Exora “B-Line” to stave off Perodua attack

Proton Exora B-Line

We saw a new variant of the Proton Exora with steel wheels (with wheel cover) back in July 2009. This indicates a cheaper “B-Line” variant and with the Perodua MPV launch creeping up ever so closely, it’s no wonder that Proton salesmen have begun putting up some interesting ads on Mudah advertising the availability of the new B-Line car.

I will be back with some official information for you this week but for the moment you can check out the B-Line ads (most indicate a mid-50K price) that have been posted up on Mudah in the following links:

Mudah Link #1, Mudah Link #2, Mudah Link #3

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• first.

Will give the Perodua a run for the money. Ah toh of CBT said that he has tested the P2 MPV and Exora is better value for money as it has a boot space even with all seats being used whereas the P2 MPV has no boot space.

• go proton…..
    P2 cnnot beat P1.,.,.,future is 4 P1

• learner on Nov 18, 2009 at 5:14 pm

taken from mudah:

Price: RM 54 548 Reg. year: 2009
    Mileage: 0 – 4 999 Make: Proton
    Model: Exora Transmission: Manual
    Engine Capacity: 1600 cc
    Accessories: CD Player, Airbag driver, Alarm, Central lock

Dapatkan tempahan MPV EXORA manual Base line
    price
    EXORA MANUAL RM 54 548 SOLID
    EXORA MANUAL RM 54998 MET

Ready stock
    Trade in diterima
    Enjin CamPro 1.6 CPS 125hp teknologi LOTUS
    Trade in diterima
    Deposit 0%-100%loan

1. Side mirror with indicator light
    2. Roomlamp remain on after key disarm 30second
    3. Hazard light will activate when there is a sudden braking at or above speeb 96km/h
    4. Crash block-to unlock all doors in case of airbags deploy
    5. Signal lamp-lane change with a single tap on the turn switch signal lamp will turn automatically flash three time
    The price is really bargain if compared with the spec! airbag and ABS is also there! P2 alza ranging from rm55k-rm65k if i am not wrong, if only the rm55k p2 alza has same spec with rm55k exora, i think p2 must work harder.

• Mayor on Nov 18, 2009 at 5:16 pm

EXORA MANUAL RM 54 548 SOLID
    EXORA MANUAL RM 54998 MET

That's the price I got from the salesman.

• scottloeb on Nov 18, 2009 at 5:17 pm

No no no, knowing Malaysian they'll go to P2 Alza (ala-ala Avanza) for the T&D hybrid brand. They'll canibalise sedan sale, maybe some Vios J, Naza Fortis, Persona & off course the dying Waja. Exora might be impacted a little but the size is just too huge difference to be compared for the real MPV shoppers. However its a welcome move by P1.
    Now, when can I have the 1.8/2.0 CVT Prime Exora with leather and 2-tone interior with reverse camera and vacuum door? Please make it quick coz i need an MPV, Stream is just too expensive and got no 3rd row aircond, Freed is just too ugly & I hate to turn twice to even look at it here in Jakarta!

• eisyam on Nov 18, 2009 at 5:24 pm

info from [url ]http://protonexora.com.my/forum/[/url]

PROTON EXORA 1.6 MT BASE LINE

EXORA BASE LINE MET RM 57998

EXORA BASE LINE SOL RM 57548

TIADA AIRCOND 2ND ROW

TIADA ABS

TIADA EBD

TIADA SPORT RIM

SATU AIR BAG DRIVER ONLY

di buka untuk tempahan

• iphone on Nov 18, 2009 at 5:26 pm

If u want to carry 7 people comfortably
    and a big family then Exora is the right choice.
    However many might op4 Alza bcos of its smaller size
    fuel economy, younger crowd target and a smaller family.
    May the competition begin !!

• kimi_ on Nov 18, 2009 at 5:49 pm

The EXORA may be value for money but i doubt it will affect P2 ALZA….

You all may notice the trend of MPV buyer are now opt for smaller size MPV like Grand Livina, naza citra or cherry which we can see a lot on the road…..

Compared to bigger Naza Ria, toyota INNOVA, wish …….

Smaller MPV have sedan driving dynamic, fuel efficiency and easy for parking !!!!

• xavier lert on Nov 18, 2009 at 5:54 pm

no match..exora win by far

• ezmil75 on Nov 18, 2009 at 6:00 pm

RM55k for a medium sized MPV with airbag and ABS is a steal!

• sensei900 on Nov 18, 2009 at 6:07 pm

yeah well done p1,keep on selling cheap things to malaysian who supported u years ago…thanks,u will die after p2 launch their mpv,why? because they know how to value their customer n u have to learn that.

• levingt on Nov 18, 2009 at 6:17 pm

I think that P2 wanted to steal MPV market from P1 and P1 wanted to steal small cc market from P2 through savvy but failed. Now people will have a better choice alza, exora or avanza… and who can give more discount and less interest rate will win…

for now toyota give only 2.++% interest but local made 3.++%

I hope more promotion will rise early next year… so people will happy…

• when is this Myvi Chancellor coming out ? :p

• w_lighter (Member) on Nov 18, 2009 at 6:31 pm

looks like a ghost driving the car.. hahaha

• anak dato' kk on Nov 18, 2009 at 6:39 pm

they call this variant as L-line as in the exora's manual, not b-line, tq

• At last, exora B-line. Ok, waiting your review paul bout this B-line exora. If cheap and safety equipment is there, maybe can consider to buy this mpv….

• Accessories: Solar Film, CD Player, Leather seats, Airbag driver, Airbag passenger, DVD Player, Navigation system, ABS Brakes, Sport rims, Alarm, Central lock, Adjustable steering

New Proton Exora Will Be Launch FROM 57,998.

Complete with standard Accessories,rasionalable price in LARGE SPACES then New Perodua MPV.

Engine CC 1.6 Campro CPS

Free Gift Entitled For This Model :-

*Full Tinted Price RM 600 with 5-7 Years Warranty

*Full Tank Fuel Up To RM60.00

*Smart Tag Machine

*TOuch N Go Card

*Steering Lock

*Navigator GPS

*Branded Mobile Phone

* And Lots with friendly service

Wah, mmg berbaloi beli Exora b-line ni.Accessories lengkap dengan Solar Film, CD Player, Leather seats, Airbag driver dgn passenger, DVD Player, Navigation system (ni yg best), ABS Brakes, Sport rims (??? ni cam tipu je), Alarm, Central lock, Adjustable steering.

Dengan harga RM57,900… memang berbaloi.

Tp mcm tak caye je mamat Azim Haziq ni tulis kat Mudah.com tu. Kalo betul pakej accessories lengkap camtu dgn harga rm57,900… Menangis lah yg dah beli exora H-Line….huhuhu~

• still can go cheaper..

take out abs,airbag, cd player, bumper uncolored, third row seat removed. side mirror indicator removed.

RM40k ++

• Giggs on Nov 18, 2009 at 7:07 pm

NO ABS & EBD laa!!…

• Giggs1 on Nov 18, 2009 at 7:08 pm

NO ABS & EBD laa!!…

• sutheshkumar on Nov 18, 2009 at 7:33 pm

to asde,

seriously, something even basic than the basic? you gotta be kidding.

• Bruce on Nov 18, 2009 at 7:34 pm

I just ask the salesman on mudah ad he said …lauching this saturday…after breakfast staright to showroom..dream come true EXORA! YAHOOO WOO HOO

• i wish on Nov 18, 2009 at 7:36 pm

bibah elit tu pun ada yg beli… alza jugak la yg pasti menjadi pujaan walau ada exora yg lebih baik…

• Bruce on Nov 18, 2009 at 7:38 pm

EXORA has NGV upgrade space..P2 MPV…cannot lah..put NGV become MYVI cheh..plus EXORA has 4 STAR NCAP rating..eventho 4 basic!..peace of mind for familyman..well done PROTON..Malaysia memang boleh!!!

• ka_one2000 (Member) on Nov 18, 2009 at 7:39 pm

"utheshkumar said,

November 18, 2009 @ 11:33 am

to asde,

seriously, something even basic than the basic? you gotta be kidding."

Have you seen Alza's basic specs?

