More on Proton’s EMAS Concept Cars

Proton has just sent over a PDF document explaining the EMAS Concepts a little. The text goes a little more in depth into the design language. It’s an interesting read if you just can’t get enough of the EMAS triplets. If we’re lucky, Proton will probably showcase then at the KLIMS the end of this year alongside some other interesting stuff. Then both you and I will get to see it in flesh. But for now, enjoy the text and remember to click the ‘fullscreen’ button for easier reading, or download it for offline use.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ezralimm on Mar 03, 2010 at 5:00 am

Why not just link to a PDF?

• aurora on Mar 03, 2010 at 5:03 am

first! great car! will wait in 2-3 yrs time!

• the Proton Emas3 looks like kena chopped from the side

• White Jack on Mar 03, 2010 at 5:08 am

when is it available for sale ?

• neokid on Mar 03, 2010 at 5:11 am

so cute..asian car with some european touch n finishing. nice

• DONT INSULT PROTON ! on Mar 03, 2010 at 5:16 am

GOOD JOB PROTON!! :)

WHen will arrive to malaysia?

• taboogen on Mar 03, 2010 at 5:45 am

wow.. this is first rear wheel drive from proton… it is not FR nor and FF.. its

combination of FRR.. front engine rear engine drive.. thats complicated….

now we can see EMAS drifting since electric motor produce more tork.. go sideways..:)

• aurora said,

March 2, 2010 @ 9:03 pm

first! great car! will wait in 2-3 yrs time!

_________

2-3 years? by that time, this will become obsolete. make it as fast as you can proton! time is money.

• steven on Mar 03, 2010 at 6:07 am

do wait too long for concept , just sell it this year !!! sure Myvi killer

• bgsay on Mar 03, 2010 at 6:26 am

just want to know… is the height of the EMAS same as EMAS Crossover?

because from the picture it's look the same and also the spec din mention.

If it's the same… how can EMAS Crossover be an SUV?

• bocah on Mar 03, 2010 at 6:32 am

Hallo,

salam dari indonesia.

Ini mobil bener2 ciamik.

saya tadinya kurang suka akan proton, tapi setelah melihat mobil ini merasa proton bener2 telah mensejajarkan dirinya dengan honda/toyota/nisan/mazda

Good job proton.

!!!

(cuma saya bingung sekarang, karena ini yang disain orang itali, apa ini berarti product proton bagus, apa ini malaysia berbulu itali???)

• well..nice car..proton is the best…but nnt jgn la jual mahal sgt..lalala.

• mkinaisn on Mar 03, 2010 at 6:41 am

does it is stable while taking cornering???

• perkasa on Mar 03, 2010 at 6:59 am

nice job proton. come on, bring it into production ASAP

• not-quite-the-auto-j on Mar 03, 2010 at 7:08 am

whhatt…. 50km EV range?!?!?! the mitsubishi-i had almost 160km or 180km on a single charge!

but the express 3 hour charge seems promising tho… imagine going for lunch, tengok wayang, out of Pavilion, ur EMAS will be ready to crawl another 30-40km of KL congestion :)

@taboogen : electric motors generate only 20-30% of their peak torque at high rpm, that 240Nm is only from 0 to maybe 1,000 rpm. sorry dude, this FR can't drift (unless u r on a roundabout on a rainy day with some diesel spilt onto it).

• Creativity at its lowest ebb. They look horrible!

• SY0H (Member) on Mar 03, 2010 at 7:32 am

Proton, as long it is Proton, it will inherit the 25 years quality issues such as power windows. No need to elaborate furthermore. The lower sales & higher customer complain speaks for itself.

• Go Proton go, truly a Malaysian car manufacturer…

• Peaceaim on Mar 03, 2010 at 8:15 am

of course la mitsubishi miev can go up to 160km. its a full electric vehicle. proton emas is an extended hybrid like chevy volt. the range is extended using normal gasoline engine. seems like a promising option to volt and not forget BYD F3DM.

• i still waiting for the persona news

• rentak on Mar 03, 2010 at 9:00 am

P1 unable to produce it sooner

cos of the high cost and the limited battery life.

Currently its range is about 160km per full charge.

hopefully in 2-3 years the battery technology has

improved and cost will come down.

