BREAKING: Petronas is now the title sponsor of Mercedes GP!

Petronas has just moments ago announced that it will be the title sponsor of Mercedes GP! This comes as a surprise after it was widely reported that the national oil company will be ending its involvement in F1 as a team sponsor. The choice of Mercedes GP is also unexpected – after all Malaysia has its “own” team in Lotus F1.

The five-year agreement with Mercedes comes after Petronas’ deal with BMW Sauber ended in the just concluded 2009 season. Under this new deal, Petronas will be the title partner to the Silver Arrows works team, which will be officially known as the Mercedes GP Petronas Formula One Team.

The official media statement explains that “this partnership allows related business arrangements with Mercedes that will support Petronas’ international business expansion efforts, particularly in its global lubricant business. The exclusive rights of a title partner and association with the premium, internationally-renowned Mercedes brand will further enhance Petronas and Malaysia’s ongoing global brand positioning efforts. Petronas will also be able to continue to leverage on the extensive international exposure offered by the sport to grow its existing business activities.”

This tie-up also presents Petronas with the opportunity to utilise and leverage on Mercedes’ long motor sport heritage to further supplement its talent development initiatives as part of its contribution towards the development of Malaysia’s motorsports industry, it said.

Petronas will continue to be the title sponsor of the Malaysian Grand Prix, as reported earlier.

Quotes from Norbert Haug, Vice-President of Mercedes-Benz Motorsports and Ross Brawn, Team Principal are after the jump.

UPDATE: The Mercedes GP Petronas Formula One Team’s race car will make its track debut in its new livery at Valencia on 1 February to start pre-season testing ahead of the 2010 season.

Norbert Haug, Vice-President of Mercedes-Benz Motorsports

“We are very pleased to begin our long-term partnership with our new title partner PETRONAS. Daimler, our premium brand Mercedes-Benz and PETRONAS will work together both on and off the track and I am sure that everybody involved will guarantee their absolute dedication to success. PETRONAS’ home base in Kuala Lumpur is located in the middle of a fast-growing region for the automotive industry which makes this new partnership even more valuable. Within the limits of the new Formula One resource restrictions, the Mercedes GP PETRONAS Formula One Team will be well positioned to achieve our goals. We will all strive to present efficient success in the future knowing at the same time that the new Formula One season with some fundamental rule changes will be a particularly challenging one.”

Ross Brawn, Team Principal of the Mercedes GP PETRONAS Formula One Team

“Everyone at Mercedes GP is delighted to confirm our long-term agreement with PETRONAS and we look forward to working closely with our new partner in the future. The collaboration of the premium automotive brand Mercedes-Benz and a company as prestigious as PETRONAS gives our team a fantastic base from which to achieve our ambitions of competing at the top level of Formula One and building on the success of 2009 which saw the team achieve the Constructors’ and Drivers’ Championships. Our plans for the new season are progressing well, as is the development of our 2010 challenger, and we look forward to seeing the car run in the new Silver Arrows and PETRONAS livery at the Valencia test in February.”

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• mohsein on Dec 22, 2009 at 1:51 am

they move to better status..

• iskett on Dec 22, 2009 at 2:00 am

wow! Petronas sure knows how to advertise!

• kronikelz (Member) on Dec 22, 2009 at 2:02 am

so this is what they meant when Tan Sri Hassan Merican talked about joining F1 only for a business deal. Nevertheless, its a good move for Petronas as it aligns itself with big brands like BMW and now Mercedes it also signals malaysias strong commitment in F1, having significant intrests not only in one but two formula 1 team.

kudos petronas..

• firdaus yusof on Dec 22, 2009 at 2:03 am

waaa. just now I read that Petronas is not going to sponsor any F1 team…. and now it's different story…. waaa, Petronas seems like want to seriously involved in F1 sports…

• scanzew on Dec 22, 2009 at 2:03 am

good idea…hahahahahaha

• Simon on Dec 22, 2009 at 2:04 am

eat that Tony Fernandes!! hahaha

• Mysticmind on Dec 22, 2009 at 2:04 am

GREAT! I LIKE THAT!.

Keep the branding always on!.

Malaysia world domination. (demn!)

If anyone noticed, since last month, Malaysia in news are everywhere.

– Lotus team formed

– Neo S2000 on podium

– Proton in Thai

– AirAsia Tony vs Virgin Branson

– T.Djan's drift kings

– bla bla bla.

and now this one. Petronas Merz. (lucky not ferrari, I'm not ferrari fan)

It's such a great 'unseen' thing that promoted Malaysia to be as a country to be alert.