• I will make B-Line a on Nov 18, 2009 at 7:49 pm

Good Job Paul..

P2 Staff got headache already… most customer will visit proton to test drive B-line exora nad not Alza..hehe

they cannot provide safety for ALZA, because they dont have ALZA crash test…

If i got money, surely i will choose Exora base-line, then i will add my fovourite accesories and make it Exora Prestigue ..hehe..

Sure Exora will win, same price with P2 Alza, but got bigger space, strong chassis and SUPERB handling at 170km/h!!!

what else we want, enough already??

-Perang Saraf dah bermula..

• gen2lama on Nov 18, 2009 at 7:50 pm

bought h-line with no discount, high interest rate…..and still smiling right now….tak menangis beb…..

when people love it they will buy it no matter what people say…no matter the intterest rate is higher than other car…

love the ride day by day…cant even finish testing all the features in exora……

the best value for me….the most important thing, all my child like it very much..better buy bigger mpv…no need to upgrade latter….

• Littlefire on Nov 18, 2009 at 7:53 pm

http://www.mudah.my/Proton-exora-1.6-mt-base-line…

Hello… The cheapest 1 dont have ABS at all…

It only have CD Player, Airbag driver, Alarm, Central lock..

I have confirm with my friend working as a Sales person in Proton. He told me is total strip off like Saga B-line…

• that is a run 4 ur money man……..its a CRAZY DEAL!!!
    p2 mpv (mt) is 55k….. premium is 59k……. but at 55, space in exora is so huge compared to the small p2mpv…..
    maybe they should really consider lowering the price to 49k for a basic, wheel cap model, then a std model at 51k….. but even so, it will hurt the myvi mkt….
    myvi pun tak murah lah now……
    i was hoping p2 will bring in the toyota Bb as a 1.5 variant n to challange the persona n gen2…..
    MPV will rule in msia mkt soon…value 4 money, n seats 7

• arch808 on Nov 18, 2009 at 8:07 pm

after P2 launch their MPV and P1 Exora can still sells at high numbers, I'll be really proud with P1. why? simply bcoz P1 is from the sweat & tears of Msian people whereas P2 MPV, like the rest of their cars, are 99% copied from Toyota & Daihatsu. That other 1% is the bumper design. wakakakakakaka….

• JULIAN_LEE on Nov 18, 2009 at 8:17 pm

P2 WILL DIE! HAHAHA

• gtmaniac on Nov 18, 2009 at 8:24 pm

Now, even more value for the money. Good strategy, Proton.

• gen2lama on Nov 18, 2009 at 8:39 pm

u r rite bruce…

just get the quotation for my exora ngv kits….

my exora fc will be far better than the prius & civic hybrid…

lost power? dont care….

• kimi_ on Nov 18, 2009 at 8:41 pm

Sometime, Malaysian will not simply choose the bigger one or value for money…it is quality, reliability, low maintenance, fuel consumptions that count!

Many will choose only those related to 'T' badge car…….As more are buying Myvi than PERSONA B-line, although both are around same price and Persona is bigger and 1.6cc engine….

So, whatever P2 still has edge over Proton!

• lazyf on Nov 18, 2009 at 8:56 pm

P2 ALZA = ALtezza + avanZA…hehehe

• kedai kopi on Nov 18, 2009 at 9:04 pm

pada saya, masing2 ada kelebihan tersendiri.. walaupun Alza lebih kecil, tapi ia praktikal di bandar.. bagi saya, ia revolusi kepada Myvi.. cuma kelebihannya, ia ada ciri MPV.. Exora "rakyat" ni murah.. sesuai untuk family besar dengan kedudukan kewangan sederhana.. mungkin, mereka yang suka modified2 ni, Exora "rakyat" sesuai laa.. kan..?? hehe..

info yang saya dapat tahu..
    model B-Line ni takde ABS dan EBD..
    dan aircond takde kat 2nd row..
    harap, dari segi keselamatan body / chassis masih dikekalkan..
    cuma ada beberapa bahagian teknikal & fizikal dikurangkan..

so, buatlah pilihan yang tepat.. yang PENTING.. selamat untuk diri & family.. DAN JUGA selamat untuk POKET.. hehe.. sekian..

(maaf, saya beri komen m'gunakan bahasa Melayu..)

• Automotive_Critics on Nov 18, 2009 at 9:21 pm

No doubt P2 is falling behind in term of space and will continue it's traditional "overpriced" pricing but their sales department is smart enough to win Malaysian buyer thanks to Toyota marketing inheritance. Plus it's long respectable quality compare to Proton, This car cum MPV will be a hit just like ViVa. Viva just went well perfect overall from TV commercial till showroom though the car is not that safe to drive. The tagline "car one moment, mpv the next' just enough to make people wondering and expected to scores the showroom in launching day.

• anak dato' kk on Nov 18, 2009 at 9:29 pm

Sbb apa myvi n viva lebih laku dr saga n persona? Sbb kedua2 kete tu sesuai utk org pompuan n org pompuan tak suka bwk kete besor2. Kat malaysia lak, org pompuan lebih ramai dr org lelaki. So, proton patut pikir mcm mana nak tackle pembeli dari golongan wanita ni….. wanita skrg ramai yg berkerjaya dan ada duit. Org lelaki lak duk sibuk gi keje naik moto n kete simpan kat umah.

• bro all…

i've this b-line exora at the Proton showroom at Shah Alam..
    Near the giant hypermarket, n just beside the perodua showroom huuu…

i recognize it is the b-line bcoz ot doesn't have the crome grill at the Fr.
    For A/C, i think it still have for all row. ABS & aribag can't confirm.
    go n see lahh…. :)

cheers…

• AlphaBravia (Member) on Nov 18, 2009 at 9:44 pm

haiya.. its hard to choose.. can someone give me advise.. which one .. please… exora without EBD and ABS? how about P2 new MPV? anyone??

• sutheshkumar on Nov 18, 2009 at 9:58 pm

utheshkumar said,

November 18, 2009 @ 11:33 am

to asde,

seriously, something even basic than the basic? you gotta be kidding.”

Have you seen Alza’s basic specs?

–yup but I assume that is the cheapest way to own something from Toyota. For me, cheap motoring must have safety, not ripping them off. Although I still dont understand why ppl wud rather spend 69k for a super basic Vios when you can get a full spec Waja for less.

Just my 2 cents. ;)

• lady Ixora on Nov 18, 2009 at 10:02 pm

arch808 said,

November 18, 2009 @ 12:07 pm

after P2 launch their MPV and P1 Exora can still sells at high numbers, I’ll be really proud with P1. why? simply bcoz P1 is from the sweat & tears of Msian people whereas P2 MPV, like the rest of their cars, are 99% copied from Toyota & Daihatsu. That other 1% is the bumper design.

——

Your comment so touching me… "from sewat and tears of Msian"…..

• Automotive_Critics on Nov 18, 2009 at 10:07 pm

anak dato’ kk said,

November 18, 2009 @ 1:29 pm

Sbb apa myvi n viva lebih laku dr saga n persona? Sbb kedua2 kete tu sesuai utk org pompuan n org pompuan tak suka bwk kete besor2. Kat malaysia lak, org pompuan lebih ramai dr org lelaki. So, proton patut pikir mcm mana nak tackle pembeli dari golongan wanita ni….. wanita skrg ramai yg berkerjaya dan ada duit. Org lelaki lak duk sibuk gi keje naik moto n kete simpan kat umah

—————-

Anak dato, can agree with you. I notice VIVA sunvisor mirror is place at driver inside instead of traditional front occupant side. It is intentionally car for ladies and succesfully grab most ladies customer translate to constant monthly sales volume/month. For Myvi, is a bit muscular and mor gender universal. As Myvi is ahead in term of technology (timing chain, OD function, DVVT, though boot is lacking) it easily overuled Saga and Persona sales which lacking of said technology which give smooth drive and low maintenance cost.

Proton should liberalise it's CPS technology to all model to compete with P2.