So in the mean time we're looking at the Turbo engine &

the up coming replacement models P1 will introduce.

:)

• bummerboy (Member) on Mar 03, 2010 at 9:08 am

now the question is, will proton be able to deliver production emases within the next 12-18months? there is so much potential for emas to help proton leap frog ahead and be a major city e-car producer, definitely ahead of the koreans, americans (granted they have tesla but that's a hobbyist sportscar, and built by lotus anyway), french and even the germans (where are the german electric cars?).

Some ppl in proton have to not drag their feet and put out a production plan that will bring proton ahead.

• nudin on Mar 03, 2010 at 9:28 am

just bring it up for mass prod..

• MoFaz on Mar 03, 2010 at 11:31 am

as what i understand, by using range extender, the distance could be 'extended' as long as you have petrol in tank. say tank capacity is 10 litre and assuming the FC is similar to Chevy Volt's at 230mpg or 98km/l, this car could go about 1000km with single charge and RM18 of petrol… huyoh… not bad at all!

• Proton has still got lots of work to earn back the trust of the consumer

• Looks good imho. Great concept. BUT.

1. It's left hand drive. Meaning it wasn't meant for our market.

2. P1 does not have a good track record for giving its base customers the best. I mean, compare the import cars vs what we get here. Big differences in standard specs.

3. All the cronies will get to supply inferior parts at high costs and jack up the price of the car.

4. Tenaga gonna have a field day with this car being electrical and all.

• lupa dah nick name l on Mar 03, 2010 at 3:14 pm

untuk bateri boleh pergi jauh

saya cadang Proton beli/ kerjasama dengan sykt China BYD, pembuat bateri no1 dunia. Hatta baru2 ni Daimler pun wat MoU ngan BYD untuk kereta2 nya tmsk Mercedesz Benz. x silap utk kereta A Class Merc. Bateri yang br dicipta untuk kenderaan MPV diaorang yg pertama hanya perlu caj sekejap jer dan boleh pergi jauh. Tempoh hayatnya juga lama. Tapi maybe owang kita ni pandang rendah sama China kot, so pandang negara USA – Chevy yang dah nak bankrap tu untuk teknologi dengan harga lebih mahal

• A Malaysian on Mar 03, 2010 at 3:30 pm

i hope proton will be daring enough to bring this concept into production 100% as it is designed….and to all proton fans and bashers out there,do note that 90% of car manufacturers around the globe couldn’t do such thing,because of the cost of making one etc,and even if proton was able to make one 100% as similiar to the concept,the price range would be around rm80k to rm120k,do look at the gadgets inside the car………

and i hope proton would follow the footstep of Peugeot,as their 308 RCZ concept will be making into production this year,and its 99% as same as the concept………

• proud of my malaysian car,no matter whatever u name it i.e low ya, protong, chopped & whatsoever. talk big, as if u can effort to by merc,bmw@bentley lol…

• proud of my malay-sian car no matter what people say i.e low ya,chopped,protong, as if u can effort to by merc,bmw @ bentley lol.

• NiceCar (Member) on Mar 03, 2010 at 4:23 pm

Need to move fast to release to production, or else it would be another wasted action like G does before. (example like the petrol filling by using mycard project, already spend RM70000K to buy the car reader and now have scrap it? hehe.. this money already in some1 pocket de)

• concept car does not mean will be in production

will take 1-2 years of exhibition, feedback before it can goes into production

• proton is obviously gone too ambitious with this one. the emas is good step but its not right step yet. basic car making still not good enuf. try improve basic things first such as reliability, build quality, ergonomics, consistency, safety, suitability, extra features n etc. do justice for ur supportive malaysians by making simple but good car. just take the simple vios as an example of a properly built car. Persona is the right direction, but still proton could do lot better.

Another thing. Please dont treat us malaysian as second class customer (give the best for export and junk for the locals).

• adijb on Mar 03, 2010 at 4:58 pm

Nice! It does look a bit like the smart for 4 car tho.

Good to see Proton continuously improving and advancing itself, as any serious company should.

• umno juara tipu raky on Mar 03, 2010 at 5:00 pm

TO BOCAH…

kia design team is headed by a german..BMW head designer used to be an american..in this global economy its almost impossible to see a car manufacturer were designed by their native countryman..if u want to be competitive,proton has made the right move!

