVO look i dont think it is possible. It will look horrendous ! Case study : New Indian built Maruti Suzuki Swift sedan. (http://www.vicky.in/straightfrmtheheart/wp-content/uploads/2007/09/maruti-suzuki-swift-sedan.jpg)

But MyVi strecthed into a 7 seater yes i can see a possibility here. And it might look cool, too. Any photo-chop artist here..? What you say, Mr Theopilus.

• asam (Member) on Feb 13, 2008 at 4:42 pm

hmm, its always ‘my makngah said’, ‘ my brother in law’s nephew who working there said’…rumours-rumours

• nanashisan (Member) on Feb 13, 2008 at 6:19 pm

other than wish as benchmark, i hope that proton also should consider Ford S-Max (featured in Autocar Asean Jan 2008) as benchmark too. it is proven as practical car in Top Gear and easy access to the 3rd row seat beside funky styling and high built quality.

• aksMs (Member) on Feb 13, 2008 at 7:34 pm

PROTONiaN, I agree with proton.com. You should be careful of what you have said and what you’re gonna say here. Don’t be too excited just yet to tell all about the new model. It is still a work in progress, right? I’m sure you still have so much work to do. Maybe you should go back to your drawing board to refine the design and detail. You have high expectation from many of us here.

No offend bro. We don’t want you to lose your job. Don’t get yourself into trouble lah. Focus bro, focus. Get the job done.

• MrDDR (Member) on Feb 13, 2008 at 9:05 pm

yeahhh.. agree too

• proton GL (Member) on Feb 13, 2008 at 9:28 pm

t.avanza 1.0 to 1.5litre
    weight 1130
    width 1630
    length 4120

t. wish 1.8 to 2.0litre
    weignt 1300-1400
    width 1695
    length 4550

t innova 2.0 to 2.7litre
    weight 2240
    width 1770
    length 4555

just some data to think about…….

just some data to think about..

• proton GL (Member) on Feb 13, 2008 at 11:04 pm

t.avanza 1.0 to 1.5litre
    weight 1130
    width 1630
    length 4120

t. wish 1.8 to 2.0litre
    weignt 1300-1400
    width 1695
    length 4550

t innova 2.0 to 2.7litre
    weight 2240
    width 1770
    length 4555

n. livina 1.6 to 1.8 ——–(for 1.6 produce 109hp 153nm)
    weight ..
    width 1692
    length 4410,

———————————————-
    possibly 1.6 campro have the potential, (the 1.6 iafm,)
    for a quite a sizable mpv because 1.6 livina can acheive that, with decent power, although cant match the 1.8 ,but the 1.6 campro iafm at least will get the job done, or preferably 1.6 cps,

correct me who knows batter.

• tango5 (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 12:23 am

waja platform + slightly bigger then wish + turbo charged engine =

something like a 7 seater Toyota Caldina come into my mind…

its gonna be delicious guys!

• Prem3377 (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 1:45 am

proton GL,

i dont think it will be able to carry 7 passenger with the current campro cps engine..even if it does its just about enough and using the current dated transmission will make it suffer alot because the campro is lack of torque even if grand livina is low on power,its tuned to have higher torque…153 compared to 150 from the campro…

torque is very important if you want to move a mass..

supercharging the campro will be the simplest way forward and that what proton will be doing(i guess)…and i think it will be very light pressure boost and i am predicting it to be around 150 to 155 bhp and about 170Nm to 180 Nm of torque..

or another simple way is variable vane turbos like porsche..with light pressure the turbo can produce good power and torque very early..i mean at very low rpm..about 2000 rpm it can achieve maximum torque..this is slightly expensive but better power and torque can be achieved and and easier to adjust the amount of power required..

and we all know proton waja’s chassis is on the heavy side so higher torque is a must…

what i heard from insiders is(i dont know how true)

they still testing the engines all day long…and havent come up with the decision on which engine the going to use(which means they have a few prototype engines)

exterior also same..few clay model already done but not yet finalise design..its radical and but with simple lines..similar to wish profile only

chassis is ready but waiting for transmission and engine..suspension set up is not as sporty as gen2 or waja..the overall chassis rigidity has been increased but structural rigidity is still being worked on..atleast to achieve better rating in safety test..