• Bruce on Nov 18, 2009 at 10:08 pm

We should be proud of PROTON making their own MPV…23 years in the
    business ..good and bad..poor workmanship sometimes but also innovative designs…everybody falls before the can even barely walk! And now Proton is running with the big guns! Proton have aged properly we now have something we can call our own..a real family car for the real Malaysian family! A new tag line should be in place..1MALAYSIAN FAMILY, 1EXORA!

p/s: P2 MPV a sewing machine brand with local name.

• Kudos to p1 BUT they're not as savvy as P2. The price only suggested: P1 already surrender in competition with P2 Alza as P1 Exora L-line price cheaper than even manual P2 Alza.

If we put P1 and P2 side by side, clearly the P1 mpv look better (just like comparing P1 Persona Bline vs P2 Viva EZi- the former look proportionately better) BUT clearly P2 more expensive YET bigger volume will be sold. Just matter of time, watch my words.

To sum it up: P1 still lacking in offering what market want… Give us better engine, not only decent R&H but decent FC as well.

By the way, Exora L-line still decent choice BUT failed to understand what demanded by the market by too inward looking Proton. Bring turbodiesel or start-stop-go technology, perhaps?

• scgtimk1 on Nov 18, 2009 at 10:36 pm

Anak dato, can agree with you. I notice VIVA sunvisor mirror is place at driver inside instead of traditional front occupant side. It is intentionally car for ladies and succesfully grab most ladies customer translate to constant monthly sales volume/month. For Myvi, is a bit muscular and mor gender universal. As Myvi is ahead in term of technology (timing chain, OD function, DVVT, though boot is lacking) it easily overuled Saga and Persona sales which lacking of said technology which give smooth drive and low maintenance cost.

Proton should liberalise it’s CPS technology to all model to compete with P2.

—————————————————————

Hahaha…..

OD function is technology…

LMAO….. ROTFL……

• Alza is Spanish mean rise, rear sight. Nouns: Alzamiento also mean
    sedici
    n. an illegal action inciting resistance to lawful authority and tending to cause the disruption or overthrow of the government.

Alza also girl name. Despite of girlish name but sound nice and universal like Persona, Exora, Savvy; Alza will conquer our market soon. I "hate" P2 as their car somewhat pricey BUT in my car experience with my Kelisa (almost six years but lack of two months) it cost me less than RM600 to fork out beside fuel and normal service.

This is the reason why people will opt for Daihatsu-Toyota DNA car. Poor Proton as their Exora is decent car even Thai auto-journalist admit this fact (go to Bangkok Post AUTO section).

Frankly Innova, Avanza, Alza can't beat Exora value BUT Proton has a lot job to do. Really a lot. Maybe Persona enhancement next year will do?

• Automotive_Critics on Nov 18, 2009 at 11:04 pm

scgtimk1 said,

November 18, 2009 @ 2:36 pm

For Myvi, is a bit muscular and mor gender universal. As Myvi is ahead in term of technology (timing chain, OD function, DVVT, though boot is lacking) it easily overuled Saga and Persona sales which lacking of said technology which give smooth drive and low maintenance cost.

Proton should liberalise it’s CPS technology to all model to compete with P2.

—————————————————————

Hahaha…..

OD function is technology…

LMAO….. ROTFL……

————————

??? ??? ???

• 1Malaysian on Nov 18, 2009 at 11:06 pm

GOOD strategy! Finally Proton cannot stand Perodua and come out with another low spec safety model. Another 1Malaysia strategy.

• Noname on Nov 18, 2009 at 11:21 pm

I still dunno the Perodua new mpv is actually named Alza. It sound so islamic-ish term… (no offense)

• farghmee on Nov 18, 2009 at 11:48 pm

offtopic>>

OD function? is this a new tech? ;)

turning off the OD by simply a push of a small tiny button is not cool (as for myvi la).

• p2 – ALZA ???

Toyota AvanZA…..

hmm…….its like……… A Little avanZA= A.L.Z.A…..

HAHAHAHAHA

p2 should call it kijang…….

• Exora B-line no 2nd aircond what i read from PaulTan. With da big body without 2nd aircond… dat will be so hot inside…

En.proton, exora need 2nd aircond at da back lang, why u take it out in B-line??? U also want to follow perodua Alza ka? Haiyaaa…. No laaa….

• gen2lama on Nov 19, 2009 at 12:06 am

oooo noooo…this l-line has no 2nd & 3rd row aircond……

cant they just leave it there?..so bad…

• Automotive_Critics on Nov 19, 2009 at 12:11 am

farghmee said,

November 18, 2009 @ 3:48 pm

offtopic>>

OD function? is this a new tech?

turning off the OD by simply a push of a small tiny button is not cool (as for myvi la).

——————

What I mean it does not necessary "new" technology but Proton Saga n Persona doesn't have this feature. Still it is technology as it was invented years back but i don't know it already old technology now because i don't know technical much. Anyway, Myvi gearbox is well calibrated since it first factory roll out compare to Saga and Persona which still lagging and lack of response.

• Jimmy Dean on Nov 19, 2009 at 12:18 am

Karma is a bitch… let's see how the P2 Alza will be a flop because Exora was launched first with much better value for money. Alza might be a good MPV and Savvy is a good car. Unfortunately for Savvy, Myvi was launched first.

• 1Malaysian on Nov 19, 2009 at 12:21 am

Are you sure or not no aircond for 2nd and 3row??

Cant they be more positive and proud of Exora? Its totally different range of product in terms of size and space, imagine Jazz against Innova.

No point of taking out safety feature and aircond for comfortability and the plus point of Exora against same product range and size is prize.

• Kemas on Nov 19, 2009 at 12:39 am

Kapan nak jual di Indonesia? Hopefully ada AT variant. Alternative choice since Toyota 1.3AT & Daihatsu Xenia AT just release. Interesting if Exora also sell AT variant with cheaper price. In Indonesia, Proton car price is not affordable, see http://indonesia-cars.com/price-of-new-cars/

• Mr Subaru on Nov 19, 2009 at 12:50 am

People in mlysia prefer buying a car with japan technology thou…so i bet p2 mpv will sold more than exora…but i think bttr test this two mpv b4 make ur dcision

• SY0H (Member) on Nov 19, 2009 at 12:50 am

P1 looks big, but quality wise still an issue.

P2 looks small, but quality is way better than P1.

Most people will opt for quality.

Imagine the difficulty of going to Proton Service center on weekly basis…

1st week = fix power window.

2nd week = fix squeaking steering.

3rd week = fix door handle.

4th week = battery suddenly down.

5th week = absorber/suspension squeaking too.

6th week = …

Progressive failure!

• scgtimk1 on Nov 19, 2009 at 1:14 am

OD button in the rubbish meevi is the same function of changing 4th gear into 3rd gear and vice versa inside the Proton Saga automatic.

Really high tech maa the OD button…… ROTFLMAO

• scgtimk1 on Nov 19, 2009 at 1:15 am

BTW the Suzuki swift doesn't have OD button … maybe the suzuki is low tech compare to meevi.

ROTFLMAO …. again

• mystvearn on Nov 19, 2009 at 1:24 am

I think this time Proton will win the battle just because size does matter. And price too. If B line is slightly more expanisve than P2's car, people will still go for proton because the size is just big.

• forteadmirer on Nov 19, 2009 at 1:34 am

seller in mudah always put lower price but gives higher specs. Their strategies make people confuse.

How come bline got so many accessories……….

• Salamander on Nov 19, 2009 at 1:55 am

Wow this is good news. No matter who will have the higher sales value the true winner is us the buyer/user. Hope this will turn out as a healthy competition.

For me I prefer Exora since it is the product of Malaysian R&D.

• aik? where were u guys (proton fanboys) during the nap policy announced?

• P1 exora will be 'meletop' if they improve the engine..not i'm saying that 1.6 cps bad but its not suitable with exora weight…but if p1 put turbocharged or bigger cc engine, than another story la…

• Automotive_Critics on Nov 19, 2009 at 2:12 am

scgtimk1 said,

November 18, 2009 @ 5:14 pm

OD button in the rubbish meevi is the same function of changing 4th gear into 3rd gear and vice versa inside the Proton Saga automatic.

—————-

You might be wrong. OD like another gears for 4th gears that allow drop in engine rpm. save fuel. sorry i don't know much please ask expert.