• scanzew on Dec 22, 2009 at 2:09 am

hahaha…finally see shell in ferrari and petronas in mercedes GP in rivalry but good friend in Majnoon Iraqi oil field….hahahaha

• engdau on Dec 22, 2009 at 2:11 am

Simply because the name of Mercedes GP is more famous than Lotus 1Malaysia. However, the theme of 1 Malaysia….Mana pergi? Another possibility is Lotus 1Malaysia team might not be able to last as long as for a period of 5 years.

• why sponsor Mercedes GP! why? why? petronas pun taknak suppot kat local team ape ni?

• isfufushah on Dec 22, 2009 at 2:13 am

N… as i mention before in the post below:

http://paultan.org/2009/12/19/no-f1-team-sponsors…

December 20, 2009 @ 11:18 am

N…

Schumi almost confirm to drive for Mercedes GP aka Brawn GP (2009) in 2010. Er… D’ Montezemolo was so upset and quote “Mercedes GP Schumacher is not the Schumacher we know before.”

:-( .

• mr_3m on Dec 22, 2009 at 2:14 am

"It’s such a great ‘unseen’ thing that promoted Malaysia to be as a country to be alert."

—————————————————————-

Nice propaganda. Well, we certainly know a thing or two about how to get in the spotlight while at the same time something else is actually happening behind the scene.

Then, one day all the sh*ts will come out and the people living in their "dreams" will probably wake up and realise "how did we allow these things to happen and let them be this bad/screwed/_________???" (fill in the blank as you please)

Anyway, still good propaganda. We certainly learnt from the best in the business.

• cuckoobird on Dec 22, 2009 at 2:16 am

It is a greater initiative to sponsor a title-winning team than creating a new Lotus F1 Team.

• ReactiX on Dec 22, 2009 at 2:20 am

nice one :D thats what my CEO way of business!

• i drive proton on Dec 22, 2009 at 2:24 am

Lotus F1 is not a government owned team…this is to prove that i guess…

• abg jamil on Dec 22, 2009 at 2:26 am

kecoh sangat tony nak gado ngan abg 'dara' sorang tu…ambik ko!chins up,tony.banyak lagi glc's out there.eg,tabung haji.haha.apapun,tahniah Tan Sri H.world best kept secret.tabik!

• Mazda 6 MPS on Dec 22, 2009 at 2:29 am

talking with basher is like talking with tree~~

• petmos on Dec 22, 2009 at 2:32 am

hehehe..bye2 sauber…welcome mercedes benz….

• uDean on Dec 22, 2009 at 2:42 am

hah.great.after this all merc car will use syntium as engine's lubricant..lulz~

• teamsleepnie on Dec 22, 2009 at 2:45 am

it's good that petronas alies with mercedes…

• Mysticmind said,

December 21, 2009 @ 6:04 pm

"GREAT! I LIKE THAT!.

Keep the branding always on!.

Malaysia world domination. (demn!)

If anyone noticed, since last month, Malaysia in news are everywhere.

– Lotus team formed

– Neo S2000 on podium

– Proton in Thai

– AirAsia Tony vs Virgin Branson

– T.Djan’s drift kings

– bla bla bla.

and now this one. Petronas Merz. (lucky not ferrari, I’m not ferrari fan)

It’s such a great ‘unseen’ thing that promoted Malaysia to be as a country to be alert."

One more news:

_ Msian airforce jet engine got stolen!!!

• initial R on Dec 22, 2009 at 2:54 am

Mysticmind said,

December 21, 2009 @ 6:04 pm

————————————————-

With ferrari ?. Can not coz they have soul mate already & it's "Shell". However, it still good news coz Malaysian company still running on world news.

• this will be a big hit as compared to sauber based sponsorship in the previous season.

there are actually people who aligned to Mobil 1 just because Mobil 1 is the engine oil used by mercedes racing.

• joni (Member) on Dec 22, 2009 at 3:04 am

Its a step in the right directions by Petronas …pure business decision

• mirror-mirror on Dec 22, 2009 at 3:12 am

this is more acceptable, finally petronas is sponsoring a potential winner. so maybe petronas ceo prefer to see tony in air stewardess dress or what, hmm…

• kronikelz (Member) on Dec 22, 2009 at 3:16 am

for all bashers out there, off course its all great to have an all malaysian team wit malaysian sponsor,but if you put yourself in petronas foot, a globally recognised company especially in motorsport your involvement should be progressive. From sauber to bmw to mercedes. ?givewn that the deal wit bmw is over, the question is should you associate your global brand with a team that targets to be the best among the new teams(read lotus) or to be linked with a potential front runner that has schumacher as one of its driver. Off course the choice obvious. If we couple that with the new oilfield contract that was awarded to petronas in iraq which signifies a more global portfolio for petronas, it would be definate that petronas would not wanna refuse an opportunity to be alligned wit a mercedes.

• Maserati on Dec 22, 2009 at 3:17 am

local company dont even want to sponsor local F1 team.