• Green Tech on Mar 03, 2010 at 5:33 pm

With low sales and profit, I can't imagine how proton plan to invest in this 3 hybrid cars. However, I welcome any move by proton towards greener tech, hopefully city people can enjoy fresh air like kampungrian life.

• bLo0d on Mar 03, 2010 at 5:47 pm

taboogen said,

March 2, 2010 @ 9:45 pm

wow.. this is first rear wheel drive from proton… it is not FR nor and FF.. its

combination of FRR.. front engine rear engine drive.. thats complicated….

now we can see EMAS drifting since electric motor produce more tork.. go sideways..:)

lol u mention that. i tot it will be like turtle trbalik. hahah

• The Royal Academy of on Mar 03, 2010 at 5:48 pm

the design is so malaysian i remember where i saw it before. ah yes, the smart fortwo and mitsubishi i

• proton need to run faster… well, obviously this is a good start.. :)

• mechanical (Member) on Mar 03, 2010 at 6:06 pm

geneva is a good platform for car manufacturer to show their existance in the automotive world..

it is just a concept car & shows proton ability..

if this car going to production, it will be mass production car for proton..

keep going guys..

think technology first then business & profit..

• initial R on Mar 03, 2010 at 6:12 pm

I heard that the production will hit in 2012 due to tech improvement… but we also know that most of concept car production will be 90% looks like the concept appeal, will have some minor changing due to ergonomic used… but i like the new design translation that appeal more Europe rather than Japs. Even if we see back most of proton design start from Waja, Proton want phase out from Mitsu shadow & stand as international car manifacture… Last night i was mesmerize with the car… seriously said those basher that said this design are not suit with them can said they are more praise Japs car supporters. Even my uncle who have BMW M5, Nissan Sylpy, T alphard & also Persona said the P1 concept are more taste as international that can be accept by all nation & country. He said that P1 was good car & he have seen lots of improfment if he compare with his late Saga & Persona. Also he shock that my Exora handling much batter than his Alphard (actually he want sold his Alphard due to lots of crapy thing he have to fix it).. he also waiting JC to do the test coz most Malaysian trust that Clown rather try them self…. & I agree with him…

• cbengdalegand on Mar 03, 2010 at 6:18 pm

tusah bak pubak proton ih, gaya wang gmbr bkn main, bila dh nebak ah masam2 mak cbeng, dh la tax keta lbh sparuh regah keta…tp keta mei dao laus…regah kancil atik bak smh ngan bmw d brunei…meboh crita regah keta yah kik…nang gaya konsep bisnez lo mlayu yoo2…untung mesti luk idak…yah kik kak ngan lising…pheeyyyy…

• cbengdalegand on Mar 03, 2010 at 6:19 pm

an jenal anak wa misi in y?? mun mei tao plik video ym dun tabaw ngan skawi kn kubah gaya setting doh…pheeyyy

• Squawk on Mar 03, 2010 at 6:23 pm

Proton's hybrid needs this (and it's being researched by Chinese students & profs in the US):

Stanford Report, December 7, 2009

At Stanford, nanotubes + ink + paper = instant battery

Dip an ordinary piece of paper into ink infused with carbon nanotubes and silver nanowires, and it turns into a battery or supercapacitor. Crumple the piece of paper, and it still works. Stanford researcher Yi Cui sees many uses for this new way of storing electricity.

Post doctoral students in the lab of Prof. Yi Cui, Materials Science and Engineering, light up a diode from a battery made from treated paper, similar to what you would find in a copy machine. The paper batteries are treated with a nanotube ink, baked and folded into electrical generating sources like the one wrapped in foil seen here.

BY JANELLE WEAVER

Stanford scientists are harnessing nanotechnology to quickly produce ultra-lightweight, bendable batteries and supercapacitors in the form of everyday paper.

Simply coating a sheet of paper with ink made of carbon nanotubes and silver nanowires makes a highly conductive storage device, said Yi Cui, assistant professor of materials science and engineering.

"Society really needs a low-cost, high-performance energy storage device, such as batteries and simple supercapacitors," he said.

Like batteries, capacitors hold an electric charge, but for a shorter period of time. However, capacitors can store and discharge electricity much more rapidly than a battery.

Cui's work is reported in the paper "Highly Conductive Paper for Energy Storage Devices," published online this week in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences.

