BMW Concept 6-Series Coupe looks production ready!

BMW have unveiled its Paris 2010 concept car – the BMW Concept 6-Series Coupe. As expected, the upcoming F12 6-Series is basically a 2 door version of the hot BMW Concept Gran Coupe. BMW claims the Concept 6-Series Coupe is a “design study” for a premium-class 2+2-seater but we all know that this is basically very close to production, since the spyshots we’ve seen of the new F12 look very much like this car.

Not much have been revealed about the F12 Concept so far, except for a bit about its headlamps. BMW says the F12 Concept features full white LED headlamps, which is a first on a BMW. Both the low beam and the high beam use LEDs, along with the fog lamps. The brake lights, signal indicators and etc on the rear are all LED-powered as well.

Look after the jump for a full gallery of the new F12 concept, including some angles of the interior.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1511]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Front is quite weird but the rear looks sexy! And now it looks better than the old one… Hope the M6 is also coming out very soon

• Alpha on Sep 19, 2010 at 9:45 pm

as nice as the rear is,it kinda doesn’t look very Bimmer-ish..

• Aaron Isaac on Sep 19, 2010 at 11:44 am

to be honest, this won’t be a keeper.

• drifting away from the BMW heritage imho,
      feels like the m6 reproduced with an audi.

• Hope the M6 version gonna look better

• Hope the M6 version gonna look more aggressive.

• agree… it does looks like a fusion between beemy and audi.

somehow, from a certain angle the rear reminds me of Nissan Silvia series… its needs to be more… germanish =p

• bryan.jones on Sep 19, 2010 at 11:44 am

ugly front… thanks van hoydoonk..

• Paul Tan on Sep 19, 2010 at 11:47 am

The Gran Coupe looked much better. It had a nicer bumper.

• Lim Kopi on Sep 19, 2010 at 5:18 pm

OMG what is this ??

Honestly, even with Bangle gone, one would expect improvements in design, but so far still remains appaling …

• ko malu saje... on Sep 19, 2010 at 11:49 am

add two more doors and she’s mine :)

• bohtakchek on Sep 19, 2010 at 11:51 am

it looks ugly at the front, the 1st gneneration looks so much appealing…
    didn’t they know they are designinga sedan size coupe??….. Beemer lose touch with design liao…

• finally i can spot the different between bmw updated or new series…

• I kinda disagree with the way BMW nowadays design their cars. Not that they are totally ugly but all the new cars look some what identical. Just like how Audi and Mitsubishi car are designed. I don’t think it works well in asian countries where consumers always want the design to reflect the price, be different from others.

Come on BMW, I’m sure your economy is strong enough to hire designers to design more beautiful and sexy cars.

• JonLing on Sep 21, 2010 at 8:30 am

maybe a lot of ppl may disagree on this, but in terms of model differentiation, BMW does a much, much better job than Audi. For me, Audi’s new cars are the real big disappointments. As gorgeous as they are, I don’t need to be reminded again and again how each new model is related to one another, it’s almost like cloning to me already…..

• Korean on Sep 19, 2010 at 12:03 pm

Wow!! This is a MASTERPIECE.

• pultat on Sep 19, 2010 at 12:42 pm

Boring….same sausage…different length…probably cooked in a different style as well…the current 6 is a stunner!

• Hasyrein on Sep 19, 2010 at 12:42 pm

Maserati GranTurismo alike…nothing new from BMW.

• somesay on Sep 19, 2010 at 12:54 pm

if this car doesn’t have the BMW signature grill, i doubt if i can ever relate this car to a BMW

• Anti Proton on Sep 19, 2010 at 12:57 pm

yes vwery much nicer. like that bang and olufsen touch especially XD

• Alpha on Sep 19, 2010 at 12:59 pm

Superb design!!!way nicer than the F01 and F10.It even got some cues of the previous 6-er~

• mitlanevo on Sep 19, 2010 at 1:13 pm

2 thumbs up!!!

luckily doesnt look like the terrible F10……

• nabill on Sep 19, 2010 at 1:26 pm

agree , rear looks very sharp ,that front i stil cant get used to it , overall , curent generation looks nicer to me !

