VIDEO: Perodua Alza TV Commercial

Perodua Alza

I am still putting the finishing touches on my Perodua Alza story. But still, I promised something at 5PM so for now you can enjoy the TV commercial that Perodua have produced for the Perodua Alza. Stay tuned!

Perodua Alza 1.5L Standard M/T
Solid – RM55,490
Metallic – RM55,990
S. Metallic – RM56,190
Perodua Alza 1.5L Standard A/T
Solid – RM58,490
Metallic – RM58,990
S. Metallic – RM59,190
Perodua Alza 1.5L Premium M/T
Solid – RM60,490
Metallic – RM60,990
S. Metallic – RM61,190
Perodua Alza 1.5L Premium A/T
Solid – RM63,490
Metallic – RM63,990
S. Metallic – RM64,190

*S. Metallic – Pearl White

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• queen B on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:15 am

1st!!!

• Woot

• slimershine on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:16 am

myvi panjang..

• sagabest on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:17 am

1st..

• Alamak on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:17 am

Wah so fast. I m at the launch event haven't even launch the Alza yet. Still speeching.

• bMxturbo (Member) on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:18 am

crash test please…

• Thomas on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:19 am

Nice car…. sure a lot of bookings….

• hmm,, myvy like but longer…

nice design but exora better i think..

• anwanysha on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:19 am

hurry paul… can't wait 2 read full detail on this….

• Nice Nice Nice! Love the new MPV… Seems like we have lots of MPV choice now!

• nice MPV from the look only mabe

• the rest of the perodua lineups will be affected.

• putra_rider on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:22 am

lets the battle begins!!!

• hantupensil on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:22 am

need the full detail….

hmm still waiting.,,,,,,

• arch808 on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:22 am

Hey P2, when r u gonna stop rebadging Japs cars, start producing your own engine and make us all Malaysians proud of you..?

• perodua rocks

• zahari on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:25 am

good for city drive…and those looking for an alternative car…

• maxtek (Member) on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:25 am

Ni memang Myvi Panjang la… Tapi masih cantik wor..

• Razali Zain on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:25 am

Nice!!!!! Thanks for sharing! Am looking for an MPV either stream or Wish but I knw perodua is coming out so now I'll definitely go and check it out!

• sonyman on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:27 am

i think it is a good idea to strip out the last row seat and then extend the middle to be a captain seat, hoho my vi limo version, or LX version, haha place a nice LCD TV into it and then Theater surround speakers and subwoofer, hoho, what a nice idea

• anwanysha on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:27 am

arch808 said,

November 23, 2009 @ 5:22 pm

Hey P2, when r u gonna stop rebadging Japs cars, start producing your own engine and make us all Malaysians proud of you..?

credit to proton on this matter….

• MADBOY on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:28 am

Look nice. I think it is ok for the target market. Small MPV for city driving.

• scanzew on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:28 am

Hoho…..it’s looks like a elongated viva…but very much cost-efficient interior with good exterior….nice sport rims…but it’s classified under ‘super small’ mpv maybe..hehe

• fliedlice on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:28 am

saw the car already (showroom near my office). it's not very practical…. 3rd row is only big enough for very small children. and when you use the 3rd row, there isn't much legroom left in the middle row for adults as well. headroom is good though. so basically all you are getting is a longer, heavier myvi that can't really carry more passengers. even the boot isn't much bigger than a myvi because you have the 3rd row of seats there (folded or upright).

hard to see the point of this car. if you don't want a car which is too big, get a myvi. if you need to carry more passengers, get an avanza or exora. the dashboard has a nice design though, but the plastics are still very hard and nasty.

just thought I'd post my opinion. feel free to bash it :-)

• alansmithz (Member) on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:31 am

arch808,

Perodua is owned by Daihatsu & Toyota owned Daihatsu. Did that answer your stupid question??

Can I ask why u look like your father instead of your neightbour's cat???

• fliedlice on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:31 am

hi Razali Zain, I think that the stream and wish (and for that matter rondo and exora) are not in the same size class as the alza (must use the real name).

but sonyman has a good idea though.

• grenob on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:31 am

no aircond blower…so it must be hot like hell.. :)

• Iwan Dani on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:32 am

Hmmmm…nothing that Proton should worry about…no doubt there'll be many booking, but it will not be at Exora's expense.

I think it's the sale of Avanza, Livina, City, Vios and Myvi which will be affected.

• intermilan on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:33 am

Just an extended Myvi but commercially, it gonna be a hit, as we all anticipated. The only question now is how many thousands will be sold per month. Quality and whatnot will not be an important aspect, as generally, no one complaint about it when it come to P2. Strange, as P2 products aren't perfect, far from it.

Maybe it is still 'cantik' as a LWB (long whell base) Myvi, but comparing it with other mini-MPV available world-wide, the design is just like what P2 are, souless. How many different Myvi they wanna sell?

• always wanted a myvi wt boot….wishes came true…dun care much abt the add 2 seats but good to have an option of carrying 2 more kids

• nabill on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:34 am

1st class rebadging !…looks long n awekward….like a stretched viva..

• alansmithz (Member) on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:35 am

Sweet:)

• Colin on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:36 am

arch808 said,

FYI, according to motortrader, the engine is almost entirely made in malaysia…

• thank god the interior color is black!

now can't wait to go to showroom to check out how hard is it to get into the 3rd row….

if engine power is not a problem and 3rd row sitting is easy…then perodua has one booking here…hehehe….