"These nanomaterials are special," Cui said. "They're a one-dimensional structure with very small diameters." The small diameter helps the nanomaterial ink stick strongly to the fibrous paper, making the battery and supercapacitor very durable. The paper supercapacitor may last through 40,000 charge-discharge cycles – at least an order of magnitude more than lithium batteries. The nanomaterials also make ideal conductors because they move electricity along much more efficiently than ordinary conductors, Cui said.

L.A. Cicero Bing Hu, a post-doctoral fellow, prepares a small square of ordinary paper to with an ink that will deposit nanotubes on the surface that can then be charged with energy to create a battery.

Bing Hu, a post-doctoral fellow, prepares a small square of ordinary paper with an ink that will deposit nanotubes on the surface that can then be charged with energy to create a battery.

Cui had previously created nanomaterial energy storage devices using plastics. His new research shows that a paper battery is more durable because the ink adheres more strongly to paper (answering the question, "Paper or plastic?"). What's more, you can crumple or fold the paper battery, or even soak it in acidic or basic solutions, and the performance does not degrade. "We just haven't tested what happens when you burn it," he said.

The flexibility of paper allows for many clever applications. "If I want to paint my wall with a conducting energy storage device," Cui said, "I can use a brush." In his lab, he demonstrated the battery to a visitor by connecting it to an LED (light-emitting diode), which glowed brightly.

A paper supercapacitor may be especially useful for applications like electric or hybrid cars, which depend on the quick transfer of electricity. The paper supercapacitor's high surface-to-volume ratio gives it an advantage.

"This technology has potential to be commercialized within a short time," said Peidong Yang, professor of chemistry at the University of California-Berkeley. "I don't think it will be limited to just energy storage devices," he said. "This is potentially a very nice, low-cost, flexible electrode for any electrical device."

Cui predicts the biggest impact may be in large-scale storage of electricity on the distribution grid. Excess electricity generated at night, for example, could be saved for peak-use periods during the day. Wind farms and solar energy systems also may require storage.

"The most important part of this paper is how a simple thing in daily life – paper – can be used as a substrate to make functional conductive electrodes by a simple process," Yang said. "It's nanotechnology related to daily life, essentially."

Cui's research team includes postdoctoral scholars Liangbing Hu and JangWook Choi, and graduate student Yuan Yang.

On another note, Lotus F1 has secured CNN as a sponsor.

• cbengdalegand on Mar 03, 2010 at 6:23 pm

an kn jenai2…kmn lau sbei dh setting w/cam dun mei stle2…suba tabau ngan skawi kn kubah gaya setting dun…pheeyyy…tao bak plik ym gak kn tau…

• cbengd.l on Mar 03, 2010 at 6:27 pm

pheeeyyy…jenaiii2…heman mak2 kjh mo ehh…kparat atang…

• Fizbiscuit on Mar 03, 2010 at 6:31 pm

Wah, the electric motor is right at the backside..you get rear-ended..that's it! $$$…

• kopial (Member) on Mar 03, 2010 at 6:31 pm

I think they should work on this car really really hard…they should target to put it on the market within 2 years…if they wait too long, the design & concept would be "basi" / outdated by then.

Also, Proton should think of developing a clean sub 1900cc diesel engines for their models…diesel is the way now, everyone is moving to diesel because of their efficiency (1litre of diesel can go a long way) & low emission capability (if tuned properly). Besides, having a diesel engine makes us more "green", we can make use of Malaysia's 5% biodiesel.

Also, having a diesel engine would open them up to new markets, trucks, buses & other heavy commercial vehicle…or even a 4WD SUV? Malaysia government bodies, departments & agencies always end up buying Toyota Fortuner, Mitsubishi Pajero, Nissan Xtrail & Ford Everest…simply because there is NO capable Malaysian 4WD (Perodua Nautica is rubbish).

• steve on Mar 03, 2010 at 6:47 pm

With big start-up and production cost

i doubt P1 has the staying power and going it alone would be

risky too.

Just hope that their launch at Geneva would attract some kinda

JV with some big co's. (Europe/China)

Good luck P1 !!