See even Petronas smart enough to not to choose local F1 team cause they know it will be a waste of funds.

Better of sponsoring Mercedes where the viewership will be higher ….

• Annihilated on Dec 22, 2009 at 3:36 am

Now that is called branding. It is pure business transaction. Simple, you make me (Petronas) known, you use my lubricants & I pay (some of) your bills. In return, people buy my oils & lubs and my bosses & auditors are happy.

Congrats on the deal. Current Mercedes team is effectively the 2009 FIA F1 champion, the deal must be good.

Btw, on the previous post n FIAT group OEM lubes matters. I'm pretty sure that doesn't include Ferrari. Ferrari and Shell are married. No way Petronas be a Ferrari 'secret lover'. Maybe the 2% are mostly in Iveco Trucks and other FIAT group brands. Petronas does own Sunoco right?

• raybrig on Dec 22, 2009 at 3:40 am

mercedes+petronas+brawn+schumi=wow!!!…what a great package!!

• skiborne on Dec 22, 2009 at 3:43 am

i just hate the fact that some of u said, "y not sponsoring LotusF1? kata 1Malaysia", or "see, even malaysia brand did not support its own team", hishh

• w_lighter (Member) on Dec 22, 2009 at 3:56 am

well… to petronas its simple. "This is just good business, its not personal". They cant afford to be patriotic in this troubled time. They have to place themself with the best. Just like what Tony Fernandez said last time, we only align ourself with the best. And unfortunately this time around its Tony which is not the best….

• good for marketing of those lubricants.. but ironically petronas does not support malaysia's team though.. but who knows right, after the 5 yrs contract and after lotus got on podium they will back for malaysian team…. good step for globalising petronas though.. kudos for that

• Great Move Petronas. Thumbs Up. Reach for the sky amongst the stars.

• bmpower on Dec 22, 2009 at 4:03 am

GREAT! 3x

after BMW now BENZ!

• gogogo!!! on Dec 22, 2009 at 4:04 am

now i will have two team to support.

1.mercedes

2.lotus

now i luv f1 more….hehe

• nabill on Dec 22, 2009 at 4:35 am

isit that petronas know sting about Lotus F1 that we,the public , dont know ??

seems that they have no confidence in lotus f1,and thy see it as a short term team….thats why thy dont want to be attached to them , and petronas last sponser bmw,and now merc , so mabe thy want to be associated with premium brands……

• Go PETRONAS Go ! I want 1 merz SLS !

• scottloeb on Dec 22, 2009 at 4:36 am

In Indonesia, those who drive BMW will buy Syntium or go to PSS for fuel.

Now they have bigger market, Merc! My Indo friend must be cursing now (as I always compare Pertamina and Petronas, and he is with Total haha)

• Tiadaid on Dec 22, 2009 at 4:41 am

Annihilated said,

December 21, 2009 @ 7:36 pm

Btw, on the previous post n FIAT group OEM lubes matters. I’m pretty sure that doesn’t include Ferrari. Ferrari and Shell are married. No way Petronas be a Ferrari ’secret lover’. Maybe the 2% are mostly in Iveco Trucks and other FIAT group brands. Petronas does own Sunoco right?

——————–

You know there's more to Fiat than just Ferrari right? How about Alfa Romeo? As well as the Fiat brand itself.

And hats off to Tan Sri Hassan. When The Star interviewed him he made people think that Petronas is stopping their sponsorship in F1. Then he pulls out a whopper like this! However I still wouldn't support Mercedes…hate their road cars!

• Tiadaid on Dec 22, 2009 at 4:43 am

Oh, BTW what happened to Mobil 1? No longer?

• SY0H (Member) on Dec 22, 2009 at 4:48 am

Good move.

Petronas has a standard to take care.

From BMW to MERC.

Lotus F1 1Malaysia Team needs to prove itself first before saying they're in par with other F1 team.

• Tiadaid on Dec 22, 2009 at 4:55 am

Tiadaid said,

December 21, 2009 @ 8:43 pm

Oh, BTW what happened to Mobil 1? No longer?

———————

Oops, got my teams wrong…Mobil 1 is with McLaren.

• afkar on Dec 22, 2009 at 4:58 am

"…The collaboration of the premium automotive brand Mercedes-Benz and a company as prestigious as PETRONAS gives our team…"-ross brawn..

petronas is that prestigious aah?? im proud!!

• Kuku stim on Dec 22, 2009 at 5:04 am

It's a slap in the face for 1Malaysia team

• initial R on Dec 22, 2009 at 5:09 am

In F1, i like they machine but in real world i don't like the Merc owner. So "Sombong & Bongkak" even i know not all like that but 60% of them been like that.