• budlee on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:38 am

is it me.. or will this become a poor mans caldina…

imagine.. 16 inch rims.. lowered, skirting, spoilers..

its a caldina long lost cousin bastard child :p

• hantupensil on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:39 am

aiyaaa…kunci pun lebeh kurang myvi gak..

huhuhu…

• alza luvers.. on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:40 am

still waiting..y too long for launch..cant wait to book..

• madimat1 on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:41 am

If got money, will buy both : P1 Exora for myself – taking for a long-distance balik kampung/ cuti-cuti journey, while this P2 Alza for the Wife – for grocery shopping and weekend around city outings.

After all, hey, at least we can have 2 MPVs for the price of one Japanese Mid-MPV ! :)

• xenogearz on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:41 am

intermilan said,

Maybe it is still ‘cantik’ as a LWB (long whell base) Myvi, but comparing it with other mini-MPV available world-wide, the design is just like what P2 are, souless. How many different Myvi they wanna sell?

What do you mean how many different Myvi they wanna sell…what kind of a question is that?

Of course Alza looks similar to Myvi because it was built on the same platform as Myvi…similar in the case of Proton Persona and Gen.2…also share the same platform…now the trend is like that…1 platform can produce different variants of vehicles…it saves cost.

• arch747 (Member) on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:42 am

alansmithz said,

November 23, 2009 @ 5:31 pm

arch808,

Perodua is owned by Daihatsu & Toyota owned Daihatsu. Did that answer your stupid question??

Can I ask why u look like your father instead of your neightbour’s cat???

Its not stupid Q, more like a challenge. Unlike some people, we're more proud of our own country and her dignity. If its a T or D cars, than sell it that way la, no need to rebadge it, then claims its a 2nd NATIONAL car company.

If it bcoz of dollars & sense, it confirms that we sold of our pride for a cheaper car.

now who really looks like a cat (whatever that means…) xD

• Finally!

• cardreamer on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:44 am

Ever think why the promo video is made in 'darkness'?…to hide all the shortcomings from this car-mpv. A car that pretends to be an mpv. If people only watch the promo video and blindly loyal to the T&D badge, they'll get this 'fake' mpv. Pity to those who really needs an mpv but bought this 'mpv'. If you really are looking for a car that can be an 'mpv' than Alza is your kind of car. It has the versatility that u want. But if you really need a real mpv, meaning to seat 7, than Alza is not for you.

That is my view, just by looking at those pictures.

• purple color is nice. Add body kit, change the rim even look more sexy!

• half cup on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:47 am

when talk about bline ezora … condem no abs lah..no airbag la… no aircond lah….

when talk about std alja….they said 'nice'…thats all???? don want to talk about air bag…aircond…

• rally fan on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:48 am

i prefer to treat this alza as a wagon rather than mpv

• hi bro anwanysha,

did you know that proton also using Lotus to design it stuff. Plus, did you know proton are depending on perodua's parts in his proud-of campro.

• Synapse on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:49 am

Agree with alansmithz, better have the fact straight before said something s&@#*%. Anyway why also negative thinking, good for us, consumer to have choices what… don't always be negative la!

• sudha on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:49 am

To be really honest…it's a bang for the buck for a small family with two kids.

Imagine it as a MYvi with luggage space.

• jazzer on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:50 am

biase je..

• Alvin on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:50 am

Two versions? One with pull handbrake, one with step handbrake?

• taboogen on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:51 am

got leg room meh at 2nd row sit

• the commercial's theme song is gay as shit.

• forteadmirer on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:51 am

saw already during lunch…what i can say…air cond only at front…

type like livina….back seat not suitable…alza just suit for 5 passenger only

• 20v_ke35 on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:51 am

So when will the SE coming out?

Heard it equip with GPS+Body kit + something I forget already…

the price max at RM71K….

• arch747 (Member) on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:52 am

Colin said,

November 23, 2009 @ 5:36 pm

arch808 said,

Dear Colin,

Sorry i didnt make myself clear. I dont care if the engine is 100% entirely made in Msia. I'm actually throwing a challenge to P2 to design and produce their own engine.

If its its a T or D cars, then badge it that way. But dont rebadge it into a P and claims a 2nd national car. similar with Naza when they launched Ria couple of years back. they even televised it live to the whole country coz its the 1st NATIONAL MPV. What a pile of crap!

• pentium4 on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:52 am

just saw Alza at perodua branch seri serdang, near tu UPM… saw both version, manual and auto…

for manual, the gear knob looks cheap and for auto, no gated shifted as we previously saw in passo… quiet dissappointed…

the interior for me is ok, good…

the exterior is also ok for me…

i really like the 2nd row seat, high enough for 173 cm people like mi…

however, the 3rd row seat would be ok only for children… if you have 7 adults to be carried, go and get exora…

• alpha999 on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:52 am

alansmithz,

haha, well said…do forgive him…he just lacked some grey matters…anyway.. the chic in the commercial aid….stunning cute!!!!…..

• iwan dani on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:53 am

Of course the engine is almost entirely made in Malaysia…just like the design is almost entirely Malaysian (I'm being sarcastic here, just in case some of you have cat's brain) .

P2 probably supply the oil sump gasket and they declare that the gasket is 90% of the engine.

Anyway, nothing wrong with rebadging a car…I'm just wondering how come Toyota/Daihatsu get tax breaks when Honda and Nissan don't?

• khaier on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:53 am

very2 nice,

& the price range also nice…….

• rexis on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:53 am

Gen2 add a butt, its storms the market

Myvi add a butt, now what? 2012?

