E39 Alpina B10 V8 S: the “automatic” alternative!

Alpina B10 V8 S

Sometimes its fun to take a blast into the past, but for today we’re not going too far into the past, but instead let’s have a look at a fast car from the late 90s/early2000s, a souped up version of one of my most favourite, the BMW E39. This is the Alpina B10 V8S based on the E39 BMW 540i.

During its time, the B10 V8S was even more expensive than the E39 BMW M5 but like the approach Alpina took with the latest generation E60 Alpine B5 versus the E60 BMW M5, it delivered its grunt differently. The Alpina B10 V8S was more of a very fast tourer that was still comfortable to ride in, especially with its automatic transmission, as compared to the manual-only E39 M5.

The 540i’s 4.4 litre engine was replaced by a 4.6 litre unit, then later 4.8 litre normally aspirated unit. It produces 375 horsepower at 5,800rpm and an impressive 510Nm of torque at 3,800rpm. This means less horsepower compared to the M5’s 400 horses at 6,600rpm but more torque compared to the M5’s 500Nm at 3,800rpm.

Of course, those higher horses are achieved higher in the rev range so at about 5,800rpm they could be producing nearly the same power. The B10 V8s is only 0.1 seconds slower to the 100km/h mark than the M5 at 5.4 seconds, and this is with an automatic compared to the M5’s manual transmission. It can achieve a top speed of over 284km/h.

As mentioned before, Instead of a manual transmission the Alpina B10 V8S uses a 5-speed transmission derived from the ZF unit in the 540i. Alpina calls it the Switch-Tronic transmission and its transmission ratios, shift patterns, internals and electronics are customised according to Alpina specifications. Steering-wheel mounted shifting is enabled via buttons behind the steering wheel spokes – left for a downshift and right for an upshift.

As for cosmetics, the exterior features the classic Alpina blue paintwork with minor additional styling – a subtle bootlid spoiler, the classic multi-spoke Alpine wheels in white and a small front lip for the facelifted style front bumper.

Look for more photos after the jump.

Alpina B10 V8 S

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• volks2 (Member) on Oct 26, 2008 at 10:09 pm

wonder how much is e39 used price now?>

• cd.subaru (Member) on Oct 26, 2008 at 10:31 pm

not nice… prefer old version of 318i…

• ragnahse (Member) on Oct 26, 2008 at 11:38 pm

this is d real bmw….absolutely adore te front…the badges from the rear shld go..it looks quite messy nw..

• elpaciko (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 12:03 am

please everybody… dont ever try to say that this is an awful car…….

• IsaacVky (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 12:09 am

I think my M-technik body kit looks nicer than the Alpina’s :p
    But this car has got lots of horses and nice wheel!

• xenith (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 2:03 am

Always loved Alpina….
    Performance oriented brand.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 2:25 am

i will still prefer the current M5……….. this one luks ugly and doesnt have the look of a luxuries sports machine….

• dewasemut (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 6:23 am

AWFUL CAR…..

hehee… just joking… ALPINA BMW, where are you??? the thread that you are waiting is here already!!! Balik kampung raya ka? Drive your Alpina safely ok? Happy Deepavali to you!

• abtm (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 6:54 am

it’s nice to look at a cool non bangled up BMW again, makes the new 5 series look like a clown car…must be a great 2nd hand buy now, if i can find one

• David9988 (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 10:51 am

pointless, hediously ugly and waste of petrol….
    anyone who willingly pays the rm6000k / or more road tax for this needs wealth management classes.
    This car belongs in museum negara or the junk yard.

• realALPINAowner (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 11:14 am

a very good posting from you Paul, as this V8S is a classic,limited edition and quite hard to find it seems now. the 19″ also fit well than the V8.any other posting for,say B5….

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 12:07 pm

David9988 said,
    October 27, 2008 @ 10:51 am

anyone who willingly pays the rm6000k / or more road tax for this needs wealth management classes.
    ———————————-

just coz you think its expensive doesnt make it pointless.. if what you say is true, i suppose you think all expensive car, all cars with big engines, all cars who drink lots of petrol.. which means.. cars like ferraris, evo’s, sti’s, RS6, M5, skylines..etc. etc. in fact, you’ve probably described every known car that can make a car enthusiasts blood boil.. so i suppose everyone in the world who is smart with good wealth management should buy something like a toyota corolla?

dream on.

• realALPINAowner (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 1:06 pm

It would be better for us to comment on the car , not people…. Let those who can afford ,buy whatever they want…no matter what is the cost. Money belongs to them.Those who can’t afford , can also dreaming …nothing’s wrong about it….

• theanswer (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 4:04 pm

i like this model compare to the current one. the current one looks too futuristic.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 5:09 pm

still looks very garang even though it is not a new car…..

David9988, your submit your comment when u are drunk or what?

• WXX8XX (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 8:41 pm

David9988 said,
    October 27, 2008 @ 10:51 am

—————————————————————

From my own experience dude… It is worth every penny spent for this badge. Others who have experience it will know what I’m talking about…

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 9:01 pm

the best car in the world, its actually better than the alpina b5(current model), its cheaper than the BMW M5,more exclusive, better built, more fuel efficient than M5….paultan, what about the alpina b10 3.2 and 3.3?

• jtshin (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 9:10 pm

E39 is the best 5 series! Lovin’it to the max!! but not really a fan of Alpina though.. hmm…

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 10:27 pm

ALPINA BMW said,

u got subscribe topgear m’sia mag.. lol

old is still top gun~

• TESko (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 10:34 pm

Ahh… Me favourite

• BlackJKX (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 10:33 am

The rims looks like aeroplane turbine during on the move.
    Work harder and get one of those before 40.

• MAJUPERAK (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 10:46 am

E39 is still looks good …. a 1997 2nd unit of 520i or 523i sells for around RM65K in the classifieds ….. but maintainence will be a drain …. expensive.

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 2:00 pm

This car still looks better than all the junk BMW comes out today. Well maybe X6 is an exception, but this car is still seriously beautiful

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 9:36 pm

this car luks more prestigous in its standard condition without any modification….

• GL3n (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 2:41 pm

Looks outdated BUT still look NICE…heheh

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 8:27 pm

MAJUPERAK said,

October 28, 2008 @ 10:46 am

E39 is still looks good …. a 1997 2nd unit of 520i or 523i sells for around RM65K in the classifieds ….. but maintainence will be a drain …. expensive.
    ———————————————
    in uk u can get a E39 M5 or alpina b10 for 10k pounds, alpina’s apparently hold their value better than the M cars

• dralpina on Sep 24, 2009 at 11:58 am

alpina b10 4.8l is the best alpina u can drive ,same enging of x5 4.8 v8, power+stability+luxury

• I assume David 9988 enjoys driving his Prius.The Alpina is what driving is all about,Performance, Prestige and a truly superb piece of engineering! I just hope cars like this live on and we dont become too inflluenced by modern paranoid society!