• littlefire on Dec 22, 2009 at 5:10 am

Petronas get the flip flop flu.. lolz

Suddenly say pull out, now join Merc.. :P

Malaysia Boleh..

• albagmane on Dec 22, 2009 at 5:22 am

wow… im excited to see two world champions wearing Petronas shirts! brilliant Petronas!

• F1 always like that. Driver jump here and there to others teams. Sponsor jump here and there for better profit and advert.

Most famous, oso is their changes of this and changes that in F1 regulation….

Biasa. Semua OK.

• scanzew on Dec 22, 2009 at 5:39 am

i think new mercedes GP silver-GREEN livery a little bit awkward…

tough job for Mercedes GP designer…huhu

http://www.ausmotive.com/images/MercedesGP-Petron… http://www.ausmotive.com/images/MercedesGP-Petron…

• Annihilated on Dec 22, 2009 at 5:44 am

Tiadaid said,

December 21, 2009 @ 8:41 pm

Annihilated said,

December 21, 2009 @ 7:36 pm

You know there’s more to Fiat than just Ferrari right? How about Alfa Romeo? As well as the Fiat brand itself.

And hats off to Tan Sri Hassan. When The Star interviewed him he made people think that Petronas is stopping their sponsorship in F1. Then he pulls out a whopper like this! However I still wouldn’t support Mercedes…hate their road cars!

Tiadaid: That's exactly my point. It's not all about Ferrari. There are many more brand names under FIAT group.

BTW, a friend of mine just tip me an info. Petronas does not control Sunoco. Instead, Petronas control FL Selenia which control Sunoco lubricants Belgium and also distribute several other brands. That's how Petronas become OEM. And my guess on Iveco is true. Iveco use Urania – one of Petronas product. :)

• redfueler on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:02 am

great!

then petronas can jv with merc to build new engine like e01 engine before…

• nothing to be proud..

• just me on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:02 am

Great from bmw to merc…

after this, petronas tv ads will use merc!

previously only bmw…

the "hot cars, cool cars" contest also must be giving out merc…

cant wait for the contest…

hopefully the launch the contest soon, so that i can merc.. =)

• zookri on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:02 am

wow.. imagine schumacher with petronas racing gear.. b4 this petronas got valentino rossi frm motogp! great advert.

• Jacko on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:23 am

Petronas and shell…rival in f1, partners in majnoon…btw good job petronas..it a good move. one step ahead.

• silverarrows on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:30 am

ever wonder what the "FL" in "FL Selenia" stands for?

• Automotive_Critics on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:46 am

Bad news for Malaysian motorist. With this, MACH 5 lubricant price will increase further make it beyond reach for masses. Too bad.

• fasgen on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:47 am

there are too much pro n contra. but in business, not imposible… anything can be.. the important is 'untung' maa.

• mystvearn on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:48 am

Better deal than LotusF1/1MalaysiaF1 team.

If go with lotus-associated with Proton, which is a step backwards from BMW

Go with Merc can get:

-Shumacher as driver. Who does not want that.

-Get Merc brand. Petronas not stupid stick with Proton brand because they were with BMW previously. The prestige of the PETRONAS brand name will diminish.

So after this, all Petronas commercial se Merc cars? Since now you see everywhere BMW cars in petronas commercial.

I think safe to say that after contract with merc ends in 5 years time or whenever that is, Petronas must go minimum:

BMW, Merc, VW, Toyota, Honda (with a proven track record)

Small fry Proton/Lotus needs to pass Hyundai/Kia first before Petronas take a look at them. Sorry Proton, but that is reality. Petronas is in different league. This branding strategy reminds me Of RoyalDutch/Shell with Ferrari since way long long time ago-present

• Big Mac on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:55 am

FL stands for Fiat Lubricante

• Ferruccio on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:57 am

Haha Hassan Merican statement over the weekend was carefully worded and crafted by his pr dept to hide today's announcement.Certainly through everyone off who held their own interpretation instead of reading it word for word.

“Next year, we have no team and the only reason for us to go back into Formula 1 is on a business deal, for the lubricant business,’’ he said.

Guess this fits the reason. Not surprised if their tie up confirmation, at least for 2010 was influenced by Schumacher coming on board, which certainly would boost sponsorship ROI for Petronas.

Though I'm speculating here, I wouldn't be surprised if the next piece of news is the confirmed signing of Schumacher with the team

• ofcoz petronas cannot and shall not sponsor lotus f1. how come newbie, who not even been in a single race suddenly force petronas to sponsor them. petronas have long been with f1, and been sponsoring taiko teams in f1. if lotus f1 want to get sponsor from petronas, then prove your self first. get to podium in every race, be famous all over the world, then petronas can consider to sponsor you.

tony, u are champion of meritocracy, so prove you team worth the big bucks first ok. please, dont play political connection to fill your team pockets with petronas money, even though we all know you guys owner lotus f1 team all politically well connected, unless you want to give us another reason to throw out gov of the day.