interior design is almost complete

and early 2009 will only be the launching date..early maybe will be may or later…still alot of work….we can only see it on the road late 2009..earliest by 3rd quater..

price has yet to be determined because nothing has finalize yet..but interior quality has been the main issue..and this car will be on par with the best of the japanese…

sifu where r u??busy testing those engines ar???

to Proton,

please use electric steering, can save some on FC

please dont forget rear aircond vents like toyota WISH

please go for latest interior treatment like FIAT,TOYOTA WISH and etc

all meter panel and etc should be like toyota camry(the latest one)

make design simple with minimal panels so that fittin error wont occur

dont use the old out dated transmission…please….its very important!!

and please make it a sporty MPV to drive…MAZDA 5 offer a great drive..way much better than WISH..please tune the suspension to match it…

and please come up with aerokits as part of the option list…it might help sales…

THANKS PROTON,TAKE YOUR TIME…its important to get it right the first time…

• proton GL (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 1:47 am

proton waja width is 1740 (within the mpv above), if we think the suitability of the V V A on proton waja chassis, but certainly the rear suspension adop a simpler type,

interm of the capabality of the engine, take an example,
    -decently to power the proton saga 1.3 – 113Nm for 1060kg

if weight for the mpv is around 1335 or 1400 means that ‘torque to weight ratio’ simillar if torque at 150Nm provided,
    therefore 1.6 campro iafm or 1.6 cps is adequate, but full load of seven just a slightly a bit extra weight,

if 1.6 campro iafm is used ,still it can be tailored for more earlier torque with its new valve timing setting and a trade off the power top end where power is peaked earlier, therefore top speed drop a bit, but the point is ,its an mpv, its not about chasing the the top speed,

just a tought, anyone come up with batter arguement….please give ideas

• proton GL (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 1:51 am

prem u there to give some ideas and overview ,thanks

• proton GL (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 1:55 am

but we want this and that ,
    again its about skimming the cost and affordability,

anyway wait for the fact

• darkwizard (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 3:20 am

Prem3377 said,
    February 14, 2008 @ 1:45 am

THANKS PROTON,TAKE YOUR TIME…its important to get it right the first time…
    ———————————————
    Good advice. Do it right the first time.

Lots of my collegues are holding their car purchase waiting for the MPV news as mostly people with family will look for MPV as Family car and Other cheaper sedan/hatchback as Work car.

So the question on How Malaysian (Especially the East Malaysia) selecting their car.

1st things it comes to Price. (Price it right as Most East Malaysian Average salary are not as high as what the West Malaysia can get)

2nd things Design (Nice design will attract more buyer – “Kia Su” or Takut Kalah attitude comes into play)

3rd things NVH (Noise Vibration Harshness) MPV are ment to be a comfy quiet relaxing mod of transport.

4th things Size does Matters (Not to small and not too Big) (Bigger than Wish but smaller than Ria) is the best size. Engineer resonsibility to calculate the Width X Length X Height.

5th things Loan structure (Please Get the Bank Loan interest to be as low as possible. It will be no point if the car priced low but Loan interest rocket high). Normally interest starting from 2.8% till 3.25% will be the best range. MPV buyer mostly has other commitment like children expenses so mostly they will take the longer loan period like 7 years / 9 years.

6th things Gearboxes (Please get a better gearboxes. Still stuck with Auto 4 speeder? 5 Speeder Auto would be nice to maintain low cost compared to other Competitor/Makes using CVT / Twin Clutch system / etc…)Gearbox and Gear ratios play a major role in Fuel consumption and Engine Noise.

7th things Quality Parts (This will give buyer a peace of mind when purchasing it. Furthermore like Mitsubishi Lancer, they offer longer Warranty period 3 years will be the minimum standard) Better quality will translate less problems and when less problems.

8th things Fuel Consumption (The Power/Torque vs Weight ratio will play a very important role in maintaining the Fuel Consumption.) It will be no point if the car was design like Naza Ria (V6 2500cc) where we East Malaysian call it the Fuel Guzzler as here we don’t have NGV gas station.