• superb side mirror, and interior matching. love it :)

• well, there goes the shark nose… forever :(

• shawal on Sep 19, 2010 at 2:39 pm

This makes the old one look like a beached whale….
    nice silhouette from thee side, classic coupe, feel like driving it all the time

• milo tin on Sep 19, 2010 at 4:36 pm

sterling wheel looks like honda also…

• Jimmy on Sep 19, 2010 at 5:41 pm

With this kind of price, I would prefer the Gen2King (X6) over this one. Lebih cantiq and lebih besar, safer, in case kalah to Ninja King in crash.

• Citroën ds3 on Sep 19, 2010 at 5:58 pm

The new look take on a total different stand from the current model.. Current look so much muscle.. This new look just speak of sleek.. I still prefer muscle

• Bavarian on Sep 19, 2010 at 6:15 pm

Bang & Olufsen!

• 1kereta on Sep 19, 2010 at 10:02 pm

initially i kind of find Merce CLS wield and ugly looking, after some time i kind of like the distinctive look; similarly after some time i kind of like the distinctive look of the F12 6 series look. it carries the traditions of BMW at the same offers a different breed luxurious sports car. Good job done!

• Keithtsy on Sep 19, 2010 at 10:30 pm

Why is there a gap beneath the headlights? I can’t seem to find any purpose for it besides making it look weird.

• oh man. this is pretty!

• Japanese on Sep 20, 2010 at 1:57 am

Comparing this with the cls just shows how retarded bmw fanboys are.. This is a 2 door and cls is a 4 door.. How can u compare them.. Go compare with SLS la then..

• Korean on Sep 20, 2010 at 12:31 pm

Ya lah, they should’t compare, cls is for Ah Pek, BMW 6 is for young chiku.

• Japanese on Sep 20, 2010 at 2:00 am

The steering in bmw cars always look like a big ass chopping board/ mexico bun.. And they still dont want to change it..

• Amiran on Sep 20, 2010 at 6:57 am

There’s nothing special about BMW’s design nowadays, or is this just what the company owners want? (Then they should put 10s of these in their own garage only).
    The front look would fall to new CLS anytime, while the rear got nothing to shout about.
    Overall look might not guilt to most, but no more ‘high fashion’ and distinctive look, which is what I believe distinctive gentleman out there’re looking for.
    And the dashboard, ha ha, assymetric concept anyone? Kinda BMW S1000RR head lamp design. I’m sure this will never get any design jury’s tick.

That’s why, I would campaign for kicking Hooydonk out the job!

• AntiEvil on Sep 20, 2010 at 8:19 am

Bangle Trunk here to stay… YIPPEE !!

• 4G63tDSM on Sep 20, 2010 at 8:21 am

The rest of the car looks great. The front however doesn’t really look cohesive.

Take away the kidney grill and it ends up looking like a certain cat from Coventry (…er…Mumbai)

Was expecting something more sleek on the front end. Me thinks something along the line of a modified BMW Nazca C2 front end.

• Jaybond on Sep 20, 2010 at 8:42 am

Overall, much much better than the last generation, but sadly without the sweet sounding V10 engine.

• Jaybond on Sep 20, 2010 at 9:42 am

A superb-looking car !

• mr_3m on Sep 20, 2010 at 3:57 pm

I’ve seen the F10 in the metal and this F12 front end is quite similar… to my eyes at least, the nose/kidney grille looks a bit weird… a bit too overemphasised at times…

for me, the E39 is the best looking and is a classic BMW design with more cohesion and better proportioned, yes now it is outdated but the E39 and possibly the E36 are still better than any of the current generation 3,5 and 7-er, design wise…

• bryan.jones on Sep 20, 2010 at 7:26 pm

with new design direction.. no wonder Bangle disagree.

• Calvin on Sep 20, 2010 at 9:30 pm

Reminds me of a Mazda3. LOLOL. The back is not good IMO, but the front looks menacing.

• nOoDLeS on Sep 30, 2010 at 7:09 pm

this is what happens when BMW’s greatest designer Chris Bangle stops working with BMW.. sigh =(