• Automotive_Critics on Nov 19, 2009 at 2:15 am

scgtimk1 said,

November 18, 2009 @ 5:15 pm

BTW the Suzuki swift doesn’t have OD button … maybe the suzuki is low tech compare to meevi.

ROTFLMAO …. again

—————–

For me, Yes if OD is consider high tech. Same as Saga and Persona.

• theking on Nov 19, 2009 at 2:22 am

Karl,

Do you own exora now?

• David on Nov 19, 2009 at 2:26 am

I saw an tv-ad at Perodua service centre two days ago, showing something like the new Perodua MPV.

it looks like more 'Suzuki'

• albagmane on Nov 19, 2009 at 2:32 am

safety features failed… kreta kematian utk rakyat…

• safety features failed… kreta kematian utk rakyat…

…………………………………………………………………….

naek kreta per pun lau bawak laju semua mati… wlau kreta ferari pun…

• Exora = European handling

P2 Alza = Japanese handling

I would definitely go for Exora.

• i did test drive exora manual last time, power is ok, shifter is bit notchy. brakes feel bit low. light steering good for traffic menouver,

over all ok,

it doest feel big,its easy, though its actually big. it can fill hanful of cargo at the back.

proton manual cars is really ok, interm of engine to land power transmit.

not bad,

apart from that,

-campro vvt turbo is another answer to doubters in near future-

hopefully it will be released in advance ,prior to the said 2011.

,,in satria neo, it will be a highlight of proton sports car flgship.

• Pixca on Nov 19, 2009 at 3:04 am

Automotive_Critics said,

November 18, 2009 @ 6:12 pm

scgtimk1 said,

—————-

You might be wrong. OD like another gears for 4th gears that allow drop in engine rpm. save fuel. sorry i don’t know much please ask expert.

—-

you mean OD = 3.5 Gear? funny for today..

OD can cause u high FC… better use 3rd gear… if u donno dont call yourself Automotive _critic…. shamefull loh…

• Pixca on Nov 19, 2009 at 3:06 am

naza said,

November 18, 2009 @ 6:51 pm

_________

surely that car is ALZA… no crash test..no safety…

• Pixca on Nov 19, 2009 at 3:09 am

karl said,

November 18, 2009 @ 6:11 pm

P1 exora will be ‘meletop’ if they improve the engine..not i’m saying that 1.6 cps bad but its not suitable with exora weight…but if p1 put turbocharged or bigger cc engine, than another story la…

——-

You are automotive engineer in kindergarden right? I know u play TAMIYA cars a lot, thats why u said that… i oso got 1 tamiya car when i was 10yrs old..

• buttercity on Nov 19, 2009 at 3:11 am

Whichever got OD button, I'll buy one! I'm a tech savvy.. LMAO..

• freeze on Nov 19, 2009 at 3:12 am

I don't think Exora sales will be higher than the Perodua MPV. Cannot. Perodua has managed to drop in a big bag of baboon crap into the heads of many Malaysians, and compressed it, making it possible for an even larger load. These baboon crap filled heads of theirs will always choose Perodua over Proton.

When the faeces takes over the thinking, even the best brain cells cannot live, hence the purchasing of a Perodua.

• Goniothalamus on Nov 19, 2009 at 3:17 am

Good strategy.

Proton already know that P2 will come out with Alza, so they hold on this basic spec to be in competition with Alza. If they launch this spec same as before (h-line), surely this competition not so hot.

now, it feel like boiling, approaching 100'Celcius….

In Malaysia, price is really the matter!!

• utheshkumar said

Got la…last time if not mistaken Kancil got no Air-con one

• Untouchable on Nov 19, 2009 at 3:54 am

I love to see National Car competing…

The 'G' must stop subsidizing these two car makers… let them compete with a cheap and very good car quality to meet Malaysian and International car user..

• Automotive_Critics on Nov 19, 2009 at 3:56 am

Pixca said,

November 18, 2009 @ 7:04 pm

Automotive_Critics said,

November 18, 2009 @ 6:12 pm

scgtimk1 said,

—————-

You might be wrong. OD like another gears for 4th gears that allow drop in engine rpm. save fuel. sorry i don’t know much please ask expert.

—-

you mean OD = 3.5 Gear? funny for today..

OD can cause u high FC… better use 3rd gear… if u donno dont call yourself Automotive _critic…. shamefull loh…

—————-

Sorry bro, I might misleading you. I think can somebody expert here about gearbox can explain and clarify us. Or maybe Paul can help.

• Automotive_Critics on Nov 19, 2009 at 4:04 am

freeze said,

November 18, 2009 @ 7:12 pm

I don’t think Exora sales will be higher than the Perodua MPV. Cannot. Perodua has managed to drop in a big bag of baboon crap into the heads of many Malaysians, and compressed it, making it possible for an even larger load. These baboon crap filled heads of theirs will always choose Perodua over Proton.

When the faeces takes over the thinking, even the best brain cells cannot live, hence the purchasing of a Perodua

—————–

Don't you think now Proton has many "faeces" from Perodua? CEO/MD is ex-Perodua, CEO Edar is ex-Perodua and Honda. Till today they still welcoming faeces from Perodua. Sometimes faeces can work better than others.

• neutral on Nov 19, 2009 at 4:10 am

wow,good offer from Proton..n Perodua too.so now Msia have more option right! so next will be electric or hybrid car la plak :) can't wait Proton to produce new sedan,kereta utk rakyat

• Automotive_Critics on Nov 19, 2009 at 4:10 am

Pixca said,

November 18, 2009 @ 7:06 pm

naza said,

November 18, 2009 @ 6:51 pm

_________

surely that car is ALZA… no crash test..no safety…

————————–

No cars are safe if crash over than safety crashing rating speed. Unlike F1 cars, their cockpit can withstand up 300km/h crash.

• alansmithz (Member) on Nov 19, 2009 at 5:09 am

I heard from my buddy that 2 of his family have bought Exora together. One of them bring the whole family up Genting in it. Too bad, the underpower Exora engine overheated & broke down. The other family also experience the same faith…..Maybe Proton need to put a warning sticker in the car to warn Exora owner from driving up Genting fully occupied.
    This is not a joke. It's a real life experience.

• tunomura on Nov 19, 2009 at 5:51 am

Wow!! effect for junk P2 Alza:
    1) Foot brake (Nothing different actually, only they put the brake under your feet)
    2) Add-on Nav-GPS with wireless reverse camera
    3) Add-on Tinted (Perodua sales person will demonstrate to you that they heated the glass with hair dryer from the outside but it still cool from the inside)
    4) Add-on Ah-beng Body Kit..

Lil bit info about Alza:
    1) No co-driver airbag (airbag for driver only) – High Spec also
    2) No 2nd row aircond. R&D said they put higher output blower so driver and co-driver will frozen maa..
    3) For early batch, it will come out with sound insulator around the body

The thing I like about Alza is the dashboard design..minimalist, modern and look effective..

I think Exora sales will have some effect by introduction of Alza into the market…All the best for Exora

• perodua alza rm54,998…rm55k la senang. Apa spec ada kat Alza tu utk harga camni?

Paul said no aircond at da back of dis b-line exora. and airbag also for driver only… and no abs and ebd? Macam ngeri jer….

If p2 alza pada harga ni more better…must buy Alza. So scary if u xciden, u save coz airbag but your wife patay already beside u….

• and hope, if perodua tengok harga exora ni, blh la diorg turunkan harga Alza diorg tu…. :p

• JULIAN_LEE on Nov 19, 2009 at 7:13 am

fuck off p2

• Maserati on Nov 19, 2009 at 7:46 am

Haha,even Ploton is scared about the New P2 ATTACK!

And P2 is gonna ATTACK real hard!

Even with this B-line Exora,P2 is gonna PAWN P1 Exora sales,who wanna bet???!!

Simple,ppl are going for quality not RUBBISH specs that nobody use.

They want QUALITY ,simple as that.THey dont want to be proudly having a "LOTUS tuned engine" but having to bring the car back to SC every fortnight and so.

They dont want to be having 125 hp under the hood,when the petrol consumption is screwed up.

And being bigger does not mean its BETTER.