• wow….. by looking at the output data and matching the 18' wheel makes me faint.

at least proton is doing something with some art and creativity.

but still looks ugly to me, no offence proton supporter, but it's just me.

by the way, if it's really going to sell at other countries, please use a better name

• yarr…ngv car replacement…

• Jumbsuck on Mar 03, 2010 at 7:14 pm

Never forget how Waja touted as Asia's answer to BMW 3 series. All time classic.

Now this Proton EMAss car gotta be world's answer to Toyota Prius. Bonkers!

While 3-series way overpriced zillion times over Waja, the same for Toyota Prius here (with over RM180K price) and that NAP guideline says that hybrid cars at RM180K given priority and incentives for any car makers set up facilities here. That's explain why Prius sold starting at RM180K.

Pretty sick isn't it. Obviously to deliberate Proton time to milk a newly created artificial hybrid car market below RM180K while others must sell over RM180K. Maybe at RM150K price this EMAss car of course looks artificially cheaper than RM180K Prius.

Same old trick to hijack local car market lah, this time the hybrid car market. Banyak cantik you Proton EMAss!

Ok lah to be fair it's just a coincidence that NAP provide incentive to car makers to set up local operation here with hybrid cars at RM180K price, rather than quietly let Proton time to sell below RM180K hybrid car price later…

• wochomi on Mar 03, 2010 at 7:36 pm

It's a concept… "concept" is like a 'theme' for the season. A DNA (not sure if its plural) for future offsprings of P1. Coupled that with our P1 QA inspectors from blindschool and inferior list of subcons… you'll pretty much get what u get now… creaky dashboard, lousy customer service (UMW is already going up the list… bodoh punya UMW).

I think P1 needs a 'concept' for the whole organization if it were to make this concept car as good as the money they paid Italdesign.

Well, that's just my thought. I'm sure there are bigger thinkers out there.

• Jimmy Dean on Mar 03, 2010 at 8:23 pm

not-quite-the-auto-junkie said,

March 2, 2010 @ 11:08 pm

whhatt…. 50km EV range?!?!?! the mitsubishi-i had almost 160km or 180km on a single charge!

but the express 3 hour charge seems promising tho… imagine going for lunch, tengok wayang, out of Pavilion, ur EMAS will be ready to crawl another 30-40km of KL congestion

@taboogen : electric motors generate only 20-30% of their peak torque at high rpm, that 240Nm is only from 0 to maybe 1,000 rpm. sorry dude, this FR can’t drift (unless u r on a roundabout on a rainy day with some diesel spilt onto it).

—————————————————————

You're missing the point. This is a series hybrid electrci vehicle with range extender. Meaning after 50 km EV range, the engine will be turned on to recharge the battery. So as long as you can reach any petrol station, you can drive this ca from KL to Penang and back. Your Mitsubishi-i will be stranded somewhere in Tapah with only 180 km EV range without any on-board generator!

Plus, for most people the daily commuting range is probably not going to be more than 50 km. So it's sufficient and you can skip the petrol station and jst recharge at home.

One more thing, electrc motor trqe output is way more consistent compared to internal combustion engine, so you get the maximum torque from 0 rpm and depends on teh motor this peak torque can be sustain up to 80% of the motor top speed. And do you really need to spin the wheel more than 1500 rpm (close to 150 km/h iif rmal car tire size) to drift?

• vinodGr8 on Mar 03, 2010 at 8:35 pm

it's good to see proton has change a bit, BUT…

A BIG BUT… how will their after-sales service will be in the future?

the major setbacks of proton are poor QC and dubious after-sales service.

I like new models like exora (even the power is not adequate) and persona, but my experience with service center a couple of years ago was a total nightmare and HUGE pain in my a**.

this is why I bought another model from japanese maker. I'm traumatic with proton SC due to lacks of professionalism and manners of their staffs.

I wish proton will sort this out and I will be more than happy to spend my hard-earned money on proton cars in the near future, IF it is sorted out.

• Mysticmind on Mar 03, 2010 at 8:49 pm

The 1.2 engine, if they mass produce it or license it, it gonna be cheap, cheaper, cheapest in the world.

It's not gonna be only as a CAR ENGINE, but also as generator, airpump, waterjetpump and bla bla.. Since it was small, simple but powerfull engine, it should be cheap!. You just need to connect it to relative tools.