• xstan on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:54 am

Now M'sia can be proud of small & yet cute MPV produced by Nation. Small mini sit 6. Surely a big hit & like Myvi, a fashion statement for ladies & young boys alike.

Real MAN sit big cars.

• alza luvers.. on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:55 am

still waiting..

• Automotive_Critics on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:55 am

Exora wins in term of styling for me. But Alza steering wheel is wrapped with leather nice. Why Proton gives leather wrapped gear lever and steering wheel to Singapore bound Exora? Another double standard to local market.

• Savvy88 on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:57 am

1st!! izzit? hmm Perodua Alza.. welcome to the market

• durian = buy malaysia (penang to be specific)

engine = better take from japan, no need to reinvent the .. well, engine.

• rexis on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:03 am

Alza = Alphard Advanza?

Foof!

• pulge on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:04 am

If only the auto gear lever is gated.

• Maserati on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:05 am

Wow,just saw the car at the showroom just now and I can now even more confidently say that this car is SO gonna PAWN Exora's ARSE all the way back to Proton's factory!

Once I sat inside,the quality of everything just amazes me.It just looks and feel so much better than in the pics.

The buttons all felt tactile,the dashboard was solid and neat.

Besides that,the dashboard design is superb! So much better than Exora's 10 year old design!All buttons were well placed and felt much nicer to touch.

Seats were not too firm and not too soft.All the doors slammed with a considerable amount of "THUD"

Perodua even put cupholders for the rear passengers which was built in to the armrest.

Everything just felt so nice and well put together.

The only drawback would be the small boot.If you were to have passengers behind,then you wouldnt be able to put much luggage.

If you want to put more things in the boot,then you would have to fold down the 2nd rear seats.

But heck,ppl wont really mind and this Alza is on its way to the top of the sales chart!

• arch747 (Member) on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:07 am

Top 100 reasons why i wont buy Alza;

Reason no.73: 2nd and 3rd row (ESPECIALLY 3rd ROW) dont have its own a/cond blowers. We live in a hot tropical country (not some kind of 4-season country where the vehciles originated from…)

Reason no.74: 3rd row seat; either u fold it flat or u put it straight up for seatings. no option for 1 seat up and 1 flat, in case u have extra passenger and at the same time got some luggage to store.

Note: and I have not seen the car yet… xD

• Johny B badz on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:08 am

I thought going to be impressed by the upcoming P2 Alza, BUT

1. No gated gear, NOR there is any tiptronic bullshit that they told earlier

2. back seat looks like "PAPAN" plywood

3. Same ol dashboard following kancil's weird meter in the middle

4. Seat at the back looks uncomfortable

5. No extra safety feature on alarm nor extra safety

6. The promo earlier was a con to the public, which P2 promised a lot now turns into ala carte style of upholding the promise

6. THIS IS WHAT YOU GET FOR A CHEAP OL MALAYSIAN MADE CAR

At least P2 can consider of making it more better than JAPAN!

• TheDuck (Member) on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:08 am

Congrats P2. Your new car rocks!

• gangully on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:09 am

Apart from the fact that it is not a run off the mill mpv, it does not look half that bad. Some similarities to the new Jazz. Perhaps a sneak preview as to how the new My-vi my look like?

apart fromt hat the only thing that is nice in the interior is the player.

• outdoor geng on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:09 am

almost comment similar like when myvi was early lounch… then now what happen to myvi…

• anwanysha on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:09 am

ehor said,

November 23, 2009 @ 5:49 pm

hi bro anwanysha,

did you know that proton also using Lotus to design it stuff. Plus, did you know proton are depending on perodua’s parts in his proud-of campro.

————————————————————-

evening bro ehor….

da first point should be acceptable i think since Lotus owned by P1 but i'm not sure for second one… so better i dont drop any comment on that…

• budzer on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:13 am

Paul .. waiting for your review.

• the front looks a bit like honda jazz (compliment) ^^

• apa apa je la on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:14 am

just back from showroom..by chance i am within tthe showroom area..so these two so called alza with crowd around..the salesman didnt even allowed us to get in the car..when asked..still waiting for launching la..bla bla bla.. legroom is bad imho..if somebody sit in the 3rd row, 2nd row also will feel the 'cramped' zone..interior is nice although, actually quality just as p1..both are OK..it just the space for passenger…for me..it is still suit for 5 seaters.. children also will not be that happy when asked to be in the 3rd row..with that small window..

• SaGa NGV on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:15 am

hehe…kecantikan melalui penderitaan…

situation balik kg raya ke pantai timur..

driver:

co-driver: ..

passengers: ..sakit kaki, sakit ponggong…ekeke..

• alansmithz (Member) on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:17 am

There is no pride in paying stupid high price for car bcos we need to take care a so call "devine protected species" that haven't done any good for the poor.

If you look like your neighbour cat, you better have a word with your mum tonight & beg her to come out of the closet about your origin ha ha:)

No offence intended, just a an example^^

P.S More choices, what to complain?? Only when the car start breaking down & have to pay for "New parts" to fix it.

• SaGa NGV on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:20 am

hehe…kecantikan melalui penderitaan…

situation balik kg raya ke pantai timur..

driver:ok

co-driver:ok ..

passengers:tak ok ..sakit kaki, sakit ponggong…ekeke..

• Edw7n on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:22 am

too tall to be a wagon.. too small to be an MPV.