So to conclude:
    Price = P
    Design = D
    NVH = N
    Size = S
    Loan = L
    Gearboxes = G
    Quality = Q
    Fuel Consumption = F C

Make it into Wordings: P D N S L G Q F C
    Please Design Nice Superb Looking Good (Quality & Fuel Consumption) MalaysianPeople’sVehicle

• naikmotoje (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 6:22 am

Proton Saga can carry 50 biji durian what. hehe..

• mazih (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 8:17 am

56 bijiklah, kenapa tak percaya ke?….

• ynnad (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 11:39 am

Just curious, what is the expectation of the Proton management for this MPV model?

What are the projected figures (no of units) are they expecting this MPV model to sell?

Really curious as to how many % of malaysian automotive market are in the market for MPV?

• tokmoh (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 11:57 am

@shamel

Yes, I’m havin that problem too, even after logging in my wordpress a/c. I found out the problem after googling n found him in Wish forum (yes, the Proton Design Manager does own a Toyota Wish. I guess we know why Proton decided to use Wish as benchmark; their design manager oso got one, wakakak) “Visit Azlano’s Blog -> still blocked! wait ar…” is his current siggy in Wish forum.

So everyone, it seems we’re gonna hv to wait until he’s rdy to unblock it.

For those wishing for LED lights, I’m sorry to disappoint u guys dat I’ve asked Azlano before, his reply seems negative, as he thinks Proton still doesn’t hv economy of scale n bcuz LED is expensive, contrary to normal belief that LED is cheaper than bulb.

• tokmoh (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 12:00 pm

A bit off topic, bt ystrdy I saw the new Saga wit reg plate number passing by at SS14 Proton showroom n caltex petrol station!! Sadly, my fren thinks its ugly cuz of its awkward proportion: tall n thin. I dun rly care, cuz I tink it rly does look like C-class from afar, wakakak

• proton GL (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 12:51 pm

tokmoh,
    you show your friend non proton car with spinner wheel, probally he would say beautiful,

prem3377

i still say 1.6 campro iafm or cps going to power the mpv,
    because torque curve improves, if compare to livina 153 to 150 is in the reigon 150nm is doable,
    unless it uses the basic dohc campro then i say impossile.

1.6 really an entry level for its engine capacity, we got no clue of other higher power engine,
    im saying 1.6 this is what available at the moment,
    imposibbly turbo charged or supercharged, that is cost added,

i think the close comparison is the livina 1.6
    it weight is 1260kg, (amazingly just the weight of a waja? -im not so sure),
    probally yes because the lesser toyota wish at the lightest is 1300kg,

and i assume the proton mpv is weighted at below 1300, at 1280kg, where 1.6 is applicable,
    and of course the gearbox is somewhere to suit the weight is calculated,
    4AT, not yet 5AT .

-let me put this way, you got a piece of land let say. got a sum of loan to build your own house, so what you want for your house?
    of course everybody want a big house ,fine interior, intelligent electronically control features, 3 porches, 7 bedroom, 2 kitchen, attics.

how much actually can afford the loan? how do i wisely budget it,

• Prem3377 (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 4:46 pm

if 1.6 campro iafm is used ,still it can be tailored for more earlier torque with its new valve timing setting and a trade off the power top end where power is peaked earlier, therefore top speed drop a bit, but the point is ,its an mpv, its not about chasing the the top speed,

just a tought, anyone come up with batter arguement….please give ideas

proton GL,

if Proton can tuned the engine to have torque early..they would have done it when persona was planned..the campro without cps already reach its maximum potential and if you look at the torque curve..its not as flat as the nissan’s engine…proton’s torque curve is just increasing with the rpm..so it means when at low rpm say 2000 the torque is quite low too…so just assume the mpv is about 1300 kg…and you carry 7 passenger with a combined weight of 455 kg(65kg times 7) it will be 1855 kg of mass to move around…do you think the normal campro with iafm or vim can move around at 2000 rpm??i dont think so…if it does…higher rpm is needed..and this will not be a right thing to do if you consider FC and the amount of stress on the engine plus it will not be safe to even overtake!!!

so having the basic campro engine in the mpv will be out of the question!!

next the campro cps..the torque curve of this cps engine is good and its possible to move the mpv around and its just about enough i can tell you..
    but it wont have any performance in it and it will be just a people mover which might be ok for malaysian because we have limited choices..but our MPV market is not big as our car market and PROTON would have be thinking about export market more than domestic market..

