BAIC BE701 – a self-developed electric car?

Beijing Automotive BE701

BAIC (Beijing Automotive) has unveiled in China its first self-developed electric car, the BE701. The BE701 was built by BAIC’s Beijing New Energy Automotive subsidiary.

Claimed specifications for the car so far looks pretty decent – a 200km range on a full charge, 0 to 100km/h in 15 seconds, and a top speed of 160km/h, which are quite acceptable figures for a car. Maybe not for a car that looks as grand as the BE701 but anyone could live with those sort of specifications.

The 200km range will of course keep it as a city solely for city use, but it will be more than enough for a day’s use before getting to a charge point for an overnight charge.

Beijing Automotive also announced a new clean energy vehicle development and manufacturing facility which it built for 2.28 billion yuan (RM1.13 billion). The facility will be able to churn out 50,000 EVs and 100,000 hybrid models annually.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Mysticmind on Nov 17, 2009 at 5:24 pm

Well.. they can 'self develope', but YES!

they also can 'self claim' many thing.

still to many thing to be doubt .

but , i do someday they gonna be big player in the auto industry.

but PLEASE! use 'International name', not a company and a brand etc that's sound too 'china language'.

• Vbkcheng on Nov 17, 2009 at 5:35 pm

ahya…all the same…biar China kah, evn the US…Marketing talk mar….

They claim their weapon is so good wor…but, they also lost in Vietnam war right?

Anyway, it is a good start that China has the EV….at the end, the winner is not depend on who can produce the best EV (car), but who can produce the best battery for the EV….

THose who master the EV battery, not need to have own brand of EV, just sell it to those EV manucatory, let them complete, any how, who wind, you will also the winner….

• Vbkcheng on Nov 17, 2009 at 5:37 pm

but hornestly, if we change the front grill (tangki salung), the car look not bad right? better look then any model from our P1 & P2 ler…

• 1malaysia on Nov 17, 2009 at 5:42 pm

mysticmind,

i think te problem is from you, not the auto maker. u can acecpt japanese & korean name (suzuki,hyundai,etc) and also "naturally" accept english name (lotus, ford,etc), some more malay name (waja,saga,etc). why u hv problem with this? u can doubt on the spec they said but atlease they show some thing out front! look at P1, after 20+ yrs of protection, still need rebadge their car. P2 even worse, 100% copy-cat! look at Gen2 sale in China, they don even mention Proton instead they claim it as Lotus development.

my friend, look at others good side, learn from them. be self improve!!!

1malaysia.

• The front look ugly & confused.

• I totally agreed with abang 1malaysia. I think the name should not be a problem if they can provide good quality cars. What's wrong with the name?? Do you think the mat salleh can understand whats the meaning for WAJA, SAGA, WIRA, PERSONA, ISWARA & the stupid cube JUARA??

• Littlefire on Nov 17, 2009 at 5:54 pm

Other ppl can did it in few years time, while some of them even 20 years of protection cant make a decent electric or hybrid car their own…

Just admit it, we going to be eaten alive by China market in a few years time…

• mkrafz on Nov 17, 2009 at 5:57 pm

learn from them?

r u out of yor mind?

please define 'self-develop'…

more to 'self-copying' to me…

at glace, the front rip-off from toyota camry+hyndai equus

for them self-develop=copying the tech+fluid car design+really2 i'm mean really.. bad name.

comment?

• Mysticmind on Nov 17, 2009 at 6:09 pm

1malaysia.

thanks for your opinion, ya.. it might only me.

but honestly, i jsut thing their 'brand name' sometime sounds weird.

byd, chang ann, Baic(?) (but this one generic name) bla bla bla.

Japanese brand using japanese brand is doesn't sound weird, maybe because they already long time in business. but look at current trend, kia = forte, nissan = skyline, mitsu = evo etc etc. Hyundai = accent and many more. did you notice that? well.. i know, they still use japan word for some model .But it not sound weird.

@max :

SAGA & PERSONA is not only a malay word la buddy. It's also an english word.

And wira(unsure) & Iswara name only use in malaysia.

please keep you fact right. :)

• Mysticmind on Nov 17, 2009 at 6:11 pm

aiya!.. too many typo, cant edit. :D

• mitlanevo on Nov 17, 2009 at 6:16 pm

looks very "china" + a bit of jap styling, but not bad…

hopefully the handling is acceptable…

• I think those people who said 'naming' is not important are not grasping on the real world marketing capitalism.