Then i gonna buy 1, plugin into a superbike body! Hahaha.. why not modenas take one isn't it? Or modenass still wanna be clumsy Kawasaki rebadger?

There's no cheap hybrid car in this world for the time being.

If this emas avoid EXCLUSIVE hybrid market such what T n H and others do, i mean they have to target for a bigger market. Then why not?

At RM60 – 70K is the best deal (well.. they should price it higher outside.).

Btw, living in the Klang Valley, since 5 years ago, i feel the heat… global warming issue. It's getting hotter and hotter every year. Just hot lilke hell nowadays!

Electric car… why not! I surely take 1!

• glad that it is left hand drive. my wish that it is not sell here in malaysia. use this to penetrate japan, korea, north america and europe… where they are ready for hybrid.

• Tiadaid on Mar 03, 2010 at 10:20 pm

SY0H said,

March 2, 2010 @ 11:32 pm

Proton, as long it is Proton, it will inherit the 25 years quality issues such as power windows. No need to elaborate furthermore. The lower sales & higher customer complain speaks for itself.

————-

Yep, they won't improve. Because they have people who think like you in their ranks!

And that's actually the problem with Malaysia & Malaysians. There are only 2 kinds of people in this country; the opportunist who often take advantage of others for their own personal benefit, and the pessimist like SY0H here. How to improve anything if we have only these 2 type of people in the country?

• molala on Mar 03, 2010 at 10:21 pm

bos said,

March 3, 2010 @ 8:47 am

proton is obviously gone too ambitious with this one. the emas is good step but its not right step yet. basic car making still not good enuf. try improve basic things first such as reliability, build quality, ergonomics, consistency, safety, suitability, extra features n etc. do justice for ur supportive malaysians by making simple but good car. just take the simple vios as an example of a properly built car. Persona is the right direction, but still proton could do lot better.

Another thing. Please dont treat us malaysian as second class customer (give the best for export and junk for the locals).

——————————————————–

what is wrong about going too ambitious? when is the right step? when you are going to pay RM2-3/liter?? aiyohh..

Do you drives proton?

izso said,

March 3, 2010 @ 6:38 am

Looks good imho. Great concept. BUT.

1. It’s left hand drive. Meaning it wasn’t meant for our market.

2. P1 does not have a good track record for giving its base customers the best. I mean, compare the import cars vs what we get here. Big differences in standard specs.

3. All the cronies will get to supply inferior parts at high costs and jack up the price of the car.

4. Tenaga gonna have a field day with this car being electrical and all.

——————————————————

1- its concept lahh… it is for global market so it can be switch later(at production). Or you just thinking proton engineer is too stupid? they dont know how to change to RHD?

2- you get what you pay. I believe they are getting better.

3- too expensive? cannot afford it? buy other cars.

4- Just pay your electricity bills

• andy james xiao on Mar 03, 2010 at 10:22 pm

what a GIANT LEAP for proton. cheers

• ampangnoname on Mar 03, 2010 at 10:38 pm

Cantik. Tapi tak sesuai untuk jalan di Malaysia.

Cermin depan terlalu besar sampai atas kepala. Mesti panas gila dalam kereta bila tengah hari. Silau sepanjang masa.

Orang Itali yg design mesti lah ikut cuaca sana.

• ampangnoname said,

March 3, 2010 @ 2:38 pm

Cermin depan terlalu besar sampai atas kepala. Mesti panas gila dalam kereta bila tengah hari. Silau sepanjang masa.

another stupid person withoutbrain or even not finish his school.

thats a concept car moron. anything could be happen in production.or go to ah beng wshop to install tinted maa………

• y2ggy on Mar 03, 2010 at 11:21 pm

ampangnoname said,

Orang Itali yg design mesti lah ikut cuaca.

Nama pun concept car.. kalau nak buat production nanti boleh ubahsuai lagi maaa… ikut kesesuaian… habis.. kereta yang ada sun roof tu panas ke?