so just another people mover without performance will not help it sell in countries where choices are plenty and proton is not toyota to sell cars with its badge alone!!so performance of its MPV is more important!!so a higher power engine is a must!!!i doubt it will sell well even here with just campro cps engine!!unless its a small mpv like avanza!!maybe proton will introduce the MPV with cps engine as an entry level model early next year and later will come up with an engine upgrade…with its H line model…

if the MPV only comes with campro cps..i doubt it will be selling well outside malaysia…because MPV like toyota wish and honda Stream is not target for uncles and aunties..or grandpa and grandma…it target for young drivers..who feel camry is too uncleish..and civic is driven by their girlfriend..so the the sporty MPV is the next available and best choice…thats why the stream and wish are sporty and not like innova or naza ria…

young people will always be proud with the amount of saman they got for beating the speed limits and how fast they drove up Genting…so if you just have a MPV with just the amount of power to overtake a kancil/viva.. admiring the back of a SAGa all the way to your kampung..drop gear or put it in D2 whenever you go up a small hill or climbing up from a basement parking…i dont think i will want one….what about you proton GL?

so proton need a bigger engine…on par with toyota wish 2.0 or atleast in between the 1.8 and 2.0 engine..if not a bigger engine..a forced induction engine..then i will want one….

• Prem3377 (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 4:54 pm

another thing is..since its based on the waja’s platform..i doubt it will be able to be around 1280 or lesser…with larger roof,more glass,addtional seats,stiffer chassis,longer platform…and heavier doors…i think it will be easily around 1350 to 1450 kg…so it will be heavier than a toyota wish…and no where near livina..

• proton GL (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 5:47 pm

i guess proton mpv 1300+a bit, (waja 1270) just wonder how livina 1280, aluminum engine?

not gonna be 1400+ or any full size,
    ————————–

anyway lets wait for it development to come, especially powertrain,
    or spy shot

• PROTONiaN (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 7:05 pm

guys…i just wanna say im sooo sorry, it wont happn again, maybe im too ‘semangat’ defending my new company when people understimate Proton capability in producing this new MPV, Proton boleh!! Malaysia boleh!!….im already start saving for downpayment for this new model,my family is getting bigger so need a bigger car maaa…..

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 9:52 pm

dear protonian…
    its ok,thats the spirit…
    please ye update information about the mpv…
    which its no top secret,ok
    :)
    buat yang terbaik..
    jgn hampakan harapan rakyat malaysia yg mengimpikan
    memiliki sebuah mpv buatan malaysia!

• proton GL (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 12:01 am

i alway put my hope on proton,
    it makes me happy when the emergence of the iafm and cps+vim,

this pauls site a place to discuss and speculate of what will come,
    for me what we have now is the campro engine,
    logically spculation based on campro engine to power the mpv,
    which i say -possible even at 1300+ curb weight, and i dont have a problem its design. as proton make a plesent looking car and stress on practicality,

i only can go that far,
    unless its newer development comes up, then we know futher,

people like sifu, protonian, ….??

• tokmoh (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 11:31 am

@Protonian

The ppl def hv confidence in Proton I daresay, based on the beyond-expected success of Persona n Saga which causes 5,6 months waiting!! Design-wise, quality-wise, technical-wise, advertising-wise, Proton’s definitely reaching a greater height.

However, my concern now wit Proton is the delivery. One month after Saga mk2 is launched, I hv oni been able to spot one in Subang Jaya. ONE. IN SUBANG JAYA. Then, there’s ppl in motortrader said he saw new saga unreg stockpiling at Balakong, Putra Perdana Puchong n Batu Caves car park. What’s happening? They’re supposed to b otr edi!! Also, there’s someone who called iCare to found out there’s oni 300 delivered.

Still nt getting used to deliver mass-volume models? well, I suppose that’s understandable due to launching 3 niche models in a row, bt u guys gotta get ur act quickly. Vios is now torturingly common otr, u might lose customers who’d rather pay twice bt can get the car much, much quicker…

As one guy in motortrader said, “strike while the iron is hot”. Work harder to smoothen the delivery to customers.

• PROTONiaN (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 2:52 pm

of course i luv my new company,still under probation period, it wont happen again….ilove proton….