• Big Mac on Dec 22, 2009 at 7:04 am

But reading back the interview with Petronas CEO, "Next year, we have no team and the only reason for us to go back into Formula 1 is on a business deal, for the lubricant business." – in a way he didn't say that they shun F1 altogether. Guess Petronas lubricants will be in the Mercedes cars. Interesting!

• khimfoh on Dec 22, 2009 at 7:08 am

I think it's more to getting TV exposure of the Petronas brand than anything else. I rather be a title sponsor for a front running team with more TV coverage than a midfield or bottom tier team with less TV coverage. No disrespect to the Lotus 1Malaysia F1 Team but I reckon CEO of Petronas wouldn't want to sponsor a brand new start-up team with no proven track record.

But having said that, what Sir Richard Branson Virgin group is sponsoring the Manor F1 Team know rebranded as Virgin Racing is quite weird as well. Sir Richard Branson must see something in Manor Racing that makes him want to sponsor them.

• NutzeyWagen on Dec 22, 2009 at 7:17 am

Ha ha! Petronas teaming-up with Mercedes is a slap in the face for Tony Fernandes. He was really hoping that Petronas will sponsor his Lotus F1 Racing team, but now….. As Tony himself said (refering to Air Asia), "…..we buy a lot of aviation fuel from them." So now, will Air Asia be buying anymore aviation fuel from Petronas? The only other company selling aviation fuel in Malaysia is Shell, and Tony might just get his revenge by buying from Shell. Wow! This is great! Competition on and off the track, come rain or shine!

• LuqmanRohaizat on Dec 22, 2009 at 7:18 am

Its ok for petronas not to sponsor local lotus 1malaysia team. because already got a few mega-national names behind Lotus F1 Racing which are Proton, AirAsia and Naza Group. Lotus F1 can afford not to have Petronas stickers on its car and still be able to sustain themselves for a long time. Meanwhile Petronas gets to have Merc GP as advertising partner, which is so sweet. Win-win situation as I see it…

• bobby on Dec 22, 2009 at 7:21 am

GOOD MOVE !!!!!! Fernandos cant sleep tonight.

• RedLine on Dec 22, 2009 at 7:21 am

Excellent move Petronas!

• paxter on Dec 22, 2009 at 7:25 am

Told ya.

I remember posting on paul tan a week ago saying petronas will tie in with Mercedes… well the other rumor i stated was schumacher is going to drive the Mercedes Petronas team

• bmpower on Dec 22, 2009 at 7:26 am

I think it's like this.

Why sponsor all in one team?

Why not we got hilight in 2 team!

That's more exposure!

If one car out if race, at least we got another 3 still in race!

The cost remain the same. ;)

• paxter on Dec 22, 2009 at 7:28 am

Automotive_Critics said,

December 21, 2009 @ 10:46 pm

Bad news for Malaysian motorist. With this, MACH 5 lubricant price will increase further make it beyond reach for masses. Too bad.

wei, thank god you are not in a position to make business deals right… i know we live in a mangkuk country but i think u just filled the bowl

• Ferruccio on Dec 22, 2009 at 7:36 am

khimfoh,

I won't be surprised to see Virgin racing and Lotus F1 fighting throughout the season.. for last place. Virgin also looks iffy. Branson admitted he was expecting the 40m pound cap to be enforced but that backfired and his team is further disadvantaged due to their small budget.

On top of that they are the only team gambling the design of their car purely using CFD simulation. No windtunnels. All teams rely on CFD with wind tunnel testing.

Meanwhile Merc Petronas GP should be fairly competitive but no certainty they will be right in front. At least if they fall short they can rely on the new $$$ resources to fund in season development and move up the grid.

• LotusLover on Dec 22, 2009 at 7:40 am

Dear Mr Tony,

Imagine that Lotus F1 Team is you, Petronas is a pretty girl who u love and Mercedes F1 Team is your love rival/enemy.

And now the girl already choose your rival.

What will you do next???

"Just Beat It"! Beat the Mercedes Team! Let the "girl" regret!

• paxter on Dec 22, 2009 at 7:44 am

My only fear is this tho…

besok the news will break out nation wide. Would politicians force petronas out of the deal to sponsor a 1 malaysian team or will corporate independence rule over them…. this is after all a flip flop goverment.