• sharkox on Mar 03, 2010 at 11:24 pm

ampangnoname said

—————————————————————-

It;s a CONCEPT Car Bro…CONCEPT

• Eyesore on Mar 04, 2010 at 12:38 am

So Tiadaid… between those two kind of Malaysian.. which one you belongs to? hehehe… no offence… just for clarification =p

Btw i dun think I belongs to any of the group… so am i the special one? =p

• faith on Mar 04, 2010 at 12:48 am

I always have faith on proton. but the achievement must not end here. competitors are still out there. proton must always be on the run, do more homework, work harder and smarter, creative and innovative and there is no room to rest. it must go on and on. and i'm with you proton. so come on! show something what you've got from the day you were born!!

proton lover

(although i owned toyota & bmw)

• umno juara tipu raky on Mar 04, 2010 at 12:55 am

pity to ampangnoname..wakakaka..cool guys..he's juz an innocent bystander which happened to think concept car = production car!

• Peter on Mar 04, 2010 at 2:07 am

The only bad thing is…..eletrical shockets? I would have to charge this on some plugs found outside….I am living in the apartment…..How to bring a car to charge in my house? Furthermore….would it be safe for me to charge somewhere and nothing happen?

• Tiadaid on Mar 04, 2010 at 3:07 am

Eyesore said,

March 3, 2010 @ 4:38 pm

So Tiadaid… between those two kind of Malaysian.. which one you belongs to? hehehe… no offence… just for clarification =p

Btw i dun think I belongs to any of the group… so am i the special one? =p

————–

I think we're in the same boat. Well, maybe I overstated. There are 3 group. Those two and the one in the middle :D

• uglyduck on Mar 04, 2010 at 4:31 am

yucks! the design and car looks ugly….no sedan?

• MoFaz on Mar 04, 2010 at 9:40 am

sedan will come later. persona replacement, remember?

by the same design firm :)

• Mildov on Mar 04, 2010 at 2:30 pm

This model should be "BOOOOM" in International Market.

Price Range shall suit for Middle Management income range.

For Battery Charging…. new industries will be establish.

All Shopping Complex at parking lot shall have 240V/13A plug with

special fee. Same goes to apartment/condo's parking lot.

For cost saving comparison :-

Home to Office to Home = 40km

Others car (using Fuel) = 20days x 4L/day x Fuel cost/L

Electric = 20days x 3 hrs x Electric cost/hr

For Malaysian :-

Others car (using Fuel) = 20days x 4L/day x RM1.80 Fuel cost/L= RM144/mth

Electric = 20days x 3.12kW x 3hrs x RM0.30 Electric cost/kWhr = RM56.16

"More then half saving"

• Mildov on Mar 04, 2010 at 2:38 pm

Saving comparison :-

RM saving = RM88/mth

RM88 x 12mth = RM1056/year…..

if only that car for Home-Office-Home route….

If for others travel…. more & more saving

• Hopefully when this goes into production, most of the nice features are still there. Also read somewhere that this platform can also accomodate non hybrid drivetrain. Is this going to be Savvy replacement?

• moriz on Mar 04, 2010 at 7:04 pm

nice one….like the smart-for-two rival…hehehehe…

• danny on Mar 04, 2010 at 8:20 pm

i left my comment on their proton emas site and they remove it alongside with others that saying it looking like a smart car…=='

wth….

the interior is like 70% of a smart forfour and the front and rear bumper curving is as same as smart for2/4/roadster…..and the engine is from mitsubishi i guess coz the power are around there with i-miev and smart for2…

anyhow this is a very nice car….hope it will go into production…

• please gov decrease on Mar 04, 2010 at 8:31 pm

Ask govt to stop protecting proton? Well, for that to (possibly) happen, you have to vote a gay as your prime minister. Got balls?

aiyoo. mcm mana you tau sapa bakal jd PM? mcm mana you tau ini guys btl2 gay. You penah tengok dgn mata you ke? aiyoo. Kita dalam Islam tak boleh tuduh2 ( kalau you org Islam la ) sbb dosa byk sbb kita tak lihat dengan mata kepala sendiri. kalau Pakatan Rakyat sekalipun memerintah dan masih berdegil sbg mana our G skrg, saya tetap akan hentam itu Pakatan Rakyat. Hopefully if they win election, Proton tidak akan dilindungi dgn cara menderitakan rakyat sebaliknya saya lbh minat Proton dibantu dgn cara suntikan modal. Tak kisahlah dengan cara beli lebih byk saham atau bg pinjaman pd Proton.

• Aku bangga ngan proton, kalau nak bandingkan ngan peroxxx dari dulu design tiru memanjang, pas tu semua orang bangga.. wal hal orang lain untung, mahal plak tu harga, dah la kecik….

