BMW Concept Gran Coupe – is the 8-Series back?

BMW’s Design Night event in China in conjunction with Auto China 2010 brings to us something completely unexpected – a near-production four door coupe called the BMW Concept Gran Coupe which is meant to be a continuation of the allegedly “scrapped” BMW Concept CS. Coincidentally they are both China world premieres.

I don’t know about you but to me, it looks like BMW has finally got their new post-Bangle car design just nice with this, although you could say that they are probably also playing kinda it safe. But when a concept car is this ‘safe’ it’s definitely really close to production. The F01 7-Series was pretty nice looking but its nostrils are oversized. The 5 GT is just ugly. The new 5 looks good but still feels a little off in terms of design. This is near perfection, maybe if the rear number plate was on the bood instead of on the bumper it would look even better, but it’s still sex on wheels as it is.

The Concept Gran Coupe is a four door sedan, but the B pillar is hidden. There are traces of previous concept cars in the design as well – the tail lamp internal lense design is similiar to the one on the BMW Vision EfficientDynamics although on that car it was a floating design and on the Concept Gran Coupe it is enclosed inside a tail lamp.

The question now is when are they putting it into production, and what will it become? It’s quite clearly a rival to cars such as the Porsche Panamera and the Audi A7 (the Rapide is just too expensive to be in the same league) but will they revive the 8-Series nameplate, or call this a four door 6-Series (along with a two door coupe and convertible 6-Series)?

Look after the jump for more pictures of this gorgeous coupe.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1075]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• NEW 5 SERIES IN A YEAR…

• syamness on Apr 24, 2010 at 4:30 pm

thats a Gen2 backside – squashed!!! we could’ve used that for the nex gen persona/gen-2…urghh

• Please..’a Gen2 backside’? u r insulting bmw design with ur good imagination, of course u have the right to imagine anything lol and there’s certainly nothing wrong with it.

• farghmee on Apr 26, 2010 at 10:24 am

why ah? cannot comment?
        yes, a squashed gen2 back :)

from the looks, i think this design is good.
        fast & angry.

• mitlanevo on Apr 24, 2010 at 4:40 pm

ok, 1st impression, not bad, at least better than the silly F10…

so the price gonna be more expensive than a 7-series?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 24, 2010 at 4:40 pm

breathtaking

• Gajen on Apr 24, 2010 at 5:02 pm

this is beautiful man…i mean i honestly thought bmw’s design was going down…with the dull new 5series and 7 series….but this one proves me wrong

• Thomanic on Apr 24, 2010 at 5:07 pm

AWESOME~!

• super on Apr 24, 2010 at 5:41 pm

coupe is the best..nice design

• Indeed improved..

• OMG. Superb.

• bmwcanornot on Apr 24, 2010 at 6:04 pm

they place the 3 5 6 7 series in the blender and they got this..

• nasibcar on Apr 24, 2010 at 6:15 pm

next 007 car :)

• Jaybond on Apr 24, 2010 at 6:23 pm

Wow, now this Bemmer is a real looker. This is another BMW design that got it right after the new Z4, unlike the new 7 series and the pointless 5 series GT.

I guess BMW will release the production version not long after the new Merc CLS..

• DiVo D27 (Member) on Apr 25, 2010 at 9:42 pm

Hoping so… thr were some rumours that thr is a 8-er on sketchBoard..!

• MBX Boy on Apr 24, 2010 at 7:27 pm

Wow… super hott… I want..!

• Peter on Apr 24, 2010 at 7:37 pm

Very very cool and sexy……I think this is the sexiest segment of car ……..

• fuyiopo on Apr 24, 2010 at 7:51 pm

They better put this car into production!

• niuhje on Apr 24, 2010 at 8:01 pm

ok… now BMW shld go into bicycle production to complete its product range. Then why not make baby strollers and prams?? Gotta start em young, know wat i mean!

• foreman cabuk on Apr 24, 2010 at 8:07 pm

wow…wow…wow…i just wanna write it 1000x here but i couldn’t

• ak rase proton leh design lg cun

• simple_mind on Apr 26, 2010 at 9:34 am

Bro,I don’t know you really mean it or not.But to be realistic,and as a Malaysian,I believe and support what you said.But just not yet…….that day will arrive.How long,just don’t know

• boink on Apr 26, 2010 at 4:53 pm

yes… continue staying up the mountain

• wow….
    i hope the new 6 will look like this…..
    so hot….

• jansej on Apr 24, 2010 at 9:55 pm

rear number plate is in the right place imho. superb coupe anyways!

• Alpha on Apr 24, 2010 at 10:26 pm

hmm..somehow it looks like this will be a variant of the 6-er.but 8-er is possible too if they wanna revive the name.

• kronikelz on Apr 24, 2010 at 11:25 pm

This is PORNOGRAPHY, plss censor it… Hope it really comes into production…

• Marimo-kun on Apr 24, 2010 at 11:45 pm

New BMW…………
    5? Oredi has the brand new F10
    6? No. Its a two door coupe, not four.
    7? No. The F01/02 is still new in market.
    8? I doubt it.
    3? Probably.

*sigh*
    Sorry, its my own stupid speculation. Don’t take it seriously ;)

• Bavaria on Apr 25, 2010 at 6:58 am

It make me remember of Proton Perdana some how.

• jebon lonely ranger on Apr 25, 2010 at 1:43 pm

if new perdana would look like this…haih…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 26, 2010 at 12:59 am

seen an f10 around KL…..

• KLdude on Apr 26, 2010 at 9:59 am

as per the norm post bangle era, bmw designers have come out with a superb design, started with the new 7 series, followed by the 5 series, now the ‘unnamed” series..8 series would be good and appropriate..taste and opinions are always very subjective, so each to its own..notwithstanding that, it is indeed a beautiful design and any bmw fans would be proud to have the vehicle parked in their garage..well done bmw!

• love this baby!

• orgasmic !

• This car is amazing.
    Do they have coupe version for this?

• This car is amazing!
    Do they have 2-door version for this?

• WilsonLy on Apr 29, 2010 at 5:09 pm