• Pretender012 on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:29 am

about the gear..auto will get the dashboard gear, and manual will get the normal gear position with handbrake in the middle. in my place just now..the salesman still didnt allowed us to try sit in it..all door locked..with that crowd, maybe it not wise to allow the visiter to get in..or else all will know about the real legroom allowance in the 3rd and 2nd row..imho..the legroom is a not that good..but depends on the buyer..for me..it still good for 5 seaters.. it is a car actually..with boot converted to 3rd row seats.. still, more choices for the buyer..the choices is yours.. consider it like a jazz.. made from japan for malaysian market that hungers for mpv.. by the way..

one thing for sure..the purple colour is nice, it is the persona colour if i'm not mistaken..same..p2 do learn and take from p1..ha

• Ho Kheng Yee on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:29 am

Hi everyone, they are also launching some sort of contest on facebook at
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Car-One-Moment-MPV-…
    Check it out, contest just started at 6.00pm today also :-D

• arch747 (Member) on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:30 am

alansmithz said,

November 23, 2009 @ 6:17 pm

There is no pride in paying stupid high price for car bcos we need to take care a so call “devine protected species” that haven’t done any good for the poor.

If you look like your neighbour cat, you better have a word with your mum tonight & beg her to come out of the closet about your origin ha ha:)

No offence intended, just a an example^^

P.S More choices, what to complain?? Only when the car start breaking down & have to pay for “New parts” to fix it.

Hence, gone are our dignity, so we can drive cheaper cars..

I wonder how many times have this cat joke has been used to deviate from the actual issue. I've always telling myself "not to argue with an idiot, they only bring u down to their level and fight u with experience…" xD

• paul,

personal view what do you thing about the car with the price RM64+++

• jolly_idiot on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:30 am

Avanza die jor. Rm55k price tag for a 1.5L 7 seater. Avanza 1.3L is selling at RM62k basic model. Doubt this will kill Avanza market. Btw, hardly can see new Avanza on the road nowdays.

• gitu-gitu on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:32 am

SO, APA YANG BEZA DARI GAMBAR SEBELUMNYA???? BS

• arch808 said,

Wat about proton saga, iswara, wira, satria, juara, perdana & etc… that is all mitsubishi cars…. hahaha!

• turbo on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:32 am

nice ad…

if they turbocharged the 1.5L, it will be sufficient in power. at the rate of 1.5, probably developing a mere 110bhp, it will be underpowered to carry 7 peeps onboard. my vios carrying 5 adults will feel sluggish when going uphill. it will be made worst for Alza.

• mu_77 on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:32 am

The front looks good… but the back turn off, myvi elongated rear….. Anyway economical mpv for families….

P/s: Exora looks better

• gitu-gitu on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:35 am

MANA TEMPAT SIMPAN TAYAR???

• Zidane on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:36 am

doesn't look that bad actually from the pictures.

• gitu-gitu on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:36 am

TAYAR SPARE TAK DER KER? KALAU BOCOR, SEMUA DALAM MPW TU TUNGGU JELA..HHAHAHA

• anak dato' kk on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:36 am

Ingat nak beli MyVi tp Alza lg ok, more spacious…;-)

• Elvis on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:38 am

Well Max, next year Proton will produce car based on Mitsubishi Lancer…you still proud? Better 'copypaste' than make lousy cars…

• there is no way a person can sit behind at the 3rd row unless he has got no legs at all.

• Pretender012 on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:42 am

for those that booked myvi..you better cancel it..this alza is for you..myvi with boots..

• classical on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:45 am

Heheehehehehe ingat nak beli juga tp hurmmm x lama mesti ada SPECIAL EDITION nyer nie btul tak… adoi…

• bmpower on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:45 am

More toward VIVA. not myvi.

"A car, who think she is MPV" – that's the right slogan

anyway!.. Crash test please!

*not Sette crash test, but alza.

else without crash test.. we should name it.. Arwah

• paul san.. where is the full review? can''t wait to read

• hotblood on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:48 am

Automatic acond as per mention before? Is it similar with wish or no improvement?any one know?

• i tot wrong pic here…i tot myvi…..mpv eh?

• Rondorian on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:49 am

ehh… is there any passenger airbag in the picture?

manual version got no airbag?.. no crash test? wow.. just wow…

• mockviper (Member) on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:52 am

sonyman said, i think it is a good idea to strip out the last row seat and then extend the middle to be a captain seat, hoho my vi limo version, or LX version, haha place a nice LCD TV into it and then Theater surround speakers and subwoofer, hoho, what a nice idea

…………………………

Just like what Proton did with its Exora Prestige Concept? really nice..

and what? no airbags abs+ebd at all for RM55.5k? no air condition outlet for 2nd and 3rd row? :D

————————

classical said, Heheehehehehe ingat nak beli juga tp hurmmm x lama mesti ada SPECIAL EDITION nyer nie btul tak… adoi…

ade, around RM71K..

• yippi33 on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:54 am

Rico said,

November 23, 2009 @ 5:51 pm

the commercial’s theme song is gay as shit.

LOL!..spot on dude..

hopefully the suspension wont be as bumpy as avanzas..

• slimershine on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:56 am

wanna buy dis wanna buy that.. sure y'all got alot of money..

kakakakaka..

next time ferrari came in also wanna buy. pfftttt..

• ehor said,

hi bro anwanysha,

did you know that proton also using Lotus to design it stuff. Plus, did you know proton are depending on perodua’s parts in his proud-of campro.