• Delio on Dec 22, 2009 at 8:10 am

Kereta saya pergi lebih jauh dengan sekali isian. _mercedes gp_

• paxter on Dec 22, 2009 at 8:20 am

LotusLover,

I think thats a wet dream you got there… cause The girl ran away from the proton driver to get into a Mercedes slk and went off into the sunset…

i think u can beat ur self back to reality la first…

You are not considering that the Lotus F1 car will be coming out of the factory with minimal wind testing. And had a development of under 6 months. Coswarth engine is crap remember jaguar? And with limited funding they wont be able to progress fast enough thru out the season. + the team members will still be green and will be working together for the first time come febuary. Lotus will probably be in the top 10 but not in the top 6 teams for next season. AND that is a very logical and fair statement. I be proud to see Lotus secure a top 3 finish like Force india but even they took 2 years before that happened.

The mercedes team however is a car company for starters with a kick ass engine that made ferrari cry last year, in a team with so much history before Mercedes it was brawn, before brawn was Honda before that BAR before that tyrrell all, were title champions or front running teams at one time or another. And dont forget Brawn was the man that made schumacher that good. He was a master tactician and with such a combination, the pressure for them is to preform from the get go and make sure brawn achievement last year was not a fluke.

It seams there are too many dream teams this year making it one of the most exciting pre season speculation i have seen in my years in loving f1

Ferrari has alonso and massa

Maclaren has lewis and button

Mercedes has Schumacher and nico

Sauber has ferrari engine and gearbox and a crazy banzai driver in kobayashi

Lotus f1 has heikki and trulli

I will be going to the F1 gp in malaysia supporting the both teams. But be realistic la k…

• bravo petronas…. only the best team deserve Petronas sponsor…that show how the though brand market their product

• Bmw driver on Dec 22, 2009 at 9:01 am

For 5 yrs pet is premium partner to bmw.

Result:

Petronas klcc parking fully filled with staff discounted bmws

Bmw still not factory filled with petronas. Oilcap on bmws recommend castrol

Cost:

A lot of money and corporate identity ( pastel green to blue)

Now sponsor mercedes. At least get team title name and hopefully retain its dignity in the corporate color on d new car. Malaysian f1 team will have to survive on their own while all of malaysians will support petronas mercedes. Prestige and arrogance combined in a relationship that will most likely benefit the carmaker but not its partner.

Forget keropok lekor, bratwurst is the corporate flava. Lets hope the malaysian-german relationship this time gives birth to a mix blood baby. Not an anglo (bp) bavarian (bmw) lovechild with a malaysian father.

Well done malaysia, guten tag und besten gluck!

Pet loves bratwurst

• akupung on Dec 22, 2009 at 9:44 am

is this the former brawn gp team? great business deal there petronas

• bobdbilder on Dec 22, 2009 at 9:49 am

No matter how many times Stuttgart wins, I'll never buy a Merc. I want to drive not waft. I want to connect, engage and be one with my car. Not sensitized, protected by 12 airbags and wallow through bends.

But I will always want a Lotus. And I love people who defy the big ugly corporations. I got your back Tony.

• the irony of it……………..1MALAYSIA, 2 team

• bobby on Dec 22, 2009 at 11:27 am

bobdbilder, mercedes are not just C,E,S, CLS klasses

u can instead buy an slk or an sls if u don't want to sensitized and protected by '12 airbags'

• skiborne on Dec 22, 2009 at 12:19 pm

kudos to Tan Sri Hassan and team, i hope that Petronas wont fall in the hands of Khairy pak dollah badawi's son in law, i heard about this romour some time ago that he's one day gonna take the chairman. hmmm

• emine on Dec 22, 2009 at 1:32 pm

YEEESSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! NOW THINGS JUST GOT BETTER, MY FAVOURITE TEAM MERCEDES-BENZ AND PETRONAS TOGETHER……..GONNA BUY THE TEAM'S OFFICIAL SHIRT DEFINITELY!!!!!

• tricycle on Dec 22, 2009 at 3:28 pm

Dudes and dudesses don't be so happy very quick! Rumors been going on they would want to replace Tan Sri Hassan very soon, since he made a lot of money for Petronas, he performed really well and he doesn't give up easily to Umno BN government. So after this if some idiot were to manage Petronas, I think Petronas would sponsor team like Minardi (luckily no more Minardi on the grid) since Umno will get some kopi money from the deal.

• azrai on Dec 22, 2009 at 4:08 pm

Haha. Tony fernandes is geleng kepala now. Even petronas does'nt want to be related with 1Malaysia Lotus team. i think this is a good for petronas in term of advertisement. They just piggyback mercedes reputation. After this, i hope Mercedes-benz also use Petronas lubricants as its OEM lubricants.

• veepee on Dec 22, 2009 at 4:08 pm

Looks like Petronas VP's need to change their Beemers into Merc real soon…

• Jumbsuck on Dec 22, 2009 at 4:48 pm

Of course it's business trick from Petronas. Avoid BAD FENGSHUI from Proton (via Lotus F1). It's about multi billion RM oil business, branding image so why put at risk with Proton's crappiness? Sponsoring Merc is a very logic step forward GOOD FENGSHUI.