Ever heard of Acura or Lexus? Read between the lines…

Go have some understanding on the branding exercises… don't just simply leave a comment coz it will only makes you sound ***** & ignorant.

• HyundaiLove on Nov 17, 2009 at 6:36 pm

2012 THE NOAH"S ARCH IS DEVELOP BY CHINA…HAHAH!!

WHAT CAN PROTON DO!!? …pls learn how to copy if dunno how to develop

• ong chin aun on Nov 17, 2009 at 6:37 pm

what international name ? Is Chinese language not an international language?

Totally agreed with 1 malaysia. Be rational and without prejuidice, and give constructive suggestion rather than critism. innovative and creative rather than copy should be praised instead,= not condemn. How many famous and big Companies not get ideas from others ? Toyota, Mercedes and Honda Madza and many others the like. Who can produce the best EV OR HYBRID CARS is still unknow, but Toyota seems leading the way, follow by Honda . Fact. However, who can predice after say 15 years times,? Well?

• china is optimise to their ambition to be a global player…They are so proud with their name.at least.that is their identity…i read somewhere , china made computer is 5th in fastest computational power…

thats is why the US very afraid of China….

• autojohndoe on Nov 17, 2009 at 6:51 pm

BAIC BE701

the words seems like

BAIK BETOI

• kadang2 cemburu melihat perkembangan d negara orang. ntah kenapa niat murni kadang2 d halang oleh pihak yang berwajib. saya tidak pasti sama ada kereta elektrik akan melepasi sekatan daripada JPJ sbb skuter dan motor elektrik tidak melepasi sekatan jpj. solarin turtle pun d nafikan haknya.
    kalau solarin turtle boleh berada d jalan raya, tidak perlulah solarin berhasrat memindahkan kilangnya ke negara lain.

• MADBOY on Nov 17, 2009 at 7:01 pm

autojohndoe said,

November 17, 2009 @ 10:51 am

BAIC BE701

the words seems like

BAIK BETOI

———–

ha..ha..ha..very funny

• rexis on Nov 17, 2009 at 7:11 pm

Mysticmind,

Frankly speaking, it will be lamer if China use name like Eurostar, Europe Wind, etc, that will make them more wannabe or sound like trying to pretend to be something else.

A famous international China name like Haier is possible. A brand has something to do with quality issue.

Actually nowadays people are more frighten to the brand "Made in China".

• rexis on Nov 17, 2009 at 7:11 pm

Btw, what a Camry wannabe!

• nabill on Nov 17, 2009 at 7:40 pm

when china say 'self-developed'….i have big suspicion !

• chiewwl on Nov 17, 2009 at 8:11 pm

at least CHINA had 'developed'.. P1 & P2? awaits to clone/copy its production once available market?

• Some people in here are bloody stupid is beyond imagination. This is post about BAIC EV car and it attempt at global market. Did you read anywhere in Paul's post above mentioning Proton or Perodua? Did you read anywhere in his post this a country versus country? NO!

So stick to the relevant discussion & if you need to bash other car market that not related to BAIC and go post it in thousand of related posts in this website.

• Plus we are MALAYSIAN Chinese… NOT China Chinese. Why we must belittle our own country?

Some people like in here are the problem why others are skeptical towards us in our own country, MALAYSIA.

• NoNoP2 on Nov 17, 2009 at 8:59 pm

I think this car is a clone from Hyundai Genesis. Self-claimed made in China.

• It looks like Hyundai Equus….. 'copying' again? 0.0

• scottloeb on Nov 17, 2009 at 9:49 pm

Looks very much like the Hyundai Genesis, the ones Maradona ride to meet the FIFA officials few days ago.

• dzulx on Nov 17, 2009 at 9:49 pm

Kim…

"Plus we are MALAYSIAN Chinese… NOT China Chinese. Why we must belittle our own country? "

I thought we are MALAYSIAN?? ;)

Cannot understand Malaysian Chinese, Malaysian Malay or Malaysian Indian…:D

Cheers…

BTW yeah… we must not belittle our own country..

But frankly China is so scary.. They r moving too fast.. Very impressive indeed..

Been living there for a while… and I have no doubt they will be the biggest player anytime soon…

• saki77 on Nov 17, 2009 at 10:04 pm

BAIK BETOI…hehe,,nice….