I think u must misinterpret proton spare parts are depending on perodua's part… the spare parts are come from the same vendor even the parts might look similar but I doubt proton parts can be use in p2 cars. to reduce both p1 n p2 cost, the parts are from the same vendor but u also can claim it as cronies business.. hahahaha..

as for me I like the alza design especially in purple color, but my money still on exora!!

happy motoring!!

arch808 said,

according to my friend which is p2 engineers, they claimed that only 60% of the part of the engine made in Malaysia the rest is from oversea.. (Japan, Philippine n Thailand) in fact Daihatsu people want all the engine part from them..

• Rondorian on Nov 24, 2009 at 3:00 am

not gonna steal exora market i think.. this likely will kill myvi sale..

• xKelvin on Nov 24, 2009 at 3:01 am

Wao So Nicely, When the Car Come To East Malaysia, I want Buy!!!

• max said,

November 23, 2009 @ 6:32 pm

arch808 said,

Wat about proton saga, iswara, wira, satria, juara, perdana & etc… that is all mitsubishi cars…. hahaha!

——————————————–

then they built gen2, persona, neo, Blm and exora….hahaha? 1 thing bro iswara is facelift/variant of old saga weh..hohoho

• celicazz on Nov 24, 2009 at 3:04 am

anwanysha said,

November 23, 2009 @ 6:09 pm

ehor said,

hi bro anwanysha,

————————————————————-

evening bro ehor….

da first point should be acceptable i think since Lotus owned by P1 but i’m not sure for second one… so better i dont drop any comment on that…

proton's campro cyl head is made in perodua engine manufacturing sdn bhd, fullstop to that.

• Leonardo on Nov 24, 2009 at 3:11 am

Wah, the inteior shot in the ad is just one second! I think Perodua is trying NOT to emphasize the interior space, which in actual fact is very cramped!

• nazri on Nov 24, 2009 at 3:11 am

waiting for paultan review..

-pls comment about isofix, abs, ebd, airbag in standard edition, premium edition and advance edition (which on sales in march 2010).

-NVH cabin how much compared with exora, avanza, g.livina

-power and FC

-crash test rating.. not passo sette.

-paul pls seat at 2nd row, and 3rd row.. just comment what u feel.

-alza got active safety or not.. if hv what issit, for standard edition and premium edition

-full tank got 42liters.. if go how much KM can it go?

-30km journey at highway got pening2 or not.

TQ very much mr. Paul :)

• Hi, there is a Perodua Alza contest on Facebook. Check it out at http://www.facebook.com/pages/Car-One-Moment-MPV-….

• celicazz ,

dont turn this into proton bashing thread . it is a good car for young people who travels alot but he thinks that myvi doens't have decent boot space but exora is too big. a typical sales person would love this car as it has the reputation of toyota quality wtih decent size .

proton does use perodua manf plant , no car companies are doing the stuff 100% by themselves. either 1 , they engineered it and produce it or 2, they asked soemone who knows it better to engineer it.

vovlo engine is from yamaha. how about that ?

• nice… Kena booking nih walau tak try test lagi. hahaha~ but aku rasa mmg best, dah tgk kat brosure dia, mmg mantap. better buy premium. pastu buh bodykit… perghhh, cun tu… anyone, bukak club cepat… aku first yg join..

• Nice question Nazri. Yes paul, make review what nazri said. Papehal, aku minat gps nazri kt blm dia tu. curik bleh…hahaha

• old timers on Nov 24, 2009 at 3:31 am

ALZA WEAKNESS REVEALED

———————–

1. Space type too small and not suitable for high load 7 adults.

2. Boot space too small when the passenger use 3rd row. how can we go for picnic..etc etc..

3. Not suitable for adults..for children ok loh..

• Mufasa on Nov 24, 2009 at 3:31 am

2002..dont buy car first…AFTA will be in 2005

2005..dont buy car first…AFTA will be in 2007

2007..dont buy car first…AFTA will be in 2009

2009..dont buy car first…AFTA will be in 2011

2011..dont buy car first…AFTA will be in 2013

2020.. dont buy car first…AFTA will be in 3030

• nazri on Nov 24, 2009 at 3:39 am

Mee said,

November 23, 2009 @ 7:25 pm

Nice question Nazri. Yes paul, make review what nazri said. Papehal, aku minat gps nazri kt blm dia tu. curik bleh…hahaha

————————–

thanks Mee.. now got cheap2 gps brand what

once u get your alza pls invite me take a ride on your "once a car, mpv the next"

hehe…

• gen2lama on Nov 24, 2009 at 3:40 am

so what if cyl head campro manufactured in perodua…..some part made by perodua…

people says proton parts is shit…no quality….who manufacture it?…PERODUA as u said….then blame perodua la…

just scame back from the showroom….tell u what….it was the shortest time i spend on showroom during the launch of the new car….

nothing for me….cant even fit 3 adults in the 2nd row….so it;s 2+2+2 (kids)…

• SaGa NGV on Nov 24, 2009 at 3:42 am

nazri, kalau alza ni masuk ngv cam blm ko ok x?

• Tiadaid on Nov 24, 2009 at 3:42 am

Automotive_Critics said,

November 23, 2009 @ 5:55 pm

Exora wins in term of styling for me. But Alza steering wheel is wrapped with leather nice. Why Proton gives leather wrapped gear lever and steering wheel to Singapore bound Exora? Another double standard to local market

—————-

It's not double standard. It's actually standard operating procedure for ALL car companies all over the world. Cars that are imported overseas will have better spec than the one sold locally. Toyota does that, Honda does that, Ford does that, GM does that. It's not double standard, seriously!

• Reading through some of the comments here is like reading the mind of a retard.

Fact, there are always at least 2 ways to put a spin on a subject, negatively or positively.