• proton GL (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 5:11 pm

protonian you sound like some one from the vendor?
    (joking lah, but sound like one ………appologise.,,

• PROTONiaN (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 6:33 pm

mybe im one on the vendor, mybe im on of the proton staff…..who knows…anyway……im still wanna say…im so sory……..

• proton GL (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 6:51 pm

protonian do proton have a dyno lab for the purpose redesign the engine performance?

• sharkfish (Member) on Feb 16, 2008 at 12:55 pm

Hurray..proton mpv is based on apx.. :)

• redliner (Member) on Feb 16, 2008 at 4:40 pm

good move by proton and this is actually what malaysians hope for all this while. however, proton is not proactive and market-sensitive enough. they should do this long time ago when MPVs like citra / stream / wish selling like mad.

• kei9 (Member) on Feb 17, 2008 at 1:43 am

sharkfish said,

February 16, 2008 @ 12:55 pm

Hurray..proton mpv is based on apx.. :)
    —————————————-

really? XD i wish, proton use wish to bencemark it’s mpv, nice move…referecnce rules.. . hope they meet/exceed our expectations.

• temakol (Member) on Feb 17, 2008 at 6:14 pm

Wow….proton produce MPV! Hopefully with lotus input, the mpv will be lotus handling…..but with MPV body. Will defeat Nissan GrandLivina….pemanduan ibarat sedan, ciri seakan MPV. Proton handling absolutely better with lotus input….and body design as said benchmarked with Wish, what a good combination. Hopefully quality will better…or like Savvy 05-06….with TUV cert. Maybe proton need to certify all its model with TUV or equivalent certification to improve its vendor quality.

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Feb 17, 2008 at 11:24 pm

PROTON MPV IS BASED FROM TOYOTA WISH??

SHOULD BE NICE..

POWERTRAIN SHOULDNT BE A PROBLEM..

GOT 1.6 CPS ALREADY WHAT..

SUITABLE ENGINE…

• fretsurfer (Member) on Feb 18, 2008 at 12:09 pm

I’m expecting something from the innova-grand livina mould. And that would be perfectly fine with me. If it comes with 3-4 trims. That would mean that it’s spacious, looks acceptable, would be able to lug my kids around, have decent engine punch, priced well and most importantly – doesn’t break down… I’m a happy camper already.

• proton GL (Member) on Feb 19, 2008 at 3:11 pm

While the type and configuration of the power plant can not be revealed at this stage R3 has targeted a significant power increase over the standard Proton Satria, which is powered by Proton’s own Campro 1.6 litre twin cam multi-valve engine. (autodateline)
    —————————————————————

is a little clue there about engine development,
    guess what?

• proton GL (Member) on Feb 19, 2008 at 5:29 pm

“The question we get asked all the time is when will the next Satria GTi be here, the first generation GTi carved a real niche for itself and it is a bit of a cult car, the R3 Satria certainly give some pointers to what its successor might look like,” said John Startari.

“While we can’t reveal too many details at this time Satria GTi enthusiasts can rest easy in the knowledge that a performance version of the new Satria is not too far away and the R3 Satria is evidence of that,” he added.

18 02 08
    ————————————————————–

there are some ideas of how engine development is getting on, but especially for a high performance, that was mentioned.
    but for the economic reason, this high performance could be a bit detune to power a heavier machine like an mpv for example,

the possible adaptability of both seemed that supercharging is the most flexible adaptation, easy and simple power hike do become an interest of lotus to power its exige for example, probally proton as well,

those are speculation,
    i think theres nothing to hide as the development of powertrain encroaching toward the second half of 2008, its something that people really need to know,

but anyway just a speculation, not until we reach the fact,,

by the way if supercharging made available specially tailored for campro, it will be a good news for people who are used to basic dohc campro to be able plug in this with minimal modification, probally lowering the compression ratio a bit while stock ecu is still apply,

—speculation—-

• proton GL (Member) on Feb 19, 2008 at 5:42 pm

-im sorry far to over speculate, its a tweaked normally asprated engine 1600 campro r3 in australia, probally a stage 2 or 3 of R3, –

sorry again,

• fliedlice (Member) on Feb 19, 2008 at 8:13 pm

auctioncenter2u said,
    February 11, 2008 @ 11:59 am

Don’t expect too HIGH about Proton MPV, I guess it’s based on Mitsubishi ZINGER from Taiwan. Its like ANVANZAAA minivan type lah bro.