I hate it when ppl keep on saying a car with more power is better,a car with bigger boot space is better,bigger interior space is better.

In the end,they end up carrying "AIR" in their car..IDIOTS..

• no big issue in od button, its just an electric actuator to assist the up/down shift 4-3rd or 3-4th off/on. in proton its manually actuated. no fuss, its cost cutting, it function as good.

if you look at some toyota, the slide type which is changed to gated type now using pull to the left gear knob for OD off, it doesnt mean having OD on off button is the best of all.

• i am also cant wait for Exora 1.8/2.0 full specs..any info proton will upgrade d engine??

• GeramHati on Nov 19, 2009 at 8:20 am

Gen2 also got crash test , kenapa langgar besar mesti bakar punyer?

• Automotive_Critics on Nov 19, 2009 at 8:25 am

awak said,

November 18, 2009 @ 11:48 pm

no big issue in od button, its just an electric actuator to assist the up/down shift 4-3rd or 3-4th off/on. in proton its manually actuated. no fuss, its cost cutting, it function as good.

if you look at some toyota, the slide type which is changed to gated type now using pull to the left gear knob for OD off, it doesnt mean having OD on off button is the best of all.

———————–

Awak, thanks for your explanation. That means Proton use actually use 3 speed gearbox + manually actuated overdrive count as 4th gears. I remember those early days where wira aeroback was 3 speeder + OD on/of button at sliding type lever. Is it same gearbox with current "manually acutated OD" gearbox?

If my assumption is right, i wonder how old technology that Proton cars are using now. This factor just enough to make general costumer turn to Perodua brand which comes with timing chain+DVVT+OD+well calibrated gearbox as proven in smooth/responsive accelaration, fuel efficient and low cost maintenance. There is no choice for Proton to topple Perodua at this moment unless it liberalise CPS and source suitable gearbox to macth with campro.

• waja2000 (Member) on Nov 19, 2009 at 8:34 am

i hope Exora-Bline at lease 2nd and 3th row have aircond, if not how to carry people, sure very hot and feel worm during afternoon. remember exora so long comfarfed to other car. front aircond maybe not reach 3th row.

• waja2000 (Member) on Nov 19, 2009 at 8:37 am

i hope Exora-Bline at lease 2nd and 3th row have aircond, if not how to carry people, sure very hot and feel worm during afternoon. remember exora so long compare to other car. and front aircond maybe not reach 3th row.

• fxxtheProton on Nov 19, 2009 at 8:46 am

READ MY NAME.. u know wat i mean.

• shawal on Nov 19, 2009 at 9:19 am

if u cant afford cars other than proton, pls dont be stupid, dont drive it very fast.. proton cars are not safe

• rodimus on Nov 19, 2009 at 10:15 am

I'd owned an Exora AT, the FC of this car is quite high compare to my bro Grand Livina 1.8! I was surprised when we travel to Penang for three days trip, my bro Livina used only 1 pum of petrol but for mine is 2 pum (full tank). N one more thing that i'm really not satisfied is the gearbox of Exora; need to change gear very often n not 2 mention bout the power of the car…… T-T

• if u cant afford cars other than proton, pls dont be stupid, dont drive it very fast.. proton cars are not safe

……………………………………………………………………….

mane der kreta yg selamat bro..kalau naik kreta kebal pun tak tentu selamat. ko buat la kereta yang selamat…

• azrai on Nov 19, 2009 at 3:54 pm

Dear paul,
    It is actually L-line (low line) not B-line (base line). It is stated in the current Exora manual book. I got the picture here, silver colour at Proton Shah Alam Sek 7, near Khalifah Bistro. http://img121.imageshack.us/img121/9985/exorablin… RM58k, really a value for money except no second row aircond, no ABS & EBD, driver side only airbag, steel rim with hub cap, and black matte garnish. thankfully no black coloured bumper like Saga. Sigh.

• azrai on Nov 19, 2009 at 3:56 pm

The bigger picture is here http://img121.imageshack.us/i/exorabline.jpg/ Ok

• azrai on Nov 19, 2009 at 3:58 pm

Even bigger here http://img121.imageshack.us/img121/9985/exorablin… (Sorry to many posting, technical error. just want to share.)

• azrai on Nov 19, 2009 at 4:06 pm

Compare with the P2 Alza price and specs;

1. Model P5GX @ 1.5SX Manual Std

Solid – RM55490

Metallic – RM 55990

Special Metallic – RM56190

2. Model P5GH @ 1.5 Manual Premium

S – RM60490

M – RM60990

SM – RM61190

3. *Model P5GHP @ 1.5SXL Advance Edition

S – RM66646

M – RM67146

4. Model P5EZ @ 1.5 EZ Auto Std

S – RM58490

M – RM58990

SM – RM59190

5. Model P5ZH @ 1.5EZi Auto Premium

S – RM63490

M – RM63990

SM – RM64190

6. *Model P5ZHP @ 1.5EZi Advance Premium

S – RM69646

M – RM70146

*for Advance Premium &Advance Edition only will be on sale from MARCH 2010.

• ajidG2 on Nov 19, 2009 at 4:09 pm

betul tu Naza sokong 100% bawak kete laju ke pelan ke belum tentu selamat…ferrari pun kalau accident berkecai bro….

• Littlefire on Nov 19, 2009 at 4:25 pm

Siapa kata tak ada kereta yang save?!? Sila check Volvo kereta baru yang ada sensor di depan yang boleh membantu orang brake dalam kecemasan. Walaupun driver tak ada tekan brake, brake akan ditekan dengan automatic dengan mengurangkan hentaman accident.

Hanya katak di bawah tempurung tidak tau akan technology ini… Dan kita masih ditutup di bawah NAP…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tPO6iRetpyc

Check ini video. Auto braking system.

• knight_templar on Nov 19, 2009 at 4:29 pm

Maserati said,

November 18, 2009 @ 11:46 pm

Haha,even Ploton is scared about the New P2 ATTACK!

And P2 is gonna ATTACK real hard!

Even with this B-line Exora,P2 is gonna PAWN P1 Exora sales,who wanna bet???!!

Simple,ppl are going for quality not RUBBISH specs that nobody use.

They want QUALITY ,simple as that.THey dont want to be proudly having a “LOTUS tuned engine” but having to bring the car back to SC every fortnight and so.

They dont want to be having 125 hp under the hood,when the petrol consumption is screwed up.

And being bigger does not mean its BETTER.

I hate it when ppl keep on saying a car with more power is better,a car with bigger boot space is better,bigger interior space is better.

In the end,they end up carrying “AIR” in their car..IDIOTS

————————————————————-

Quite emotional comment but I totally agree with you. Im a BLM owner who has terribly suffered. I reallt dont want to bad mouth Proton but the service is terrible. My car is now 9 months old and its already creaking and groaning in various places. Very sakit hati. I also got the famous 'Proton macam tulah' reply from the SA. I guess old habits die hard.

I also want to add on that Campro, BCM are all gimmicks. Proton has still not gotten the fundamentals right. Try inducing a kickdown in a BLM auto and youll know what i mean.

• Bruce on Nov 19, 2009 at 4:37 pm

Why people like to use Genting uphill road 2 thrash proton? U r driving an MPV full load engine broke down? C'mon 125hp 4 **** NCAP 32 crashes 4 safety L M H line all the same! They were all PROPERLY tested! And it all met requirements! Yes maybe 1.6cc 1.5 tons not really Ferrari..but the engineers have already agreed its adequate! U r driving an MPV not a sedan or sports car.Aerodynamics, suspension geometry,weight distribution, torque, gearing all different.

My father's 1972 Volvo 144s was nearly 1.5tons had only 92 bhp from a 1986cc engine. Went to Genting for our holidays when i was young, it never broke down. Wish we had EXORA back then! 6 of us(big built) in the Volvo was like in a sardine can and no aircon lagi!

For the EXORA price with the effort making this its still value 4money. And mind you MPV for family man not boyracer/ahbeng/lalacai.

