Camaro exterior designer leaves for Volkswagen

The Chevy Camaro is one of the most desirable (and well known) American cars on sale now, and the genius who penned its exterior design has left General Motors – to join Volkswagen. South Korean born Sangyup Lee has recently resigned from General Motors to be Chief Designer of Exterior at the Volkswagen/Audi Advanced studio in Santa Monica, California.

Lee leaves after 10 years at GM. Besides designing Bumblebee, his work also included the 50th Anniversary Stingray concept and had a hand in the C6 Corvette. Lee’s tenure included several international postings such as the Camaro production program for Holden Australia; a joint venture program for Subaru and GM in Japan; and a project between Bertone and GM in Italy where he developed the 2004 Buick Velite Concept car. The Velite project established the signature look of current Buick products.

With this, can we now expect bold, chunky and muscular designs to come out from VW/Audi’s US studio?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• VW is gonna conqure the world of motoring :D

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 26, 2009 at 8:09 pm

first! lol a volkswagen camaro?

• casey_c on Dec 26, 2009 at 8:11 pm

we will see what he can come out at VW

• GM cars will turn back into thier ugly design again…

• Fahmiyafeii on Dec 26, 2009 at 8:23 pm

that`s awesome…

• islandman on Dec 26, 2009 at 9:48 pm

we could see how other car makers in the world appreciate talent from other country without looking the color of the skin. This should be the way to success. Hope malaysian can think so.

• nabill on Dec 26, 2009 at 10:25 pm

Camaro is one of the best looking cars in the world…its so original in design…so much personality…..vw seem to be buying everyting and everyone..

• Poor GM needs bailou on Dec 26, 2009 at 10:32 pm

Wow  not so great…….

• mystvearn on Dec 27, 2009 at 1:31 am

VW brains with Camaro exterior. Looks good. Hopefully its not like the Fiat coupe designer who ditched FIAT to go to BMW, then left BMW

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 27, 2009 at 2:05 am

i hope gm dies

• VW is hiring the  South Korean exteriour designer Sangyup Lee and the South Korean company Hyundai/Kia has a design center with over 200 engineers and designers in Germany?

This seems unlogical at the first sight, but apparently this is the way car companies have success nowadays.

As Proton management recently hired Italdesign-Giugiaro, maybe Azlan Othman is on VW's wishlist too ? ;)

• Black Dog on Dec 27, 2009 at 2:45 am

No doubt the Camaro & Corvette is two of the most desirable cars we have no chance of owning!

• oh really? on Dec 27, 2009 at 3:37 am

Here we go again, Mazda 3 MPS.

No one's at fault except you.

The malaysian brands employs alot of designers of different races,  but ask yourself, how many of the other races want to work for a local brand?

MAS is a government owned company, but its pilots come from all backgrounds.

Seriously, do not complain if you do not have a solution, people like you will never be satisfied. We're much better off than any of our neighbours.

The new Camaro's design was based on the old camaro, it is not that original then, now is it?  It is a modern interpretation of the old design. Which actually turned out to look much better than the other rebirths of formerly popular muscle cars.

• how much would it take to bring a camaro to malaysia?

I've yet to see one on the roads.

I know it only costs 20-30k USD to drive it in the US.

• mockviper on Dec 27, 2009 at 4:50 am

here you go Wen,

the cost? maybe around half million or more.
    http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2483/3867824314_8c… http://i103.photobucket.com/albums/m131/suakukia/…

• cuckoobird on Dec 27, 2009 at 6:13 am

no wonder, i always thought the camaro looked a bit kia

• chaku on Dec 27, 2009 at 6:28 am

TMJ seems to own a lot of american car.  he can afford anything. hmmm he even own 2 satria neos. a pink and a black one.

• considering the current condition, i would jump ship too. besides, VW has a huge stable of marques, so creativity won't be limited.

• toy car on Dec 27, 2009 at 8:32 am

cars designs now a day has become rojak already… i kind of surprised that bumblebee was designed by a non-american, there is nothing for the american to proud of this car. i like to see legacy continue, but no choice, it's all about business…

• oh really? on Dec 27, 2009 at 8:55 am

Whoa what?!?!

Are those the same car? because i see SS designation clearly in one, and the other one i can't seem to make it out. Well, if one wants to import, might as well wait for the reported lower displacement turbo charged model to be released. Now that would be a real steal.

If they do plan to produce for the right hand drive market, it would be a lot cheaper than what you have assumed. That would be an awesome car to have.

There are a few new gen mustangs, which have been sitting in the showrooms for some time now. I guess the big blocks aren't really doing it for the local crowd ey?

• JULIAN_LEE on Dec 27, 2009 at 10:03 am

azlano, pergi cepat, jawatan kosong!!!!!

• TM Johor punye! wow..

as a laymen.. I dont want this car..

with ist big muscle engine will suck all ur money BEFORE you can officially touch it with malaysian tax.. n ur fuel only last for 3 sec in full throttle before its run out to equavalent to 3++ mins from other non-muscle/pony cars..

thats y US is no.1 fossil fuel consumer..

• Kevin Lee on Dec 27, 2009 at 5:44 pm

the real bumblebee will come out from VW this time. after all the original bumblee was based on the vw bug. expect a supernew retro bug for the bumblebee replacement, perhaps :D

• squall0 on Dec 27, 2009 at 7:05 pm

so, the Bumblebee will transform into a VW Beetle in Transformers3? :p

• earl kane on Dec 27, 2009 at 7:53 pm

proton should hire this man………heheehee LOL

• earl kane on Dec 27, 2009 at 7:55 pm

orang puteh pun badan besa bah,ya lah cdak suka pakey keta besa.lgkpun cdak pun taste keta besa-besa juak………hhahahahaahah LOL.

• Sheldon on Dec 29, 2009 at 1:21 am

hopefully volkswagen/audi cars keep that curvy/smooth elegant look. i dont want to see straight edge box a4's running around.

• fique D on Dec 30, 2009 at 4:45 am

hehehe govt should consider more lenient towards auto tuner here…

aftermarket support also good for our 2 auto cos..

get rid of jpj inconsistent regulations…