Wanna to BET!

actually I would like to bet…… come on….. put your money where your mouth is if you are so confident.

• sharkfish (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 7:10 pm

Ok i will bet…i dont agree with u

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 5:47 pm

fliedlice,

You will lose eventually. The overall MPV design is the combination of Toyota Wish (the headlamps) and Mitsubishi Grandis (the side profile), LED rear lamps might be used.

• farizal13 (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 4:21 pm

does anyone know if whether Proton offer better price for NGV tanks?? something like installment payment???? very expensive lar….

• khairil_ril (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 5:38 pm

aper ler burokkkk sangat stering kete nih….tak kreatif langsung…same jerk sumer kete malaysia nih…ubah ler skit..tak sedap tau bw kete stering camtu..kerasss…ok!!!!=D..

• rcopt2000 (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 6:11 pm

proton !!!!!!!!!!!!!!oversea not laku one,balik kampung lah…….

• nfgmaat (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 12:47 pm

i got picture for the latest MPV but how do i upload to it, i wan to share!

• my blog on Feb 13, 2009 at 12:41 am

Very nice information. Thanks for this.

• good job proton!!!

Yey. Hope Proton will not produce ’something’ like Juara. I guess PINTAR is platform sharing programme, where it shares platform from other models like what Toyota did for Avanza and Rush.

• malaysia boleh on Apr 17, 2009 at 6:39 pm

apa pasal semua orang komen pasal mpv ni? ini keluaran negara kita. kita rakyat malaysia harus sokong. bila malysia buat keta ada je yang tak kena. kenapa erk? kereta buatan korea yang banyak masalah tu kenapa orang tak komen? jawapanya, sebeb ia buatan korea. bila buatan malaysia semua orang komen.

• Manusia Biasa on May 18, 2009 at 2:18 am

Dude, how can we subscribe to your blog?

• wish malaysia on Jun 07, 2009 at 2:51 am

proton tak payah susah2 nak cipta kereta. tukar aje lambang kereta daripada mitsu airtrek kepada proton airtrek…..sbb QUALITY proton tak sama cam toyota….rakyat didahulukan dan pencapaian diutamakan…..

• wish malaysia on Jun 07, 2009 at 2:55 am

ops silap plak…QUALITY proton tak sama dengan QUALITY mitsubishi…heeeeee

• Heard that the all time promo for Exora is that it comes with "kluk" sound on the suspension when going on uneven roads or humps. Also heard that many owners complain about alignment problems when receiving their Exora but will be charged for doing alignment.

Hope someone can answer on this. I am not supporter of Proton and neither condemn them.

• I luv those who condemn each and every car that Proton comes out with and talk bullshit while condemning, but in real life they can't even afford a decent new Saga.

• www.kenyalang.net on Sep 25, 2009 at 3:48 am

Malaysian hardly support Proton….but only who yet never bought a proton car….or only buying a second hand car….or buying new but luckily got the defect product……..come on la….any car manufacturer got problem….

I own imported Nissan MPV and a PROTON SAVVY. But I like P Savvy much more…coz it have characteristic of itself. Handling superb….bundle with enough power 1.2 engine….compare to other k-car…Viva(a.k.a Daihatsu/Toyota)???

Fren, pls dont compare Exora with Airtrek….is it in same category? MPV nak compare dgn SUV mana nak sama. Exora compare with Avanza/Livina. Then baru ngam. Kalau Exora tu tambah sket bajet…P1 jual RM90k utk perbaiki material dalaman dan luaran, then confirm Innova pun kalah. Exora 1st MPV P1…lagi2 1st batch production….of course got some minor problem.

Not a P1 supporter, but be realistic in comparing them. Compare with cost and quality….is it fair for us to condemn P1 just because they got problem alignment…which only involve minor production in certain model. Go to P1 SC and got it fixed free la man….under 5yrs warranty.

• Kamaldeep on Sep 26, 2009 at 8:46 pm

I have had 3 P1s & 1 P2… Iike the Exora, just thinking why a lot of bullshitters condeming Exora like hell in this discussion. Is it really that bad?