• kerelbort on Nov 19, 2009 at 4:54 pm

the the MPV price war begin.. as in telco price war and the broadband war…

winning on P2 is their famous D n T tag along nametag

winning on P1 is the storage space and improve quality while still being haunted by the quality problem (the famous myvi also got window problem, experiences it first hand and the steering rack problem, god forbid don want to experiences this first hand)

p2 alva – if the first batch got sound insulation, they should continue with the rest if now bring down the price of the batch with no insulation coz the first batch experience is cheating the other potential customer.

joining the OD topic … most japanese model have OD function

means if a Japanese car have 4 speed = 3 actual gear + 1 OD, 5 speed = 4 actual gear + 1 OD or worst 3 actual gear + 2 OD(but no 2 OD button haa)

unless CVT.. not sure how CVT work and lazy to google, AFAIK is virtual gear.. no actual gear.

continental model+suzuki swift( :P ) don really keen on using gearbox with OD since most of them gear ratio already optimise between performance and economic and can be switch between those two with a flick of a performance swith.

if wanted technology, AMT is a gearbox technology. but not many excited with the gearbox technology so i guess if u put 1980's gearbox ppl still buy a car coz they don really care much about gearbox.

• waja2000 said : i hope Exora-Bline at lease 2nd and 3th row have aircond, if not how to carry people, sure very hot and feel worm during afternoon. remember exora so long compare to ther car. and front aircond maybe not reach 3th row.

Now confirm there r no aircond at da back for this B-line…eh, L-line En.Azrai kata. Proton cannot do like that, this Exora need aircond blower at back coz it's body is big, how come da aircond at da front to reach at 2nd n 3rd row??? And how come no ABS n EBD? It's dangerous without them coz Exora is a big MPV. No compromise with safety…..Proton can strip out other thing but 2nd blower n abs don't….

If anybody know, for perodua Alza standard version hav ABS n EBD?

• nazri on Nov 19, 2009 at 4:56 pm

alza diorang bagi murah sebab current viva pnye price dah subsidi untuk harga p2 mpv@alza..

maknanya each alza yang diorang jual diorg rugi dan viva pnye sales yg topup kerugian tu

• cookiemonster on Nov 19, 2009 at 4:58 pm

All those who supported P1 Exora…seems to be owner who have bought it and now regretting as Alza 's spec should be better. ALl trying to stop ppl form buying and insisting they made the right choice.

P! already strategizes the pricing to such a huge low…they know P2 's sales will meloncat to a sky high …as they know they can't outmatch p2's offerings..

ALza might be small…but power to weigh ratio and better quality manufacturing will be the winners over P1 ..lousy engine…

I think people will look over the size issues..Look at avanza…a lot of people critisized it for 1.3…and yet you can still see a lot of it on the road…

Think Alza will do well

Should have a test a la top gear style….P1 Exora vs Perodua Alza..on a trip to genting…see who can get up there under full load..

• nazri on Nov 19, 2009 at 4:58 pm

P2 alza standard model got no airbag at all..

• nighttrain on Nov 19, 2009 at 5:02 pm

which F1 driver wants to be a rally driver?

• planet on Nov 19, 2009 at 5:36 pm

kimi maaa…….hehehhehehhe

• azrai on Nov 19, 2009 at 6:25 pm

To get bigger picture. Go to here http://img121.imageshack.us/img121/9985/exorablin… This is silver coloured one.

• Nazri, how bout ABS and EBD?

• dzulx on Nov 19, 2009 at 8:01 pm

Automotive_Critics said,

November 19, 2009 @ 12:25 am

Awak, thanks for your explanation. That means Proton use actually use 3 speed gearbox + manually actuated overdrive count as 4th gears. I remember those early days where wira aeroback was 3 speeder + OD on/of button at sliding type lever. Is it same gearbox with current “manually acutated OD” gearbox?

If my assumption is right, i wonder how old technology that Proton cars are using now. This factor just enough to make general costumer turn to Perodua brand which comes with timing chain+DVVT+OD+well calibrated gearbox as proven in smooth/responsive accelaration, fuel efficient and low cost maintenance. There is no choice for Proton to topple Perodua at this moment unless it liberalise CPS and source suitable gearbox to macth with campro.

————————————-

You just listen to things you want to listen dont you? And filter out things that you dont need to support your anti-proton sentiment.

I dont want to waste my time explaining.. as you will just simply discard any information I gave that do not support your argument..

BTW your assumption is totally wrong… and your general knowledge regarding cars is too shallow…

No need to be an expert bro.. just dont be ignorance

• dinar$ on Nov 19, 2009 at 8:09 pm

nazri said,

November 19, 2009 @ 8:56 am

alza diorang bagi murah sebab current viva pnye price dah subsidi untuk harga p2 mpv@alza..

maknanya each alza yang diorang jual diorg rugi dan viva pnye sales yg topup kerugian tu

.————————————————————

Kalau Proton boleh drop-price Exora hingga 55 ribu makna

selama ini Saga/Savvy dan Persona/Waja over priced dan rakyat dah kena main sebab sepatutnya harga Saga/Savvy hanya dalam lingkungan 30 ribu dan Persona/Waja 40 ribu saja.

Jadi Proton juga guna untung dari jualan Saga dll top-up kerugiaan Exora !!???

• arch808 on Nov 19, 2009 at 8:10 pm

alansmithz said,

November 18, 2009 @ 9:09 pm

"I heard from my buddy that 2 of his family have bought Exora together. One of them bring the whole family up Genting in it. Too bad, the underpower Exora engine overheated & broke down. The other family also experience the same faith…..Maybe Proton need to put a warning sticker in the car to warn Exora owner from driving up Genting fully occupied.

This is not a joke. It’s a real life experience."

yeah, I hear these rubbish all the time. all just talk n talk n talk.

• autocritics, i'm not an expert but if u realise that some cars that have gated auto box they did not use o/d button coz it is the same as sliding/push it aside for 3rd gear. OD(Overdrive) is a gear that its ratio less than 1.000. as been explained by 360 earlier, almost every car has od function even manual gear box has overdrive gear. if u checked back, my sister old vios has o/d button but the new one did not have o/d button, so does it means the new one use old technology compare than the new one? even original passo sette doesn have o/d function, but p2 has, so does it mean passo sette is outdated compare to p2??? no heart feeling though bro.

em,just for information, any car that use DRIVE BY WIRE tech has throttle lag, thats why saga has throttle lag compare to myvi but after the lag disappear in higher rpm,it will be better than myvi. i did my own shot out with my sister myvi and my father saga, both auto. yes,myvi has dvvt/vvti(dynamic variable valve timing) but it doesnt have variable induction system as saga. actually,dvvt/vvti is dual valve timing (retard or advance) on intake only(please take note that it is not valve lift from low profile to high profile cam like CPS and VTEC), and saga has iafm or dual induction manifold (short or long runner) on intake. so, i think that it is a match in term of technology. both are old tech but been improve by toyota and proton.

this is my opinion, in term of aircond, p1 cars are the best, please, sit in saga blm, turn the aircond knob to no 2, and do the same in myvi, u will know that p1 saga blm aircond is cooler and more power compare to myvi. so, i think even exora has front a/c, i think it is sufficient as aircond in toyota wish/honda stream but of course u need to turn the knob higher compare the h/mline exora due to the absence of rear aircond.

in term of airbag, it is good to have both, but between passenger and driver, airbag on driver side is more important since it has steering wheel and incase of accident, there are possibility the driver chest and head will hit the steering, so airback function is to cushion off the impact inside the car,but if the chasis is not strong, even airbag cannot saved u from the dashboard to intrude inside the cabin.

while, for passenger, it has ample of space infront since unavailability of steering wheel. since the seatbelt has pretensioner, the possibility the passenger will hit the dashboard is low compare to the driver becoz on passenger side doesnt have steering. the important part is the frnt beam and chasis must be strong to hold the dashboard from hitting u, not u hitting the dashboard.

neverhteless, it is good to have both.

for abs and ebd, it is a lost, but, to reduce the price, they have to reduce something pricey. but, the positive of non abs, the weight is reduce so it will translate better response and better f/c even just a little bit.

for who said that 1 tank of gl 1.8 equal to 2 tank of exora, meaning that 1 tank of gl 1.8 can move u to nearly 1000km pertank???? thats insane.

base on eocm.com.my, 1 full tank of exora can move it around 450-500km accept u r driving it 170/180kmh all the way. so, i think it is baseless statement.

however, i believe that gl 1.8 is better fc than exora but it is not by a full tank to 2 full tank.

i think that p2 alza standard also doesnt equip with abs/ebd and airbags. so it is a fair game. except p2 alza standard has abs,ebd and dual airbags, it is a bargain, but if not, it is overprice. chow

• nazri on Nov 19, 2009 at 8:13 pm

Mee said,

November 19, 2009 @ 11:21 am

Nazri, how bout ABS and EBD?