• carsenthusiastdotblo on Dec 22, 2009 at 4:50 pm

hehe..great but somebody are now angry with Petronas deal;)

• Premium on Dec 22, 2009 at 4:55 pm

Looking at the brighter side, Malaysia now has accessed to one of the automotive companies in the world. We could train more people and get more exprerience and exposure to to lots of people via Petronas. After few years, offer these engineers to come back and work at 1Malaysia Lotus F1.

We already has accessed at Lotus, why we need to pour money on something we already have accessed to? Mercedes F1 provide more cutting edge techonologies for the Mercedes cars. with petronas sponsor we get accessed to this, that's what i hope….

• no eye see on Dec 22, 2009 at 5:24 pm

Spend the sponsorship just to get 2% of sales globally after what 5 long years… are you sure can cover the sponsorship or not…

• I don't know if this is such a good idea. Petronas probably paid top dollar to be the sponsor as Brawn are the reigning F1 champions. However, Brawn's success this season is most likely just a flash in the pan. The main reason for it is their gamble on using double diffusers when the bigger teams had opted out thinking that they were illegal. With that advantage gone next season, I fully expect them to drift back down to mid table, with or without Schumi.

• Uda Salleh on Dec 22, 2009 at 5:41 pm

yup… just like AirAsia aligns with MU… not an inkling of support for local teams because its just good business sense. so… chill..!

• Boink on Dec 22, 2009 at 5:44 pm

this is pure brains at work, this would be how a Real Business deal should be in reality…

• lepat on Dec 22, 2009 at 5:46 pm

good business decision for petronas.. petronas is one of the giant oil company in the world so the should find global player partner such as mercedes. if petronas becomes OEM lubricant for all mercedes… where will the profit goes? u guess? Moreover with mercedes the transaction will be 'clean' no kowtim-kowtim etc as in malaysian biz world..

please there only lotus F1. No 1malaysia F1team, no 1Malaysia Lotus and so on… please check with FIA if u disagree.

• AbZaJa on Dec 22, 2009 at 5:46 pm

no eye see said,

December 22, 2009 @ 9:24 am

Spend the sponsorship just to get 2% of sales globally after what 5 long years… are you sure can cover the sponsorship or not…

the nickname suit very well for a pessimistic person like you. It would be very unlikely they would not think all the pros, cons and strategies before they tied the deal

• narrowband on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:07 pm

Sir Tony is a very clever businessman himself. He will understand Petronas' decision. I'm pretty sure if Lotus F1 has a few years of good showing under its belt, Petronas would consider investing in Lotus F1.

Lotus, work hard and show what Petronas is missing out on!

• trav_da_man on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:46 pm

What an unthinkable move by petronas. A good image boost to petronas but a slap in the face to lotus F1.

• the bastard on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:52 pm

It makes financial sense for Petronas. By going with Mercedes, they have the opportunity to upsell their lubricants for Mercedes cars.

• jehan on Dec 22, 2009 at 7:26 pm

any GP team with that green logo will always ends as a looser in F1.

haha. Mercedes GP will be struck with bad luck from 2010 onwards.

• farghmee on Dec 22, 2009 at 7:46 pm

offtopic>>

later we can see many Merc around the KLCC…haha..

München, Nay. Stuttgart, Ja Wohl!

• skiborne on Dec 22, 2009 at 9:11 pm

this has got nothing to do with being patriotic lah! its a good move to sponsor teams such as mercedes GP! why should petronas be sponsoring Lotus F1, they havnt proven themselves just yet in fact wht petronas did was a good move eventually would put malaysia in a spotlight, so in a way we can be proud of it!

• waklanproton on Dec 22, 2009 at 9:14 pm

waa…next year will see 2 malaysian team in F1!

siapa sangka? good for both party……

Petronas/Proton/Air Asia/Lotus/Merc…

welcome 2010 !!! :)

• happy-day on Dec 22, 2009 at 9:38 pm

I am not surprise that Petronas sponsor a more podium proved F1 team (possible with Shumi somemore!) than over….uuh…the Flower F1 team, which might not even to finish any race.

Great move Petronas!

Now I wanted to see Tony's Exit plan! LOL!

• tony-got-con on Dec 22, 2009 at 9:41 pm

It shows that Malaysian always wanted to be GIVEN than EARN from it!

Flower F1 team, you gota lean how to EARN the sponsorship than to be GIVEN.

Good move Petronas. Times to wake up Msian team!

Tony must be sweating now…

• redxdevil on Dec 22, 2009 at 10:15 pm

now time to suport petronas!!!!

• No petronas ask Tenaga, TM , khazanah to sponsor…la after all Magnum can sponsored Minardi team last time. At least if LotusF1 doesnt perform..who the heck know what TM or Tenaga are.