• alpha999 on Nov 17, 2009 at 10:16 pm

yes….China fast becoming the biggest, longest, top, no 1……in whatever field…….

also they have been a significant increase in China chinese students in US universities….

soon the smartest brains….CHINA

• azrai on Nov 17, 2009 at 10:53 pm

This is the advantage of high population. Remember those days when Dr.M target 80million population of Malaysian.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 17, 2009 at 11:34 pm

this is a nissan…..

• squawk on Nov 17, 2009 at 11:57 pm

This was heard from a European buyer – they (I assume him and his comrades) don't go to China because of cheap things. They go to check out the technology and innovations.

I've seen some China manufacturers' abilities and I know why US, Japan & Europe are afraid of them. All those Made in China things we get here are their low quality goods because the people who bring them in probably want bigger profit margin.

Made in China goods are ok. Made in China food…….

• mystvearn on Nov 18, 2009 at 12:39 am

Proton should be very worried. If BAIC can make this concept car, they can make it. That car looks more like production model. And China can make it cheap,

• I luv Malaysia on Nov 18, 2009 at 2:06 am

even china has population bout 1.2 billions, but still they still couldnt built really good cars..so far all CHINA cars are craps and rubbish. At least malaysia with the population bout 27 millions could built not bad car so far. Proud to be Malaysian…Dont care what people wanna say about Proton but they are much2 better. Even though they didn't produce EV or what so ever yet. it doesnt matter. one day they will.

• wow nice car… Hope its not a copy and paste thing again

• squawk on Nov 18, 2009 at 3:43 am

So I luv Malaysia, even the VWs, Buicks, Audis in China are crap? :-)

• hey, its a pretty good looking car considering its birthplace, just change the grill and we got a winner. but still, someone has to be the guinea pig to test it out first.

• ignas on Nov 18, 2009 at 6:45 am

why does P1 or P2 need to go thru hassle for self develop whereas they can just pay re-badged licenses with citizen's money? after all government is still protecting them, its a win win situation for them.

national issues aside, i do find generally china automakers' way of naming is quite communism and they don't have much design sense in cars' exterior. maybe they can build too fast till they don't have the time to study and build their own identity. well, that just me.

• mkrafz said,

November 17, 2009 @ 9:57 am

learn from them?

r u out of yor mind?

please define ’self-develop’…

more to ’self-copying’ to me…

at glace, the front rip-off from toyota camry+hyndai equus

for them self-develop=copying the tech+fluid car design+really2 i’m mean really.. bad name.

comment?

yes…can you built one ??

Ask yourself…

comment?

• squawk said,

November 17, 2009 @ 3:57 pm

'This was heard from a European buyer – they (I assume him and his comrades) don’t go to China because of cheap things. They go to check out the technology and innovations.'

Maybe you didn't understand the European's sarcasm ?

Aha, European buyers go to China to check out technology and innovations ? What technology ? What innovations ? Tell me just ONE innovation or technology from China… ;)

• Head Hunter on Nov 18, 2009 at 3:48 pm

The name for this car is just too generic, there's no identity.

Toyota gets the name from its founder, Toyoda, Mercedes, embodiment of a pretty girl. Proton, well, subatomic particle with an electric charge of +1 elementary change (It sounds cool, you get the idea).

Hey, when you come to think of it, Proton should focus on making EVs since the name suggests electric charges and subatomic particles!

Anyway, this car, with that beautiful look, deserves a name that can be remembered.

That is the only way you can sell a car. Maybe AICHI or TAITON. Hehehe..

• NoNoP2 on Nov 18, 2009 at 8:49 pm

CHINA is indeed moving fast. But they're using reverse engineering. It may look good from the outside, but no one knows what the crash rating would be. Their market is bigger (biggest?) so that is another advantage why they're moving fast.

Anyway, this is just CLONING technology. They'll never stop cloning!

• squawk on Nov 18, 2009 at 9:11 pm

Mohd, you obviously don't read much. Go look up CapitalBio, a biotech co spun off from Tsinghua University.

In 2008, China was granted 200,000 patents. You don't get that from copying.

• terfikir plak camne perkembangan kerete proton yang usaha sama dengan detroit elektrik….ape cite skrang ni ar..China adalah negara yang bersedia sebelum membuka ekonominya…sekiranya ingin memasarkan kereta, pembuat kereta luar perlu melabur sebilangan amout…yang membuatkan hanya pembuat yang serius akan melabur dan bukan yang selepas abil faedah pelaburan, mereka lari…

• squawk said,
    November 18, 2009 @ 1:11 pm
    'Mohd, you obviously don’t read much. Go look up CapitalBio, a biotech co spun off from Tsinghua University.
    In 2008, China was granted 200,000 patents. You don’t get that from copying.'