————-

donno.. just wait for real brochure came out from perodua guys la.. cheers :)

• and for exora broke down at genting, i didnt know whether it is true or not, but u can google or visit proton exora club to hear to their testimony with pictures to genting without any problem especially overheating and broke down. why dont mr alanzsmith and his buddy visit this site. a lot of thing u can learn from the real owner of exora.

• nazri on Nov 19, 2009 at 8:25 pm

dinar$ said,

November 19, 2009 @ 12:09 pm

Kalau Proton boleh drop-price Exora hingga 55 ribu makna

selama ini Saga/Savvy dan Persona/Waja over priced dan rakyat dah kena main sebab sepatutnya harga Saga/Savvy hanya dalam lingkungan 30 ribu dan Persona/Waja 40 ribu saja.

Jadi Proton juga guna untung dari jualan Saga dll top-up kerugiaan Exora !!???

————————-

u already know kan viva overprice and the equipment biasa2 saja. so nk tanya lagi? exora tu u pn dah tau tak de ABS, EBD, airbag single pemandu saja untuk B-line ni. bodykit takde, spoiler belakang pn takde. so each unit jual mesti p1 untung pnye.. kalau harga without tax pn still murah lagi.

each p2 yg dibeli wang akan keluar negara. hanya percent sedikit yang mengalir dalam negara.

sila fikir.. aku ni bukan nk bash mana2 infact blh kata dlm family aku semua brand kereta ada. nissan, mitsubishi, toyota, chevy, p2, p1.

• Hameed Koyakuti on Nov 19, 2009 at 8:48 pm

a bit out of topic, but worth checking out for future planning:

"In 2009, Seismic Micro-Technology conducted a survey of geophysicists and geologists about the future of crude oil. Of the survey participants 80 percent predicted the price for a barrel of oil will rise to be somewhere between $50 and $100 per barrel by June of 2010. Another 50 percent saying it will rise even further to $100 to $150 a barrel in the next five years."

So, those intended to buy hybrid vehicle or install NGV kit, it will be more practical in the year 2014.

• run budget on Nov 19, 2009 at 8:52 pm

thats a good compete among both of them. this will indicate a good value for money to buyer. i think P2 will do something after they launch.

• gen2lama on Nov 19, 2009 at 9:03 pm

exora broke down at genting?…..mesti my buddy punya cite lah, my friend lah…

hey went to genting 6 adult 3 kids (5-7years) – once..

went to cameron with same load – twice…..errr…everybody smiling maaa…not even muntah…..

to cookiemonster…….full load?….7 adult or 5 adult?….confirm la alza can beat exora…7 vs 5 ….errr can alza bring 7 adult to genting?…

exora vs alza?….cannot compare maaa….alza more to small family..city driving…easy to park…

• Pixca on Nov 19, 2009 at 9:03 pm

nazri said,

November 19, 2009 @ 8:57 am

test drive unit

http://funtastickodesign.files.wordpress.com/2009…

—————–

Tak sangka lak ia CUN bila ada spoiler.. giler ah.. tak tahu nak pilih yang mana…

EXORA ke ALZA…

ALZA satu je kurang, takde Crash test…. kalo ada dan dapat 4star, sure gempak…

• Nazri, nice spyshot…. Test Drive unit… maybe using Sporty Edition i think refer da skirting n spoiler… :)

• Pixca on Nov 19, 2009 at 10:34 pm

Mee said,

November 19, 2009 @ 2:26 pm

Nazri, nice spyshot…. Test Drive unit… maybe using Sporty Edition i think refer da skirting n spoiler… :)

——

But Exora got Prestigue… more Exclusive and 'Mewah' i think…

Produa tiru style Proton daa…

Bila fikir meter kat tengah (tengkuk sakit woo), dan ruang yang lebuh luas…

Safety must be consider 1st when buy 7 seater…

Honestly i think Exora still Value For Money and Exora Rakyat tu can be accepted..

Myvi Wagon ni ok la, menutup kelemahan Myvi yang bonet kecil selama ni…

Spyshot for ALZA Crash test ada tak Nazri?

• ahmadi on Nov 19, 2009 at 10:43 pm

Exora Basi have aircond at third row!.

• 1Malaysia on Nov 19, 2009 at 11:28 pm

iphone said,

November 18, 2009 @ 9:26 am

If u want to carry 7 people comfortably

and a big family then Exora is the right choice.

However many might op4 Alza bcos of its smaller size

fuel economy, younger crowd target and a smaller family.

May the competition begin !!

I do agree that exora is better than P2 MPV in term of value and I do line ke space too. But to say exora can carry 7 people COMFORTABLY is plain marketing BS.

• Automotive_Critics on Nov 20, 2009 at 12:05 am

Automotive_Critics said,

November 19, 2009 @ 12:25 am

Awak, thanks for your explanation. That means Proton use actually use 3 speed gearbox + manually actuated overdrive count as 4th gears. I remember those early days where wira aeroback was 3 speeder + OD on/of button at sliding type lever. Is it same gearbox with current “manually acutated OD” gearbox?

————————————-

You just listen to things you want to listen dont you? And filter out things that you dont need to support your anti-proton sentiment.

I dont want to waste my time explaining.. as you will just simply discard any information I gave that do not support your argument..

BTW your assumption is totally wrong… and your general knowledge regarding cars is too shallow…

No need to be an expert bro.. just dont be ignorance

—————————

Sorry bro dzulx, i'm not anti Proton. My wife own Proton Gen2 and her sibling is all using Proton from old Saga, Wira SE, Wira 1.5 and Wira 1.6. My Brother use energy orange Gen2. My father use 1997 wira 1.3. My cousin use Gen2 CPS. i'm using Toyota LE which born before Proton project was commenced. i'm so sad being called as anti Proton. As Malaysian, I know what to do for betterment for all Malaysian but sadly just becoz for some word which seem misunderstood for not favoring Proton.

• Pixca on Nov 20, 2009 at 12:51 am

it look like..ermm… hodoh like viva..too slim..
    i like wider body.. more stable…

• alpha999 on Nov 20, 2009 at 1:05 am

wat to do….B-Line can also lor….cannot afford other well-equipped and up-to-date brands…..*sigh*

• kerismu on Nov 20, 2009 at 1:31 am

Looks like big brother vs small brother bully tactics here.
    P1 being bigger and with more govt backing trying to
    kill the P2 market by offering a chaper version.
    To me it looks like P1 willing to come down to P2 level
    in order to protect their market share. Sort of a downgrade.!
    Just ensure the quality of equipt supplied does not downgrade too.
    P1 has a better potential if it concentrates in the 1.6-2.0lt segment instead.
    May we hv a price war at MYVI category too !

• MADBOY on Nov 20, 2009 at 2:09 am

Automotive_Critics said,

November 19, 2009 @ 4:05 pm

Sorry bro dzulx, i’m not anti Proton. My wife own Proton Gen2 and her sibling is all using Proton from old Saga, Wira SE, Wira 1.5 and Wira 1.6. My Brother use energy orange Gen2. My father use 1997 wira 1.3. My cousin use Gen2 CPS. i’m using Toyota LE which born before Proton project was commenced. i’m so sad being called as anti Proton. As Malaysian, I know what to do for betterment for all Malaysian but sadly just becoz for some word which seem misunderstood for not favoring Proton.

———

bro, i from all your previous comments, i know you are not anti proton.

