VIDEO: Audi designers discussing the A1’s design

Audi metroproject quattro
The Audi metroproject quattro at Tokyo 2007

Watch Audi head designer Stefan Sielaff discuss the new Audi A1’s design with a colleague. Apparently Audi has some interesting things in store for us with the A1’s design. Let’s hope that the new A8 ended up being the bore that it is because they diverted all attention to the A1!

“The new A1 has Audi design in its genes. Like all Audi models, the ratio of greenhouse to body is between 1:3 and 2:3. The front overhang is short, but the wheel wells are pronounced, giving the A1 a wide road stance. The roof arch is a unique characteristic of the Tokyo showcar; there is a certain dynamism in the flow of the A- and C-pillars. The single-frame grille – a central Audi design feature – will identify the A1 as an Audi. But there’s a surprise in store. We’ll do something here, maybe with the corners and the width of the grille. But more on that in January 2010,” says Sielaff.

Look after the jump to watch some videos of the A1.

VIDEO: Audi designers talk about the new Audi A1

VIDEO: Audi A1 graffiti

[zenphotopress number=999 album=691]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• look like mits lancer gt…nothing special from the overview of design concept..maybe audi start to copy cat from Japanese's company.huhu

• squawk on Dec 19, 2009 at 12:53 am

LOL! I was gonna say the same thing.

• irenetancd (Member) on Dec 19, 2009 at 12:54 am

nice

• malaysia memang bole on Dec 19, 2009 at 1:03 am

audi new creative design,

a copy from mit lancer,with an uglier design.

well done auuuuuudi.

hope the 'prison bar' grill works on it.

• the picture above (metro project)…looks like New Saga profile…heheheh

• nebula87 on Dec 19, 2009 at 1:54 am

yeah..its remind me of my car…BLM…XD

• nebula87 on Dec 19, 2009 at 1:56 am

Yeah…its remind me of my car…BLM…XD

• yup, mit lancer

• Clone on Dec 19, 2009 at 4:23 am

Nice looking car…..

• firdaus on Dec 19, 2009 at 5:55 am

stop the nonsense talk about audi copying mitsu guys, its shows the level of ur comment/thinking. seeing trough the looks only without true understanding of lines characteristic and design language of element and principal of design.

audi have far advance philosophy in art n design compared to mitsu or other japs cars.

anyway this is a great article paul

• raybrig on Dec 19, 2009 at 6:13 am

macam savvy lah…

• Yup…mcm savvy ler plak. I hate to say tis…but its booring. Not like renault clio & megane which is more interesting

• ok la, not bad looking. but i think what is special about taht grille maybe is LED lights behind. or something along that line.

• Mazda 3 MPS + PERODU on Dec 19, 2009 at 7:47 am

i think its amazing

• Mazda 3 MPS + PERODU on Dec 19, 2009 at 8:26 pm

i think savvy is even more amazing

• stupid firdaus on Dec 19, 2009 at 11:14 pm

Haha, Audi Lancer

• peYno on Dec 19, 2009 at 11:45 pm

Ah beng japs wannabe like mazda 3 normally don't like conti design.. they prefer Japs.. so tehy like jpas ASEAN car like myvi, city, vios, AVANZA, INNOVA…prrrrtfhhhhh

• look like same with ~~saga red ??

• Georgie on Dec 21, 2009 at 6:46 pm

Whats the rave all about with mitsubishi's moustache design? i can't quite get it. It seems that most carmaker wants to integrate the horizontal black moustache to their cars, proton, nissan, audi, etc. Its just a drab.

• ingatkan saga baru.. hihihi

• Audi's car is always boring and ugly