Some here just like to focus on the negative and nitpick each and every arse hair. Usually they are driven by a hidden agenda or biased misinformation. They don't even give a shit about the actual product and what it is about or what demographic it is after.

Looking at it objectively (actually been to look at the car, unlike some of the douchebags here with their bullshit comments), the ALZA (not a fan of the name) is really NOT a full sized MPV (which the Exora is) meant to move 7 people most of the time. It's a car for 5 which can, when the situation calls for it, carry 7. Much like the Grand Livina (which is in big trouble). In fact in the flesh, it is around the size of the Livina.

Seating and space for 5 is excellent, as can be expected from an extended Myvi. Much better than in a lot of more expensive cars (Vios, City please stand up). And in this configuration offers lost of luggage space. When really required to carry 7, it'll be a bit of a squeeze especially for the 3rd row which is really only suitable for children or small sized adults and then you can forget about the luggage (another reason why it isn't a full time 7 seater).

I was never expecting the Alza to be a direct competitor to the Exora (2 different kind of cars) as the Exora is a full sized 7 seater and the Alza never was going to be from the start, being based on the Myvi platform. It is only because of the pricing that people are comparing them.

For people who really need to carry 6 or 7 a lot of the time, the Exora is the answer, not the Alza.

For those who want a Myvi, with more power (a 1.5 engine), more space, occasionally carry more people and are willing to fork out the extra money for it, then the Alza is the car for them (at least in this price range). I do think Perodua could and should cut the prices down by 2 to 3k.

Interior and specs is pretty much similar to what you can find in the Myvi and feels better than the Exora (which should be a standard for bad plastics being put together badly).

My forecast is that Perodua has a good product on their hands and I'm pretty sure a lot of people are willing to buy one from them. I don't think it'll be as big a success as the Myvi though. The Avanza is as good as dead, really. And sales for the Livina 1.6 would be severely affected. The Exora, maybe only slightly affected as people who really need to carry 6 or 7 would still need to opt for the Exora.

End note, yes, as some commenter already pointed out, Proton's CAMPRO, gets its cylinder heads built by Perodua.

As far as who built what, who gives a flying fuck, as long as the end product is good. And as for the rebadging culture in Malaysia, you can thank the government and their shitty protectionist policies for that (for Proton's sake obviously). You can't blame other people using whatever ways they can to their advantage.

• iwan dani on Nov 24, 2009 at 4:11 am

It's funny how some morons (hint: They look like cats, or they think others look like cats) always manage to turn everything into Proton vs Perodua.

Go ahead anyway, as its always funny to watch morons (cats or otherwise) argue in cyberspace like a couple of retards.

• mystvearn on Nov 24, 2009 at 4:18 am

Which is better?

This or Exora?

• iskett on Nov 24, 2009 at 4:43 am

half cup said,

November 23, 2009 @ 5:47 pm

when talk about std alza….they said ‘nice’…thats all???? don want to talk about air bag…aircond…

———————————————————

Agree totally..

Many Malaysians seem incapable of giving an objective review..

• to all the local cars basher…do not blabber like an empty barrel…if you want it, head for it. if not you can go for a ferrari…how many good years do you think japan had taken to produce their own car and engine..as for me we sometimes can learn better thru copycatting.

• the purple looks good! not bad at all!

• paul,

why you don't give a comment at all? share something to us. thanks

• iskett said,

November 23, 2009 @ 8:43 pm

half cup said,

November 23, 2009 @ 5:47 pm

when talk about std alza….they said ‘nice’…thats all???? don want to talk about air bag…aircond…

———————————————————

Agree totally..

Many Malaysians seem incapable of giving an objective review..

————————

agree wit u also

• spoon on Nov 24, 2009 at 6:21 am

i love the full specs…very sharp outlook !

• mansiti on Nov 24, 2009 at 6:27 am

Fuhhh ! Mengancam btul, tapi kocik bonar utk kategori MPV.

• aziman on Nov 24, 2009 at 7:16 am

besok pg sesudah subuh pasti aku booking punya….

• whateverla on Nov 24, 2009 at 8:17 am

nampak gaya P2 masih tak pandai rekabentuk kerta sendiri. dahlah teknologi pula ketinggalan …. lebih kurang same je ngan Proton … tak pernah sebut pun tentang technonya sampai bila ???

• Neil said,

November 23, 2009 @ 8:55 pm

to all the local cars basher…do not blabber like an empty barrel…if you want it, head for it. if not you can go for a ferrari…how many good years do you think japan had taken to produce their own car and engine..as for me we sometimes can learn better thru copycatting.

——————

Owh… understood… sometimes can learn better thru 'coppycatting'?

well… we shall wait until Proton do the same 'again'…. what would be malaysian says…. wasting taxpayer's money? what else? going backward? 20years existance is nothing? when it come to perodua… everything just nice..ok…acceptable…isn't? how funny it is….

—————-

ED said,

November 23, 2009 @ 8:04 pm

bla..bla…bla…

——–

at the end.. u pointing out Proton being protected by G… if there is no such policy… Perodua & naza would die 1st…. so… the 1 who being protected is them.. not Proton isn't? dont be so biased… u condemn others being pathethic giving so -ve comment but look at yourself…..

—————-

This Alza is too small… no isofix.. no standard airbag… what to praised for?

downgraded version…. what else.. nothing surprised about it… nothing special….

the purple colour reminds me of proton Persona…

• paparazzied on Nov 24, 2009 at 8:41 am

dont complain-complain laaaa….

go to showroom laa…

better look then naza citra that 99.9% copywright from KIA …

u like u buy..u complain wat u got ….. just a "words" not the car …

sure i booked ..but better buy at 2010..if buy 2009 the value fo the car

will go down as 2010 just at conner …. so think before booking….