• dzulx on Nov 20, 2009 at 2:25 am

MADBOY said,

November 19, 2009 @ 6:09 pm

Automotive_Critics said,

Sorry bro dzulx, i’m not anti Proton. My wife own Proton Gen2 and her sibling is all using Proton from old Saga, Wira SE, Wira 1.5 and Wira 1.6. My Brother use energy orange Gen2. My father use 1997 wira 1.3. My cousin use Gen2 CPS. i’m using Toyota LE which born before Proton project was commenced. i’m so sad being called as anti Proton. As Malaysian, I know what to do for betterment for all Malaysian but sadly just becoz for some word which seem misunderstood for not favoring Proton.

————————————–

No offense to you…but from the way you derived ur assumption… seems that u r not giving a fair valuation to proton…

I never own any proton car nor my siblings..nor my close relatives…

and I am not really a brand loyalist..

I am just a consumer trying to get the best bang for the buck..

Maybe its better to start looking at both side of the coin before making any conclusion…

• OD and 4th gear battle isn't something there anymore.

some car manufacture prefer to have the 4th gear as 3rd gear. for japanese car, the car has to be driven in the city for quite sometimes. having the gearbox jumping at 4th and 3rd gear looking at thr right speed isn't quite comfortable and it is jerky. that is why sometimes we need OD, a button to operate it. during city driving, we have to turn it off if we dont want the jerkyness of the ride.

• Automotive_Critics on Nov 20, 2009 at 2:45 pm

dzulx said,

November 19, 2009 @ 6:25 pm

MADBOY said,

November 19, 2009 @ 6:09 pm

Automotive_Critics said,

————————————–

No offense to you…but from the way you derived ur assumption… seems that u r not giving a fair valuation to proton…

I never own any proton car nor my siblings..nor my close relatives…

and I am not really a brand loyalist..

I am just a consumer trying to get the best bang for the buck..

Maybe its better to start looking at both side of the coin before making any conclusion…

———————————-

Bro, if i denied to give assumption, so you must also not assume me for anti proton. And why you don't have proton? if you're Malaysian, you must have proton at least to show your support to our country. If buy proton, money will stay inside country and enable proton employee serve their family food, schooling, medical bill etc2. If you're agree, can i assume you for anti Malaysian becoz you don't have Proton? Sure can't.

Some forummer even calling others make "faeces" just to support Proton. Why don't you write to them to be fair in their comment?. MAT has explain fairly and looks both company are on par in term technology. Quality wise don't know. Thanks.

• dzulx on Nov 20, 2009 at 6:18 pm

Automotive_Critics said,

November 20, 2009 @ 6:45 am

Bro, if i denied to give assumption, so you must also not assume me for anti proton. And why you don’t have proton? if you’re Malaysian, you must have proton at least to show your support to our country. If buy proton, money will stay inside country and enable proton employee serve their family food, schooling, medical bill etc2. If you’re agree, can i assume you for anti Malaysian becoz you don’t have Proton? Sure can’t.

————————————–

Well thats fine… u can assume me of being anything.. I dont really care to defend myself…

As far as I know I am just another consumer….. buying things that worth the money….. If I dont want to buy proton… its not my patriotism to blame… its Proton…

likewise If I buy proton… not my patriotism to praise… but Proton..

So if you r not anti-proton.. that is also fine… sorry for the misjudging….

But perhaps next time before drawing any conclusion… iron-out you assumption properly….

• Mysticmind on Nov 20, 2009 at 7:27 pm

– Strong body shell vs p2 tin sardin.

– Powerful 1.6 vs Dvvt 1.5 (not powerful but FC better but can that carry the body?)

– Spacious vs not so spacious (Do people buy mpv not for spacious?)

– Crash test proved (with videos!) vs Aiyah!.. just use that tipu one from Sette loo… malaysian toyota fan easy to be cheated with p2!

– Totally build/designed by Malaysian in Malaysia vs bumper design only.

– Money circle in Malaysia vs Money fly to japan millions per year (how to get the money back? selling 10billion metric tone of Crude palm oil? Dreaming!)

the clear winner is…. Proton.

To hate it or to love it, it's getting better now.

• pak hassan on Nov 20, 2009 at 9:13 pm

aik..P1 takut ke? buat apa nak takut, advantage semua kat exora..besar..hi-tec..kuat..bagak..enjin tech lotus (tp keta lotus pakai enjin toyota.. Exige Scura-The engine makes 260 PS at 8,000rpm from its supercharged intercooled 1.8 liter Toyota VVTL-i engine and thanks to its ligh… )…

exora mpv..alza 2 keta ala mpv..mmg la jauh beza.dah kelas lain2..compare buat apa?..bongok ke apa..

Julian Lee..go 2 your dad…F*** with him…in Exora of course…

• tokmoh on Nov 21, 2009 at 12:21 am

Yare yare… got OD button or not pun mau gaduh…

Automotive_critics : Well, by now, I suppose u should understand that whether there is button or not, the gearbox works the same: 3 speed with 1 overdrive. Anyway, Proton uses Mitsubishi gearbox, INVECS-II at that, it isn't a really outdated gearbox. The latest Lancer 8th gen (which might be rebadged as waja replacement next year) uses it too in Singapore (1.5L spec, source: wikipedia), so do u still call it outdated?

In any case, 360 mentioned before of Proton using German gearbox in the future, so that should put your worry of Proton using outdated gearbox worry behind.

Owning Proton does not automatically mean one's a pro-proton. There are many bashers who used to own proton, got dissatisfied with it and become emotards in blogs n forums. I think some have even migrated, and still become emotards telling how good their life is in overseas driving Toyota Camry for the price of teh tarik in Msia, while sneering at us for getting sodomised by the 'barisan najis' govt.

• fazron80 on Nov 21, 2009 at 9:13 am

I think proton's manual gearbox are alright. But their auto gearbox auto not so good. Maybe ratio not right. Don't really know. Somehow for me auto blm is nicer to drive than auto persona. Maybe for BLM Proton have more experience with gearbox. Back to topic, P2 will surely fight back this attack from P1. We'll just see. I hope by 2011 Proton will do exora facelift to keep the interest on exora going. Please no kedai abang bodykit facelift. Do a proper facelift.

• nuar_ebal_77 on Nov 24, 2009 at 7:25 pm

Ala..ape nak pening2..if u have a huge family,buy EXORA lah! But if u have a small family,,angkat ALZA lah..! Nak pakai keta apa pun pakai la..but the most important thing is..YOUR POCKET tak kuncup lah!.Kereta ni bukannya EMAS.Lama2 susutharga jugak.Baik beli rumah yang dah tentu akan naik value. Kalau nak jaga hati..BELI LA DUA BIJI(SATU EXORA,SATU ALZA).Bagi dua2 syarikat besar ni,janganlah berlumba HARGA sangat,sebaliknya fikirkan keselamatan dan kemampuan rakyat (majoriti golongan bawahan).Baru la….1MALAYSIA…RAKYAT DIDAHULUKAN,PENCAPAIAN DIUTAMAKAN….So,the price also must decrease lah!!

• azzahar on Nov 25, 2009 at 9:22 pm

PROTON WIN, PERODUA WIN. we the buyers are loser

• azman muhammad on Nov 30, 2009 at 7:02 am

P1 & P2, masing masing ada kelebihan, dari segi teknologi memanglah P2 Alza, walaupun kecil tapi 5 orang just nice, fuel pun jimat coz enjin DVVT, pick up ok, meter kat tengah tu menarik juga. Body shape memang cun. Tapi apa pun di harap P1 dapat keluarkan 1.8 atau 2.0 pula, baru power naik genting… rakyat dah tahu menilai, jangan jadi made in china, sampai bateri alam kunci pun made in china, kita sokong barangan Malaysia!!

• alza or exora on Mar 03, 2010 at 2:26 am

aq rse klau nk bndingkn exora ngan alza..

alza pon ok gak lah..

exora pon ok lah

kowang rse alza sesuai ke atau exora?

• mansoi on May 21, 2010 at 4:14 pm

Saya baru dpt exora b line (millage 600km) manual. Sedap padu mmg x dapt dinafikan. Masalahnya sekarang, naik bukit gear 2 , 3 teruk tak leh nak gi. Kena tukar pakai gear 1. Komen sikit pada mereka yang arif.
    Masalah biasa ke atau luar biasa ni.
    Thanks