This information is wrong and (of course) without source.

Worldwide patents in 2008:
    1st Japan: 260680
    2nd Germany: 122171
    3rd UK: 47503

Taiwan: 9217
    Hong Kong: 1831

And now comes the technology advanced People's Republic of China: 377

In comarison: Liechtenstein, with a population of 34,761 (!) has 261..

Malaysia has 96, which is much better than China, as they have a population of 1.4 billion while Malaysia has a population of 26 million…

Source: http://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/ac/ido/oeip/taf/…

• drgn86 on Nov 19, 2009 at 2:40 am

Mohd, maybe you've never heard of fireworks, the earthquake-sensing device from ancient china, these are the examples, long before the west came along… so look properly before asking a lame question…

• Looks like camry.

• squawk on Nov 19, 2009 at 4:17 am

Thanks for the link, Mohd, though it's for US patents and you've quoted pre 1995 figures.

I made a mistake too. I quoted China domestic patents, not worldwide. But you can refer to this article – http://tvnz.co.nz/technology-news/china-lead-in-p…

Although ancient China is known for such inventions as the printing press, compass, gunpowder etc, a few years ago they had done a domestic survey and the 4 great modern inventions picked were – high yield hybrid rice (1970s), laser photocomposition system for Chinese character typesetting (1980s), complete synthesis of bovine insulin (1960s), compound artemether (malaria medicine, 1960s).

• squawk said,
    November 18, 2009 @ 8:17 pm
    'Thanks for the link, Mohd, though it’s for US patents and you’ve quoted pre 1995 figures.'

Uups, your absolutely right. I was in the wrong column…

Worlwide patents 2009:
    1st Japan: 36679
    2nd Germany: 10086
    3rd Soth Korea: 8731

Taiwan: 7779
    Hong Kong: 717
    People's Republic of China: 1874

Still poor for a country with 1.4 billion, right ? Namely, if you compare tiny Malaysia's 168 worldwide patents in 2008.

Don't get me wrong: I honor the inventions of ancient China, but I still doubt that Europeans nowadays go there for technology and innovations. They simply go there, because they can throw their toxic production waste into the chinese Landscape without any government action. Even in the chinese press there are reports about it: http://www.chinadaily.com.cn/china/2009-02/24/con…

• squawk on Nov 20, 2009 at 2:52 am

I don't doubt that there's still holes in their enforcement. But if you watch news from China, especially the provincial/state ones, you'll find that they're more vocal/open to expose or criticize the shortcomings of the local authorities/govt. And this is a communist country.

Actually, what I heard was from a buyer. They have no manufacturing presence in China. They go there to source for goods and were just clarifying that they're not there primarily because of the low cost as what is generally perceived.

• Ciaran Murphy on Nov 20, 2009 at 5:03 am

Patents are not a good way to count innovation/technology.

The rules are different in each country so you can not compare a German patent to an American patent.

In the US it is relatively easy and cheap to get a patent, but they are not very strong in court. You do not have to prove originality to get the patent. If someone then challenges the patent in court then the court will decide if the patent was valid/orginal in the first place. The American system makes it easy for large companies to apply for many patents that they do not deserve. They get a lot of money from people to licence the patent because a small guy will not take them to court.

In Germany (and most of Europe) you must prove that you idea is original first before they grant the patent.

So lets say I have a problem, and I come up with a clever solution. In Germany when you apply for the patent you must explain the problem that you were trying to solve. They give this problem to some experts in the same field with the same constraints as you. If there solution is even close to your solution then you don't get the patent! in the US no checking beforehand… only in court!

In Europe you are not allowed to patent software… only physical things or processes. So there is lots of invention in Europe that is not counted in patents.

If you see something clever and think "hey that clever, it might help me in my problem". Now your problem is totally separate and unrelated but what you saw gave you 'creative spark'. In the US your idea can be patented in Europe no… because you 'transferred' from an existing idea.

So unless you know how difficult the system is you can not compare. I have no idea how strict the Chinese patent system is… but I know the European system is far stricter than American

• squawk on Nov 22, 2009 at 2:21 am

Thanks for enlightening, Ciaran.