• mengQ on Nov 24, 2009 at 11:18 am

Just giving my own humble review here, after coming back from Perodua showroom Sri Petaling branch…

Showroom was full of people even at 10.30pm. I saw 3 variants :

. The Basic SX Manual – Ebony Black

. The Premium SXi Auto – Classy Purple

. The ADV version Auto – Ivory White*with bodykit, GPS and reverse parking camera, leather seats*

The exterior of the car really catches my eyes, i like it, especially the front. The rear… not so, macam tiba-tiba no more backside.

Anyway, i don't think people should compare this with Exora, both are in the different 'level'.

I went straight to the ADV version one(croweded with people), wait for a Uncle before me to get down from the car, then i sat inside. Hey, not at all, the steering wheel wrapped in leather, with audio volume and phone answering control buttons on the left spoke. Don't really fancy the look of the steering wheel… macam shape of spanner…

Other then that…Very nice dashboard design! Better then Exora's design i think.

The buttons gives very good response, nice feeling pressing it, the dashboard was solid and neat, reminds me of the one in Estima.

Foot-step leveling parking brake, macam Estima, Alphard, Merz and all =) The gear knob is at the right place and level, feel much more comfortable to operate when the armrest is down. Foot operated-parking brake and gear shift level on instrument panel is only available for Auto, those in manual just look exactly like what Myvi manual has now.

Seats in leather, kinda comfort for a bigass like me, with seat leveling (only on driver side). Get down from the car…the "THUD" when closing the door comfirm more solid then any other Perodua cars ever made. Trust me, it's much more solid.

Then i went to the 2nd row of seat, cupholders for the rear passengers was built in to the armrest, with side pocket at the bottom. Im 175cm tall, no problem for me, decent amount of legroom, don't expect a corridor for you to go in and out lah.

And then i climbed to the 3rd row of seat… Hmm, ok, gotta admit it was a bit hard for me to climb into it, need a little more effort, just like how you climb to the backseat of a Satria Neo, just a little bit higher. Alright, me – 175cm, 75kgs, no problem, can fit another one more 'me' by myside. Legroom? NGAM-NGAM, at least wont sentul the front seat, left a space of 2 inch. Get the picture?

Next, the boot space… Haha, nothing to be proud of here, with all the seats put right up, you left only half of an empty Myvi boot space, means 13inch depth. School bag boleh letak 4, 5 biji la…

So, i don't think you can balik kampung with this Alza packed with 7 fully grown adults, cause you won't have any more space left for luggage, unless you 'ta-pau' all your baju in plastic bags lah, haha…

But, if only 5 person? Yes, just fold down the 3rd row of seat/bench, then you can happy-happy balik kampung without 'ta-pau' all your baju in plastic bags.

Hey, by the way, the 'bench' isn't that uncomfortable like what some of you guys say la, ok mah, at least got headrest…

Test drive only available for people who already placed bookings. I 1st tumpang someone other people to be the passenger, then, somehow, i managed to get a chance to drive! =D

Conclusion after being a passenger + driver :

SUPERB!

Power : Very good, with 4, then 6 adults in the car. The car still picks-up from acceleration. Similar like Myvi la, but this one more stable and quiet. Not much noise from engine even when revved to 4000 – 5000rpm. Maybe it's new, thats why.

Handling & ride : Comfort for both driver & passenger, 3rd row not as bumpy as Avanza, but somehow some might feel the suspensions are too soft?? The car can take small hole easily. Cornering is stable, at least more stable then stock Myvi.

Dashboard : Nice nice nice design. The blue backlite looks cool.

There was this guy who tested the car full with 7 person on board says it was great and he still can feel the pick-ups when accelerate, then when straight in to the showroom and place his booking.

Talk to a few young man and uncles, the feedbacks were 90% positives.

This concludes my humble review. =)

* 1030 bookings from all over Malaysia were placed so far after the official launching at 6pm. According to the branch manager.

• zaeidos on Nov 24, 2009 at 12:13 pm

u cant compare this car with exora coz if you want to carry 7 adult passenger you'll need exora as this car cannot carry 7 adults. but if you want to carry 7 passenger and u got 4 adults and 3 kids then this is the car for u .

summary;proton is for the guys and perodua is for the ladies ^^

• mitlanevo on Nov 24, 2009 at 4:03 pm

lame ads…

anyway, exora still rules…

• akupung on Nov 24, 2009 at 4:42 pm

good looking!!

• dream on Nov 24, 2009 at 4:42 pm

Went to see it yesterday.

This is like a longer Jazz, with 5+2 seating…more like a tall wagon…

Dont compare it to Exora coz Exora is full size…

Maybe in terms of pricing, other will be affected…

Love the middle meter cluster, stg different, like Renault n Citroen MPV…

Good for small families wt small kids, or someone single who loves wagons…

• dream on Nov 24, 2009 at 4:46 pm

Forgot to say,

the idea of hvg a footbrake instead of a handbrake in auto version is interesting, but maybe those who buy them need to be reminded of the safety aspect, in case they step on it by accident while driving…

Adjustable seatbelt for front driver/passenger another luxury character…

DON'T FORGET, IT'S A 5+2, NOT 7 SEATER….then u'll be happy…

• mok17 on Nov 24, 2009 at 5:07 pm

Rebadging is good. Everyone like a rebadged Ferrari for the price of Satria Neo.