• please gov decrease on Mar 04, 2010 at 9:22 pm

Pretty sick isn’t it. Obviously to deliberate Proton time to milk a newly created artificial hybrid car market below RM180K while others must sell over RM180K. Maybe at RM150K price this EMAss car of course looks artificially cheaper than RM180K Prius.

Same old trick to hijack local car market lah, this time the hybrid car market. Banyak cantik you Proton EMAss!

setuju sgt2 ngan kenyataan lu. Mungkin our G cipta hybrid ni untuk tutup pasaran kereta Hybrid spt Toyota dan EV car iaitu BYD yang cuba dibawa masuk ke Malaysia oleh Berjaya Group. Kereta luar disusahkan untuk dijual di Malaysia dengan cukai pelik2 bin ajaib. Even kereta Lotus Evora ( milik anak sykt Proton ) terpaksa dijual mahal disini kerana bukan made in Malaysia. Sedih la macam ni. bllalah semua ni akan berakhir. Bila AFTA mau dilaksanakan? please la Proton, tunjukkan kemampuan anda, bersaing secara adil ok?

• please gov decrease on Mar 04, 2010 at 9:25 pm

dan 1 lagi please keluarkan kereta ni secepat mungkin. Kalau tidak akan jadi basi di pasaran sebabnya dah byk company buat hybrid car, EV car dll. Even Tata Nano pun dah ada versi hybrid dimana dipamarkan di Geneva br2 ni mungkin dgn price tag yg jauh lbh murah. China yg kita perlekeh pun dah jauh kedepan dlm teknologi bateri kereta, EV car, hybrid car.

• JL@ipl (Member) on Mar 05, 2010 at 6:56 pm

Nice car,

But, one hiccup, lack of boot space for 'balik kampung'

He, he, he,

These car only practical for commuting to work, just like the Myvi, Too big and too expansive for 2nd car, too small for 1st car.

Look forward for the Hibrid Persona and Exora.

BTW, Congrat Proton.

• concept nice hehe… sun roof tu nanti die akan buat slide tok tutup ape susah .. hahah ape lah koncept pun pikir pelik pelik org design mesti dah pikir dulu lol… ape metarial die pakai ape kekuatan die. ape risiko die haih sebab tu habis berjuta tok buat concept become reality… yang nak merapu semua tu buat ape mengarut lah… gini lah biarlah kita nak kete tuh keluar dgn harga berpatutan,cukai dikurangkan sebab less emmision (dalam english),biar bersaing dgn toyota dan kete luar baru mantap.. bab agama nih pun aku pelik leh masuk kat sini bodoh.. nih komen pasal kete lah.. lol politik pun ada.. try lah u buat koncept paste kat sini dgn technical spec.. leh tak.. mau u mintak berjuta 2 dgn design kan.. sobegitu juga proton.. every bit of it been research.. so wait if it came out exctly the same mus be geart.. but if it diff must have explaination… go on proton keep on fighting those world wide car…(pakai wish,alpard,stream,semua recond) tah tah kene tipu mane lah tau hhee goooooooooo malaysian car (P2 sorry u not Malaysian Car)

• chantek kete proton nih..~

1st time nmpk kete proton rupa futuristik..

congrats proton..!

eventhough design from italy,its still a good effort..

xp lambang proton di blakang nmpk x sesuai.patut ganti dgn nama "PROTON" sahaja.

• nIZAM on Mar 11, 2010 at 2:08 am

Proton Emas is a creative collaboration between PROTON, Italdesign Giugiaro and Lotus Engineering

If you look at the movie back to the future by michael J fox, You will notice one of the finest design car in that movie The delorean DMC 12, stainless steel car design by , Giugiaro

Seing proton emas especially silver with black, theres no doubt that the workcraft of Giugiaro is great, nice job proton, haha wish that the door is a gull wing like delorean

The delorean is on production again

I agree with art said, poton logo is not verry pretty Using PROTON is suitable I think.

• rozzi on Mar 18, 2010 at 4:44 pm

one would want a good designer car but probably not a proton… duh.

• Nat98 on Mar 25, 2010 at 11:33 pm

Juz wait pepol. I also can't wait but I have to be patient. Its nice right? I love the new Emas