Alfa Romeo 149 images appear on the net!

Alfa Romeo 149

The little Alfa Romeo 147 was one of the most fun cars I’ve test driven. There was just something about the way Alfa Romeo made its inline-4 engine sound so good, the way the Selespeed automated manual transmission managed the throttle blipping on downshifts and how it slammed the clutch when you want the quickest upshifts possible. But it is getting a little long in the tooth now, being first introduced in the year 2000 and facelifted in late 2004 for a sleeker look.

The first images of the 147’s successor has made its way onto the internet. This Italian baby is based on the same chassis as the new Fiat Bravo and Lancia Delta. The Alfa Romeo 149 features a nice blend of curves and aggressiveness, with a front end that reminds you of the MiTo and a lovely rear end that features an integrated diffuser design. The images above show conventional door handles for the rear doors, so it means the 149 loses the 147’s “hidden” handles.

You can expect the 149 to most likely share the Bravo and Delta’s engine options, which means a range that includes a few Fiat diesels ranging from 105 PS to 190 PS (twin-turbo Multijet) and the 1.4 litre T-JET turbocharged small engine producing up to 150 PS and 230Nm of torque. It will be curious to see if there will still be a GTA version and if yes, what it will be powered by.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mac_labuan (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 6:52 am

1st…cleopatra pls dont kill me,alfa 149 beauthy…design is stunning

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 7:29 am

Is it getting “1st” a moron?
    Anyhow, this car so cun !!!

• Jaybond (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 8:12 am

Bellissima! A growned up version of Mito.2-doors should be much tasty.

Looks like Alfa’s new models are inspired by 8C Competizione. Expect 159’s replacement to follow similar trend.

• raptorclans (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 9:05 am

Looks beautiful like how Alfas always do… lots of 8C and Mi.To influence… wish they kept the hidden door handles though…

• CAKAP.Net (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 12:07 pm

So cute car.. suitable for ladies driver :)

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 2:51 pm

Those are not real images, sadly. Those are chops by AutoExpress, the British equivalent to automotive tabloid. http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/news/autoexpressnews/229656/alfas_beautiful_little_number.html

I was commenting in another forum, that in the full AutoExpress chops, the water reflection (cropped here) shows opposite positioning of wheels in the 3/4 front pic; second pic shows front left wheel positioned way too far, and both front and rear door handles are copies, including key holes.

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 3:21 pm

Its darn cute!

Alfa has done a good job !

• droll (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 3:32 pm

what a beautiful, beautiful piece of engineering! do we have any shots of the interior?

• tikus (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 4:14 pm

Soooo Nice lar but dont make it to boleh land.Look only.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 6:52 pm

IF THIS CAR ISN’T TOO EXPensive, then the mito should be cheap

• b4nd3r (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 10:33 pm

I love the art they made. The unique that even Japs couldn’t find the recipe.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 10:58 pm

ermm…. its not that bad….
    but i still prefer volkswagon Golf GTi……….. haizzzzz……

• csv (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 12:11 am

jack it up, increase length a little.

they got a nice suv.

• aksMs (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 1:19 am

Xx- Ferrari -xX,

I’ve been dreaming of that hot hatch days and night. Wants it even more ever since I got to test drive it last month! Oh my GTi!~

As for the topic, I wonder if anyone realize or read the comment made by Theophilus. It’s a good looking chopped 149, nevertheless. It shows thou, in the 1st image, the awkward position of the wheels. Seems that the front and rear are not aligned properly.

But, whatever the new 149 would look like, I believe it won’t lose the trademark hidden door handles.

Just my 10 cents.

• longjaafar (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 2:55 pm

Reliability should be emphasised, because the 147 had it’s share of “going dead suddenly in the middle of the road”. Sime Darby’s stance also does not assuage Malaysian motorists with it’s half hearted handling of the brands under the Sime Group, having grouped Ford, LandRover and Alfa all under one roof.
    Having owned Alfas in the past, I know that it is one the best handling cars in the market. Hopefully the glory days of Alfa will come back. They were so good that even our police patrol cars were Alfa Guila.

• Jaybond (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 4:39 pm

Nowadays, it’s the Italian & the French who made the best-looking hatchbacks.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 5:14 pm

this is actually a very cheap ferrari. which is brilliant.

• Jaybond (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 8:17 am

For this model, I’d rather banking on Alfa’s heritage than Ferrari.

Alfa racers born first before Ferraris..

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 2:19 pm

yeap, alfa romeo was why ferrari was even born