• shaifz1 on Nov 24, 2009 at 5:41 pm

Wow is P2 offer rebate or trade in programme of RM5,000.00, sure this can replace the ageing Datsun Wagon, Subaru wagon or any car that is 20 years old.

• kerosakan kereta on Nov 24, 2009 at 5:48 pm

i already had viva,when i look at alza ,found no special appearance,it looks similar interior and exterior design,the price quite cheaper compared to exora mpv but exora much more special on design.i think the main reason perodua launch alza is to beat other mpvs on price,for sure.However it is still catergorise as mpv meaning more seats and definitely increase on price.

• madimat1 on Nov 24, 2009 at 6:07 pm

Nice effort from Perodua. Two thumbs up!

..Anyway, looking at how small the car is and lack of certain comfort and technical features, now I can confirm my booking on Proton Exora.

• gen2lama on Nov 24, 2009 at 7:32 pm

hey exora can also be 5 seater what …better..

but this wagon will be good in fc…exora is bigger & heavier…so fc must be more la..

Torsion beam?…no one to comment?…

• zuhaimee hj mahadi on Nov 24, 2009 at 8:02 pm

why perodua alza kool like mazda premarcy or viva long version? why don't perodua engineer design the said mpv like wish with a little bit adjustment in term of it's outside look? this why malaysian almost skeptical to buy malaysia's mpv. overall, this mpv look awkward… sorry to say.

tq

• Angela Ang on Nov 24, 2009 at 11:35 pm

Wow, love the car even though it looks like a stretched version of Myvi… what a waste they did not give gated gears like Daihatsu's or Toyota's version. It would look even better and not so cheap looking since the gear is mounted on the center console. Other than that, price is good and will give Proton Exora a run for it's money now …

• omnigunk on Nov 25, 2009 at 12:21 am

First

• kancil_driver on Nov 25, 2009 at 4:32 pm

zuhaimee, what do you mean by 'skeptical'? sorry i could not say i understand what you mean. if i need a new car right now and i have enough money and since i have two small kiddos and only sometimes bring around my parents, i'll buy alza since it's a 5+2. skeptical? what skeptical?

also, perodua is closely related to toyota/daihatsu, why would they want to design alza like wish? they already have it. zuhaimee, you can buy wish from toyota showroom.

"why perodua alza kool like mazda premarcy or viva long version?" dont know what you mean also…

• harga mahal……quality x tahu lagi…

• Hands down Alza kalah dgn Exora sebab takde hook nak gantung teh tarik…!!! Arrgghhh that centred meter console!!

• emm cantik..tapi c.c 1.8 or 2.0 ok la..

• peYno on Nov 26, 2009 at 10:50 am

A car also a MPV

A car= myvi killer

a MPV= AVANZA killer

prrrfthhh

• peYno on Nov 26, 2009 at 11:10 am

nah.. those ah beng japanese wannabe… you can see this downgrade version oredi…waana put shoshinsha sticker???

• bonbon on Nov 26, 2009 at 6:14 pm

Is it just me or the ads music is catchy! :P

*humming away.. versatile as you..

• hello all….

I'm a normal car user n not a car fanatic…So i would like to share my view on this Alza…i've been waiting for this MPV for so long….n i thought it would be better than other MPV…

1) Aircon Vent -> sebijik mcm new Saga. Why? dah tarak idea ka?

the aircond vent for the side n middle different. looks so wierd…

aircond vent only at the front row…why? its a bad move la…

2) the aircond knob sooooo fugly… why that round shape… just like my stove knob la…

3) Does it have autocruise?

4) whats the latest technology in this Alza? other than foot parking brake?

5) Sunvisor @ driver side doesn't have mirror -> should have since it targetted for women…

6) why the signal turn @ the side mirror is yellow colour -> prefer white like Myvi…

7) Sidemirror adjuster -> the design just like in my sister's old kancil . 10 years old design. why? no new idea? carryover saja?

8) why need to 'cabut kepala' seat once u need to fold down the 3rd row seat? not practical at all… nnti ilang plak kepala seat tuh anak2 buat main… haiyyaa…

9) Even in Exora they have some effort to put new technology such as gated gearshift & BCM… why p2 that have 'T & D' DNA does not have gated gearshift just like in Passo Sette? cutcost so much eh? C/O so much.. its like outside have very good design.. but inside very outdated technology & design la…

10) the 3rd row seat… very not satissfied… should done better

11) Why perodua didn't introduce any new colour other than thier usual colour silver, white… only the purple one look new for P2 car… but that kind of purple similer to Persona colour… please introduce more colour like exora did..

WHy Perodua make this kind of MPV… I've been hoped so much n it turns out to be dissapointing me…

• azrul on Nov 26, 2009 at 7:12 pm

better to buy exora…alza too small..not worth to the price offered

• unknown on Nov 27, 2009 at 3:20 am

era kereta mayat bermula.belakang alza lebih buruk dari hidung babi

• Hey USER, lu beli ipsum lah kalo nak lebih. Apa Alsa tampirkan adalah sepadan dgn harga dia……..

• Composer on Nov 28, 2009 at 9:04 pm

exora tv commercial like s*it.. 'BLA BLA BLA ..MEMBELAI RAMBUTMU….'

the P2 think this is shampoo advertisement??? stupid adv by P2, want to beat Exora song but like sh*t…

• peYno on Nov 29, 2009 at 2:30 pm

65k for no gated gear, no autocruise, no 2nd aircond, no split for 3rd row seat, no crash test, ??

no thanks

prrrfthhh