• Wahaha… Imagine if Schumi back to F1 and drive for Mercedes GP PETRONAS Formula One Team mean My Gen2 also use the same engine lubricant as Schumi F1 car…

• wallstreet on Dec 22, 2009 at 11:46 pm

Proud of you!!!Way to go Petronas!!

• niwanda on Dec 22, 2009 at 11:54 pm

To me, it's not a matter of PETRONAS not believing in Lotus F1, but which is a more advantageous option for their business strategy which can add value to stretch the dollar to the max. And with immediate return of investment.

If i were a betting man, I would more likely put my money on Mercedes being more successful earlier than Lotus. Doesnt mean Lotus will not be successful, just a matter of when and how soon.

There is no reason to view petronas' decision as a show of no-confidence on Malaysia Boleh. For a corporation who has been in F1 for more than 10 years, the progression from Sauber to BMW to Merc is natural.

There are changes to the regulations next year so there's no telling where the Mercedes GP or Lotus F1 will be next season, but with names like Ross Brawn and Mercedes, I think it's a pretty solid decision made. Schumi is an added bonus, as he still needs that medical clearance from his doctors. Who knows if he is fit enough? But just look at the buzz generated about him joining!

Next year's F1 calendar sure is going to be exciting!

• Mysticmind on Dec 23, 2009 at 12:26 am

Lotus FELDA F1 team also can what?

Felda is going global now!

they also selling oil…

err…. cooking oil i mean. :D

• Big Mac on Dec 23, 2009 at 1:06 am

I cant agree more.. if Air Asia can sponsor ManU (which is already damn rich) and Oakland Raiders (another famous team in the States)…. why can't they sponsor Lotus F1? After all, Richard Branson has place a bet with TF… might as well TF goes all out for it – and bet on a team that he believes in.. err… Mercedes GP PETRONAS F1 Team??

• Malaysia Boleh on Dec 23, 2009 at 1:49 am

The reason is pretty simple. Who can guarantee our Boleh Team dont quit after 1 season. That would be pretty embarassing, and I dont think Petronas would want get into this game with the goverment.

• look our tax money from petronas aka the G use to sponsor merc..wat a waste they should use the money to build house, miskin people….rite people

or

look our tax money from proton aka the G use to sponsor lotus..wat a waste they should use the money to build house, miskin people….rite people

is it same or different….i think people here giv very contradict opinion la..is it they support G or the opposite or U*NO dog (wat they usually said to people who support proton) or just plain ignorance…that wat i think la kan..let u try from previous article bout proton sponsor n petronas sponsor

• mamat puchong on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:42 am

what a waste……………………

• zookri on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:01 am

i think petronas surely know that schumi will sign with merc.. tats y they grab d deal

• Tiadaid on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:20 am

zman said,

December 22, 2009 @ 8:51 pm

look our tax money from petronas aka the G use to sponsor merc..wat a waste they should use the money to build house, miskin people….rite people

or

look our tax money from proton aka the G use to sponsor lotus..wat a waste they should use the money to build house, miskin people….rite people

is it same or different….i think people here giv very contradict opinion la..is it they support G or the opposite or U*NO dog (wat they usually said to people who support proton) or just plain ignorance…that wat i think la kan..let u try from previous article bout proton sponsor n petronas sponsor

———————-

The money for the sponsorship has nothing to do with govt. That money is part of their marketing budget, their operating capital. The money that they give to the G in terms of tax is still available, not like they take money from that and spend it to sponsor Mercedes.

• Mercedes Benz Petronas GP artist impressions picture:
    http://allvshare.com/images/Mercedes-GP-Petronas….

• kuihbangkit on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:55 pm

in the final analysis, we just need to ask la whether this is a good business deal and good value for money for Petronas.

• Firman on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:05 pm

It is really for a brand marketing strategy…now mercedes GP had signed M. Schumacer for their driver…I'm really sure Mercedes GP team will become a famous team and Petronas will have this advantage to promote their brand….

• osh_kosh on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:08 pm

Wow.. what a news.. didn't see that coming… but, i personally agree with Petronas's choice.. :)

• superwoman on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:50 pm

Schumi driving Petronas-Merc! Now Petronas Marketing money comes back big time for sure!!! Sorrry Lotus. I cant wait and see Tony's exit plan! LOL!

• saiful on Dec 25, 2009 at 12:15 am

instead of 1 team, now we have 2 team to cheer at Sepang….is that a bonus guys? yeah, it really is!

• Sarawakian on Jan 16, 2010 at 5:08 pm

this is crazy. F1 is a money burning game, even Toyota and Honda pull out, why the hell is Malaysia getting involve, might as well use the money for a better purpose.